Full Version: Castlemilk Pics
Glasgow Boards/Forums > Misc Boards > Lost Friends & Relatives
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
isa
Hello,
I have seen lots of photies for bridgton and a few for maryhill, but i was wondering is there anybody here that has photies of castlemilk, pref early 60's, and up to date ones (although new ones will ruin my childs memory of it) wub.gif
alsw12790
Hello Isa

Try www.castlemilkhistory.info/index.htm this site has some old and new photo's of Castlemilk.
Tumchie
That's a smashing site about Castlemilk. I used to go there when I was wee to visit friends.
By the way, do you know of any good sites about Cardonald/Mosspark/Hillington?
Teeny
Teeny
alsw12790
Hi Teeny

Macharie has changed since you took your photo, Most of the area has beed demolished, In Place of the Tennement's Little Back and Front door type housing is sprouting up all over the place.

Did you know wee Tony Murray and David wright. Who went to Braeside and then onto Glenwood.
Tumchie
Teeny, that's a smashing photo!
I used to visit family friends in Castlemilk - back in the sixties. I can't remember the name of the road. But they lived in new flats that were two story. Close by were the woods and we'd play there. I think there was a great big house in the woods.
isa
Oh thankyou so much for the pic, if you look at the close on the right, my brother paul murray and his wife mary lived there in 1982, sadly they are not there anymore, I remember playing in the woods and wasnt there a castle remains in there, or a childrens home????was the new flats called boganny terrace, i lived there too after ardincraig road, we used to take the short cut through to go to st doms
alsw12790
Hi Isa

here is a photo of Castlemilk House it was Demolished by Glasgow District Council around 1969.

alsw12790
alsw12790
Mitchell Hill Flat's Taken from the Cathkin Brae's.
kas
wow great photos keep them coming! i will look out some photos I have from glenacre dr in 1999
alsw12790
construction of Dougarie Flats
alsw12790
Castlemilk Stable's
alsw12790
Glenacre drive 2003

alsw12790
Teeny
Tumchie
Teeny. Yes Tormusk Drive rings a bell!! This was back in the sixties when we'd visit them - Brown is their last name. Mother, father and six of a family. Maybe you knew them?
isa
hya Tenny,
oh the memories are flashing back as we speak, I even have a wee tear in my eyes.
my brother Paul Murray lived in #5, he lived therte with his wife Mary(davitt) and his children natalie and derek.
My cousins are the Finnies,Gibb and Hunter, my mothers best friends were the Millers and the Flemmings, the Flemming family lived above the shops in Machrie.
Looking at the pics of the Mitchell flats from cathkin braes was sad, I used to go up there every sunday with my brother Jimmy and we used to look back down over to Ardincraig Road and Mum used to wave a white hankie to us, the braes were the best, I am making it my mission to one day go back up there.
the old castle used to be the childrens home, I was in there for a while before being fostered to the Murray's of Ardincraig road.
we also used to cross the big castlemilk drive and go along the top there where there were fields on the left and across the road there was a big wall with a huge circle cut out of it, but for some reason we were banned from playing there, never did find out why.
Boggany terrace did not last long, but we had some fun while living thee, we used to play either out the back or in the front where they built swings and a slide for us all, but we realised living there was not the same as it became impersonal, just the nod of a head when passing and when we lived up the close in Ardincraig road, everybody seemed to know everybody, and we had more aunties and uncles that wasnt always related. they were the good ole day's, I had a childs eye veiw and it was a great shock when i went back 3 years ago and my, yes my home (didnt matter how many lived there after us) was gone.
alsw12790
Isa, here is an old photo of the Macharie Shop's

Teeny, Tony & David would not have started Braeside until 1970, about the same time i went to Tormusk,

back then when we were young our Parent's would get us ready, feed us & throw us out. that was the last they saw of us until we were Hungry.

I lived at the other end of the bridge, in Scarrell Drive, Played in the wood's for Hour's on end, building Den's & Climbing Tree's. but i have to agree with Isa the best Place to go was up the Cathkin Brae's. The View was just Brilliant You could see right across Glasgow. and the Campsie hill's look's just like a sleeping Giant

There was an old house which stood at the Flag Pole on the Brae's I think it had an ice cream shop, waiting room & toilet's the Park keeper lived in a house above the waiting room's and behind that was an old abandond House Just a shell of a building in amongst the tree's. We alway's thought that was an old witch's house a scary place to be at night.

alsw12790
isa
hello,
oh these pics are the best, my mammies best friend nancy flemming lived in the top floor of those flats above the shop with her man and waens, we played for hours behind the shops, but they were all a lot older than me, so the looked after me, lol, i think there was a wee hut that sold ice-cream and tea's, i remember looking out from our balcony on ardincraig road and see-ing the braes and felt ever so lucky.
isa
Hiya, I was saying in my post before that I would make it my mission to go back to Cathkin Braes when I went back to Glasgow, after reading this I think I might have a re-think.
lolol

CATHKIN BRAES NOW 'HOTBED' FOR KINKY SEX GAMES CRAZE

CATHKIN Braes has become a hotbed for men and women engaging in a nationwide sex craze called "dogging."

Swingers and exhibitionists are using car parks at the Cathkin Braes for public sex sessions which are watched by mystery voyeurs who sometimes join in for group romps.

Couples advertise their planned sex-hibitions on the Internet and actively ask people to go along and watch.

One website, which gives directions to the exact location in the Cathkin Braes for sex hook-ups claims: "always full of cars at night and full of action.... doggers' paradise!"

On another website the Cathkin Braes is noted as being active: "from 3 pm til early hours. Better in summer months. All different types, from young to old. Something for everyone! Always hot action going on there."

Cathkin Braes has long been known as a cruising ground for gay men but the recent rise in popularity of "dogging" websites has seen heterosexual couples make use of its remote location for voyeuristic and exhibitionist sex.

The expression "dogging" comes from the early 70s when men spied on couples having sex outdoors.

These men would "dog" the couples' every move in an effort to watch them and were often invited to join in.

Health chiefs are concerned that the rise in popularity of dogging will see a rise in sexually transmitted diseases.

An NHS spokesperson said: "Any sexual activity should be made as safe as possible.

"People who are taking part in sex such as this are putting themselves at risk.

"They are certainly making themselves more open to sexually transmitted infections or unwanted pregnancies.

"The number of sexually transmitted infections is rising across the western world."

However, in the past the dangers in Cathkin Braes have often been much more serious than sexually transmitted infections with several murders in the Braes including that of former policeman Gordon Gibson in November, 2001.
kas
Hey guys -here goes for the photos taken from 64 glenacre dr in 2000. i took them from my cousins back veranda. as u'll see there is some of the old & new scheme in this photo- that's looking north-sorry i don't know any of the streets but i'm sure u folk from castlemilk will know where this it? i think all those flats are either gone or redone. teeny do u know? i was back in 2001 but i forgot to notice- as it all seemed so new in just one yr!
kas
guys, it will not let me post this photo- i will keep trying. i've even made the file smaller but still no luck boohoo
Teeny
smile.gif
Teeny
smile.gif
Teeny
smile.gif
Teeny
smile.gif
isa
Hello Tweeny,
the millers from ardincraig were twin boy's and i remember they both had a lazy eye and it turned inwards, they had a big sister too, sorry cant remember there names, but there mum, auntie may lived in the bottom house and they were the close that was on the side of the walkthough to the back courts, her husband taught me how to play the flute when i was 5,
I am sorry but the Hunters i mean is my cousin carol hunter, nee finnie, was married to Andy Hnter and they had a daughter Sharon, he was from castlemilk but they parted son after my cousin was born.
My mum Iris was English and my dad Hughie was Scottish, Jimmy and Paul were 17 and 19 when mum and dad fostered me and my sister Glynis, so if your mum remembers them it will be because of that, and as i said before my brother paul went on to marry Mary Davitt from machrie and Jimmy married Isobel Charmichael, we had a big party,lol, bigger than most on boxing day 1968 as my nephew was born xmas day.
what is your mums name ans where did she live.
isa
Teeny
smile.gif
anne
Hi Teeny and all, I worked in the Co-op in Castlemilk when I was 15, can't remember where it was.

Anne Perth Aussieland dry.gif
jessiemac
great work karen what a shot, so glad teeny came 2 u'r aid, imagine that distance caught that lovely clear day, now thats a sky i must paint, i'll bet uncle Mike could tell u every building in glasgow from that picture,Hi ho tonto !teeny to the rescue!!!!!!!!!!! is there any more karen?? ; even anne worked in castlemilk, anne that must have been 2 buses every morning? no joke in those days, corporation buses were a nightmare for the workers cheers jessie
Teeny
smile.gif
isa
Hya,
I am sooo sorry Teeny, I promise not to get ypur name wrong any mare,
Isa
smile.gif
Teeny
smile.gif
kas
Isa i like the sound of "tweeny" -makes me smile could be "tweety"too! lol. i promise to get those other photos to u guys this wked! i know i'm a slow poke-sorry. my cousin douglas bogue (early 1970's)got his head stuck in the fence near the laundromat up by those shops..he's a free man now-thanks to the firemen!
isa
Hello Teeny,
I thought i did post an answer to the co-op problem,lol, got lost in cyber space probably.
The only one I can think of is Dougrie, was there not one on the corner as you went into the shopping arcade,( walked down to the bottom and turn right). but now there is mention of railings I am not too sure myself.
If it was the shops facing the swimming pool then it was Dougrie, if it was the shops with flats above it was Machrie, and on the way to Rutherglen from Castlemilk there was some shops up a hill on the left, it might have been there, other than that I am at a loss, maybe it was Rutherglen itself.
Isa, smile.gif
Teeny
smile.gif
alsw12790
Kas your photo is looking down into the back's of Arnprior area, What is your friend's surname at 64 ?.

Isa you mentioned a Nancy Flemming from Macharie at the Shop's, Was she Married to Bill Who was a bus Driver ?. the Flemming's later moved into the Five appartment's in Barlia.

I have added another Picture of Castlemilk House, I still can't understand why the Council allowed the House to be demolished.

alsw12790
What a beautiful house Alan....would that have been the "landed gentry" that owned it?
Same things happened in Lennoxtown. When growin up the High Church was absolutely gorgeous standin itself on a hill in the graveyard. The congregation moved to smaller premises, but it was still a listed building. It's an absolute ruin now and used more for drink and drugs or whatever. Total disgrace eh.
Marion Dougan
Hi,
Anybody know Pat Mallin from 72 Castlemilk Dr. He lived there around late 50s early 60s. He worked in the meat market a think, wis a dead ringer fur Elvis. He would be in his late 50s noo
Marion Dougan
Me again. I worked in Miller Textiles in Castlemilk early sixties, well naw..... mebee late 50s
Teeny
smile.gif
isa
hya Aslw,
yes thats right, uncle Bill was a bus driver, he got my brother Paul a job on the buses, is that where they went to, we moved from Castlemilk early 70's and sad to say we lost contact with them,(like so many others when yu move away, last words are alway's, we will stay in touch and visit, but never do) but I have been trying to find them for a long time.
Isa
Marion Dougan
Naw Teeny, hooses were across fae it, must have knocked them doon
kas
alsw12790- that photo was taken from my cousin house McCole of 64 Glenacre- they moved there in the 70's-moved away to simshill a few yr ago, but she & her hubby grew up in 50 Castlemilk dr from the 50's my aunt (surname Bogue) moved from castlemilk dr to glenacre into a new wee house a couple fo yrs back- do u know any of them? the photos u posted are fantastic- sad to think that old mansion is gone- what's there now?
jessiemac
Alsw12790 great photo's thank goodness you had the insight to take these pictures, I visited 50 Castlemilk drive from1955 & never thought to do that, i always mind that story of the castle & it being turned into a childrens home, that would have lasted forever, why demolish it?? just crazy!! Isa i hope your stay there was nice to remember,imagine meeting on the GG &you even lived there for a spell, Fabulous to see the photo's thanks cheers jessie
isa
hya,
i do actually have a couple of photies of me at the home, i will try and find them and get them on here, i also have many of me making my holy comunion at st.martins and of the close we stayed in, lol, there is even one of me sitting on my balcony with my legs through the bottom of the bars, little frilly ankle socks, red birthday shoes, frilly dress and hair up in bunches....ok. it was the 60's, i was 4,lol
kas
isa please post them all it would be great to see! i'm still looking for the other photos i have of castlemilk- happy hunting
kas
The view from my aunt & uncle's castlemilk house was amazing, you could see the whole city & northward. My uncle used to stand my american cousin (lisaann)by the kitchen window & tell her to look as far as she could off into the distance over glasgow. He'd tell her if she looked hard enough she could see the Statue of Liberty in New York. Well Lisaann would scream with delight when she spotted the "Statue of Liberty". I think it was when she was about 12 she figured out she wasn't seeing all the way to New York. Maybe that's why she's so crazy today- it scarred her for life~lol~
Teeny
smile.gif
alsw12790
Hi Isa

It look's like there were 2 Bill Fleming's in the Macharie Area, I have spoken to My Mum and the Bill Fleming that i know was Married to a Betty, He also was a Bus Driver, I know this Bill had lost part of his Thumb in an Accident.

Kas, Sorry i do not know the McCole's who lived at 64 glenacre dr.

alsw12790
thistle46
Still trying to find old childhood friend who move to Castlemilk in the 1955ish - her name was Sheena Gordon, brothers Murdock and sister Irene.

Thanks..thistle rolleyes.gif