Full Version: Mystery Tours
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat
Now here's a new wee topic to get us all started in this New Year .First of all welcome to all the new members ,hope you have fun .
Who remembers when the Pictures or Dance Halls were not allowed to open on a Sunday ?. You either went for a walk in the park or if you were single to the Art Galleries ,(Looking for talent) or the winchers went on the MYSTERY TOURS.The buses left from the junction of Bath St and I think Cathedral St .It seemed to us that no matter which direction the bus left we always ended up in Callendar !!!!Week after week the same place except once it took us to see the lights in Kirkaldy.We used to make bets with each other as to where we would end up . Anyone else go on these buses? There was always a scramble to get a seat at the back xxxxx wub.gif
Yes Jackie, my husband and I did before and after we got married, and like you ended up in Callander, a few times.

The bus used to stop outside a restaurant, and we often wondered if the bus driver got a free meal for bringing in some customers.
aye Jakka, ye certainly bring back memories wae this topic.......My aunt used to live in Saltcoats, and I'd go down with Mum every year. On occasion, we'd go for a mystery tour, which left from a spare piece of round at Seamill St. near the prom. We would invariably end up at Lesmahagow or some such place but everyone seemed to enjoy the trip, including myself. Some would go for a pint, others would find a tearoom but all- in- all, it was very enjoyable. smile.gif
We always ended up outside a chip shop ,but just used to wander off to another spot to winch . wub.gif
Callander???? Jakka is therr onythin in Callander?
Okay ah missed that bus, how did the winch rate? laugh.gif
!0 +++++ I'm still winchin' him nearly 50 years later !!!.Lucky me .
laugh.gif Gaun yersel Jakka, brilliant answer!!
tammy
LOL JAKKA! laugh.gif
Archie Millar
Sunday in Glasgow wis terrible,--nae pictures,nae shops open,and, as a got older nae pubs. When I lived in Carnwadric we used to walk up to Rouken Glen if the weather wis good and as we got older there was a bus from the main street in Thornliebank that took us to Largs and as "Bona Fide" travelers we could get a drink in a hotel. We also used to cycle up to "The Paraffin Lamp" at Lugton in the summer,but, in those days it wis a dump. We went for a meal a few years ago (on a Sunday) up there--changed days, but,good memories rolleyes.gif