Full Version: Castlemilk
Glasgow Boards/Forums > Glasgow Memories > Glasgow Memories > Glasgow Districts
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Thanx guy's i'm glad ye enjoyed them,the auld place certainly has changed over the years,but i am pleased to say it is for the better.
Even so it was a shock to see all the changes,especially in Machrie.
All those wee hooses in the Machrie pic are were the shoaps used to be. sad.gif
biggrin.gif That was a pleasureable experience Bob as a had an uncle in Birgidale as well as ardnecraig rd tae where ma Grandad lived with uncle George n Joe wow I loved yer photographs and china scotts also. when I saw the backyards was also a zillion memories gawn through ma heid of many sunday arvos playing oot there efter sunday lunch at grandads.THANKYOU GUYS YEES DONE US PROUD THERE biggrin.gif
this is at 173 ardencraig road in the sixties ant the party was my 10th in 1967 so comon castlemilkers spot the faces chinscot you will know a few of these for sure
Scottie
I lived in Castlemilk. My folks were one of the first tenants at 50 Arnprior Road. We left for Canada in 1957. Many good memories.
welcome to the boards Scottie, I never lived in Castlemilk myself, but my folks did.
hope you enjoy.... tongue.gif
nutty
Anyone stay in ardencraig terr facing glenwood school? dry.gif
I didnt stay there nutty , but did you know a Patricia Kerr, she stayed there in the 60's pretty wee blond girl
weedoc
stuarty a think you'll find that was you're 5th birthday party in 1962, count the candles on the cake, cant remember all the faces in the photo but from the right is you're cousin josephine slowey, me, you margaret watt, carol armstrong, can't remember next girl's name, callum clark, standing is rosina hammill, then maureen sinclair, you're cousin thomas mclaren, my brother peter you're brother andy, other faces a recognise are wee annie sproul you're godmother, you're mum cathy, aunty teresa, wee granny, and a think aunty betty or is it ellen. also are the others you're cousins the mclaren's (the girls) a think the wee boy being held up by the girl at the back is wee john slowey. and a think ave done no to bad considerin that was 45 years ago lol.
Guest penny *
penny the name doesn't ring a bell, do you know what number she stayed
maniloonie
QUOTE (witshisname @ 10th Jun 2006, 09:15 PM) *
Used to love goin here as a kid smile.gif

I lived on the Drive till 1972 and i loved going to the library, i also remember going to the chippie just along from the library during the strikes and they were frying by candlelight lol
your probably right weedoc a know ma ma had won the snowball at the palace bingo doon the gorbals laugh.gif
Guest danny39 *
the janitors house up at st martins
danny39
enjoying these pictures, i'll upload some myself
Hawthorn
QUOTE (nutty @ 30th Sep 2007, 09:08 AM) *
Anyone stay in ardencraig terr facing glenwood school? dry.gif

I did number 8 above Annie & Davy McDonald
joycewilson
Hi All Just Popped In For A Look...Some Brill Pics On This Site Of Castlemilk xxxxxxxxxxx
wee tricia
QUOTE (chinscot @ 10th Jun 2006, 07:09am) *
More

I was married in that church St Martin's april 1973
jeani
hi whitshisname, still finding my way about this site n this is the first time i've looked at the glasgow districts, is the picture in post 3,( the snow scene,) from machrie lookin towards castlemilk dr, ?? if so my old close is in it, the last close in castlemilk drive before st, bartholemews school, i grew up there, ,,,, jeani
saminacam
Taken July 2008 a view of 62 Castlemilk Drive.
Judges Wig
QUOTE (jeani @ 26th Nov 2008, 02:10am) *
hi whitshisname, still finding my way about this site n this is the first time i've looked at the glasgow districts, is the picture in post 3,( the snow scene,) from machrie lookin towards castlemilk dr, ?? if so my old close is in it, the last close in castlemilk drive before st, bartholemews school, i grew up there, ,,,, jeani

Hi Jeani

I just wonder if you knew Pat McAleese?
Guest judgeswig *
QUOTE (Guest danny39 * @ 30th Mar 2008, 06:59pm) *
the janitors house up at st martins

And the jannees name wiz Jim Bain.
QUOTE (witshisname @ 10th Jun 2006, 08:57pm) *
A few more :D

I need to know.......Wit wiz yur name wen yi lived in Castlemilk, hen? I might even know yi so pleeeeeze let me know. We might even huv went tae school 2gether. Loved your photos and oh the memories they brought back, but I hope somebody has auld photos to share and especailly Castlemilk in the 70's. Hiz the hert and soul no been ripped oot it, dinna recognize the place hardly.

Judgeswig
QUOTE (saminacam @ 22nd Dec 2008, 01:09am) *
Taken July 2008 a view of 62 Castlemilk Drive.

The Old Neighbourhood sure has changed,My Auld Close is #64 just to the left of this pic Had friends who stayed on top floor of # 62 in late 70's.
the
garden in the pic used to have the most amazing Rose bushes in it(pinched a few) when they bloomed laugh.gif smile.gif
joycewilson
Hiya, I had a few friends from Castlemilk Drive, one was in number 99. I came from the other end of Castlemilk Tormusk Rd, we are in out late 40s aint sure about your ages.
Also have older brothers and sisters who all went to braeside and Glenwood x
Lynne Kumar
Hi Just came onto the Castlemilk site for the first time. Can't believe the photos! Where was I? Some of these places look really good. I suppose there has been a lot of changes since 1975! I wouldn't know that area anymore. When I visit I live in Ayrshire with my family. Even the City of Glasgow has changed so much. SHOPS! I was knackered after going Prom dress shopping with my girls.On my next visit I will be visiting Castlemilk just for the fun of it. We never had malls or fun stuff to do. Our entertainment was riding our scooters down Tormusk hill. Heading to the cemetary and looking at the heeds! Hitting the swing park, Overton and playing in the woods, picking up rhubarb from anyones yards and running away like really bad kids! Wow I feel old...Lynne
QUOTE (jeani @ 26th Nov 2008, 02:58am) *

Hi Jeani,
Aye that is Castlemilk Drive in the pic,I lived at #64 and I know of the close you stayed in.
I think they were getting fixed up as well.
my mum worked in the wee chipie in the arcade next to the library for years
how are you bob, your wee pic is nice you look like bob the builder lol
Marina I loved that wee chippie,used tae go in and get a roll 2 onions and 2 Gherkins fer a whopping 10p...lol it was a smashing treat.
Yes that's me bob the builder...lol.I'm keepin fine it's nice to see ye on here,hope yer keeping well yerself.
joycewilson
Was a busy wee chippie that one at Arcade nearest to it was at the Roundabout wasnt it/ x tongue.gif
im fine bob, just getting over glandular fever though, knocked me right off my feet lol, joyce i dont remember a roundabout being there but i could be wrong
Macky
high there been looking at the photos brill i only left castlemilk 20 years ago and i cant believe the changes only moved to east kilbride so will have to drive down and have a wee look i stayed in dougrie street facing woolworths great we street till the oasis opened up,i think the chippy your thinking about was down at the croftfoot roundabout i remember the chippy next to library i think he opened a cafe next to it as well then just down from it the laundrette,casa dela mamas and birrells sweet shop i remember them well also the chineese round the other side of the library woor pings if i remeber brill site is there anyone from dougrie on site i stayed number 3 dougrie street
joycewilson
Hi Macky, My brothermarried a girl from Dougrie...dont know the number but the post box was at the side of her garden well actually part of her fence...what schools did you go to? We left Castlemilk in the 70s a long tie ago eh ? xx rolleyes.gif
Marina I'm glad to hear yer on the road to recovery,I'm sure it was bloody painful.
I think the Roundabout joyce was mentioning was Croftfoot roundabout there's a chippy there,but there is also a chippy on Castlemilk Rd I think it's called "Mario Jnr's.even though the chippy up on the Drive was closer to My close My Mammy always sent me doon tae Mario's at the roundabout for our take oot,She & My Gran had fish & chips and I had the great Deep fried Pizza & chips.
Oh ahm droolin here right noo just thinkin of it yumm yumm smile.gif smile.gif
Hi Macky,
Yer gonnae notice a big difference in Dougrie,I used to walk along it going to My Primary school (castleton) I think the Tenement you lived in is gone,there are wee houses at the path that goes down towards Croftfoot.
I was going to take pics of Dougrie but seeing 70% of them all boarded up was quite heartbreaking,I hope you do get down to see your old neighbourhood before it's gone forever.
joycewilson
Hi, Yeah the place has changed so much I must have a wander back just for a look, my son did move to Castlemilk for a year and when we got the bus it toured the area to get where he was ...sure was a trip down memory lane to see it all again but if I didnt know where I was....theres a lot of it I wouldnt have known I was in castlemilk...memories Eh?
Think both my old schools are gone now too...Braeside in Machrie and Glenwood on the Drive...x huh.gif
scoob77
i dont know if braeside is still there, but glenwood is long gone, got pulled down about 20 years ago!!
Joyce,when i was back in the 'milk i did a wee walk around,''Braeside'' is no longer there it now goes by another name which escapes me.
As Scoob said "Glenwood'' is gone,i think it's a Industrial park now,I had a chance to go onto the old school grounds in '89 when back on vacation but decided not to,then going back in '06 floored me as it was all gone,even the old folks houses across from Glenwood are gone.
I went to Glenwood from '77 - '80 then moved to Canada.
joycewilson
Thanks Scoob thought they were both gone. x
Witshisname I just missed you at school then I left in 77, just got in touch with an old friend and neighbour whos in USA found her again on this site within 4 months of being on it. Was on Friends Reunited 4 yrs and never got her AMAZING this site........The place I would really like to go to is the wee wood between Tormusk and Machrie leading to the old Braeside......used to cross the wee burn there on my way to school.... be good to have a nosey might get round to that when the weather gets better x

Did you have any older brothers or sisters at Glenwood?
scoob77
whats there now is loads of small business parks, plus youve got glenwood campus, which is part of langside college, and just in front of that is the castlemilk youth complex, which if i remember rightly, i was told the main gym hall from glenwood school is in there, which is where they do all the drama stuff, which i should know coz i was a member of the board and was also in the drama group! laugh.gif
i have very fond memories of the looking glass, my mum would buy me the wee tiny beanie dolls that were in what i can only describe as match boxes
tongue.gif Hello Marina,
Nice to see you posting again,
Sorry to hear you have been under the weather
Hope you are feeling a lot beetter,
I am sure reading all about Castlemilk
Brings back a lot of good memories,
Macky
high there i went to castleton from 67-74 then on to glenwood they say schooldays were the best of your lives didnt agree then but now yeah i had some great times at school i stayed at number 3 dougrie street at the bottom at the glenacre end used to have some great times growing up stayed in dougrie from 64 till 86 then moved up to birgidale road across from the complex
scoob77
is the birgidale complex still there??? i used to go there on my school lunch hour! laugh.gif
Joyce the Area between Tormusk & "Braeside'' is aww wee houses now,most if not all the tenements are gone.
I went for a walk in that area and got lost...lol,since i hadn't been up that way in almost 26yrs my sense of direction was off,thankfully as soon as I found the school I new where I was.
I don't have any siblings joyce,parents had me and that was it fer them....lol.

Marina I remember goin into the looking Glass nearly on a daily basis,from going in to see the toys,and seeing if the lassie would play the latest sex pistols song(she wouldn't) because of the lyrics..lol.
I even participated in a lego competition they held in their upstairs room(I didnae win) I guess my house design wasn't fancy enough...lol.
Another place in the Arcade I used to love going in was the pet shop,I always remember going in just to hear the Minor Bird speaking..I'm feelin hamesick noo sad.gif smile.gif
Maky here is a pic of the new Castleton primary.and the second pic is of Birgidale
joycewilson
Hi Witshisname. Theres was also a wooded area from Tormusk to Blairbeth. I can remember a long sausage bridge being there...it frightened the life out of me that bridge...wonder if thats still there. I will really need to find time to go there one day an adventure for the grandkids is a good name for it eh? lol x
I found a web site with some fantastic old pics of Castlemilk,I didn't join the site seeing the pics was good enough for me.
My favourite pic is on the 3rd page,it's of the Auld Bookies up on Machrie road.My Dad used to work in there and it was great to see the"Bunker'' as I used to call it...lol,plus seeing the wee shops and auld tenements brought the memories flooding back.
Please check out the link below,perhaps your old street is posted.

http://travel.webshots.com/album/228304969zMJJov
joycewilson
Thanks for that witshisname will deffo have a wee look at that xxxxxxx
scoob77
Click to view attachmenthere's an old pic that a mate of mine found, it was taken early 70s and you can see st margaret mary's in centre, grange is top right, just to the left is mitchellhill!!!! and at top left you can just see glenwood

drumlad
just to the left is mitchellhill!!!! .and i always thought they were the dougrie flats wub.gif