Full Version: Quiz
Glasgow Guide Boards > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat
Davie
I constantly get waylaid in my researches, and this evening was not any different.
I am at present doing some investigating into the life of Norman McLeod.

http://encyclopedia.jrank.org/LUP_MAL/MACL...1812_1872_.html

Not that matters much to you lot.

However, on my digs, came across this wee sketch.
Thought it may be of interest to some of yoose interested in Glasgow.
Would be surprised if half of you knew anyone in the drawing, or what it was about.
clapton
They are a pretty pompous looking lot anyway..
Davie, I am so glad that you get waylaid because you share the most interesting things with us. Do you know what it is or are you picking our brains? Cant be our memories because I think it is Glasgow of the 19th Century. cool.gif
is it some kind of Orange Lodge celebration? dry.gif
Davie
Naw Kitty,
I know what it is
From the Magazine Quiz and you are right about the 19th century.

The reason this particular periodical has so much interest to masel, is the cartoonist, ah Glesga boay anaw.
Here is another one
I don't think the bold Oscar will be too hard to indentify.
He is such a Sweetie.
Davie
And wee Mags
If I was going to put in anything aboot the Orange Lodge, it would be much more up to date and with new technology
Like this one
Well the only one I think I recognise in the top picture, is the wee man on the horse. William of Orange. tongue.gif

Is it the French Revolution??????????? off with their heads.

Not that William was French!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Davie
I told you I get waylaid
And if it wisnae furr yon Catherine wan that started aw this Tangenteering, I would not be having this problem
Davie
And Heather
If ah wiz gonny use a photie of King Billy
It would be this wan, of him getting blessed by Innocent XI , before the Battle of the Boyne.
Innocent XI was a Pope by the way biggrin.gif
I put that wee smiley in just furr Clapton.
And I just noticed, Bunty
Cant be our memories because I think it is Glasgow of the 19th Century.

Do you realise how hard it was for me not to remark on that statement?
I hope the photie disnae upset aw the Huns
Davie, what about the picture of Jack Glass getting blessed by Pope John Paul 2nd in Edinburgh in 1982. laugh.gif
Davie
Ach Heather
That Pope John Paul wid Bless anybody
He was an avid reader of my Newsletter.
Davie
And his boss is right up wey the technology as well
Davie
Whit aboot the rest of you Jocks
Davie
Enough alreasdy
I am only up at this time tae talk tae weans in the Colonies

http://www.theglasgowstory.com/image.php?i...6%26amp%3Bl%3Dy
clapton
Eh!!!! Davie... Your wee pic in Post 12... Supposed to be GOD..
You are aware of the trouble that Norway are having ..??????

Watch out for the rioting now..
Oh! Thanks for the smiley...... tongue.gif
karyn
davie did u draw they pics yer self? ? laugh.gif
Davie
No no Jim
is Dog
The cartoonist was a like masel, had a bit of difficulty with words, dyspeptic we ur.

I am a Christian, and strong enough in my Faith to withstand any jokes or cartoons at my own expense.
Not too sure about the strength of the others on here, especially aw they Calvanists.
karyn
i think thats the last supper at the bottom of your first pic!!!!!! unsure.gif
Davie
Naw tae you anaw Karyn
Ah um hopless at art
It take me aw ma time tae draw ma pension.

And you could be right aboot the Last Supper.
They were the great and good of our city at the time, and I am quite sure a few of them had a direct link to God.
Not unlike some of our politicians the day
Though I am not too sure about Archbishop Eyre (second from right) he was English.
Who do you think are missing Karyn?
Billy Connolly and Judas?

Oh, nice eyes by the way.
Creepy how they follow ye aboot the room though.
Ohooooo
Ah looked and thought the Last Supper too Karyn, anythin to do with the Reformation Davie?
Ahm no too sure if ahm followin this Topic right or no laugh.gif
wee sammy
It must be the Free Masons would you shake on that ph34r.gif
Couldnae say Sammy, it's a secret laugh.gif
Davie
Ahm no too sure if ahm followin this Topic right or no

If yer no Catherine, yer close.
But be kerfull no tae offend us Covenanters

We kin be jist as vengeful as yon Muslims
Davie
It must be the Free Masons would you shake on that

A Haunshake kid be in order.
But mibbie wey the ither mob.

“Come on doon wee Sammy”
This is yer lucky night
You’ll be the first man frae the Sandy Row
To take an inter-stellar flight.

I thought I’d trust the two wee boys
So I put on my brand new suit
I donned the sash my father wore
An’ I took oot ma orange flute.
...and as Catherine flew through the air her last thoat wis...wunner whit an ornage flute is? ..then vaawalla it wis an orange wan in disguise laugh.gif

Here you Davie, ah flick aff canon blasts afore brekkfast in here let me tell ye.

Okay, Cromwell times?
Davie
Had tae edit the post ther pal
And ah thoat everybudy knew whit an ornage wiz
A dyslectic Mandarin
(will need ta work oan that wan)

You should be gettin' yer disks through shortly
Leamington got ther's this morn
Davie
Sorry all did not mean to keep yeese iin suspense, thocht ah had let yeese know sooner

Yeese wur right aboot the Freemasons

Bet ther urnie too mony o tham on the cooncil the day

http://www.theglasgowstory.com/image.php?inum=TGSE00419
Come a long way in 123 years, now all I read about on some forums is the Tic controlled council. Funny how things turn around sometimes.Certainly changed days since I was a boy biggrin.gif
iancameron
Nice picture Davie, and a nice wee bit about Innocent X1, but dont forget, he didnt know what William was up to.

Davie
Hi Ian
but dont forget, he didnt know what William was up to.

As this is my own sphere of interest, I am always ready to listen to any new light thrown on the subject.

I have been trying for a while now, to trace the whereabouts of the Van der Meulen painting since it was removed from Stormont, after it was slashed.
No joy so far.
I will be down in London early May and if I get time, will see what I can come up with this time.
I would have my own doubts if Innocent XI knew exactly William's plans were regarding James II and the Glorious Revelution.

However, there are other viewpoints

“Innocent XI, who became pope in 1676, gave substantial amounts of money to William in the hope of securing himself a secret and powerful ally within the Protestant camp. The pontiff was apparently keen to see the end of James II, whom he regarded as being too close to Louis XIV of France, whose relations with the Vatican had long been poor.”

I am never too sure how much knowledge Freens have on the subject
Here is Robert Reid’s wee poem on yer namesake, Richard's Grave.

Like a sweet incense rising to the Lord
From this lone alter in the muirlands gray,
The hallow’d memories of a bygone day
Hang over Airmoss: here the tyrant’s sword
Made brave men martyrs, and their graves a shrine:
And here the lips of those who that day bled
(Staining the heather to a deeper red)
Bore testimony to their faith devine.
Revere them, Scotland! Cherish, and revere!
Base is the son of thine who shuts his eyes
To the pure merit of that sacrifise;
Ill he deserves the freedom purchased here-
For to this spot our country’s glance should turn
As proudly as to glorious Banockburn!
Davie
Come a long way in 123 years, now all I read about on some forums is the Tic controlled council. Funny how things turn around sometimes.Certainly changed days since I was a boy

By yer posts Jimmy, we've aw come a long wey since you were a boay biggrin.gif

I wiz gonny mention oor Bunty here, but ah'm oan thin ice as it is

Ah huve tae mind they wee smileys in case ah offend.
And ah kin assure ye Jimmy, some punters oan here are helluva easy offendit!

The Catholic Mafia, the cooncil ur cried the day.
Two years ago they banned blue tinsel oan the desks at Christmas.

And as far as I am aware ther' has not been a Proddy LP furr over thirty years.

On the laying of the foundation stone in George Square.
There should be an article in another issue of Quiz.
All I have to do is find it.
iancameron
I would imagine the painting is with the British government somewhere, as I said its a nice picture, but dont believe a bit of what it dipicts.
It definatly caused a stir, and probably was best for it to be taken away ( for restoration of course ), I wouldnt pay the estimate of £500000, a penny maybe, Iv got a spare one, but not that price,
And anyway Im glad its gone. wink.gif
Mystery surrounds the fate of a painting by the minor Dutch master Pieter Van der Meulen (see below), which portrays William of Orange and his generals being blessed by Pope Innocent XI before the Battle of the Boyne in 1690. As Peter Berresford Ellis reveals in the Irish Democrat, the picture reveals "one of the great myths of history" - how Orange propaganda turned the Williamite conquest of Ireland into a war between Catholic and Protestant. In 1934, a former RUC Inspector and "extreme right-wing bigot", Unionist MP John Nixon (1880 - 1949) led a gang of Loyalists into Stormont where they slashed the painting with a knife and threw crimson paint over the image of the Pope. The painting was taken down and sent away for restoration. It was never seen again, and today is estimated to worth over £500,000. (1)

As Berresford notes, "pandering to popular ignorance was always a policy of Loyalism": the fact that William of Orange was funded by the Pope who funded his victories at the Boyne and the Battle of Aughrim. And when news of the Boyne victory reached the Pope and leaders of his allies in the League of Augsberg, prayers and songs were sung in his honour in the Catholic cathedrals of the countries, and as the painting shows, the Pope gave his blessing to William of Orange.

The background of the struggle in Europe was between Louis XIV of France and his ambitions to dominate Europe - supported by the Stuart King, James II. Their opponents set up a grand alliance at Augsberg which became known as the League of Augsberg. among their members was William of Orange and Pope Innocent XI, as temporal head of the papal states as well as head of universal church.

The painting hung in the Orange parliament unnoticed until March 8th 1933, when as a Unionist MP, Nixon rose in Stormont to demand from the Prime Minister Lord Craigcavon why was there a picture of William of Orange hanging in what he called a "protestant parliament for a protestant people ?". His immediate reply is not recorded, but when he did a year later, Craigavon said first:
"I am an orangeman first and a protestant and a member of parliament afterwards . . . All l boast is that we have a protestant parliament and a protestant state".

He added that the portrait was not his responsibility, it was that of the Speaker of the House, no adequate reply was forthcoming. Seven weeks later Nixon and his gang attacked the painting. No action was taken against Nixon, and the matter was quietly forgotten. As Berresford observes, one wonders where the picture has disappeared to?

In June 1998, a senior Orangeman, the Rev Brian Kenaway, a member of the Grand Lodge of Ireland, asked that the British government give back the controversial painting to help promote King Billy as "an icon for both protestants and Cathiolics can admire". He claims, remarkably, that King Billy's legacy was not meant to spell "protestant domination over Catholics" - it just sowed the seeds for miltary conflict between Britain and Ireland for the next 300 years ! (2).

1 Irish Democrat, August/September 1997.
Davie, who did you mean by your remark in your first post as "You lot"
Davie
Davie, who did you mean by your remark in your first post as "You lot"

Hi Jakka, I was referring to everyone that posts here on GG

Widnae like tae greet you on a plane tae Washington biggrin.gif
Better mind they smileys
Davie
[QUOTE] Irish Democrat, August/September 1997[/QUOTE

If Sean wrote it, then it must be true.

In the words of Francis Urquhart
"You Might Say That, I Couldn't Possibly Comment"
Aye right Davie ," There is none so blind as he who will not see " !!!I ommitted this from post "The Observer ,12th June .1998 " as I knew you would make some comment about "Irish Democrat" Ho hum !! seems Sean is not the only one who tells the truth.Davie why not tell us what your true agenda is , it would appear that you are out to create controversy with your posts.
Davie
[quote] it would appear that you are out to create controversy with your posts. [quote]Not at all Jimmyd

You posted the article, Not me
I mentioned only the missing painting

Have you read any books on the subject or are you just Googling yer info?

I have read many books on the history of Ireland and have over 250 on religion at my hand as I type.[/quote]," There is none so blind as he who will not see [QUOTE]

More than happy to send you a few.

The first two rows are mainly religious the rest are all Scottish
No Davie , you fed into the " Sean " thing . Not interested in your Irish history, you could only see one side of the coin, like so many of your ilk, you cast aspersions on an Irish Newspaper ,simply for the fact that it IS Irish ,therefore it must be biased. Yes I Googled !! make no apology for that , so does that make me less informed than a bookcase? . Can you comment on the very conservative "Observer " is it biased ??
Davie
[/QUOTE]Yes I Googled !! make no apology for that , so does that make me less informed than a bookcase[QUOTE]

Deary deary me
Wey that kin o' statement
My bookcase probably is mer informed.
Mind you, it is made of birch, a very intelegent wood.

And if you look at #9
Hardly a post made by a bigoted Prod, I would have thought.
I call it sense of humour,
But, everyone to ther' ain i suppose.

I better leave it at that
Don't want to get involved in a argy bargy in case someone gets upset

How is the weather in Austalia Jimmy
It is nice and sunny here.
Aye right Davie ,you can bulldust, as much as you like, # 9 does not get you aff the hook mate ,but hey am fine an so is the weather ,sidetracking is an old trick ,but hey go for it son !!! biggrin.gif
Davie
Here is Jimmy's Irish Newspaper

http://www.irishdemocrat.co.uk/

At least Your Colours are nailed tae the mast

Still waitin furr the link to the Observer
Gave you it to you kid , noo follow it up ,one must not be lazy. Colours !!! never had any before , but Green and Gold will fit me just fine!! biggrin.gif
Davie
As for sidetrackin' JimmyD

Something I don't have to do.
Confident I can back up all my statements
And have the advantage of being a Brit living in my own country.
For sombody that gets aw his knowledge aff the internet yer some man
Aw Davie son , being a Brit makes you more informed than us expats eh!! So are you saying the Brit papers , I read daily are not to be trusted !! amazing how you swing things around to fit your argument. OK am waiting with baited breath ,for your next dig!!!!
clapton
QUOTE (jimmyd @ 18th Feb 2006, 02:08 PM)
So are you saying the Brit papers , I read daily are not to be trusted !!

Oh oh!!!... Wait for it
Davie
Oh oh!!!... Wait for it
Oh No
Here is Clapton oan noo
Don't say oanthin' upsettin'
And "wait furr it" are the words

I don't know whit papers ye read Jimmyd, you did not elaborate.
the Daily Rebel, I suppose.
As I have stated numerous times (That is more than once) i take in a dozen papers off the Web every morning including the
Irish Democrat,,Belfast Telegraph and the SMH.

So are you saying the Brit papers , I read daily are not to be trusted

As my grandweans wid say Duh!!!
I have to ask you Jimmyd.
Do YOU believe what you read in the papers??
Not just the British wans.

Cannot see the link to the Observer you posted, must be thick Prod right enough.
clapton
QUOTE (Davie @ 18th Feb 2006, 02:54 PM)
i take in a dozen papers off the Web every morning including the
Irish Democrat,,Belfast Telegraph and the SMH.

Daily Sport.. and The Sun as well.. I suppose..

Shit!... Ah'm getting upset again... sob sob sniff
laugh.gif Can somebody explain to me what we are talking about here? Just sounds like a lot of nonsense to me. Twelve papers every mornin' Davie? Bet yer jist readin' the back pages.
clapton
Gaun yersel Melody..
get stuck in tae them....