Full Version: Castlemilk
Glasgow Boards/Forums > Glasgow Memories > Glasgow Memories > Glasgow Districts
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Macky
high there no they are the dougrie flats at the bottom left is castleton school just accross from st margaret marys brill photos great link witshisname and thanks for the photos of birgidale road and castleton
scoob77
ok, should have explained it more clearer! at top right is grange secondary, just to the left of there, top centre is mitchellhill primary!!! wub.gif
That's a fantastic pic Scoob,nice to see both my old schools in it(Glenwood & Castleton).
I think if a recent picture was taken we'd all be shocked,the Area has changed so much,I think the Dougrie flats & The Grange are the only things that haven't changed.
scoob77
yeah i know, grange isn't there anymore, well not the one we know anyway!!! it changed it's name to castlemilk high school in 1990 when we took in pupils from glenwood when that closed down, but it's all changed now, this is what it looks like now!

joycewilson
Amazing changes eh? Still got the memories though wub.gif
Scoob, Do you know why they closed Glenwood??? I've looked for Info on the Net but haven't found any reason.
All that was said was,students from Glenwood would be transferred to Castlemilk High.

they pulled the birgidale complex down last year as my cousion;s grandaughter had her holy communion party in there the same day as when we had the 2006 meet at the horseshoe bar in the may and a was home last october for about 5 weeks and loved every min of it . and if all is well a will get a few pics when up in october hoping to get there for atleast a month again wub.gif
drumlad
where abouts in surry are you,i was working down there a few years ago,i was in chertsy,easher,walton on thames and crawley.i worked in the same easte as cliff richard,took nearly 30mins to convince the guard on the gates to the private road that i was not a mad bomber rolleyes.gif because of my glasgow accent
joycewilson
Lol drumlad......accent dont do us good when away from home tongue.gif
scoob77
QUOTE (witshisname @ 12th Mar 2009, 08:07pm) *
Scoob, Do you know why they closed Glenwood??? I've looked for Info on the Net but haven't found any reason.
All that was said was,students from Glenwood would be transferred to Castlemilk High.

wits, i found out from a friend of mine that went to glenwwod at that time that the reason it closed was because it was falling apart and it was cheaper just to pull it down than to do it up!!!!
QUOTE (drumlad @ 13th Mar 2009, 07:59am) *
where abouts in surry are you,i was working down there a few years ago,i was in chertsy,easher,walton on thames and crawley.i worked in the same easte as cliff richard,took nearly 30mins to convince the guard on the gates to the private road that i was not a mad bomber rolleyes.gif because of my glasgow accent
a sent you a PM ok wink.gif
QUOTE (scoob77 @ 13th Mar 2009, 02:49pm) *
wits, i found out from a friend of mine that went to glenwwod at that time that the reason it closed was because it was falling apart and it was cheaper just to pull it down than to do it up!!!!

Thanks Scoob,
I would never have guessed that,as it always looked a sturdy building.When i was going to Castleton Primary,the running joke was ''you could break into it with a tin opener''lol.
So I guess that's why they rebuilt it as well.
joycewilson
Lol witshisname I remember that being said as well, shame to see it all change too though aint it? x rolleyes.gif
Lynne Kumar
QUOTE (scoob77 @ 7th Mar 2009, 08:57pm) *
Click to view attachmenthere's an old pic that a mate of mine found, it was taken early 70s and you can see st margaret mary's in centre, grange is top right, just to the left is mitchellhill!!!! and at top left you can just see glenwood

OMG Thanks for the memories. It feels like yesterday walking up and down that area, visiting friends and enjoying my time with them...Thanks Mickey Mouse
saminacam
QUOTE (witshisname @ 20th Feb 2009, 07:48pm) *
The Old Neighbourhood sure has changed,My Auld Close is #64 just to the left of this pic Had friends who stayed on top floor of # 62 in late 70's.
the
garden in the pic used to have the most amazing Rose bushes in it(pinched a few) when they bloomed laugh.gif smile.gif

Roses? Must have been a newer tennant from when I lived there, (just above the "garden") it was mostly weeds then, courtesy of the Bradley's who lived in the ground flat.
Lynne Kumar
QUOTE (joycewilson @ 26th Feb 2009, 08:38pm) *
Thanks Scoob thought they were both gone. x
Witshisname I just missed you at school then I left in 77, just got in touch with an old friend and neighbour whos in USA found her again on this site within 4 months of being on it. Was on Friends Reunited 4 yrs and never got her AMAZING this site........The place I would really like to go to is the wee wood between Tormusk and Machrie leading to the old Braeside......used to cross the wee burn there on my way to school.... be good to have a nosey might get round to that when the weather gets better x

Did you have any older brothers or sisters at Glenwood?

Hey Wee Joycie, You and I can take a stroll to Tormusk when I visit. It would be great. Irene needs it too. Wait for us and we can go down memory lane together...Micke Mouse
Hi folks,

Jist wondering if anyone remembers a lassie called Rosemary Savage, think she staying in Barlia Terrace, we where in same class in Braeside 67/68 and hud a wew crush oan each other. Like you do when yer 10 hehe.

Thankoos.
QUOTE (saminacam @ 15th Mar 2009, 12:29am) *
Roses? Must have been a newer tennant from when I lived there, (just above the "garden") it was mostly weeds then, courtesy of the Bradley's who lived in the ground flat.

I remember the Bradley's very well,as a kid I used to play footie behind my close and the ball would occasionally hit their wall,which would drive the wee wummin crazy.
In fact she got so mad one day that she came out and confronted me & the lad I was playing footie with,and took a swipe at me.
I almost gave her one back,but thought better of it.It wasn't long after that incident that they did a midnight flit.
The next family to move in was the Porch family,I knew Pauline Porch from #66 I think it was her older brother who got the ground floor apt at #62.
bettyearl
hi im bett
hello everyione this is my first posting and ii was born in the gorbals and a lot of people from there went to castlemilk we moved to denniston but i babysat for a family in the late 50's early 60s who moved to Balentay terrace(spelling?) there name was Mullen mum&dad Carry and Jimmy kids Kathleen Jim and Joseph there were twins after that but i stopped sitting then and dont remember thier names i often wonder how they all got on does anyone out there know them i would appreciate it if anyone can give me any information bett
joycewilson
Hi Bett sorry dont know them....am enjoying this site...Lynne no probs will go down memory lane with you xxxxx
lostscot
QUOTE (Rabbie @ 18th Mar 2009, 12:10pm) *
Hi folks,

Jist wondering if anyone remembers a lassie called Rosemary Savage, think she staying in Barlia Terrace, we where in same class in Braeside 67/68 and hud a wew crush oan each other. Like you do when yer 10 hehe.

Thankoos.

I know Rosemary Morris. She lives in Canada and will be in Scotland in May
irnbru1970
Maggies ! or St Margaret Marys Secondary...
irnbru1970
Mitchell Hill flats being built
irnbru1970
one if the first images of Castlemilk in process of being built taken from Cathkin Braes - can anyone figure out what part of Castlemilk?
scoob77

this was taken in 1971

scoob77

and heres another one, taken in 1956 while still being built!
irnbru1970
that last one looks like its Castlemilk Drive and Dougrie Drive looking towards Glenacre Drive?
scoob77
yeah i think it is, just where the community centre is, or should be, i dont think it had been built then! laugh.gif
scoob77
can anybody help me out with this?? this was in a newspaper listing thing in november 1965, and it mentions how many schools there were, but me and my mate are confused on wit the 4th secondary is, as we only knew of 3!!!!!!!!!!

Sorry Scoob77,I can only think of the 3 as well,I did a bit of looking around the web ,but couldn't find anything about a 4th school.
fisherman
Hi Scobb 77 there were only three secondary schools in the Milk the only thing I can think off they might have counted as a fourth school was Maggie's was split in two before you went to the Maggie's everyone knows you spent the first year across the road the wee school next to the police station it turned into a nursery then social work dept

scoob77

here's another oldie, april 1956, castlemilk drive/glenacre!

scoob77

this believe it or not is ardencraig/tormusk in oct 1954!!!
jeani
hi wits, just noticed you'd replied back to my post back in feb,( sorry i'm just catchin up, been offline for months,) it was the photo of the snow scene (castlemilk drive, ) i lived next block down from you, and they were done up too, in fact they were done up again more recently,,,, jeani
jeani
scoob77 that was a brilliant photo of castlemilk drive in 1956,! my parents moved to castlemilk drive in 55/56 they were original tenants, i was only a baby so it was good to see what it was like then,,,,, jeani
joycewilson
Hi all, brill to be able to see these old pics...brill site this. I lived in Castlemilk all my childhood and loved it went to braeside then Glenwood x
BigJock
Some good images in here, I used to live at 9Machrie Road in the late fifties and went to Glenwood, of course 9Machrie is just an open field now but it was good to see the other pics, brought back memories.
JohnClark
I grew up in Castlemilk. We moved there when I was three (1973). My Mum, Linda Clark (nee Campbell) was from Castlemilk, as my Grandparents (Colin and Marion Campbell) were amongst the first residents who lived in 173 Castlemilk Drive. When we first lived in Castlemilk, we lived at 382 Ardencraig Road, the close on the corner of Ardencraig Road, and Downcraig Road, where I attended St.Margaret Mary's Primary School (1974-1981)

In 1985 we moved down to 6 Ardencraig Terrace behind Bogany Terrace, and Castlemilk Drive, whilst I was attending St. Margaret Mary's Secondary School. (1981-1987).

I now live in Kilmarnock, but my folks still live up at the top end of Castlemilk Drive.

My Dad and my Grandpa Campbell were both bus drivers who both worked out of Langside Garage, and later Larkfield Garage, although my Grandpa later went on to become station Master at West Street Underground Station.

My Mum worked for Matthews Butchers both in Castlemilk Arcade, and Croftfoot Roundabout, and my Gran was one of the checkout ladies in Glabraiths (Templetons) round at the back of the shops near where the Oasis pub is/was.

So that's me.

Howdy.
CAT
Hi I'm not from castlemilk but I wonder if anyone know's or remembers an old friend of mine.

Her name is Belinda (linda ) McKenzie. She stayed at lainshaw drive with her parents and brother stuart. When she split from her husband she moved back to castlemilk round the corner from from her old house facing onto Carmunock Road. Belinda would be about 47 now. I've often wondered how she is. smile.gif
torfootlass
I lived in 6 Tormusk Drive from December 1956 till September 1962. I attended both Braeside and Glenwood. I started Braeside when it first opened in August 1957 and left there in June 1960 to go to Glenwood. I started Glenwood in August 1960 but unfortunately we moved away from Castlemilk in September 1962 to move to Easterhouse. Castlemilk was a great place to grow up and I never really settled in Easterhouse and left there in 1968 when I got married.
Ann Onymous
They shut Glenwood for no reason other than the greed of the property developer and politician.
scoob77
i've got a friend that went to glenwood when it got shutdown and the reason it got shut is because it was falling apart, and rather doing repairs, it would have cost to much to do it up so it was cheaper to just tear it down!

i dont mind though, although it was cramped when some of them came up to my school, but if it hadn't have happenend i wouldn't have met my best friend! wub.gif
*Elaine*
QUOTE (irnbru1970 @ 24th Apr 2009, 11:51pm) *
one if the first images of Castlemilk in process of being built taken from Cathkin Braes - can anyone figure out what part of Castlemilk?

It's the top end of Castlemilk. You can see Ardencraig Road, Castlemilk Drive, Stravanan Road and the surrounding areas. The schools hadn't been built then. Where did you get such a great photo?
*Elaine*
QUOTE (scoob77 @ 13th May 2009, 10:32pm) *
can anybody help me out with this?? this was in a newspaper listing thing in november 1965, and it mentions how many schools there were, but me and my mate are confused on wit the 4th secondary is, as we only knew of 3!!!!!!!!!!

The four mentioned is St Margaret Mary's Secondary oppossite St Margaret Mary's Secondary, no I'm not being wide and please allow me to explain. At that time and up until 1970 the two schools in Dougrie Road were used. First and Second Years went to the one on the side of the Police Station and from 3rd upwards went to the one on the other side of the road. The St M M's on the side of the Police Station stopped being used I think around the end of 1970. Check out the photo of Maggies that's been uploaded to this site and you see the other St Mags oppossite at the end of the row of houses on Dougrie Road in the direction of the flats. Other schools seen in this brilliant photo are Grange Secondary at the top right near the top of Castlemilk Drive and you see Glenawood just slightly offset of the flats.
Castlegirl
Scoob
Where did you get your photos? I'm looking for a book called Old Castlemilk and these photos are in the book, but I keep coming up against a brick wall (bloody hurts tae) I even contacted the publishers and they told me they never printed such a book, but they did coz me and my mates were looking thru it in a Rutherglen shop and it wiz ma ma's good intentions that stoapped me fae buying it. I went back the next day to buy the book, but it was gone and the shopkeeper told me he didn't know the book I was talking about, well these photos prove it does exist, but WHERE? Kin anywan help?
Castlegirl
QUOTE (irnbru1970 @ 24th Apr 2009, 11:51pm) *

Aye, a kin help yi. It's at the top end of Castlemilk. The long road is Ardencraig Road. I can see Stravanan Road tae and did yi notice nae schools wur built yet so it must be the 50's. You can also see Birgadale and Castlemilk Drive, Dougrie Road and all the areas in between. It's a great wee photo seeing it wiz taken before aw yon technology stuff wiz invented.
Castlegirl
QUOTE (scoob77 @ 13th May 2009, 10:32pm) *

The Castlegirl (well sumbudy awready hid my real name fur a registration) expert is at your service. The 4th school is St Margaret Mary's Secondary oppossite St Margaret Mary's Secondary! Naw, am no windin yi up coz the furst n second years went to the school next to the Polis Station and jist oppossite the bigger school and it wiz called St Margaret Mary's Secondary too. It wiz only lassies that attended the wee Maggie's and it stopped being used at the end of 1970. Naebody ever knew why 1st and 2nd years wur sent there back then. You can see the 4th school in the photos Scoobs uploaded, it's the wan next tae the polis station, near the flats and at the end of the row of hooses oan Dougrie Road. Hope this ansurs yur question and am happy tae of been of help tae yi. It's a long time ago now, but does anyone remember Big Betty McLeod the English teacher and Miss Swan the music teacher? Everyone wiz terrrrriffffiiieeeddd of them, well we hid discipline in them daze and they knew how to dish it out. They were oor teachers at wee Maggie's in 1970?

scoob77
QUOTE (Castlegirl @ 24th Jun 2009, 10:33pm) *
Scoob
Where did you get your photos? I'm looking for a book called Old Castlemilk and these photos are in the book, but I keep coming up against a brick wall (bloody hurts tae) I even contacted the publishers and they told me they never printed such a book, but they did coz me and my mates were looking thru it in a Rutherglen shop and it wiz ma ma's good intentions that stoapped me fae buying it. I went back the next day to buy the book, but it was gone and the shopkeeper told me he didn't know the book I was talking about, well these photos prove it does exist, but WHERE? Kin anywan help?

i've got a mate on my bebo who's put loads of old photos up, not just of castlemilk but of glasgow itself, he said it was alright to copy them, so i have! laugh.gif

i don't know where he got them from, i'll have a word with him and find out
castelgirl
QUOTE (Guest judgeswig * @ 7th Jan 2009, 01:39am) *
And the jannees name wiz Jim Bain.

Jim Bain Snr, former Jany of St Martins died in recent months. He was a great guy. I understand he was on holiday and collasped. Jean, his wife still can't get over it. Rest well Jimmy, yur still thot of.
*Castlegirl*
QUOTE (scoob77 @ 24th Jun 2009, 11:10pm) *
i've got a mate on my bebo who's put loads of old photos up, not just of castlemilk but of glasgow itself, he said it was alright to copy them, so i have! laugh.gif

i don't know where he got them from, i'll have a word with him and find out

Cheers, Scoob, you're a wee darling.