17th Apr 2010, 11:55am
Ah but jist look at what your all missing.
17th Apr 2010, 12:37pm
Am with Melody for this has to be one of the worlds most beautiful countries...a can travel abroad whenever I want, spend my summers in the sun but when I fly back into Edinburgh or Glasgow am still astounded by the natural beauty of my country.I know many of you refer to horrible times, religious differences,poverty..maybe that’s still there I don’t know I have never experienced it...religion means nothing to me,you can be Muslim,Hindi,Catholic,Protestant,Jewish means nothing to me...your friendship and shared values is what I built a relationship on. I think I have a better life in Scotland than I could have in other parts of the world.....I get angry at something’s in Scotland but its up to me to do something about it and as for the weather well am sorry I would not trade what we have here for wall to wall sunshine. Love the seasons as they change. had one of the best winters ever in Scotland...cold and crisp .we have hardly seen rain here in months. Am going out to Tiree for a few days this week with my board....planning to have dinner and a few beers with my favourite cousin in Germany at the end of the month if this daft volcano stops its antics....I know this is a different generation but we don’t live the way they did in Scotland in the 50’s 60’s 70’s or 80’s...don’t expect any of you to want to return...its not practical to go backwards but the Scotland many of you talk about is not the Scotland I know and love.
17th Apr 2010, 01:14pm
Like you Davy, if I hadn't left I would have the Campsies at my back somehow.
17th Apr 2010, 02:32pm
Nice Photy Melody Thank You !
18th Apr 2010, 06:20am
QUOTE (Melody @ 17th Apr 2010, 01:04pm)

Ah but jist look at what your all missing.
Click to view attachmentAh, there's the rub. To be able to stand at that spot and the thousands of others like it. Across the globe there are higher mountains, deeper waters and spectacular backdrops, but none that make ye feel the way ye do when ye can sit in silence and wonder at a view that held yer mammy, yer granny, yer great granny and all before her in that same wonder.
18th Apr 2010, 07:53am
Java, that's why I could never leave Scotland. I know that the streets I walk supported my ancestors feet and the sights I see are what they saw too.

I know that there are many wonders abroad and fabulous sights to see but there's no place like home for me.

It's fabulous to travel but my feet itch to be home.
margie
18th Apr 2010, 08:04am
Melody, Whit a view, it,s stunning and now its convinced me I made the right decision years ago when my other half wanted to go to OZ and i refused. Where exactly was this picture taken? Cheers Margie.
18th Apr 2010, 08:15am
Margie, it's Glencoe taken from Ballachulish.
18th Apr 2010, 08:59am
Beautiful Picture Melody thank you
18th Apr 2010, 09:01am
Your welcome Anne, it was absolutely brilliant and the weather was very kind to us for a change.

Never saw a drop of rain until we came home.
18th Apr 2010, 09:34am
It took a few trips back to Scotland to see that it wasn't like it was in my mind's time warp. I did find that although things have changed so many things are the same. The lay of the land, the freshness of the wind, the variety of the light, the friendliness and openess of the people. I have made my life elsewhere and I enjoy it , but I do love to see Scotland and visit the places of my ancestry. Being a family historian, it is a wonder that I can visit a place in Scotland where I have never been previously and see with awe where my great grandparents worked or lived and look around at the parks and hills that were the backdrop of their lives.
18th Apr 2010, 12:03pm

Sunrise on Gigha. We were so young when we left that I cannot imagine where we would have been now. from the knowledge we have now, I don't think I could settle in the city again. we are thinking of moving home in a couple of years as I only came here for 2 years in 1972. The further north I went the more I fell in love all over again with scotland. This little island is magic
18th Apr 2010, 12:12pm
that is also a lovely photo Beth
3rd Jun 2010, 02:06pm
OASIS OF THE SEAS
QUOTE (wee davy @ 16th Mar 2010, 06:47pm)

I know this sounds a bit like double dutch - but if I'd never left - I'd still most probably be away!
The reason I say this, is shortly before I did leave, I'd just been accepted by Langside College, for to train as a chef.
But then, who knows - I might have just finished up as Glasgow's answer to that irritatin' wee n'yaff - Jamie 'don't eat chips whitever ye dae' Oliver!
Or - dishing up pizzas at pitza hut lol
Actually - I've revised my take on this thread. I'm now quite convinced Ah wid huve ended up the Head Chef aboard this baby! The Queen of the Cruisers, Oasis of the Seas.
This the mother of all cruise ships! A floating City - just look up the 'spec' - its totally amazing. I went on a cruise a few years ago, wi' Princess Cruises - and met up wi' the head chef wan mornin as we were sailing over an Abyss - beautiful sunrise - we chatted for about an hour or so - he told me of his life. Sure it was hard graft - but it certainly had its compensations too! If anybody's got a spare 30k, please let me know - I'll book a couple of months on this tub!
proudmaryhiller
3rd Jun 2010, 06:59pm
I very much admire people who leave their country of birth and settle in foreign shores I think it must take a hell of a lot of guts to do that, thankfully to be honest I've never felt I wanted to live anywhere else but Scotland, I love my country and as the old Batchelors song goes "I wouldn't trade you for the world" well I'd never trade Scotland ever!
3rd Jun 2010, 07:08pm
Take it ye've nae spare chainge then, 'mary'?
proudmaryhiller
3rd Jun 2010, 07:23pm
QUOTE (wee davy @ 3rd Jun 2010, 09:03pm)

Take it ye've nae spare chainge then, 'mary'?

av got nae spare nuthin davy no even a sper tyre
3rd Jun 2010, 07:29pm
lucky yoo!
3rd Jun 2010, 07:33pm
dammit - s'pose ah'll huve tae wait till ma ship comes in then!
3rd Jun 2010, 08:02pm
god ah'll be singing that song aw nite noo davy
3rd Jun 2010, 08:04pm
mary I just noticed your avater photy,,,, thats so funny, a remember it well.
3rd Jun 2010, 08:06pm
lol

not guilty yer honour!
it wisnae me - av been stiched up!
3rd Jun 2010, 08:18pm
its a very rainy nite here so let aw go tae the pub for a wee sing song, furst round's on u davy
3rd Jun 2010, 08:53pm
omg! av jist loast ma wallet!

where's them bliddy multi-millionaires when ye need them!
3rd Jun 2010, 10:59pm
QUOTE (glasgow lass @ 3rd Jun 2010, 08:59pm)

mary I just noticed your avater photy,,,, thats so funny, a remember it well.
Me too Lass

That's the wee burd Ah hid ma eye oan
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.