Full Version: Castlemilk
Glasgow Boards/Forums > Glasgow Memories > Glasgow Memories > Glasgow Districts
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

BRAESIDE PRIMARY, GLASGOW_1967

I wonder if any our Milkies recognise any of the wee rascals in the piccie?

I am trying to recall the Lady teachers name, but to my eternal shame it eludes me. I ended up in this lovely lassies charge after making The Auld Greybags life misery for a few months. The change of class was a breath of fresh air as this lassie was a real wee gem, both kind and pateint. I think her main forte was that as a music teacher, but like most lady primary teachers in those days they did just about everything and were good at it too, with the odd exception or twa.

Oh deary me, now moving onto Miss Grey, a wee tale lies herewithin and is not for those of a nervous disposition. smile.gif

Miss Grey was, to put it mildly, a severe crone with her own unique and unorthadox views on teaching and discipline. These days, she would have been secreted away in a senior persons holiday home for an indeterminate period. Rumour had it she acquired her talents whilst training in a German PoW Camp.

If you can conjure up an image of a vertically challanged female Frankenstien akin to a cross between; Joan Sanderson, Ena Sharples and our beloved Margeret Thatcher, with the temperament of a rabid pitbull wi a banger up its erse, yer not too far aff the mark.

She always presented herself in a worn oot purple tartan tweed twin set and sensible shoes, for erse kicking duties. Many of the weans were quite feart of her due to her frequent verbal outbursts and desk thumping antics when ye messed up yer one times table or got yer spelling wrang during her seemingly constant dictation lessons. This Lady did little to ensure that the learning was a pleasant process. Whilst in her gentle care I learned two things.

1) The Square Root of nothing = Zero.
2) Exponential curves. Think of this as a negative curve plotted as Knowledge Gained v Time spent in her class.

Complicated stuff for a wayward 10 year old. Come tae think of it they still do ma hied in.

Fortunately, my long suffering classmates were spared the bulk of her delightful attentions as I was normally the subject of those; a ruler across the hands, slaps across the back of legs or erse were not uncommon and I was usually invited to the front of the class to receive these, cheap entertainment for my class assocaites. The scene would elicit giggles from the lassies, evil mares!
Oh and just to rub it in and atone for my sins, I had to thank her. Nothing wrang with wi a wee bit of good manners, ah suppose. laugh.gif

I cannot recall Miss Grey ever using the strap, she was certainly a more "hands on" type of person and was not backward at doing so. She was not all bad really, she did have her more human moments.
She was a brillaint orator and deid brainy at History and delivered this subject with great imperturbability and clarity. I always remember her tale of Barlass Kate and Kate's attempts to prevent the assassination of King James 1st of Scotland. Judging by Miss Grey's seniority, this was quite possibly a first hand account of those events.
gina
QUOTE (scoob77 @ 2nd Sep 2011, 09:12pm) *
does anyone recognise the man in this pic???? i'm hoping someone on here knows as i got no response on fb!!!!

HI THATS BETTY AND JOHN MCFAULDS
weesue
Hi Guys
Here's my latest Castlemilk History Video... New updated photos...
It's called Castlemilk Through The Ages...

Enjoy!

Visit My Website
scoob77
QUOTE (gina @ 28th Mar 2012, 10:20pm) *
HI THATS BETTY AND JOHN MCFAULDS

thanks for the response but i have since found out that they are called tamburrinni ....and they were my auntie and uncle and my auntie was called irene smile.gif
margie
Hi All, Does anyone remember a guy called Andy Hutchison . He lived in Birgidale rd. I think his aunty lived in Stravanen rd. but don,t remember her name. cheers Margie.
QUOTE (Peter Ross @ 31st Aug 2011, 12:16am) *
Hello. My name is Peter Ross. I'm a journalist with Scotland On Sunday. I'm working on a story in which I am trying to identify and interview the four boys in Oscar Marzaroli's iconic 1963 photograph Castlemilk Lads, which you can see here:

http://www.nationalgalleries.org/collectio.../recordId/10487

I am in touch with the boy at the front of the picture (now a man in his early sixties) but still need to find the rest. Can anyone help or suggest any leads please? These boys would have been 14 in 1963 and they were all pupils at Glenwood Secondary at Castlemilk. It's possible that the boy looking straight at camera and leaning on his pal's shoulder is called Peter Jackson. But I don't know that for sure.

I really want to make this story work as I think it could be a fascinating tale. If anyone can and would like to help, please email me at peter.ross@scotlandonsunday.com

Many thanks,
Peter

Well done, Peter; you found them!

[...] The faces of the boys, then, are famous, but they themselves remained unknown. Marzaroli did not take their names. He did not wish to intrude beyond taking the photograph. Yet, as the poet Edwin Morgan put it in 1984, “It is impossible not to wonder what the Castlemilk Lads are like today”. And as the years have passed, this instinct has grown ever stronger. Are they alive? Have they had good lives? Whatever happened to the Castlemilk Lads?

LAST year, I decided to find out. I put up posters around Castlemilk, forlorn notices of the sort one might make for a lost cat. One day a message was left on my phone by a woman called Emily. I think, she said, you are looking for my brother. [...]

Full article below – a great read:
http://www.scotsman.com/scotland-on-sunday...-lads-1-2373401

joycewilson
Click to view attachmentAmazing Story, great result!
joycewilson
Click to view attachment50 years on....
I read the whole Scotland on Sunday article. Really excellent. It would however have been helpful to have the original photo displayed within the article.

I was born just down the road from Castlemilk (in Croftfoot) in 1957 which must have been while the scheme was going up.

joycewilson
I thought it was a great article and well done to Peter Ross for not giving up on it till he found the boys ( now men) x x
annmcpherson
Hi Finding the Castlemilk sight really interesting. Does anyone know Mary Bremner's family who lived at 71 Castlemilk Drive in or around 1973. Trying to trace my husbands family and Mary is sister to John McPherson who is my husbands Dad. The McPherson family all originally came from 164 Sandyfaulds Street, Gorbals. I noticed on my last visit up to Castlemilk Drive that number 71 has been demolished, but don't know when. Ta much everyone, any info., would be gratefully received. Ann McPherson.
TOMANDGERRYSMUME
Hello
I'm not one of Ian's children.
I'm one of Rita's. .
My uncle Iain is well , he's a grandad now !!
It's lovely when there are nice memories John
Kathleen
maweedugs
QUOTE (witshisname @ 29th Apr 2006, 07:56pm) *
Thought i would put up a pic of were i grew up in Castlemilk.Maybe some of you have pics of yer old close's.would be great to see them. biggrin.gif

is that ardencraig drive plz
QUOTE (maweedugs @ 23rd Jan 2013, 01:42am) *
is that ardencraig drive plz

It looks more like Castlemilk Drive.

Welcome to GG thumbup.gif
RomanyStew
QUOTE (weesue @ 2nd Apr 2012, 03:36pm) *
Hi Guys
Here's my latest Castlemilk History Video... New updated photos...
It's called Castlemilk Through The Ages...

Enjoy!

Visit My Website

Great video Sue,very well done I really enjoyed it.
Sad to see what happend to the Castle,but good news on the Stables and pond bridge.
joycewilson
The Waterfall from Castlemilk Lake. Taken 11th Feb 2013.