6th Jan 2006, 01:44am
Ever wondered what your name meant and where it came from. Some are easy like Smith from the occupation, Williamson explains itself too. How about Crucikshank or Rintoul.?
And don;t tell me it just a name and ahs no meaning!!!!... it comes from somewhere.!
the examples I listed up above are examples of the four areas where names originate.
Smith from an occupation.
Williamson from ancestor's name
Cruickshank froma description (bent Leg)
Rintoul, a place, names from where a person's ancestor originated.
I enjoy sourcing names and what they mean and where they came from. I would be glad to pass along any I can help with. Keep them British please. I'm no very good with likes of Singh or Kowalchuk!
6th Jan 2006, 03:24am
Hi rdem ,what about Warnock?
Riddrieperson
6th Jan 2006, 07:18am
The name I use on here
Riddrieperson,simple,I am a person who comes from Riddrie :-).My own proper name
Kenneth Ryan, well my surname comes originally from the Irish Gaelic and means
"little King"and my Christian name means
"Handsome one" Well,I always say,if the cap fits,wear it.
6th Jan 2006, 08:18am
LINDA in spanish means pretty one and german

serpant
ElaineMcFarlane
6th Jan 2006, 09:39am
Elaine is French for Helen and means light
McFarlane, i think comes from son of Parlain or something like that
6th Jan 2006, 10:52am
im named after my aunt marina, but i dont know where AGNEW, MACKAY, LAYDEN or MILLIGAN come from - but id be glad for some info
6th Jan 2006, 01:16pm
My first name means messenger in greek, thats me always the gofer
6th Jan 2006, 10:01pm
BARBARA
Derived from Greek βαρβαρος (barbaros) meaning "foreign".
According to legend Saint Barbara was a young woman killed by her father Dioscorus, who was then killed by a bolt of lightning.
She is the patron of architects, geologists, stonemasons and artillerymen.
7th Jan 2006, 03:50am
Please tell me about my name.Isobel.
Maiden name Mc Closkey.Married name White
7th Jan 2006, 04:10am
Ur ,ye sorry noo you stertit this topic? God love ye for yer efforts .
Riddrieperson
7th Jan 2006, 10:26am
QUOTE (Isobel @ 7th Jan 2006, 04:50 AM)
Please tell me about my name.Isobel.
Maiden name Mc Closkey.Married name White
ISABEL: Spanish form of Elizabeth, "pledged to God." Variants include Isabella and Isobel. Some diminutives are Bella, Ella, Ibby, Isa, Nib, and Sib.If you want to know about other names,try this link.
http://www.20000-names.com/female_i_names.htmPlease note,the above link is for female christian names.
Here is the link for the main site,which is an excellent name origin site.
http://www.20000-names.com/index.htm
Riddrieperson
7th Jan 2006, 10:30am
Come on rdem,tell the list your name,so we can research it.We promise not to laugh.Honest!
7th Jan 2006, 01:35pm
MARINA: Feminine form of Roman clan name meaning "of the sea."
7th Jan 2006, 06:24pm
DAVID....means Beloved.......my Mother's name was Jessie..different spelling than the Biblical Jesse, however I believe that was in mind when I was named.....Second king of Israel...David the son of Jesse........no bad eh ?
7th Jan 2006, 07:42pm
Jings! ah jist get hame and Ah see this queue! Whit huv ah sterted??
Glad to see the interest and also that a good lot of you are already ahead ofthe game with meaning for your anems but let's a have a look. sorry that I haven't looked on this topic ina day or two.
7th Jan 2006, 07:53pm
Jings! ah jist get hame and Ah see this queue! Whit huv ah sterted??
Glad to see the interest and also that a good lot of you are already ahead of the game with meaning for your names but let's a have a look. Sorry that I haven't looked on this topic ina day or two.
7th Jan 2006, 08:02pm
First one goes to "Jakka" who asks about the surname Warnock and it's surnames that mainly interests me.
Warnock is a shortened or an Angliczed version of Mac Illvernick in Scotland and Mac Gillevearnoge. Although both Gaelic in origin they probably don't have the same variation.
Working backwards, the last part of the of the name such as "Vernick" is a Saint's name (not sdure which one and probably from the Celtic church) and the Gille or Gilla part of the name means servant or devotee in a religious sense and of course mac means son.
The oldest documentation in Scotladn was in Dumbarton castle in 1489.
7th Jan 2006, 08:05pm
To Elaine MacFarlane:
You are right MacFarlane is from Mac Parlain, Parlain is the Gaelic form of Bartholemew.
7th Jan 2006, 08:23pm
To Marina:
Layden is a generic place name for streamlet valley or meadow in lowlands (marshy area) as far as I can see and probably Old English .
Mac Kay is from the gaelic son of Aodh which is a apersonal name that means fire.
Milligan is Irishf rom O Milligan, the first part is Maol in Gaelic and means literally bald or shaven one this due to monastic tonsure on Celtic monks. The name means descendant of the little shaved one.
Agnew from the French place named Agneaux p[robably introduced by the Normans.[/B][B]
7th Jan 2006, 08:27pm
Barbara: You are correct in saying that Barbara means foreigner but it has a more specific meaning in that the foreigners or Barbarians meant literally"bearded ones" which the Greeks and Romans tended not to be bearded (at least the wimmen:-)) That's where we get the occupation Barber for hair cutter.
7th Jan 2006, 08:30pm
rdem is for Ron Dempsey.
roanld a good Viking name meaning Worthy Ruler and
Dempsey from O Diomasiagh Irish for descendent of the Proud.
( it's a wunner Ah can get ma hat oan wi' names like 'at!)
7th Jan 2006, 11:52pm
thanks rdem your a wee genuis
8th Jan 2006, 12:42am
Thanks a lot for the info . Not to many sites where we could find the source of Warnock ,my maiden name now I'm Mc Culloch!!!
8th Jan 2006, 07:06pm
I forgot to mention that the Warnock name is associated with Clan Graham if you're looking for a tartan.
8th Jan 2006, 07:09pm
One form seems to think that McCulloch is from son of the boar.
Boar being a personal name.
8th Jan 2006, 07:29pm
When surnames were first used by the common folk it was about the 1400's in to the 1550's. As I mentioned that they took names from the four groups just because villages and towns were getting crowded enough that they was confusion about which John or Mary you were talking about. So surnames were taken or given to individual to differentiate them.
Here's is a scenario that describes which may have happened to one particular fellow. Originally, the surnames were not fixed and a person could be known more than one.
So let's take William who grew up in the parish of Govan across from the town of Glasgow in the 1440's. His father's name was Walter better known as Wat to his friends. So while growing up in Govan William was known as Wat's son. Will Wat's son was taller than most boys in his village and to his pals he was known as Lang Will or Will Lang. When will was a lad he took an apprenticeship to be a carpenter so when he completed his time, he was also known as Will the Carpenter or Will Carpenter. Work was slow in Govan, so he took himself and trade to Glasgow to seek employment which he did. With the crew with which he worked there were a few lads named Will and one was named Watson, and there was another tall Will named Lang and the employer being older naturally whow was also named Will claimed the name of Carpenter. So the other lads had to re invent Will from Govan and they used his home for a surname. So he became Will Govan.
Therefore, Will in his life time when surnames were fluid had used all four groups, father's name or patronym, nickname of descriptive name, trade or occupation name and lastly place name or toponym.
In this fabricated scenario, at a time when surnames were still fluid it is possible that Will had four sons and each them took one of the surnames each for a fixed surnames. Which means that it is possible that people with these four surnames could the same male Y chromosone DNA from Will. Far fetched but something to think about.
Cameron
8th Jan 2006, 07:57pm
My last name is Gill and here in Canada we have a lot East Indians who are also called Gill and i'am asked if i'am an indian which p....ses me of but i tell them they stole it from us.My first name is Cameron and in the norse interpretation it means crooked nose but that cannot be right because my nose is a little chubby one
8th Jan 2006, 09:20pm
Cameron is from the Gaelic cam sron, bent nose just a Campbell is from cam beul, bent mouth. In Scotland Gill is from the Old Gaelic for servant., same as when you hear as Gillie!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.