Full Version: Still Game
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Discussions > Glasgow Discussions > Glaswegians Living Away
isa
sorry this is a bit long winded, but its worth it.

has anybody seen this comedy series yet, bbc2 11pm sat night.well if you can, do, it had me rolling, and crying, as it was like visiting my dad and my aunties, as the actors are that great, you feel you are back home and in the same room as them all, the best comedy since chewing the fat.

its a story of 2 old men that have been friends for years and have grown up in glasgow all there life, and they meet many people on there day to day business, there is 1 woman that cracks me up, wee isa,and i think, yep, thats my auntie annie to a t, she goes to tell a story and in the good old glaswegian way, it takes forever,....oh hello, here, remeber willy, i yeah dae, he went oot wi a lassie fae inkerman street, red hair, green eyes, she worked with......and she eventually gets there, all 1st and surnames are mentioned cos you know us glaswegians, we always say the surname even if were talking to family about other family, as if they dont know there name,lol

this was this weeks
Scottish sitcom featuring characters from the comedy series Chewin' the Fat. Jack and Victor are desperate to get an invite to a lavish wedding.An old friend dies and they go to his house to retreive all the things he had borrowed over the years, outside the church, Victor makes a list from the mourners and gets there stuff back, only to find he didnt die it was the man in the next bed with the same surname, wee Isa got it wrang again.

Cast List
Jack Jarvis ..... Ford Kiernan
Victor ..... Greg Hemphill
Winston ..... Paul Riley
Tam ..... Mark Cox
Isa ..... Jane McCarry
Eric ..... James Martin
Navid Harrid ..... Sanjeev Kohli
Bobby ..... Gavin Mitchell
Meena ..... Shamshad Akhtar

next weeks is
Scottish sitcom featuring characters from the comedy series Chewin' the Fat. Victor wins a dog in a pub competition while Jack feels sad after seeing a video of his family in Canada.

Cast List
Ford Kiernan, Greg Hemphill, Paul Riley, Mark Cox, Jane McCarry, Gavin Mitchell
isa
go to this web site for all info
http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/tv/chewinthe...tor/still_game/
isa
i forgot to say, if you go to the left of the screen you can hear some of the sentences from the show, just click on downloads and click sounds,great patter
great site Isa didnt go through it all but did put into my favorites thanks a lot laugh.gif
Jan Williams
We have a couple of video's of the programme, I must admit its funny sometimes. My hubby can laugh so much that everyone else in the company laugh with him even though they have no idea what he's laughing at. His favourite saying is; gonny no dae that, Glasgow patter at its best.
Great Isa ,had a right good laugh,tae ,masel there. biggrin.gif
bf2002
can anyone help i am looking for photographs of the locations that are used in still game, the pub the cafe the shop and flats and stuff like that.
i run a web site dedicated to still game and i livive in manchester and only get to glasgow once a year and don't know where it is filmed this info would also be good as i can try to get some pictures next year.

would be very greatful for anyonone that can help
bf2002
can anyone help i am looking for photographs of the locations that are used in still game, the pub the cafe the shop and flats and stuff like that.
i run a web site dedicated to still game and i livive in manchester and only get to glasgow once a year and don't know where it is filmed this info would also be good as i can try to get some pictures next year.

would be very greatful for anyonone that can help
The Clansman was The Ruchill Tavern which has been demolished.

Have you tried Virtual Mitchell Library or google-ing Craiglang, or just Still Game....Hope that helps too.
bf2002
thanks for your help biggrin.gif
Hi bf2002,

I'll try and help you out as I should be able to get you photos of the shops as they are actually in Townhead and I pass there regularly.

It's a great TV comedy series and I' glad to see it doing so well. Unfortunately I have a sorry tale to relate about it re photos: one day I was taking photos for this website in High Street and Merchant City when, by chance, I came upon a film set (at the time I thought it was filming for Jet Li’s £28m Glasgow film, Danny the Dog) near King Street. Like everyone there I joined the crowd to see what was happening. Next minute I was approached by an irate member of the crew who demanded that I turn off my camera - even although I was not taking a photo at the time. Naturally, I told her that I would not, and off she disappeared only to return with (presumably) her boss. I told him the same thing and off he went only to return with a PC who was controlling traffic. Again I told them no and the PC departed saying it was not a police matter as long as I did not cause an obstruction. The crew then halted filming to get more crew to stand in front of me to stop me taking photos which I originally did not intend to take.

Anyway, just because they made such a big fuss I now felt I should take a couple of photos just to show that they could not boss their public about...I'll have a look for them and see if I can find them, but may have deleted them!

Anyway, they got a bit of Glaswegian attitude that day - I dread to think what Winston would have done!!! ohmy.gif

...here's one, I believe it is from the episode where Jack and Victor go into town and visit a tobacco shop where they proceed to cause a commotion by smoking to the limit!

Not oor Martin nah, ha ha that was funny good on you Martin laugh.gif
welldone martin its our land and just because a jobs worth tried to be smart he/she got their comuppance anybody can do asthey like just because thyareinharge ofa a bt of tv equipment the can boss people am glad you stood your ground G G rule tongue.gif
I was trying to figure out exactly which episode the photo refers to and found the following list - which episode is your favourite?

BTW the photo refers to series 2, episode 7, Shooglies.

SERIES 1 - First Broadcast 2002 on BBC Scotland (2004 on BBC2)

1. Flittin'
Eager to escape his neighbours from Hell, Jack decides it's time to relocate to a more salubrious part of Craiglang. Could the death of Victor's neighbour be Jack's chance to live the high life in Osprey Heights?
Broadcast in Scotland only so far

2. Faimly
Victor's family are planning a long-overdue visit. The spare room's ready; the question is: will they show up? Meanwhile, Winton's only got one thing on his mind - gigot chops.

3. Cauld
It's a winter of discontent for the boys, the pavements are like an ice rink and the wind would take the face off you. Jack is chittering but Victor refuses to switch on the electric fire. So why is their pal Winston turning up the heat?

4. Courtin
There's no fool like an old fool and Jack is head over heels with the dazzler who works behind the counter in his local charity shop. Victor is less than bowled over when her not quite so attractive sister turns up for a double date with a difference.

5. Waddin
It's the society do of the year, a lavish wedding organised by Navid from the corner shop. Jack and Victor are desperate to get their hands on a precious invite. But there's a shock in store for the old boys when they receive a visit from beyond the grave.

6. Scones
It's all go in Craiglang. Winston's had his benefit money stopped, Isa's husband has returned out of the blue, and Jack and Victor have caught the competition bug. They're all due a streak of luck, but who'll come up smiling?

SERIES 2 - First broadcast 2003 on BBC Scotland (2004 BBC2)

1. Gairden
After the local park is taken over by pair of Non-Educated Delinquents and their killer mutt, Winston decides it's time to take matters into his own hands. Meanwhile, auld Ronnie's mental health is giving Jack and Victor cause for concern.

2. Wummin
The boys' pal Bert is in a terrible state after the death of his wife. It's familiar territory for Jack and Victor and they're keen to get Bert back on track. Winston's also in need of some female company. Could a home help be what he's looking for?

3. Doacters
Words don't come easy, but the world of books and a certain lady librarian have got Tam and Winston all of a-fluster. Yankee happy pills are proving more of a temptation to Jack and Victor though after they bump into their old pal Stuart.

4. Brief
Keen to regain his independence, Victor decides to invest in a new set of wheels. He soon discovers, however, that half of Craiglang is in need of his services as a chauffeur. Will it be too much for him to take?

5. Tappin'
Could this be the end for Craiglang? A loan shark is plying his trade and everyone's keen to avail themselves of his services. Will they still be smiling when he calls in their debts?

6. Scran
With Navid in India for his brother's funeral, Jack and Victor are drafted in to run the shop. Will they be a safe pair of hands, or will Navid return to find his empire in wrack and ruin?

7. Shooglies
To celebrate the sixtieth anniversary of their friendship, Jack and Victor decide to take a trip into town and have a slap-up meal. However, things take an unexpected turn with a face from the past reappears.

8. Buntin'
Auld Pete's acting very suspiciously and Jack and Victor are determined to find out why. Not ones to be left out, Winston and Navid are involved in their own covert operation: catching a bin-raking fox. Could there be a connection?

9. Dug
Victor's robot wally dog is depressed, and so it seems is Victor - Jack's planning a trip to Canada, but it's no easy task persuading Victor to join him. Meanwhile, Ida's ex-husband turns up, and Winston finds himself playing the role of Ida's 'pumpkin' to put him off.

SERIES 3 - First broadcast 2004 on BBC Scotland

1. Hoalidays
Jack and Victor are on their hoalidays in Canada. But will they both be returning to Craiglang?

2. Swottin
The boys go back to school but have trouble keeping their heads in the books. A quiz in the Clansman should be a chance to show off just how smart they are.

3. Cairds
The gambling bug hits Craiglang but things turn sour when Tam wins a buggy off a disabled friend. Jack and Victor plan a sting to get the buggy back. Navid can't even get in on the action.

4. Big Yin
The Craiglang Young Team are running riot in the neighbourhood. Big Innes arrives to sort them out, all Jack and Victor have to do is keep him off the Midori.

5. Oot
Jack and Victor's old friend Archie comes out of his flat for the first time in years. How we he adjust to life outside?

6. Aff
Tired of being ignored Victor hatches a plan to get sympathy from his family. The scheme back fires when his son jumps on a plane to make sure he's ok.

SERIES 4 - First broadcast 2005

1. Kill Wullie
Jack and Victor aren't sure what to make of it when one of their pals takes up with a woman half his age.
First Broadcast: 22nd July 2005

2. Wireless
Jack and Victor take up residence in the hospital, not as patients but as DJ's. However, Navid is in for a more pressing problem.
First Broadcast: 29th July 2005

3. Dial-a-Bus
Jack and Victor succumb to the lure of the Dial-A-Bus, but this one doesn't stop where they expected. Bobby escapes the pub for a welcome break on his bike, but is Winston the one taking him for a ride?
First Broadcast: 5th August 2005

4. Ring
Tam finally does the decent thing. He doesn't buy a pint; he decides to get married. Will he scrub up in time to make an honest woman of Frances? Meanwhile Navid tries to clear up his shop in preparation for a corporate takeover.
First Broadcast: 12th August 2005

5. Hatch
Jack and Victor are fed up of Isa's constant prying, but the plan they hatch causes shock waves to ripple across Craiglang. Winston has domestic troubles of his own, babysitting his wild grandson. He soon comes to realise all that is green does not blossom.
First Broadcast: 19th August 2005

6. Who's The Daddy?
It's three men and a baby all over again, except the baby is a grown man wanting to knock down the Clansman, and the three men are Jack, Victor and Winston, all worried that their own family has just grown by one.
First Broadcast: 26th August 2005
isa
Hya Bf,
if you go to the chewing the fat site, it will then take you to still game and there is a contact button, click on it and you can write to the makers, theya re very good and will write back to you with any info they can give out,
hope that helps,
Isa
i am such an idiot i hive sky fir years and a just realised a get bbc scotland and i will get ta see the last episode next week thanks isa the clips were great laugh.gif
im sure they film the multi storey flats where there meant to stay in maryhill the ones facing cumlodden drive across the canal
bf2002
Thanks for all your help, will be working on the site soon so i will add a link to here and also place a mention to everyone who has helped thanks

frank
Here's the pictures I promised way back in September. They were taken yesterday and are of the outside of Navid's Shop, supposedly in Craiglang, but really in Townhead! biggrin.gif

The first one is of the back of the Navid's shop, the haunt of the wee drunk chappy!

The other 3 are of the front of Navid's Shop...
The flats in the background are seen in the show, but are not Jack and Victor's residence!
Last one...
laugh.gif Martin that is such a funny show! Thank you.
I agree, great show. It did well at the Scottish BAFTA awards a couple of days ago.

Unhappily Ford Kiernan let all of us down with a foul mouthed rant on accepting the award. I found that very disappointing.

bf2002
hi its been a while but have been busy working on othier sites thanks for the images they are great. biggrin.gif

cheers

frank
Very good for you Martin. Well done!. wink.gif
Catherine I see you mentioned it was a good show. Can we get it here in Canada, or perhaps you watched it at home.
still game is brill a get it on sky as a get scottish bbc scotland also and a mark it on the remote serius as a would forget this weeks was a scream in the pub trying to be hard men so hard like new putty roon a windy lol laugh.gif
Still Game is a great show. It was hilarious last week when Navid decided to, ' get a life '. He dyed his hair, went gambling and went to the pub for a drink. laugh.gif
last night's show was really funny when the boys get introduced to alcopops at the stag night and then manage to lose the bridegroom - but it was sad in a way with Winston heading down the coast to live BUT what a really funny ending at the very end
Yes, the ending left a lot to the imagination last night,
PUPPIES? biggrin.gif
I guess it was just in keeping with the rest of the show - you know the old saying " rollilng around like puppies in a bag" or something of that sort.

I thought the script was just brilliantly funny last night - not sure why but it just hit the spot..
Was in hysterics last night when the ken dodd lookalike widow came to the door laugh.gif
And the two guys were bringing in the wrong words into the conversation with her - Aye Diddie and so on - brilliant stuff
The only thing that made me cringe a wee bit was the broad glaswegian accent of fergie the bridegroom am thinking to myself do i really sound like that biggrin.gif
what channel is it on in a monday and is it repeated on a friday as am oot on a monday huh.gif
stuarty, Still Game, is on BBC2 9 .00.P.M. Monday.

Repeated on Friday 10. 35. p.m. biggrin.gif Enjoy!
derick2
Yes its a very funny show. You can download it from the internet if you have broadband. Reminded me a bit of Stanley Baxter and Ricky Fulton. Victor and Jack are very smart looking OAP's and full of the patter. The bus episode with Robbie Coltrane was a classic!
have a wee look at this
http://www.chortle.co.uk/news/june04/still.htm
Carmella thanks for that site. It really disgusts me how people go on about the scottish accent. There are many english accents I cant make out at all, and I am married to an english man. biggrin.gif
Paulk
Hi All
I know this is an old post and I'm sure most are aware that BBC1 Scotland are showing classic episodes of Still Game at 2235 on Mondays. This prompted me to look out the Box Set only to find that it wasn't there (I've lent it to someone sometime ago and can't remember who) anyway I was able to buy the new boxset of all 6 series inc. the 4 specials for only £27.99 on ebay. Great value.

Back to the locations and as mentioned the Flats (osprey heights) are in Collina St. Maryhill. Navids shop is in Kennedy Path Townhead. the cafe and the butchers shop are in Maryhill Road. The clansman in Series 1 was on location in Ruchill. It was known as the Giblett I believe, altho someone on here say's it was called the Ruchill Tavern. I'm not sure which of the 2 is correct. In the subsequent 5 series the pub was built at the BBC's Dumbarton Studio (same place as River City is filmed.

There are dozens of other one-off location like Central Station, Buchannan St and King St to name a few. Also in the episode where Navid saves Isa from being knocked down was in Killberry St in Roystonhill. I'm sure there are loads of other locations that will come to me later.

I hope this helps, but even if it doesen't I've enjoyed writing this ha ha.

Paul
Still Game enthusiast (sp)
smile.gif
You were suckered, Paul. The complete series 1 to 6 and the Christmas and Hogmonay specials are on sale at Amazon UK for £17.99. rolleyes.gif

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?u...2Bset&enc=1

I don't think the boxed sets include the original play from which the Still Game series evolved, but this was also released on DVD.

I know Knightswood Park was used as a location a few times because I saw the film crews when ah wis doon wi the dug.

Paulk
QUOTE (benny @ 15th Nov 2010, 05:56pm) *
You were suckered, Paul. The complete series 1 to 6 and the Christmas and Hogmonay specials are on sale at Amazon UK for £17.99. rolleyes.gif

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?u...2Bset&enc=1

I don't think the boxed sets include the original play from which the Still Game series evolved, but this was also released on DVD.

I know Knightswood Park was used as a location a few times because I saw the film crews when ah wis doon wi the dug.

Damn

I checked Amazon at the time too but the Ebay 1 was still cheaper. Just Checked ebay again and the same seller has it at £2 cheaper again. Still Its worth it anyway. ha ha
Aye, as you say, Paul it wis worth it, because it wis a really good sitcom - tae begin wi, at any rate.

Ah thought the first coupla series were really brilliant, but it began tae tail off from the end of series 2, although it always remained watchable.
*FindThatLocation*
I've created a site for filming locations which you might be interested in - I love Still Game and have found a few - these are all on the site:

www.findthatlocation.com/Television-Show/Still-Game