Paul Power
20th Nov 2003, 12:01am
I lived in birnie road through the seventies and into the eighties. i remember Kim Bonnar, John Barr (Barrie), Tommy Cochrane, Ramie MacAteer, James Kirkwood (Kirky),Tam MacNiel, and many more from around Barmulloch. It would be really great to hear from anyone from that area.
Kayleigh
20th Nov 2003, 10:07am
Hi there Paul, I lived in Ryemount road, moved away in 1973, my family still live there, don't know if you know of them, the Irvine's and the Docherty's. Welcome to the board Paul.
newlife
2nd Dec 2003, 09:37pm
hi paul i lived in barmulloch in the 70s well right up until 2001 now live in england
Paul Power
3rd Dec 2003, 12:25pm
Hi newlife. thanks for replying. where in barmuloch did you live and what was your name. its good to hear from people from the bar-m. I'm in Inverness now after a 3 year spell in the army

. met my wife here and now have 2 daughters. Do you remember me? or my brothers, Mick John and Mark. look forward to hearing from you again. Paul
newlife
3rd Dec 2003, 04:35pm
HI my name was eleanor charlseton i have a sister ann and gillian, we lived in rye road then i married a guy from balornock stayed with him for 28 years still in bar m then i bought a computer and it opened my eyes. I met and married the most wonderful man on this earth now i live in england and i am so happy, yes its nice to talk to old friends from bar m my hubby found this site for me so look forward to many e mails and chats see you soon bye
newlife
3rd Dec 2003, 05:36pm
Hi Paul.. I was brought up in rye road I know a guy called John Power he is married to Tricia O'Donnel is that your brother by any chance. I have been in England for almost 3yrs now and would never go back to Scotland to live.
Paul Power
3rd Dec 2003, 09:48pm
hi eleanor. thx for replying so quickly. yes john is my brother and tricia is my sister-in-law. i'm sorry but i dont rmember your name

. do you mind me asking how old you and your sisters are? i'm 36 and left school in 1983. where in rye rd did you live cos remember "hoppy" and the McAskeys, marty sinclair gerry and steven mhar and many more. its good to hear things are going great for you, and long may it last. in contrast to you, i love Scotland but i also like england. my email is....... paul.power@redmail.co.uk. i have msn messenger if you would like to chat online. anyway hope to hear from you soon. i'll tell john and tricia i was speakin to you. bye.
john power
4th Dec 2003, 07:22pm
Hi ya Paul great web site you have found speak to you soon Trisha
6th Dec 2003, 03:47pm
Hi Paul ....I know the McAskeys we lived opposite Marty number 79 second close up from the lane at leadburn........My sister Gillian is 39 I am 45 did Tricia tell you she knows me.... I was married to Pat Mc Philemy have 3 daughters who all live in Barmulloch he is the janitor in All Saints .........
7th Dec 2003, 09:15pm
Hi Guest, nice to hear from you. the only people i remember across from marty where the Mitchells. Whats your name and do you still live in Barmulloch. hope to hear from you soon, cheers
d.c.
7th Dec 2003, 09:58pm
One of the Guests mentions the janitor at All Saints. I vaguely remember a Power family living in the janitor's house at Rye Road School in the 60s. Any connection with the Powers mentioned here ?
DC
8th Dec 2003, 12:27pm
hi D.C., i dont remember any Power's living in the janitors house, but i will ask and see if there ever where. wots your name? and do you still live in Barmulloch?
Paul
d.c.
8th Dec 2003, 04:31pm
Paul ... I didn't live in Barmulloch, just went to school there. Thinking back, I am not sure now if it was the janitor's house at Rye Road School or Barmulloch College, where the Power family may have lived.
DC
newlife
8th Dec 2003, 07:10pm
QUOTE (Kayleigh @ 20th Nov 2003, 10:16 AM)
Hi there Paul, I lived in Ryemount road, moved away in 1973, my family still live there, don't know if you know of them, the Irvine's and the Docherty's. Welcome to the board Paul.

Hi Kayliegh I knew docherty and Irvine from Barmulloch I remember a Magret Docherty and not sure but think it was Elaine Irvine
8th Dec 2003, 10:41pm
hi D.C. i dont know of any Powers who were janitors but thx for replying. do you knpw anyone else from there
Paul
8th Dec 2003, 10:46pm
hi eleanor, Trisha said to give you her email address, its ......ptrcpwr@aol.com. i knew A dan docherty from ryemount road but dont know if its the same family as Kayliegh. Do you remember the Mitchells from rye rd. I remember Marion
Paul
newlife
10th Dec 2003, 05:59pm
Hi Paul........I lived up the same close as the mitchells they lived low down we were top flat , Marion lives in pollock now near Gillian dont know what happened to Wullie...Tell Tricia i will be in touch with her soon
10th Dec 2003, 07:44pm
Does any one know the Hendry family. Tam, Agnes, Gordon and Sandra. Lived in the flats. Birnie court I think. They are my aunt, uncle and cousins. Ann
11th Dec 2003, 02:12pm
thanks newlife. i'll tell trisha
hello ann i knew Eddy hendry in the birnie court massonettes. dont know if its the same ones though
Karen
16th Dec 2003, 03:27pm
My family have lived in barmulloch for years. They stay in Gartons Road.
Kayleigh
16th Dec 2003, 03:51pm
Hi Newlife, aye thats ma wee family, Elaine Irvine is ma wee sister, (ma real name is sandra but somebody else was using it on here) and wee margaret is ma wee stepsister, then there wis Robert, James and Alexander he's the youngest. Let me know who you are ah must know you. Does anybody remember Marion Law from Birnie court flats.
Kayleigh
16th Dec 2003, 04:05pm
Dae oany o ye remember the Broomfield Tavern, ma step-mam worked in there fur years an everybody knew her, Sadie Docherty.
Paul Power
18th Dec 2003, 04:35pm
Hi karen. i knew the mcginleys from gartons road, i remember the mother was one of the cub leaders at all saints but i cant remember her first name
Paul Power
18th Dec 2003, 04:38pm
Hi kayliegh. i dont remember marion law but i remember chris and john macrae from birnie court flats. i knew quite a lot of people from birnie court. do you remember DD Doyle.and do you know anyone from birnie rd
Paul Power
18th Dec 2003, 04:42pm
the broomfield tavern is a landmark in barmulloch. i know it well. my brothers almost burned it down when they where wee boys, dont know if its a good thing that they didnt manage to burn it good thing that they didnt manage to burn it
d.c.
18th Dec 2003, 07:21pm
I passed through Barmulloch this morning and I was surprised to see that the site of many council flats close to the Broomfield Tavern is now open wasteland, and that the college and janitors' houses lie derelict and vandalised.
Where have they moved all the residents and students to, and are there any plans for the area ?
DC
Karen
19th Dec 2003, 10:37am
Does any1 know the McGowans from Gartons Road.
newlife
21st Dec 2003, 11:54am
Hi Karen..I knew the McGowans was friends with Ann for a few years met her recently when i was up there for a weekend.
Karen
23rd Dec 2003, 02:03pm
Does any1 remember Brian, Maureen, Kevin or Noreen McGowan from Barmulloch.
allen kirkwood
21st Jan 2004, 05:38pm
QUOTE (Paul Power @ 19th Nov 2003, 11:10 PM)
i lived in birnie road through the seventies and into the eighties. i remember Kim Bonnar, John Barr(barrie), Tommy Cochrane, Ramie MacAteer, James Kirkwood(Kirky),Tam MacNiel, and many more from around Barmulloch. It would be really great to hear from anyone from that area
allen kirkwood
21st Jan 2004, 05:45pm
I am replying to paul power im kirky's youngest brother allen james lives in spittal now with helen mcavoy, i dont know if you know my other brother kenny but hes in pollock now. i recognise your second name are you marks brother? me,kenny and mark play golf together sometims if you are marks brother tell him i was asking for him. "peace"
Jan Williams
21st Jan 2004, 07:02pm
Hi Kayleigh, Did you know the Moirs from Birnie Court? Also up at the 55 terminus end, Margaret Hill & Catherine Geddes?
david yuill
26th Jan 2004, 08:15pm
hi there when did they paint red road flats?im just asking i never lived iun them thank god
anon
27th Jan 2004, 06:38pm
hi paul is it kirky who drink in the broomie by any chance
Paul Power
27th Jan 2004, 07:03pm
Hi allen, yes im marks brother. i remember you from when we where kids. how is Kenny and james? im thinkin about startin a website so that people can add stuff and tell old stories
Kayleigh
2nd Feb 2004, 10:24am
Hi Jan yes I knew Catherine Geddes, I lived just round the corner from the 55 bus terminal Ryemount road, does anyone remember Cathy Allen?
Marion Dougan
2nd Feb 2004, 04:37pm
Kayleigh, going off topic here. You asked if I knew the Collins from Rock St. I do, I did mention on the board, you may have over looked it. Do you know them????
Jan Williams
5th Feb 2004, 08:13am
Hi Kayleigh, If I remember correctly her dad had a grocers in Springburn Rd, and she always wanted to be a hairdresser. Have just "found " a long lost friend on friendsreunited and our bridesmaid with who we lost touch with 24 years ago called me on sunday, she's flying out to see us on Tuesday, won't we be blethering into the wee small hours.
Kayleigh
5th Feb 2004, 11:32am
Nice one Jan, that will be so much fun. I contacted an school pal on friendsreunited in 2002, she came from Bucksburn road in Barmulloch across from Barmulloch primary, I went over to stay with her for a week, she now lives in Rotterdam, we had a great time up till all hours having a wee drink and lots of chatting and laughing and we are still in touch.
kirky
7th Feb 2004, 10:25am
to anon kirky still drinks in the broomie with alec conway and billy brown "basher"
donny
13th Feb 2004, 11:51am
how u all doing im still livin in bar-m stayed in quarrywood
16th Feb 2004, 09:53pm
hi donny, paul power here. my mum and brother still stay in quarywood rd. dont know if you remember me but thx for replying to this page
16th Mar 2004, 09:25pm
Must ask does any one remember the Hill family. they stayed in berryburn road then moved to gartons road.
28th Apr 2004, 07:18pm
Just wondering if anyone still visits this site.
Yes i remember the hill family, didn't tricia who visited this site sister marry one of them.
AussieJock
3rd May 2004, 01:37am
Can Anyone Help. I am looking for the Allen family that lived in Barmulloch in the 70s ( Robert Allen and Family ) they lived in the close but cannot remember the address, Robert is my Uncle, he had a wife and two kids grown adults now, it would be great to find them, any help given would be Truly Thankful for. Aye Yours Jock Melbourne Australia
david lowson
3rd May 2004, 10:01am
Jock we need more info mate? Maiden names etc.
Brian Hirrel
27th Jul 2004, 10:32pm
Fascinating web site. I lived in Bar-M all my childhood. My dad and sister Sadie still do, but I moved away in 1982 to foreign lands ending up in Little Rock Arkansas USA 14 years ago. I now have a beautiful wife and three stunning weans. Still miss the place but don't expect me to move home to Ryehill Road any time soon. Oh bye the way I went to All Saints and I can't remember any janitor called Powers. I used to hang with Charlie Mcneill, Mutton, Ogie, Big Sooty, John Wilson, Sharkie, Jim Gallagher and Paul Mcmutrie. Remember them?
d.c.
27th Jul 2004, 10:57pm
Brian ... lots of changes in the area. All Saints School has been demolished, and replaced with a much smaller version.
Barmulloch College, Rye Road School, and many of the flats in the area have all gone too, so far not being replaced by anything !
DC
craig cochrane
23rd Sep 2004, 02:19pm
hi paul my name is craig cochrane just so you know theres no chance of getting in touch with my uncle (tommy cochrane) he lives in canada but my dad (gary cochrane) still lives in barmulloch he said he remembers you
abc
8th Oct 2004, 10:35pm
hello Paul
my name is Henry Campbell and I used to kick about with your brother John and big Steph Higgins. Hope you remember me and hi to anyone else who remembers me
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.