Full Version: Parochial Glasgow
Glasgow Boards/Forums > Glasgow Memories > Glasgow Memories > Schools
tongue.gif At age 11, after passing the Qualifying Exam (better known as the Qually), one had the choice of Secondary School dependant on the results. As I passed in first place my choice was either St Mungo's or St Columba's. Now St Mungo's had the better reputation for teaching ability.

BUT!! My father would have none of it. It was too snobbish, said he, it was too far away and besides you had to wear a uniform which my father said made us like public schoolboys.

At St Columba's we were taught that Glasgow was the Second City of the Empire, with a population of over one million, an incomprehesible figure to young minds like ours.

Our oulook was purely a parochial one. Everyone had their own little territory. Possil was somewhere different from where we lived as was Maryhill or Townhead or Springburn. Gallowgate had a reputation all on its own and God forbid!! But the South Side or the "Soo'side" might well have been another planet. It was only when I was over the age of 14 that I actually crossed the River Clyde .

NO, NO , at age 9. 10 and 11 our own little world went from Crossburn Street (where we lived) up to Garscube Road . From there to St George's Road right down to St George's Cross, along New City Road all the way to Cowcaddens Street, back down this street and once more into Crossburn Street. All in all a parish of about one square mile.

It was certainly large enough for our needs, with enough room to roam the streets, something like 6 cinemas, 4 chip shops and a swing park, the Phoenix Park, which we considered to be the ultimate play area and strangely enough we could always spot an "outsider".

It was a world big enough for boys and girls of our age and we would never dream of stepping outside this invisible boundary.

WELL!! at least until we were school leaving age. Which then was 14 years of age.

Tommy
I think that we are extremely parochial in Glasgow we forget that there are other towns and cities of importance. Someone from Falkirk or Airdrie is like a foreigner to a Glaswegian. I feel that we consider anyone from outside Glasgow as a country person. I wonder why that is.
Tumchie
Ah know whit ye mean. Ma wee mammy, now the ripe old age of 92, still considers herself a "Townie". She was born in Glasgow, and has lived there all her life. She's told me about the "country" folk coming to Glasgow years and years ago to go shopping - not sure which day in particular that used to be.
When I was growing up in Glesga I remember thinking that people from way up north were somehow quite foreign, or country bumpkins, to be more precise. I think a lot has to do with the different accents that we all have, for I remember meeting someone from Burntisland and thinking how strange they talked.
I remember at the age of nine standing with my mouth agape as my great aunt stood talking in the living room, why? because of her broad Fife sing song accent.
snowman123
My mother often speaks aboot the cows being shepherded doon High Street by fermers going to market. It was my granny that told her these stories and when my mother tells us the stories ye can almost see the sight on High Street.

Ach, we've aww moved oan noo-a-days....................... my sons widny believe me if I tried tae tell them aboot coos on the High Street heading fur the Gallagate !!!! smile.gif

I wunner whit ma granny wid make o' these big fancy tellys noo. lol
Chrissie
Tumshie - The country folk came to Glesga to shop on Wednesday afternoons. The Glesga shops closed on Tuesday afternoons, everyone else closed Wednesday afternoons.

Snowman - I remember the tales of the coos coming doon High St. I know there was a slaughterhoos in Glasgow but don't remember where.
QUOTE (rdem @ 17th Nov 2006, 06:43am) *
I remember at the age of nine standing with my mouth agape as my great aunt stood talking in the living room, why? because of her broad Fife sing song accent.

I remember going to see my great grandmother when I was about 5 or 6. She was born around the time of the Indian Mutiny, and I stood like a dummy because I did not understand a word of what she said. She was from Inverness and was probably speaking English. My grandad was from Ulster and I never understood a word of what he said. Similarly my grandfather from Wexford was an enigma to me in conversation. I spent a lot of my young life noddin' ma heid an sayin' "aye a ken, nae wurries n'at."
I can identify with that. In 1971 Allan took me to meet his gran, Furthest north I had ever been HUNTLEY! had not a clue what was being said, so sat like a dummy the whole two days. Except for sauchiehall street and Argyle street shops,I was never even at the Locarno, the Broomielaw when we were going to Ireland, Th train stations when we were going to Ayr on holiday or going to the seaside for day trip, I don't remember being out of the east side.Forgot going to theKelvin Hall Circus. When we were home in 2009 I discovered my hometown
QUOTE (Chrissie @ 2nd Feb 2011, 06:01am) *
Snowman - I remember the tales of the coos coming doon High St. I know there was a slaughterhoos in Glasgow but don't remember where.

Glasgow Meat Market was at the corner of Duke Street and Bellgrove. Ah don't remember seein any fermers drivin coos doon the High Street, but ah remember gaun tae the Meat Market wi ma Ma fur pig's feet an ham ribs, skirtin an other "delicacies" in the early 1950s.
wheeghee
Aye the coos did come doon the High Street over 150 years ago Highland herds were brought doon fae the highlands to Kirkintulloch. Drovers from Glasgow would take over drive them through Bisopbriggs , Springburn doon the High Street Saltmarket ,through the Glasgow Green to Fleshers Haugh where they would graze. The Fleshers ( Butchers ) then took them to the Slaughter Hoose @ Graham Square Gallowgate.. sad.gif moooo...
QUOTE (beth @ 2nd Feb 2011, 06:04am) *
I can identify with that. In 1971 Allan took me to meet his gran, Furthest north I had ever been HUNTLEY! had not a clue what was being said, so sat like a dummy the whole two days. Except for sauchiehall street and Argyle street shops,I was never even at the Locarno, the Broomielaw when we were going to Ireland, Th train stations when we were going to Ayr on holiday or going to the seaside for day trip, I don't remember being out of the east side.Forgot going to theKelvin Hall Circus. When we were home in 2009 I discovered my hometown

I know exactly what you mean, I lived in the West end and Pollokshields and had never been in the East end until my last trip to Glasgow 2 years ago. I went on the tour bus and saw the Cathedral, Glasgow Green, the Peoples Palace etc. for the first time. In fact I was rarely in Argyle Street except when we went to St.Enochs station to go 'doon hame' to Annan, as the 'bus came to Sauchiehall Street first and everything we wanted was there.
Drew
QUOTE (benny @ 2nd Feb 2011, 11:07am) *
Glasgow Meat Market was at the corner of Duke Street and Bellgrove. Ah don't remember seein any fermers drivin coos doon the High Street, but ah remember gaun tae the Meat Market wi ma Ma fur pig's feet an ham ribs, skirtin an other "delicacies" in the early 1950s.

I can remember cattle being driven down the Bellgrove Street and clearly mind the occasional escapee being chased in Duke Street.
wheeghee
QUOTE (Drew @ 3rd Feb 2011, 12:16pm) *
I can remember cattle being driven down the Bellgrove Street and clearly mind the occasional escapee being chased in Duke Street.

My father was a killer in the Market. Cattle, were never driven down Bellgrove, cattle did escape and were chased down Bellgrove Street I once saw a bull running down the Gallowgate the killers caught it in Gibson Street @ Barrowland..mooooooooo unsure.gif
snowman123
QUOTE (wheeghee @ 2nd Feb 2011, 07:04pm) *
Aye the coos did come doon the High Street over 150 years ago Highland herds were brought doon fae the highlands to Kirkintulloch. Drovers from Glasgow would take over drive them through Bisopbriggs , Springburn doon the High Street Saltmarket ,through the Glasgow Green to Fleshers Haugh where they would graze. The Fleshers ( Butchers ) then took them to the Slaughter Hoose @ Graham Square Gallowgate.. sad.gif moooo...

Are ye sayin' ma granny seen they coos 150 year ago?

I'm sure it mighta been in the 20's or 30's. Unless of course ma granny was jist relaying stories that she hud heard fae her granny.... but I dinny think so cos I'm sure ma granny made oot she actually seen said coos comin' doon said street !!!! dry.gif