Full Version: Mother's Day
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat
This year Mother's Day falls on May 13 in America. Already the stores are filled with gifts for living mothers. I have never cared for the way Mother's Day is held in the USA. It seems, like Christms, another way for the stores to sell goods. There is'nt a day goes by that I dont think of my own mother who has been dead since 1973. I think back to the years she took care of me. The way she always made sure that I had food to eat. The long days over the sink washing my clothes and making sure I was warmly dressed. The encouragement she gave me to learn how to sew even though her talent was in darning holes in our stockings. She was always there for me and I dont think I ever appreciated it until I left home, came to America, and had my own family. May 13 is a Sunday and when I go to my UU church I will light a candle for my Mother. This is part of a service we have for joys and concerns. My candle will be lit to celebrate my mother's l;ife and the gift I was given to have her in my life.
Well said Bunty ,I don't need presents .I've told my kids on numerous occasions that a phone call or a visit is all it takes .None of them have ever forgotten a mothers or fathers day .If they can make it to where ever we are they will be there if not then they phone .What more can you ask of your kids with their busy lives ?? It's nice to know they are thinking of you .
While I loved my Mother ,she wasn't an easy woman to love .Very critical all of our lives and no matter how hard we tried (my sisters and I ) nothing was good enough .She beat us all fiercely and took away a lot of our self respect .I think I came off the worst as I was the youngest by six years and after my sisters married I was fifteen and the only source of her wrath .I was told frequently ,my ears stuck out ,my bottom lip was too fat ,I was too tall ,I didn't have a bust and my nose was too big .Talk about growing up with a complex !!!! I had ears like a taxi with the doors left open ,I had ears like jug handles ,My Micky Mouse gas mask had been made to measure .Black eyes ,bleeding nosed black and blue bum.That was my Mammy .I still loved her ,and I still miss her ,sometimes I wonder why .
jakka your post left a wee lump in my throat - life sure is bitter sweet, wub.gif
Linda, I am so sad that those are the memories you have of your mother. I really dont think you loved her. I think you feared her. I know you and Neil made the right choice to emigrate to Australia. wub.gif
Bunty are you replying to My post or a PM from Linda???? .I feared My Mammy ,but loved her still, probably because she gave birth to me .I have grown to be my own person despite her criticism .
I can look in the mirror and not see all the faults she pointed out .Though for many years I did .She didn't have an easy life ,she lost her first born ,just over 16 lbs ,she was 18 years old .They gave my Daddy the choice the baby or her ,I'm going back almost eighty years here .He figured she was only a child herself and chose her .
My sisters were all a great size me being the smallest at 12 lbs 4ozs .All of us born breach ,my Mammy was about 5'2" and was about 90 lbs so you can see what she went through having us girls .My Daddy went to sea when the war broke out and stayed a sailor all of my growing up years .Mammy was left to be the parent who dished out the punishment ,Daddy was the one one who came home bringing presents !!!.Can you blame her ,her anger ???.Her favourite thing was to tell us that our Daddy was out plowing the deep blue sea ,and he would never come home and find one of his girls in trouble .Would you have dared get in trouble ?? Six weeks before my wedding I got a black eye .Reasons to long to go into on this post .Enough to say ,to tell my husband to be that until I had a ring on my finger I was her responsibility and I was grounded for a week .
Despite all the hurt ,she was my Mammy ,and we did have some nice times together ,so I'll think of her on Mothers day ,and be thankful that my kids didn't suffer the punishment I did growing up .
Not all battered children grow up to be battering parents .
oh jakka you are a remarkable example of a woman that truly loved your mammy unconditionally and it takes a lot of guts to say a was a battered child but your mammy did her best with what she had and as you say not all battered weans become battered parents a big hug for you jakka
Hiya Bunty in reference to yer wee mistaken identity we awe make wee mistooks,Thankyou for the kind words you spoke no doubts you would say something simular to Jakka also,Bless you Jakka Iam glad your heart is in right place mate. & Iam quite aweright with my wee dearhearted mammy despite having had simular lifestyle to Jakka I was afflicted moreso with a very harsh & Brutal Father ,sure mum was strict too ,but mum did everything she could do with what she had to keep us faithful to God Family & Decent character. I did make peace with both of my parents once I left Glasgow & had lived in Australia for 3yrs or so,I sent a series of letters talking out all the hurt & my willingness to forgive them as they obviously had hard lives themselves which I observed on many occasions ,their lives were hard with 7 kids 3 lost & Dad was Brutal since all he knew was brutality from his own dad & starvation etc as well as poverty so my Dad had a bad start which flowed over to us kids,Dad took a long time to realise he was a Dad like his own Dad.We have had mum & Dad visit us 4 times & we visited them 3 times alas Dad died in my armsa year ago a forgiven man whom knew he was loved unconditionaly & that God would accept him the same way,he even said goodbye Iam sorry,in his last breath as myself & 2 brothers embraced him for the last time.

I adore my wee mammy as she had a beaten up life with dad as did us kids so I see mum as courageous,Tenacious & vibrant & loving & generously to a fault has tried to adorn us all with all the things she couldnt give when we were wee.I see myself as though I could never be as strong as her yet she makes me believe in myself & tells me to do the best I can,I know I have made her proud in coming to Australia as she herself had oppertunity to come but Dad let her down & got drunk & in jail etc so she feels Iam living it for her as well as my self & that makes me know I was right to come to Australia as I wanted my kids to know the things we never knew . Every day I wish mum was with me here yet she will not as she says it is unfair to the 3 sons in Glasgow,my loss.I love my mum & look up to her as she is an excellent role model &she gave me strength to go to the other side of the world via her Blessings just by letting me go.I accept mum as she does me, warts & all so as her wee lassie today I want to aknowledge my mum wee maggie as my heroin & she is the reason for my lifelong Joy in being a mum through the thick & thin! we also celebrate Mothers day May 13th sad thing for me is my kids do not yet realise the beutys & the depths of having their mum & cherishing her as they are both fighting with me at the minute & no doubts Mothersday shall be cancelled next sunday However I shall love them despite their youthfull attitudes & get on with it any ways.They will one day grow up & know more about what it costs to be someones mum or dad,it costs evrything & is worth every single thing spent mentaly physically psychologically every bit of blood sweat & tears & smiles & laughs etc are all worth it to be someone elses Parent,a call in its own right.Happy mothersday all Mums out there.
I guess I had a very pampered childhood as an only child. My mum and dad were always there for me as were my maternal grandparents with whom I stayed during the war. We were always comfortable, my dad had a good job and mum didn't go to work until after I was married so we always did things together as a family. Both parents were very supportive when we came to Canada with their only grandchildren, they came to visit us here and we also went back home and stayed with them and, of course, my husband's family too. My dad has been gone since 1983 and mum since 1987, I miss them both still as I knew I could always rely on them both for advice and unconditional love.

We never made much of Mother's Day in our family, I will probably get a phone call from my son and as my daughter is living with me just now, we'll just wish each other Happy Mothers Day!!

Happy Mother's Day to all Mums.
Dear Jakka and Linda, my apologies for the mistake. Sometimes happens, ye know. However, I feel certain that Linda and Neal made the right decision to live in Australia. I was a bit puzzled about Linda trying to make the Big Meet in 2008 and going to stay with her Mom. Now you have straightened me out.

I do have to reply to Linda's PM now that my computer is behaving. Much wub.gif to you both.
A line from a book I read recently - 'I would be blind today if my mother hadn't lent me her eyes...' Totally sums it up for me, I am who I am because of her, and if I can give my kids half of what she's given me, they'll be very lucky.
Java a lovely sentiment .I still think of my Mammy with loving thoughts because beside the beatings she taught me a lot of things that have made me the woman I am today .My Daddy was away at sea most of my life and my Mammy taught me how to cook and clean and iron and the hundred and one other things you do in life .The one thing that comes to the fore is she taught me never to hit my kids because it doesn't bring respect .Many times when she was hitting me if I had cried she would have stopped ,but I was as stubborn as she was and wouldn't shed a tear .The tears came later in my bed .My Daddy would come home on leave bringing gifts and she would relate all the things I did wrong (answering back ,being cheeky to a neighbor etc ) and all he had to say was "Do you think you're being fair to your Mammy ?" and I'de be in tears .
I'll still think about her next Sunday ,even though she wasn't the best Mum in the world .
Click to view attachment sad.gif sad.gif hi jakka jus been reading this topic and im nearly in tears how awful for you as a child, and how big you are in heart to forgive and love your mammy like you do,
Jakka, it's so sad that you have memories of beatings and sadness related to your Mum and I feel that you have dealt with it so well. Such hurts from childhood never seem to leave us sadly, we just learn with maturity that we can't change things and we look for the best bits from the past. People do strange things under stress and I just know that your Mammy loved you and must have regretted every single time that she was hurtful to you. Ah've made myself greet noo. Can I just say that you are a lovely looking woman and should be extremely proud of yourself.
My mother and I never had the best of relationships when I was young then she got ill, and I was "Mammy" to both my brothers.
Mother died 19 years ago and it left a BIG Void in my life cos I always thought one of these days she'll tell me she loves me . Never happened, But I still think about her a lot and there are days when I find my self talking to her. Would I go back and Change the relation ship if I could? You bet I would without a seconds thought
She may be gone but she'll never be forgotten .

I hope my son knows just how much I love him, I don't always need to have a gift , on mothers day as long as he remembers to phone at least .

But to all you Mums Happy Mothers Day. smile.gif
It seems to me that as I get older I have to shorten all the legs of the slacks I buy. I'm told that gravity sets in as we get older. What does this have to do with Mother's Day? Well, last night I sat down to shorten some new slacks. I got out my sewing box and I have to admit it is a mess of tangled threads. Some day I will straighten out. I had memories of my mother as I worked. When I was a girl and did something bad my mother had an unique, but effective punishment. She, too, had a sewing box that was a mess. She would set me down and make me sraighten out all the jumbled cards of wool, etc. What a wise woman! I hated that sewing box. Her idea of punishment was enough to keep me on the straight and narrow. ohmy.gif
My, that wis some reading here.....yer awright Jean wink.gif

I'd a good pal who always ended her emails to me with......
'Mothers should be paid their weight in Gold....WEEKLY! '

I always have the school present that ye need tae be careful whit ye say cos ye'v no goat a clue whit it is laugh.gif

Ahm jist happy tae be a mum.

Happy Mothers Days to all ma pals here, also those who urnae Mums but play the same part in other ways.
laugh.gif Bunty ye reminded me of my mothers button box there I adored her button box but hated her sewing box hence why I never learned to sew properly even to the point wherein instead of sewing at school in 2nd yr of high school I got sent to an old ladies house to clean it for her during the sewing classes double period laugh.gif they gave up oan me cos a used tae greet when asked tae sew anything hahaHowever I did eventuate to make an apron & a clown cushion oota glued oan felt haha .

I was ever so glad for that one teacher Mrs Redpath whom saw me as a troubled soul whom needed something else & someone to see what I could do,this lead to volunteer work with that old lady thereafter I became part of a day release scheme to work in Stobhill hospital with Geriatric day centre & ward 11b,which I did untill 17yrs of age then I was a nurses aid whom ended up nursing that same teachers son whom had a cancer lump in a private area,I went on to nurse several teachers & pupils I was at school with.I was simply built to care about people & fell short in attentions to sewing etc.

Mum was glad as it kept me off the streets during school holidays etc & mum met Mrs Redpath & Mrs Redpath also met my Husband too ,she sort of was my mentor whom released me intae the grown up world a wiser youth with maturitys some couldn`t possibly gain in every day life.Cheers tae awe Mammys oan Mums day & tae awe women over the world whom care for others yees urr the bestest ever!
tammy
Happy Mother's day to all of you wonderful ladies on the GG. No, we don't need gifts from our kids, but don't you just miss all the little homemade cards and gifts they used to make when they were small? When they would present them to you like they were diamonds! I loved them. And they were always so proud that they made it themselves and that you thought they were the best. tongue.gif In saying that I got to enjoy a surprise "early" Mother's Day gift from my oldest on Sunday, she surprised me with a ticket to the Braodway play "Chicago". Her boyfriend gave his Mom one and the two of got to enjoy a fabulous night out. Click to view attachment
Tammy, one of my cherished ornaments is a wee Cupid that my kids bought from Woolworths. They "pooled" their money from their piggy banks to buy it for me - all 25 cents!

I have enjoyed hearing from all of you. wub.gif
For years I have taken photographs of all the flowers the family send me on Mother's Day. This morning I received the most beautiful pink and cream roses. The florist in Krogers told me that the buds will come out if you remove the outer petals. I am so reluctant to do so so I will leave them alone. wub.gif
Bunty you deserve every single one of those flowers from your lovely family. smile.gif Enjoy them.
Marion Niven Dougan
Happy Mothers Day to all the LADIES on the GG . We are going to Craig and Rachaels Sat. night for Steaks along with Rachaels parents. Jim and Kristi will be here Sunday to take us to Brunch.

I thank The Dear Lord for my Gift of life this Mothers Day
Thought I'd give you all a wee laugh .I was talking with a friend the other day and we were discussing things our kids had made us over the years ,one year was jewelery made from cut up straws and wool .Necklace bangle and earrings and it brought to mind this wee story .My girls went to brownies in the Salvation Army and from the brownies attended Sunday school there also .
We had a party with a lot of friends on the Saturday night with more than a few drinks being drunk and beers downed .Went to bed in the not so wee small hours and woke up with the middle girl shaking my shoulder and asking if she could have this .Eyes half open I said sure and dozed back off .The next thing I hear is banging .I get up ,hung over and here she is so proud of herself (she was about 7) she had made holes all round the edges of a plastic lid from an ice cream container .She had then punched holes in beer caps and tied them on to the lid .She was all set for Sunday School she said ,with her new Tambourine . laugh.gif .How do you explain to a seven year old that a beer cap tambourine and the Salvation Army just don't mix . wub.gif
Aw Jakka , the wee sowl, that's priceless.Great idea though. laugh.gif
as Catherine says Happy Mothers day to all the moms and to all who are stand in moms have a good day ,Iam posting this song I think its just right for this day
my little boy came up to me
in the kitchen this evening
while I was fixing supper
and he handed me a piece of paper he had been writing on
and after wiping my hands on my apron
I read it and this is what it said
for mowing the lawn-5 dollars
for making myown bedthis week- one dollar
going to the store-fifty cents
playing with my little brother while you went to the store-twenty five cents
Taking out the trash -one dollar
getting a good report card -five dollars
and for raking the yard Five dollars
total owed fourteen dollars and seventy five cents

well,I looked at him standing there expectantly
and a thousand memories flashed through my mind
for the nine months I carried you growing inside of me No Cahrge
for the nights I sat up with you ,
doctored you, prayed for you No Charge
for the time and the tears
that youve caused through the years No Charge
when you add it all up the full cost of my love No Charge

for the nights filled with dread and the worries ahead No Charge
for the words and the knowledge
and the cost of your collage No Charge
for the toys ,food and clothes
and for wiping your nose there is No Charge
when you add it all up the full cost of my love there is NoCharge
recitation
well whenhe finished reading
he had tears in his eyes
and he looked at me and said "MOM,I sure do love you "
and then he took and in Grat big letters he wrote PAID IN FULL wub.gif

so whe you and it all up the cost of real love is No Charge
this is on eof my fav country and western songs a wee greet is often acompanied with it wub.gif
as Catherine says Happy Mothers day to all the moms and to all who are stand in moms have a good day ,Iam posting this song I think its just right for this day
my little boy came up to me
in the kitchen this evening
while I was fixing supper
and he handed me a piece of paper he had been writing on
and after wiping my hands on my apron
I read it and this is what it said
for mowing the lawn-5 dollars
for making myown bedthis week- one dollar
going to the store-fifty cents
playing with my little brother while you went to the store-twenty five cents
Taking out the trash -one dollar
getting a good report card -five dollars
and for raking the yard Five dollars
total owed fourteen dollars and seventy five cents

well,I looked at him standing there expectantly
and a thousand memories flashed through my mind
for the nine months I carried you growing inside of me No Cahrge
for the nights I sat up with you ,
doctored you, prayed for you No Charge
for the time and the tears
that youve caused through the years No Charge
when you add it all up the full cost of my love No Charge

for the nights filled with dread and the worries ahead No Charge
for the words and the knowledge
and the cost of your collage No Charge
for the toys ,food and clothes
and for wiping your nose there is No Charge
when you add it all up the full cost of my love there is NoCharge
recitation
well whenhe finished reading
he had tears in his eyes
and he looked at me and said "MOM,I sure do love you "
and then he took and in Grat big letters he wrote PAID IN FULL wub.gif

so whe you and it all up the cost of real love is No Charge
this is on eof my fav country and western songs a wee greet is often acompanied with it wub.gif
laugh.gif Och Jakka am sure they widdve been aweright aboot it pal since many a time my mammy came hame frae the pub with Dad with her warcry newspaper under her erm costhey often selt that wee paper in the pubs at Saturday nights hahaha she felt they did a lot for her when the older sibblings were wee so always bought one on way oota the pub hahahaha On a sad note tae wee Mags thankyou for that wee song as I often talk of that song to my 21yr auld son whom used tae think when he did stuff I would owe him something for it so I would then say heres my bill for carrying you for 9 months & so On so forth Boohoo what a sweet & bitter memory for me as my kids arent talking to me at the moment.

That same son has just came in & gave me a mums day card & a IOU a Dining out date of your choice,he read the song words & teared up in his eyes & said yep mum the Bills Paid in full IOU. My daughter just came in from work shortly afterwards & gave me a card & an apology for her bad attitude of late,telling me that her behaviour as my child was bad yet mines as a mum was excellent without faultering & made me cry as well Boohoo goes my healing tears & I ponder over my box of ferreror rocher chocs & a new evening purse too. Anne 1 you were right I was wrong they obviously felt the power of Mothers day pal thankyou all I hope yer day is good like mines now has turned out to be cheers.
Click to view attachment laugh.gif laugh.gif A Happy Mothers Day To All Our Friends Overseas[size="3"][/size]
The sun is out this Mother's Day in Georgia. Everything is so fresh after much needed rain.

Wee Mags, I loved that poem. Ever wonder how we survived parenting?

Marion, its so good to have you back with your US family. I think I speak for all of us that it is what we wanted for you - that and continued health.

wub.gif to all my dear GG friends.