Full Version: Calton
Glasgow Boards/Forums > Glasgow Memories > Glasgow Memories > Glasgow Districts
littlebernie
Please post your memories of this Glasgow district here...Calton

Come on let us know and immortalise your memories here...Calton

sad.gif hi thers one place you all have for gotton the calton where dunns ginger factory was in bankier street also green street the schools and along side the school was where a house bomb oppersit the school do you remmber dunns lemonade tizer dunns orrange all came from the calton do remember green st claythorn st risk st bankier st and the london rd this made up some of the calton bernie from the calton
keelie gal'
i remember the ginger factory in the calton my gran lives in green street and has done for many a year wink.gif
andypisces1
Hi there Bernie, I remember the calton very well. Started my apprenticeship there at John Bennie Lifts on moncur st......andy
a worked roon the corner in 153 oxford st glasgow loved it mice runnin every wheare and trying to catch them as a was a wee bit o a tomboy in the early 70s smile.gif
weebrucey
A big thanks to you all. I've been hunting for Calton on maps for a while now, could never find it even on old reprinted 1895 OS maps. Now I've got a better idea. I've got the address for an old ancestor on Main Street, Calton, Glasgow. Would anybody know where Main St was?
Hi All..Here is a School in Green St Cheers Flim
bahoo1
QUOTE (weebrucey @ 6th Mar 2007, 01:27 AM) *
A big thanks to you all. I've been hunting for Calton on maps for a while now, could never find it even on old reprinted 1895 OS maps. Now I've got a better idea. I've got the address for an old ancestor on Main Street, Calton, Glasgow. Would anybody know where Main St was?

Hi wee brucey i think main st was part of whats now called Claythorn Avenue as i know that the junction of claythorn ave and stevenson street is where Calton Cross was hope this helps i am a true caltonian as many generations of my family were born and died herebahoo1
wee tricia
hi' I was born in the calton in Moir street as were five of my siblings both my parents were born and brought up there i went to St Alphonsus School in Charlotte Street next to Glasgow Green played on the swings at bain square my dad's family had stall's in at the barra's up until a few years ago. I have great memories of the calton .
I could listen to stories about the Calton forever, it's the best place in Glasgow. smile.gif It holds my heart. smile.gif
wee anne
i am from the calton ,sydney st next to the wee mans pub..i went to st marys in abercromby st then on to west st,,my ma/da are from the calton as well millroad st and tobago st, my granny lived on millroad st for yrs ,also had cousins from the calton as well name of boyce from sydney st then they moved into my grannys hoose when she died on millroad st.i have great memories of growing up there we used to take a short cut from school theough the meat market my god when i think of it couldnt do that today seeing all the anilmals hanging with the blood coming oot,yuk..i think wednesday was killer day back then im taking over 60yrs ago..i went to the palias and barrowland ,when i go home on holiday i love a walk through the calton and go into st marys chapel doon through the barras and along into the toon ,
sharon calder
iv lived in the calton all my life its a changed place alot of the caltonians have left but still a few of the old families here all my family moved away but are now making their way back the lindsay s and the herons all went to thomson street primary and either onslow drive or whitehill must be some one out there who remembers them my mu is roseann the rest are robert who is a plumber micheal was in the same year as lulu maureen and the baby violet hope some1 will rember them.
Aintree Girl
A direct ancestor lived in Calton in 1763 and in 1851 my great great grandfather lived at 175 Main Street Calton. I'd be intersted to know where in Glasgow Calton is.

GGgrandfather was a Sheriff officer--was that a police officer does anybody know?
Aintree Girl
A direct ancestor lived in Calton in 1763 and in 1851 my great great grandfather lived at 175 Main Street Calton. I'd be intersted to know where in Glasgow Calton is.

GGgrandfather was a Sheriff officer--was that a police officer does anybody know?

oops! I thought it said not posted!!
I'm sure there are a few on here who've been visited by a Sherrif Officer. They're a mix between a bailiff and a debt collector.
Aintree Girl
Thank you for this Dexter--wouldn't have thought of that --will look up the ref you gave
I lived for a wee while in Hunter St. The close next to a Slaters . a couple of closes up was the The Lucky Hoose (I think that was the name) The! , Arnold Clark was the bartender, He had smashin Ham sandwiches, Real Ham no the processed crap. & Pies `n peas. Poured a good pint tae. The pub was at the corner of Barrack St., & Bell Street. We lived in the close & the wife`s Aunty Jenny was 1 up. He musta used ma money tae buy aw them motors.
The aunty up the sterrs and the the In laws across at the corner of Bain St. 282 Gallowgate wanup. Nae wunner we went tae California... Naw they were good people. Went back to look after him the last five years of his life. Tommy Foley & Margaret were good people.Throw in Barraland and this Springburn boy has Good Memories. as an afterthought ... Ah met ma better half there too. rolleyes.gif
Waverley
My grand parents & my aunt & uncle lived in Abercromby Street, my parents were married in Calton Parish Church. they were called Young.

The 29th BB Coy used to meet there my father was an officer
wee para
Hi Jim,
My gran used to live a bit farther up the London Rd. McDuff Place, right opposite the Belvedere hospital. I lived in Partick
maggs2
QUOTE (wee tricia @ 22nd Feb 2008, 11:01pm) *
hi' I was born in the calton in Moir street as were five of my siblings both my parents were born and brought up there i went to St Alphonsus School in Charlotte Street next to Glasgow Green played on the swings at bain square my dad's family had stall's in at the barra's up until a few years ago. I have great memories of the calton .

I lived in moir street and my memories are all fantastic,i also went to St Alphonsus. Do you remember the indian restaurant in Moir street and the dairy
Agnes & Robert
[size="6"][/size]Can anybody remember Sandy's Tropical Fish shop, it was on the Gallowgate just along from Barrack St ?
wee tricia
QUOTE (maggs2 @ 15th Jun 2009, 02:07pm) *
I lived in moir street and my memories are all fantastic,i also went to St Alphonsus. Do you remember the indian restaurant in Moir street and the dairy

don't remeber the Indian Restaurant but do remeber the dairy what number did you stay at ?
Kenny Docherty
GREAT!!! all my memories of living in calton and st alphonsus skool all came back. I lived in little dovehill ,next to chapapas chippy and Retas. all my mates franny wallace gerry kelly duggie dove , we all ran about together, we were a big family "the Docherty,s . and if anybody remembers me or the family ...get back to me!!
Kenny
FAE THE DOOHILL
Kenny how many of these families can you remember...Aye, I remember the Dochery's and the Broon.s fae the the Wee Doo Hill. wee Rab Broon and his family, his brother was sanny broon the boxer, your brother Robert Docherty was a boxer middle weight champiom of Scotland the broon's lived at 21 Little Dovehill low doon, his maw lived up the steer, the docherty,s lived top flat number 17. auld Mrs Allen lived facing you top flat she 98 years old when she died in 1967. was auld Mrs Broon your Granny. also remember the Allen's / Sweeney's / Donnolly's / Murray's / O'Hara's / Riley's / McLaren's / Young's / Nicol's / Saunders's / Wallace's / McBides / Henderson's / Hillings / Bairds / Kerr's / Andrew's. all from a by-gone-age
DOOHILL
QUOTE (Kenny Docherty @ 31st May 2010, 11:09pm) *
GREAT!!! all my memories of living in calton and st alphonsus skool all came back. I lived in little dovehill ,next to chapapas chippy and Retas. all my mates franny wallace gerry kelly duggie dove , we all ran about together, we were a big family "the Docherty,s . and if anybody remembers me or the family ...get back to me!!
Kenny

Ah never lived in the Calton, but ah wis baptised there - in Guthrie Memorial Congregational Church, in Moncur Street. Ah don't know why ah wis baptised there, because ah lived in Maryhill at the time.
started my apprenticeship in moncur st, with john bennie lifts.......Andy
*DOOHILL*
Kenny

DOOHILL
Kenny

DOOHILL
QUOTE (littlebernie @ 14th Sep 2004, 11:48pm) *
sad.gif hi thers one place you all have for gotton the calton where dunns ginger factory was in bankier street also green street the schools and along side the school was where a house bomb oppersit the school do you remmber dunns lemonade tizer dunns orrange all came from the calton do remember green st claythorn st risk st bankier st and the london rd this made up some of the calton bernie from the calton

DOOHILL
QUOTE (littlebernie @ 14th Sep 2004, 11:48pm) *

Bernie

What was the name of the street of Claythorn Street. . The first street on the right at the London Road End before Bankeir Street
I came from the Little Dovehill (weedoohill) went to the Dovehill School..

Fae The Calton
DOOHILL
QUOTE (Kenny Docherty @ 31st May 2010, 11:02pm) *
Kenny

Did you have 3 brothers Robert / William / Davy / also a younger sister. did your family move to Salcoats if I remember right...

Fae The Weedoohill
DOOHILL
QUOTE (Kenny Docherty @ 31st May 2010, 11:02pm) *
Kenny

GlasgowTelevision
Have a wee look at www.youtube.com/glasgowtelevision Most of the videos are filmed in the Calton area
deb
do you know a robert docherty from glasgow stayed in callander for a while in his late teens early 20s x
*annie pannie*
hi annie pannie here. I stayed in risk street, facing the bombed out site that you mentioned.I remember dunns ginger factory in bankier street. our building backed on to james street school playground, and next door there was some kind o junk yard. I remember alfies sweet shop on the corner of bankier street and claythorne street, across the road from alfies was nats fish and chip shop, peters, hardward shop and the doctors surgery, also the co-op where i would be sent for half a dozen tea breed. we played skipping ropes, ball in stocking, scraps, whip an d peerie and had back court concert. went to st.alphonsus school at charlotte street along with the heneghans and the quern's. every sunday went to peter rossies on the london road for a mccallum with my dad and my sister janette. remember binmen coming during the night with lamps on their hats, making such a racket that they woke everyone up with their noise. they were trying to scare of the rats.our neighbours at 58 risk street were the carruths and the bests. my mum and esther carruth were friends. i have photo of them at a wedding. they had a son and a daughter her name i think was margaret. they went to drumchapel and we went to castlemilk when i was about 8 years old.
bankier street was great for skating on as it had a slate street and hundred of kids would be playing out there some nights. i think thats all for now. bye
DOOHILL
QUOTE (FAE THE DOOHILL @ 1st Jul 2010, 12:24pm) *
Kenny how many of these families can you remember...Aye, I remember the Dochery's and the Broon.s fae the the Wee Doo Hill. wee Rab Broon and his family, his brother was sanny broon the boxer, your brother Robert Docherty was a boxer middle weight champiom of Scotland the broon's lived at 21 Little Dovehill low doon, his maw lived up the steer, the docherty,s lived top flat number 17. auld Mrs Allen lived facing you top flat she 98 years old when she died in 1967. was auld Mrs Broon your Granny. also remember the Allen's / Sweeney's / Donnolly's / Murray's / O'Hara's / Riley's / McLaren's / Young's / Nicol's / Saunders's / Wallace's / McBides / Henderson's / Hillings / Bairds / Kerr's / Andrew's. all from a by-gone-age

stanza
QUOTE (Agnes & Robert @ 18th Nov 2009, 06:09am) *
Can anybody remember Sandy's Tropical Fish shop, it was on the Gallowgate just along from Barrack St ?

Yes, I remember it well -my first goldfish were bought from Sandy's and my mother used to take me in regularly to see the animals.

I used to live in Parkhouse Lane, where Tennents Brewery (or whatever it's now called) now sprawls, and we used to walk down Barrack Street to the Gallowgate.
QUOTE (weebrucey @ 6th Mar 2007, 02:16am) *

Main st is in Bridgeton, no the Calton.
QUOTE (wee anne @ 22nd Mar 2009, 03:07am) *
i am from the calton ,sydney st next to the wee mans pub..i went to st marys in abercromby st then on to west st,,my ma/da are from the calton as well millroad st and tobago st, my granny lived on millroad st for yrs ,also had cousins from the calton as well name of boyce from sydney st then they moved into my grannys hoose when she died on millroad st.i have great memories of growing up there we used to take a short cut from school theough the meat market my god when i think of it couldnt do that today seeing all the anilmals hanging with the blood coming oot,yuk..i think wednesday was killer day back then im taking over 60yrs ago..i went to the palias and barrowland ,when i go home on holiday i love a walk through the calton and go into st marys chapel doon through the barras and along into the toon ,

walked thru the Calton yesterday, and got photos , now how do I put them on , got some in the Chapel as well as stevenson st, Tobago st, did you know there was a theatre near on that corner of the two streets called the Globe...
mary melrose
You dont happen to know a John Drummond who lived ther in the 70s. He'll be roughly 50 -60 now. Dont know what St he lived on, it was accross from a pub.
messagelassie
hi all my ancestors lived in the calton the Lyon's and the Cameron's think the first lot came over from Ireland my granny and granda lived in green st my maw and her brothers and sisters went to Tureen st school
we lived in cubie st and the gallowgate my first school was Annfield st
I rem my granny telling my abt the bomb that hit Bain's Sq in ww2 and the Crater it made the built the swings there and abt all the window's in the house's that got blowing out.
*anne*
hi I lived in Bankier Street in the early sixtys and went to st Mary's school. They were the best years of my life. Wish I could go back to those daysx

Anne
seamus1954
Claythorn street Calton , I found it on the 1893 Old Glasgow map at V1 11.23 in the north east End of Glasgow Ma Granny lived there with me Seanmaithaire and Seanmaithaire 'Sorry Guys' Seamus
seamus1954
Claythorn street Calton , I found it on the 1893 Old Glasgow map at V1 11.23 in the north east End of Glasgow Ma Granny was born 24 April 1908 there 26 Claythorn RIGHT in the HOUSE with two Brothers William Henry born 1905 and John born 1895 in Ballygargivan Ballyphilip County To William John Long and Maryann Long maiden surname Hastings
kenlanza
thumbup.gif Ok it took me 2 years to get back to you..BUT YES you are correct with everything, the whole faimily !! EVEN auld mrs Allen , used to go and get her 5 capstan every other day, remember her big black painted door wi brass letter bosx and a big brass knob handle... sorry HAWNELL ! wits your name ? I must know you !!
david and
QUOTE (littlebernie @ 14th Sep 2004, 10:48pm) *

david And
QUOTE (kenlanza @ 5th Nov 2012, 07:30pm) *
thumbup.gif Ok it took me 2 years to get back to you..BUT YES you are correct with everything, the whole faimily !! EVEN auld mrs Allen , used to go and get her 5 capstan every other day, remember her big black painted door wi brass letter bosx and a big brass knob handle... sorry HAWNELL ! wits your name ? I must know you !!

i used to stay in green st at number 20 i have 2 sisters margaret and janie