17th Jun 2007, 10:05pm
Nice picture, but whats your point. ?
17th Jun 2007, 10:40pm
dunkey jist likes wee boats
dunkey
17th Jun 2007, 11:24pm
The Ark Royal visited London this week and this is her at Greenwich pier
I thought that was the point. never mind, ah'll stick to posting pictures of traffic wardens in future.
17th Jun 2007, 11:30pm

dunkey, language is the basic means of communication - - - youre usually very good at that.
dunkey
17th Jun 2007, 11:46pm
Well Glasgow Lass I was going to post the pictures of the Falklands flypast and memorial but correct, what's the point.
Only upset some ant Royalist's, anti war entity or some other entity who hate Britain and will no doubt have a social worker to monitor the pictures they have to endure.
I would probably have a writ along with crunchy nut cornflakes in the morning.
18th Jun 2007, 02:43am
Is it jist me or is that no an awfy wee soldier for an awfy big boat
Ah kin jist hear him....whit? who ME?? YE MEAN JIST ME MASEL????? Tae look efter it MASEL LIKE ????
Dunkey fill us in on the Ark Royal, is it a special boat or whit?
18th Jun 2007, 05:55am
I think it's a smashin photo wi the wee sillohette (did I spell that correctly?) of the soldier against the sky, good photography.
Riddrieperson
18th Jun 2007, 06:14am
QUOTE (penny dainty @ 18th Jun 2007, 07:04 AM)

I think it's a smashin photo wi the wee sillohette (did I spell that correctly?) of the soldier against the sky, good photography.
Silhouette,I think is the spelling.You are right though,I don`t see what is wrong with this picture(s) being posted.OK.maybe it should have been in the images section,but not everybody goes there.I can`t think what Ian is upset about. Especially as he hails from Plymouth,a place with a proud seafaring tradition:P
18th Jun 2007, 06:59am

hi dunkey thought you were trying to show how stupid leaving one guy to protect a ship that size so much for security
dunkey
18th Jun 2007, 09:48am
That's typical Anne of you and that Catherine wan, flippant remarks as though we would leave wan poor boy to guard a bloody aircraft carrier, stauning at the front aw on his own.
It's the armed forces we're talking aboot here, nae expense is spared in guarding our ships and to prove it here's a picture of the back of the ship. That put's you two wummin right in yer place. So you couldnae just go on and nick it, mind you wummin drivers and an aircraft carrier, god the thought scares me
Good photograhy, why thank you Penny dainty, ah'll take you aff the list of dreaded wummin drivers for the Ark Royal for that.
iancameron
18th Jun 2007, 10:12am
Riddrieperon, Im not upset, just asked what point Dunkey was trying to put over. It is a nice picture, I live about 300yds from devonport dockyard so I see these ships every day, unfortunatly they are getting less and less due to cost cuts, when I joined the RN in 64 there would have been about 50 ships here, now its more like 12.
18th Jun 2007, 10:28am

dunkey your cruisin for a bruisin son a wisnae being flippant i thought it was showing lack of security but whit wid a know am only a wumin you cheeky wee beggar
dunkey
18th Jun 2007, 10:34am
Cruisin is ye, well yer no cruisin on this boat, it's well protected to keep aw the heid the baw wummin aff it.
18th Jun 2007, 10:38am
18th Jun 2007, 11:23am
dunkey, I thought it was a lovely photo, it is shocking to mew that it has been 25 years since the Faulklands war.
Can you tell me something , ( within your ususal bounds) what version ? of the Ark Royal is this.?
I am sure this is not the same one that was built in the late 30's early 40's
just as a by the way . have you been on the Royal Yacht ,now sitting in Leith? I have and it very confining inside. the living area's are ok but the crews area's were very very small.
dunkey
18th Jun 2007, 01:11pm
To be honest Lennox I don't know what version it is, all I know is that the original Ark was built by Noah and it did not go in to service with the Royal Navy.
Ian would probably be able to fill you in.
I have not been on the Royal Yacht but I have pictures somewhere just before she came to Scotland, she was docked at Tower Bridge.
iancameron
18th Jun 2007, 01:52pm
its the 5th Ark Royal the navy has had. This is an old photograph of the 3rd one

It was involved in sinking the bismark, the flight deck was about720feet long
18th Jun 2007, 02:05pm
just a note to all ex forces personnel if you were in service before 1984 i was informed by another gg member that we are entitled free to apply for a veteran's lapel badge it looks very nice so go to forces peep go to forces veterans on internet oh and dunkey i joined the wraf and if a was to point a gun at somebody in conflict i would have as i was a great markswoman top grades infact but never got recodnised due to the whay was called the ex factor if u were a male you got crossed guns but the females never so dont make us women angry you wouldent like me angry bang
iancameron
18th Jun 2007, 02:14pm
A look along the flight deck of the Ark
iancameron
18th Jun 2007, 02:18pm
Stuarty yes you can apply for the veterans badge, I think you can fill the forms in on line, from the veterans agency web site
18th Jun 2007, 02:31pm
i know ian a was making others aware of the badge i feel i should let my ex husband know but if i tell him he is so stubborn he wontvapply for it the numpty ha ha the ark royal was a fine carrier and a floating airfield in the sea as was so many of the craft in my time the one that got me was the american galexy aircraft it was a flying werehouse it took my breath away
a flew in a vc 10 and a flight on a nimrod god was that a hold onto your stoumach aircraft a watched the parade yesterday and a recodnised a few paras and marine commandos it was good to be reminded
dunkey
18th Jun 2007, 02:44pm
QUOTE (iancameron @ 18th Jun 2007, 03:23 PM)

A look along the flight deck of the Ark

Here is that the wee boy on guard alang there at the end.
How many planes and helicopters did this Ark Royal hold?
iancameron
18th Jun 2007, 02:58pm
It normally holds 15, a mixture of fighter/ strike aircraft and helecopters, getting a bit old now as she was commissioned in the 1980s
She went into refit in 2006 and now Ark Royal can now carry up to 400 troops and RAF Chinook helicopters, as well as Army Apaches and Navy Sea King and Merlin helicopters. Ark Royal officially rejoined the fleet in December 2006. This allows her to take on additional commando and helicopter carrier roles as well as maritime strike, and command and control platform.
dunkey
18th Jun 2007, 03:26pm
I got a photo of a helicopter on deck but I was actually surprised at how small it was, I was expecting it to be a lot bigger.
How do they stop the planes coming back, is that really a big elastic band we see in the old films. Are they all vertical take off now.
Did the Ark Royal go to the Falklands?
dunkey
18th Jun 2007, 04:04pm
Seeing we are discussing the Falklands ah'll just stick this picture in. Falklands Memorial taken yesterday.
Honest tae god Ian, only photies of traffic wardens fae noo on, cross ma heart an aw that sort of stuff
iancameron
18th Jun 2007, 04:33pm
No she didnt, HMS Hermes did, ( great ship, served on her for three years, not Falklands)
the Ark Royal is the last of the catapult and arrester gear carriers in the RN.
The protrusions on the bow and at the end of the angled deck are "Strop Catchers". This recovered the wire strop that connected the aircraft to the catapult for further use instead of being lost in the sea. ( I had to put these buggers on,not a very nice job )
Two catapults. One on the bow and one the Waist (end of the angled deck)
Four arrester wires. Number 3 wire was the target wire for deck landings. They were steam operated. Before the strop catchers were fitted they just flew off the end of the ship.
Yes our carriers are small in comparison to the USA, s, the Ark is about 750ft long, but the two new ones that are being made will be 950ft long and weigh about 60,000tons.
18th Jun 2007, 06:00pm
You know ( okay you don't ) but in another lifetime , that would have been my dream job to be working on the flight deck af an aircraft carrier.. Ijust think that would be a great job.
Oor Wullie
19th Jun 2007, 04:39am
QUOTE (iancameron @ 18th Jun 2007, 02:01 PM)

This is an old photograph of the 3rd one
It was involved in sinking the bismark, the flight deck was about720 feet long
She also carried the aircraft that downed the first German plane in WWII
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.