*Paul*
8th Jul 2009, 02:10am
I was just looking at photos of castlemilk where I grew up in babyland. Is St Maggies primary still there? or the secondry. Ive been away for 20yrs I heard they tore babyland down as well. I had some good times there from 1975-95.
jimd1768
27th Jul 2009, 10:28pm
I have spent the past hour or so looking through the pics and it brings back loads of memories. I was born in Stravanan Rd. Went to St Martins Primary(73-80) and then onto St Margaret Marys(80 - 82). There is a pic wher I can see my house which is amazing because I was back a couple of years ago and the close is not there now, but a new house.
You have all done a great job of keeping the memories alive. Would love to come across someone I knew from my time there.
I now live and work in Ireland
magz56
28th Jul 2009, 01:02pm
hi found this site by accident. i live in birgidale road ,the birgidale complex is still here also the 4th sec shool could have been st margaret mary`s annex which was next to st dominics pr.i went to st margaret mary`s sec but also went across the road for cookery in the building nxt to the police station.i have lived in c/milk for most of my life,we came from the gorbals in 1957 to stravavan rd then moved to birgidale in 1967
28th Jul 2009, 02:12pm
QUOTE (jeani @ 16th Jun 2009, 12:47am)

hi wits, just noticed you'd replied back to my post back in feb,( sorry i'm just catchin up, been offline for months,) it was the photo of the snow scene (castlemilk drive, ) i lived next block down from you, and they were done up too, in fact they were done up again more recently,,,, jeani
Hi Jeani,what number did you live at?? perhaps I knew you or your family.I lived at #64 from 1970-1980.
moonster
28th Jul 2009, 05:56pm
QUOTE (nutty @ 30th Sep 2007, [size=)
09:18am' post='160506']
Anyone stay in ardencraig terr facing glenwood school?

[/size]i used to stay in number 6 arden craig terr
Tailso
10th Aug 2009, 03:53pm
I lived in Dunagoil , my mum still lives in Castlemilk today .Nice passing through and looking at all the places we used to play.I was up the braes with my dog and even the change up there is huge.I remember the Brittish legion although i was to young to get in.my mum worked as a barstaff there and used to go down to the cage at the back for my lunch
margie
6th Sep 2009, 05:28pm
Hi Does anyone remember a girl called Barbara who lived in Ardmaliesh cres. She worked in collins publishers in the sixtys and i think she married a guy called stuart also from castlemilk. His mates name was George and i think he lived in Ardencraig rd. Sorry i don,t remember their surnames. cheers Margie.
margie
8th Sep 2009, 04:07pm
Hi All Just remembered Barbara,s second name was Mc Mahon. Does this ring a bell.cheers Margie
Maria
19th Sep 2009, 09:34pm
Thanks to everyone for posting photos as I have none. My Mum lost all her photos some how over the years.
I lived in the Mitchelhill Flats from 1970 and went to Grange Sec School. My Ma was May Kerr and was friend with Helen Hamil. Tried tracking Janette down but no luck After my son was born I moved to a wee hoose on Ardmaleish St or Rd #1 (I think) lived right across from Carole Latta we still keep intouch, There was a BIG lady lived on ground floor named Isobel with her man, real sweet lady.
I have really enjoyed the pics and reading the posts it brings back memories :-)
If anyone would be interested in emailing me some I would really appreciate that so I can show my kids. If you send me a wee PM I can send you my email addy.
Thanks again
MARK MCKENZIE
4th Oct 2009, 08:39pm
QUOTE (CAT @ 23rd Jun 2009, 02:07pm)

Hi I'm not from castlemilk but I wonder if anyone know's or remembers an old friend of mine.
Her name is Belinda (linda ) McKenzie. She stayed at lainshaw drive with her parents and brother stuart. When she split from her husband she moved back to castlemilk round the corner from from her old house facing onto Carmunock Road. Belinda would be about 47 now. I've often wondered how she is.

Hi,
The above are my cousins which have lost contact with did you ever find a location for them?
mark mckenzie
joycewilson
28th Oct 2009, 10:11pm
Great site this brill information too.
mark have seen a few folk looking for Belinda, i went to Glenwood with her but have no idea whats shes up to now looked on friends reunited but shes not on there
jeani
3rd Jan 2010, 03:04am
QUOTE (witshisname @ 28th Jul 2009, 08:02pm)

Hi Jeani,what number did you live at?? perhaps I knew you or your family.I lived at #64 from 1970-1980.
hi whitshisname, sorry just gettin back to your question way back in july ! but my comps been crashed for months, i lived at no, 50 in cassie drive, folks name campbell, my mum n dad were original tenents in that close from 1955, n lived there a their days, ,,,, jeani
joycewilson
3rd Jan 2010, 04:29pm
Good to see folks adding here...I have great memories of my childhood in Castlemilk.....dont know if anyone would know my older brothers and sisters Janette, Grace, Chic, Norma or John Wilson we all went to Braeside then Glenwood Schools?
Castlegirl
3rd Jan 2010, 09:17pm
Everyone writes about how womderful Castlemilk was and what a great place it was to live in and I wholeheartedly agree. It's just a real shame, however, long term Milkies gave the property developer a licence to do as they please and deliberately run down the housing stock and tear up their beautiful green space. Regeneration is just another word for greed. Regeneration is just part of the same Captialist plans and city clearance was committed on ordinary folks in the same way the Highland Clearance committed.
joycewilson
12th Jan 2010, 09:29pm
Suppose everything changes Castlegirl...came a time when long term residents wanted out of castlemilk...now it has become a nicer place for the ones who stayed they have got nicer houses where they want to stay.
My Mum left there in the late 70s still talks about when she got her flat in castlemilk from a room and kitchen in the Gallowgate and said it was a godsend to get a place like that!
Changes eh!
scoob77
8th Feb 2010, 09:42pm
does anybody know when grange secondary (castlemilk high now) was built??? just wondering if it was done the same time as castlemilk was being made or done later.
any info greatly welcomed

scoob
rondo
9th Feb 2010, 10:48pm
QUOTE (Castlegirl @ 24th Jun 2009, 10:14pm)

Scoob
Where did you get your photos? I'm looking for a book called Old Castlemilk and these photos are in the book, but I keep coming up against a brick wall (bloody hurts tae) I even contacted the publishers and they told me they never printed such a book, but they did coz me and my mates were looking thru it in a Rutherglen shop and it wiz ma ma's good intentions that stoapped me fae buying it. I went back the next day to buy the book, but it was gone and the shopkeeper told me he didn't know the book I was talking about, well these photos prove it does exist, but WHERE? Kin anywan help?
castlegirl you get the book in smithies still think its about 6.oo quid failing that try the bookworld shop in suchiehall st as they had it wen i was last in good luck
*John*
27th Feb 2010, 09:30am
From the previous posts I can see that most, if not all, are from Castlemilk. I am looking for photo's of the old Castlemilk Group called The Hitch-Hikers. Can anyone help please?
torfootlass
9th Mar 2010, 04:01pm
I moved away from Castlemilk in Sept, 1962 and the Grange Sec was not there then. When I left St Margaret Mary's Sec.had just opened. I went to Glenwood from 1960 till 62. Before that I went to Braeside.
9th Mar 2010, 05:18pm
QUOTE (*Paul* @ 8th Jul 2009, 02:19am)

I was just looking at photos of castlemilk where I grew up in babyland. Is St Maggies primary still there? or the secondry. Ive been away for 20yrs I heard they tore babyland down as well. I had some good times there from 1975-95.
Hi Paul,I think the Primary school is gone,but Maggies Secondary school is still there.They demolished the Auld Maggies and erected a brand new School,here is a pic I took when I was back in 2006.
castlemilkbhoy85
11th Mar 2010, 09:08pm
awrite people ave stayed in cmilk aw ma life (25 years) and the place has changed a lot but it is a still a great place tae live wae a lot a character i currently stay on the drive n aw yer auld photos are brill think my close is one of the only ones still standin lol
a wiz wondering if anybody oan this new my mum patricia milligan who grew up in ballantay in the 70s or any the milligans from balantay my grandas name was wullie and grannys was mary my mum has 4 sisters mary annie margret and catherine and 2 brothers john and william does any the names ring a bell
also my dad was from ardencraig his name is peter cassidy and has 3 bros brian john and terry and 1 sister rosemarie if anyone remembers them let me know thanks
joycewilson
11th Mar 2010, 09:35pm
HI Castlemilkbhoy I was in Castlemilk the time your asking about I was in Tormusk, I will ask my brother when I see him on Sat if he remembers any of the family Milligan rings a bell somewhere, Im 48 my brother is 51 and I am sure he will remember someone....
castlemilkbhoy85
12th Mar 2010, 12:45pm
cheers joyce that would be brill my mum would have been 46 this year so about the same age thanks
12th Mar 2010, 08:13pm
Hi, does anyone out there remember any Barbours from Castlemilk?
Thanks, G B
12th Mar 2010, 08:45pm
QUOTE (castlemilkbhoy85 @ 11th Mar 2010, 09:17pm)

awrite people ave stayed in cmilk aw ma life (25 years) and the place has changed a lot but it is a still a great place tae live wae a lot a character i currently stay on the drive n aw yer auld photos are brill think my close is one of the only ones still standin lol
a wiz wondering if anybody oan this new my mum patricia milligan who grew up in ballantay in the 70s or any the milligans from balantay my grandas name was wullie and grannys was mary my mum has 4 sisters mary annie margret and catherine and 2 brothers john and william does any the names ring a bell
also my dad was from ardencraig his name is peter cassidy and has 3 bros brian john and terry and 1 sister rosemarie if anyone remembers them let me know thanks
is rose marie 52 if so she was in my class at school at st margaret mary's but we were only class pals no pal pals if you get my gist
12th Mar 2010, 08:49pm
QUOTE (scoob77 @ 8th Feb 2010, 09:51pm)

does anybody know when grange secondary (castlemilk high now) was built??? just wondering if it was done the same time as castlemilk was being made or done later.

scoob
my das pal bill keen helped build it in the 1970ies as he would come doon for a cuppa tea or a swally every noo and again my neices went to it when it was called grange
castlemilkbhoy85
12th Mar 2010, 09:44pm
QUOTE (Gallusbisom @ 12th Mar 2010, 08:22pm)

Hi, does anyone out there remember any Barbours from Castlemilk?
Thanks, G B
hi there g b there is barbours in castlemilk to this day if thats who you are talking about they stay on the drive i am pals wae jamie barbour who is about 19 or 20 odd
castlemilkbhoy85
12th Mar 2010, 09:45pm
QUOTE (stuarty @ 12th Mar 2010, 08:54pm)

is rose marie 52 if so she was in my class at school at st margaret mary's but we were only class pals no pal pals if you get my gist
aye that will be her stuarty cheers
joycewilson
30th Apr 2010, 07:29am
Hi castlemilkbhoy. The name Mary Milligan rings a bell with me, we stayed in Tormusk Road, was is she around 50?
think she was a yr or so older than myself....
30th Apr 2010, 05:33pm
Hi Castlemilkbhoy, odds on that would be a relie of mine. I think his g/da had an accident at the docks. His g/da's brother's name was Edward. Would love to know if he is interested in getting in touch. G B
Garyt
3rd May 2010, 06:09pm
Click to view attachmentHi all my name is Garyt lived in C/milk all my days Picture from house where i was born in the 60s only moved out because they wanted to pull my house down. Dont know who took pic ? I went to braeside then Glenwood 1980-84
TOMANDGERRYSMUME
25th Jan 2011, 09:58pm
Hello, My Papa and Nana lived at 64 Castlemilk Drive up to late 70's.Papa was John Nana was Isa .Their Surmane was Mitchell.We used to spend some of our hoildays with them, we lived in England.They lived on the second floor up.Does anyone remember them?Papa worked in a woodyard.He lost half his index finger at work.Remember Alex the ice cream man?
TOMANDGERRYSMUME
25th Jan 2011, 10:07pm
my sister used to have a boyfriend called Steven Bowman n the 70's.She used to hang round with him when we came up from england.Think he lived further down Castlemilk Drive.My Nana and Papa lived at 64 x
Tracy Stormrod
9th Feb 2011, 11:00pm
Hi all..... wow thanks so much for the memories... i remember the Looking Glass and i loved it so much.. i used to buy the paper scraps for my scrap book .. and i also loved to get the paper "dolls" with the paper clothes that had little tabs on them that you could fold over and put over the "doll".... i loved that.. haha...
I also loved the Victor chippie and i remember them frying by candlelight in power cuts often..... looking at those photos also brought back the memory of me winning an easter drawing competition .. i drew a bunny and it was brilliant... i was recently back in castlemilk and it was so strange... its changed so much and i was surprised bu how much smaller it looked... i remember as a kid Castlemilk drive looked absolutely huge but it wasnt really... strange how the world appears 100x bigger when you're a kid.. thank you for those pictures.. they have made my night...

Tracy
angela blue
16th Feb 2011, 10:08am
QUOTE (marina @ 26th Feb 2009, 10:55pm)

i have very fond memories of the looking glass, my mum would buy me the wee tiny beanie dolls that were in what i can only describe as match boxes
the looking glass! Me and my bro johnnie blue luuuuuved that shop, was an alladins cave, never ending, lol, poured over star wars figures for hours :-) lived in glenacre drive, sad to go along that way now
2nd Apr 2011, 11:06pm
QUOTE (TOMANDGERRYSMUME @ 25th Jan 2011, 10:07pm)

Hello, My Papa and Nana lived at 64 Castlemilk Drive up to late 70's.Papa was John Nana was Isa .Their Surmane was Mitchell.We used to spend some of our hoildays with them, we lived in England.They lived on the second floor up.Does anyone remember them?Papa worked in a woodyard.He lost half his index finger at work.Remember Alex the ice cream man?

Hi TOMANDGERRYSMUME, I remember the Mitchell's very well as I lived downstairs from them,I remember they had a couple of Granddaughter's who would come and visit them occasionally,Mrs Mitchell would give us homemade Ice Lollies and we would go walk around the open area behind #64..it was good fun.
I remember them moving away,but I don't know where too..wherever it was I hope they had a good life.
*john*
3rd May 2011, 08:43am
QUOTE (TOMANDGERRYSMUME @ 25th Jan 2011, 09:58pm)

I remember Jock i lived ground flat did you stay Bridlington are you Ians CHILDREN john
E Slick
29th May 2011, 01:11am
Hi, Im looking for some info on a couple who lived in number 56 Birgidale Road around 1982. Forsyth was their name and the woman would have been Janice. She will be 50 - 51 now.
any info would be great
john mccann
29th May 2011, 01:15pm
I Remember Jock and Isa Mitchell i stayed down the bottom flat also knew Ian who moved to Bridlington hows is Ian he used to play the bagpipes every New Year.
ticktock
30th May 2011, 10:04am
Hello, i wonder if any of you will be able to help me for my search for a couple who lived in Castlemilk in the 80's. Please can you let me know if you recall who lived in number 56 Birgidale Road around 1982. Surname Forsyth, womans name Janice. she will be around 50 - 51 now. any info would be greatly appreciated as i think i may be related to them
7th Jun 2011, 02:30pm
QUOTE (witshisname @ 2nd Apr 2011, 11:06pm)

Hi TOMANDGERRYSMUME, I remember the Mitchell's very well as I lived downstairs from them,I remember they had a couple of Granddaughter's who would come and visit them occasionally,Mrs Mitchell would give us homemade Ice Lollies and we would go walk around the open area behind #64..it was good fun.
I remember them moving away,but I don't know where too..wherever it was I hope they had a good life.
I wonder are you Ian Mitchells family John
26th Jun 2011, 09:45pm
QUOTE (scoob77 @ 8th Feb 2010, 09:27pm)

scoob
Scoob, Grange Secondary opened in August 1968.
11th Aug 2011, 07:01pm
QUOTE (Guest @ 7th Jun 2011, 03:08pm)

I wonder are you Ian Mitchells family John
I am not related to the Mitchell's they were just my upstairs neighbours,My aunt & uncle stayed below them with my cousins Ian & Linda,we moved into #64 1 up in 1970 when My Aunt & Uncle bought a house.
Peter Ross
30th Aug 2011, 11:09pm
Hello. My name is Peter Ross. I'm a journalist with Scotland On Sunday. I'm working on a story in which I am trying to identify and interview the four boys in Oscar Marzaroli's iconic 1963 photograph Castlemilk Lads, which you can see here:
http://www.faslondon.com/work/Oscar_Marzaroli_31454.aspxI am in touch with the boy at the front of the picture (now a man in his early sixties) but still need to find the rest. Can anyone help or suggest any leads please? These boys would have been 14 in 1963 and they were all pupils at Glenwood Secondary at Castlemilk. It's possible that the boy looking straight at camera and leaning on his pal's shoulder is called Peter Jackson. But I don't know that for sure.
I really want to make this story work as I think it could be a fascinating tale. If anyone can and would like to help, please email me at peter.ross@scotlandonsunday.com
Many thanks,
Peter
scoob77
31st Aug 2011, 06:25am
peter
would you mind if i posted the link on facebook as i am on a few groups all about castlemilk in the old days......see if anyone there might recognise the faces.....
Peter Ross
31st Aug 2011, 06:51am
Please go ahead and post it on Facebook if you like. Thank you. Peter
31st Aug 2011, 10:57am
Is there a local newspaper for Castlemilk? Might be worth an advert?
Or what about putting up a couple of big posters of the photo in the Braes shopping centre and offering a small reward if anyone can give the identity of any of these cheeky chappies?
Best of luck!!
scoob77
31st Aug 2011, 01:48pm
i've posted this on facebook for you....i'll let you know if i get any replies
Peter Ross
31st Aug 2011, 03:06pm
Thank you everyone for your help so far. I did put up some posters a while back, which is how I managed to find the first boy. I'm planning to go back soon and hand out flyers.
scoob77
2nd Sep 2011, 09:15pm
does anyone recognise the man in this pic???? i'm hoping someone on here knows as i got no response on fb!!!!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.