12th Nov 2005, 12:53am
Scotland play the USA the morra at Hampden, I fear the worst the States should win this nae bother, although its only a friendly, and once again Barry Ferguson is supposedly injured, Scotlands unreliable captain, a bloody disgrace in my books!
A proper J Arthur Ranker.
12th Nov 2005, 09:51am
Well at the end of the day it is just a 'friendly' so let's see what happens. We do not have a strong Scottish side, that's for sure Hubert.
I'm not a great Walter Smith fan either - I think a different manager may have done more, doubtless there will be those who will disagree with me.
12th Nov 2005, 03:47pm
Well Carmella I like Smith as a manager although I feel he is a bit bias to Rangers and their ilk, however he is doing no too bad for Scotland.
Barry Ferguson shouldnt play for Scotland again, friendly or no friendly, jist my opinion!
12th Nov 2005, 05:18pm
I agree with you about Ferguson Hubert.,
Right now it's 1-1 for the Scotland -v- USA game the American side scored first, within about five minutes of the start of the game, asd the result of a penalty - 23 mins later Scotland scored - however, I must add, Scotland's side is not at all good, game I thought has been very lacklustre from their side.
Americans are trying hard though.
It ain't over till the proverbail 'fat lady' sings.
13th Nov 2005, 10:57pm
I am going to own up to being a complainer in regards to fitba, however I feel it surely is right on at times, for guess what, Dailly gave away a penalty for the USA goal, and I have said for seasons thats what he does, blunders.
For me its in order to play a player that is likely to score for you, but why is it not in order to exclude players that blunder and cause goals against the team, Celtic have one, his name is Bobo Balde!

The Scotland game ended 1-1 against the USA.
14th Nov 2005, 05:20pm
Och Hubert don't be so modest noo.....sure yer the biggest grump in fitba' that jist so happens tae know a helluva lot aboot it annaw.
Widnae huv ye ony ither way ya auld grump, enjoy yer reputation cos we sure enjoy yer posts
14th Nov 2005, 06:39pm
Och yersel, but thanks for the support of confidence. On Sunday`s we have a lot of nationalities in both teams, anyhoo I do complain, for as its commonly known everybody makes mistakes, but three and four in a row, sorry unacceptable!
Anyhoo yesterday it so happened I had scored a goal, and later I got the ball on the wing and had another go at goal, this one guy Armenian lad said why didnt you pass it to me, well I had been in confrontation a bit previous to this with big Rolf a German on my team, LoL, however I said to the Armenian the last time I passed it to you and you shot, you near knocked doon the corner flag, to this the German piped in and said your shot there wasnt any good, guess what, I said to both of them that goal I scored do you know where I got the pass from, one of their team! True! LMAO
27th Mar 2008, 09:33pm
George Burley`s first game at the helm I thought went quite well, Scotland 1 Croatia 1.
Rangers had I think four players pulled out of the Scotland squad and game, they play Celtic Saturday, bet they are fit for that game? Now wont that be a surprise? LoL
28th Mar 2008, 02:36am
Do I detect a note of sour grapes from you Hubert. Celtic withdrew Barry Robson but he was seen on the news at lunchtime yesterday running around and jumping over hurdles etc. So it is all right for Celtic to withdraw players but not for Rangers according to you. Is this a bit of inTIMidation?? Come on lighten up a bit, it is only a game of football, not the end of the world. I hope the Rangers players will be fit for Saturday as it is a more important game that a Scotland friendly.
28th Mar 2008, 05:51am
QUOTE (maryhillgal @ 28th Mar 2008, 02:35 AM)

Do I detect a note of sour grapes from you Hubert. Celtic withdrew Barry Robson but he was seen on the news at lunchtime yesterday running around and jumping over hurdles etc. So it is all right for Celtic to withdraw players but not for Rangers according to you. Is this a bit of inTIMidation?? Come on lighten up a bit, it is only a game of football, not the end of the world. I hope the Rangers players will be fit for Saturday as it is a more important game that a Scotland friendly.
Mary I believe you have unfairly attacked me here, get the Robson story correct, he did NOT withdraw according to the media and the powers that be, he went to the Scotland doctors to play as he wanted to, and they sent him away saying he was unfit.
Yes he is fit for Saturdays game, and the story is he doesnt understand why he wasnt allowed to play for Scotland, and that he was very perplexed.
Please dont come back and say that the Scotland docs did this to cover up the four Rangers players being unfit, but will be ok by Saturday. LoL
Over the years Barry Ferguson has been conspicuous for pulling out of the Scotland team, and yet being fit for Rangers, thats NOT sour grapes, its fact!
valleyboy38
28th Mar 2008, 03:30pm
IS THAT THE FOUR LEAF CLOVER CROPPING UP?
30th May 2008, 10:35pm
Czech Republic 3 Scotland 1, and that was about right.
Scotland had some new players, and many pulled out of the Scotland squad before the game.
However even the Czech team was understrength, so in reality it was no contest.
Craig Gordon in goal had a few good saves and he couldnt do much about their three goals, our defense were mainly to blame, he is a good goalie, but how Hearts got 9 million for him puzzles me?
Dont know who was at right back, new faces I guess, anyhoo not good.
Caldwell tried as usual, but lacks skill and his fitba brain doesnt click in too well.
McManus came off, I think he was injured, he tried too, but was a bit slow.
Daily came in for McManus, he will never be a fitba player, and he is too old anyhoo.
Naismith was terrible at leftback.
Robson I have seen him play much better.
Hartley tried, but what a terrible tackler, in fact he usually fouls when he goes in to tackle.
Rae the ex Rangers man, now at Cardiff, very average player at best.
New 22 year old Morrison, he is just that very young and immature.
McNaughton, who the hell is he?
Kenny Miller, what a bloody shame, does a couple of nice things or moves, but inevitably screws up in the end, canny finish the job, STILL.
Maloney he rarely wastes a ball, has composure and talent, yet who can he turn to. Thats a Q for a song? LoL
Yes well taken goal by the Motherwell player Clarkson, he may make the grade.
Who else is there, does it matter?
Burley has a long road to haul, I wouldnt wish is job on anybody.
31st May 2008, 01:13am
Forgot to mention Fletcher of Man Utd, I usually like him, but he was OFF in this game, not good!
6th Sep 2008, 09:10pm
Macedonia 1 Scotland 0, not a good start for Scotland and George Burley, his first competitive game.
Well George your team was a wee bit better in the second half, however overall the better team won, bad start to your Scotland career George Burley.
These game proceed to see who will qualify for the World Cup, to be played in Africa.
6th Sep 2008, 09:10pm
Sorry duplication?
7th Sep 2008, 01:08am
Mibbeee ! we should`ve fielded the under 19s.?????????
7th Sep 2008, 02:06am
Oh I am so disappointed I thought they would walk this one
12th Sep 2008, 02:21pm
Well not too bad, Iceland 1 Scotand 2, it was scary a few times, Iceland came very close to getting a tie.
Two games I have watched Scotland, and I get the feeling I am watching Celtic, as the Scotland backline is poor as is Celtics.
I usually like McManus, but he is struggling a bit this season, and he gave away a real stupid penalty to Iceland by handling a ball that was crossed over into the box, consequently he was sent off.
Broadfoot scored a beauty with the head for the Scotland first goal.
13th Sep 2008, 08:43pm
Well Hubert at least they have one under their belt. Did you watch the England game?
10th Oct 2008, 10:46pm
I just found out I get the Scotland V Norway game on TV 7am Saturday morning, its on two Spanish channels, although one of those channels has the commentary in English.
Well needless to say I hope they win, or I will be looking for Scotland to find another manager/coach?
11th Oct 2008, 04:01pm
Scotland 0 Norway 0.
Not good enough, George Burley!
Gordon 7.5
Broadfoot 5
Caldwell 6.5
Weir 6.5
Naismith 5.5
Morrison 5.5
Brown 6
D Fletcher 7
Robson 6.5
McFadden 6.5
Maloney 7
27th Mar 2009, 03:50pm
Holland V Scotland in Holland Saturday28th March, I get it on my TV at 4 pm my time, this will be delayed, so I hope I dont hear the score before I see the game, its being shown on GOL a Spanish channel over here yet funny enough it comes in English.
Scotland do not have much of a team I guess with all the injuries, oh well apparently I hear even a draw would be great.
27th Mar 2009, 04:57pm
Hubert, I just read the tea leaves....But I won't spoil the game for you. I'm on my way to the bettin'-shop tho'.
29th Mar 2009, 02:37am
Oh dear no contest outclassed! Holland 3 Scotland 0.
Not much to say, maybe an indication of how poor the team was, there was a player on the Scotland team that I thought I heard it said that he was ten years at Preston North End, now I ask what experience could that have against a team as talented as Holland, the players name was Teale and I can tell you in my opinion the poor guy looked absolutely lost out on that field.
Yes there were others more or less lost, but goodness bloody gracious Teale what a shame!
Although McCormick didnt do a helluva lot like most others on the team, I liked the way he tried and hustled attempting to do something.
Wednesday the first of April, Scotland V Iceland.
1st Apr 2009, 10:03pm
Scotland 2 Iceland 1, it was a fairly close and even game as the score suggests, could quite easily been a draw at the end, but we will take the win, thank you!
I will be generous in my ratings.
Gordon 8
Hutton 8
Caldwell 7
McManus 7.5
Naysmith 7
Morrison 7
Brown 7
D Fletcher 6.5
McCormack 8
Miller 6
S Fletcher 6.5
2nd Apr 2009, 12:20am
Hubert, the tea leaves were right.
I'd read the date wrong. Bet went down.
13th Aug 2009, 12:18am
Norway 4 Scotland 0.
The way it looks even IF Scotland get second place in their group they may have the worst goal average record out of 9 second place teams and only 8 go through. Oh well!
I had the game on TV live from Setanta, and was settling down when Gary Caldwell gets a yellow card and shortly after that got a second yellow for pulling Carew of Norway by the arm and shirt, you sree that is NOT allowed in fitba and it gets a caution, so 2 yellows results in a red, so Caldwell gets sent off, and Scotland are up sh*te creek without a paddle.
Up until the STUPID mistake by Caldwell I would have given Norway a slight edge, but was looking forward to a hard fought game, thanks for nuthin Caldwell!
Most of the Scotland team looked like as per from previous years except when Smith was in charge.
Both Brown and Hutton were poor, what a bloody shambles once again, sorry but I dont have much faith in George Burley, although I feel Caldwell didnt help the cause!
13th Aug 2009, 12:06pm
I'm on the other side of the world so I'm not really up to date on the Scottish Team.
I have heard, though, that the Assistant Coach is one called Terry Butcher who spent some time out here in Oz. If that is true, then the Scotland team reap what they sow because; on his efforts here in Oz: Terry Butcher couldn't train a Passionfruit Vine to grow over a trellis ! And, making matters worse, I believe he's a Sassenach !
God forbid the day that Scotland has to rely on the likes of any Englishman, let alone a nonentity like Terry Butcher, to engender success for their football team.
As for George Burley; two wins in eleven games says it all !
Has anyone thought about what Gordon Strachan might be doing these days ?
OK, those in power at Celtic didn't want him, but can you imagine the pride in the Saltire and Lion Rampant a guy like Gordon Strachan could infuse into a team full of real Scots, rather than those pseudo Scots (Gimme the money !) he had to deal with at Parkhead ?
With the right choices, Scotland can still rule the football world !
Tombro
4th Sep 2009, 11:33pm
At 7am I will see the Scotland V Macedonia game live on GOL TV, although its a Spanish channel it is commentated in English, only the commercials are in Spanish, I have another GOL channel but thats all Spanish.
I think we can win this one, maybe McFadden can get us the winner?
It sure is strange McManus playing considering he hasnt played for Celtic this season, he had a knee operation.
Good luck to Scotland, we could be doing with a wee bit luck!
5th Sep 2009, 08:01am
McManus and McFadden are picked to play in the Scotland game. I see that BBC Radio Scotland is airing the game live, but can't watch it live, but at least I can be doing other things while listening on the radio.
Could be a good game, but then again, how many times has a Scotland team won!!!
Am no sae optimistic they'll win this one either but I'll cheer the boys on.
5th Sep 2009, 06:09pm
QUOTE (carmella @ 5th Sep 2009, 08:10am)

McManus and McFadden are picked to play in the Scotland game. I see that BBC Radio Scotland is airing the game live, but can't watch it live, but at least I can be doing other things while listening on the radio.
Could be a good game, but then again, how many times has a Scotland team won!!!
Am no sae optimistic they'll win this one either but I'll cheer the boys on.
Oh ye of little faith, LoL, Scotland 2 Macedonia 0.
5th Sep 2009, 11:52pm
Hard fought win, not a classic by a long shot, first half was poor and our goalie Gordon kept us in the game, second half was much better, however it will be very tough on Wednesday against Holland, oh well what else is new?
Gordon 8
Hutton 7
Weir 7.5
McManus 7
Whittaker 7
D Fletcher 6.5
Alexander 6
Brown 7
S Fletcher 6.5
Miller 7
McFadden 7
6th Sep 2009, 04:07am
Hello Hubert!
I did not see the game but I do believe as you said 'not a good first half by Scotland'
The other result in a way helped Scotland Iceland 1 Norway 1.
So I reckon a draw will be enough for Scotland to Qualify, 1-1, I predict.
I still think that Boyd would be a good choice in the game against Holland!
Has he still fallen out with the selectors or what?
6th Sep 2009, 05:34am
Mitchell I have no idea about Boyd, I cant remember did he not quit?
McFadden wont play against Holland because of a yellow card he got and thats a loss.
Going with three attackers was a good move by Burley, Miller and McFadden played good, and although S Fletcher didnt do as good, he floated in the cross I believe that Brown scored from.
Will be interesting to see what team gets picked for the Holland game, I dont think its on my TV Wednesday although I will check it out later, if not I will watch it on the internet.
We have a chance slim as it may appear.
6th Sep 2009, 11:12am
Listened to the game on the radio - first half was poor as has been said.
But great goal from McFadden no doubt about it, second half much better.
Nice wee win for Scotland just the same, no matter how they played, the goals are in at the end of the day.
Look forward to the next game, me of little faith LOL!!!
6th Sep 2009, 02:14pm
Guess I am the only wan that actually saw the game, goodness bloody gracious, are there any Scottish people oot there? LoL
6th Sep 2009, 04:40pm
Hubert
One of the benefits of living 'aff the shore' is that you get to see games we don't LOL
7th Sep 2009, 05:15am
QUOTE (hubert @ 6th Sep 2009, 03:23pm)

Guess I am the only wan that actually saw the game, goodness bloody gracious, are there any Scottish people oot there? LoL
Yer no ah watched it too!!!! `n Carmella jist go to Justintv..... click live (Ignore password) on live click sports. then go thro` thumbnails `til you find a game you want to watch.

Good Luck
7th Sep 2009, 03:26pm
Thanks for the heads up info on the games Tennscot yur ma pal!
9th Sep 2009, 09:55pm
Once again it wasnt to be, Scotland 0 Holland 1.
9th Sep 2009, 10:43pm
Seemed to be a good game too but why couldn't Scotland have put more effort into other matches thus avoiding a shit-or-bust situation against Holland? A couple of lost opportunities up at the goal mouth and then a misplaced header by Weir and their fate was sealed.
I read a comment by someone who said he was glad Scotland were out. Couldn't bear to see any more of those "silly ginger wigs". The toerag
9th Sep 2009, 10:44pm
Once again .... Scotlands Destiny , Braveheart Valiant Losers. My heart sez.. Maybe!!! My head sez Not a hope in Hell
9th Sep 2009, 11:51pm
Oh well I guess we have to support England now.
9th Sep 2009, 11:58pm
I'm under orders to support the ... guess which ... team. Now an England v Germany Final would be very interesting
10th Sep 2009, 06:49am
QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 10th Sep 2009, 02:07am)

I'm under orders to support the ... guess which ... team. Now an England v Germany Final would be very interesting
Sorry, Tomi - that is worst case scenario as far as I am concerned.
10th Sep 2009, 07:05am
QUOTE (Isobel @ 10th Sep 2009, 02:00am)

Oh well I guess we have to support England now.
Isobel, get real!!
10th Sep 2009, 08:39am
QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 10th Sep 2009, 06:58am)

Sorry, Tomi - that is worst case scenario as far as I am concerned.
But with both teams at the top of their qualifying groups we might still see an "auld enemy" match in a final (as if poor old Scotland could ever have brought us there!)
As old Schultz, in Hogan's Heroes would say,
"very interesting"
10th Sep 2009, 09:48am
Thanks Bilbo, I was just about to question Isobel's sanity, too !
How about we all support Australia from now on. At least they've got someone who plays in Scotland in their team and he's got a very Scots name.
Tombro

P.S And there's lots of ex-pat Scots live over here, too !
10th Sep 2009, 12:42pm
Think I will stick with my adopted country - seems only right.
10th Sep 2009, 01:06pm
QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 10th Sep 2009, 09:48am)

As old Schultz, in Hogan's Heroes would say, "very interesting"
Are you sure of your source material here, did Shultz not say "I see nothink" and the "very interesting" line not come from Rowan and Martins laugh in
As for the big team, I am sorry they have not qualified but in the end it was just what they deserved and that is not a criticism. They are as good as we have got and a change of manager with achieve nothing. What I was most looking forward to, had they qualified, was the media calls for amnesties for certain players. Who will I support, nobody in particular because our team is out. I would have been happy for England to win for the players sakes but the thought of another 1966 fills me with dread, so anybody but them