Full Version: Scotlands Big Team
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
It was just on the telly tonight, mitch.

Liverpool are trying to do the same as teams have been doing for years, throughout Europe - (at least the big clubs) - and that is do they're own TV rights deals, worldwide.
Theres no question on my mind wee davy and ashfield did NOT read my post properly, especially by me reading their reply or response! rolleyes.gif
There's also the problem of the amount of schools closures over the years which reduced the playing grounds available to children, most of the land being sold to property developers by councils throughout the land. Doesn't exactly encourage participation does it? This means things will get worse.
We should value our sports infrastructure in the same way that the Australians and Americans do. Who knows, the Commonwealth games may just drive this point home next year. Let's hope so!
QUOTE (hubert @ 13th Oct 2011, 12:03am) *
Theres no question on my mind wee davy and ashfield did NOT read my post properly, especially by me reading their reply or response! rolleyes.gif

Sorry Hubert, I'm not sure what you think I missed in your post. My comments about population were made in relation to the figures Wee Davy gave. I was trying to show that in a direct comparison between the Scotland of 40 years ago and the present, there is a serious decline in the number of people playing football. The consequence is an overall reduced pool of talent to choose from.

The development of skills is our potential salvation.
Just watching the friendly against Cyprus and Kenny Miller has scored a peach of a goal. Cyprus have hit the woodwork twice but despite that, I think Scotland are worth the lead after half an hour.

On a slightly different tack, there seems to an ongoing campaign to get Steven Fletcher back into the Scotland set up. He famously asked not to be selected because he went in the huff at not getting picked for a previous game. I understand guys like Davie Weir, who quit after getting named by Vogts as one of the players who lost a game, coming back under a different manager. I would never allow Fletcher to wear a Scotland jersey again. prima donnas we can do without.
Final score Cyprus 1 Scotland 2.
Scotland may have been the slightly better team, but goodness gracious it sure wasnt a classic by any stretch of the imagination!
Kind of funny about 5 minutes or so before Kenny Miller scored, I was thinking cant any of these Scottish players kill a ball from the air, I had just seen Mackie fail, and Miller himself at the start of the game sort of failed, however Miller did just that on his goal he killed from the air and proceeded to lob it over the goalies heid, brilliant execution.
Mackie himself scored a goodyin too!
What happened to Darren Fletcher, he has been playing good with Manchester United, but his passing was bloody blase and poor in the Cyprus game.
Thought MacGregor should have saved their goal, although he had a couple of verygood saves.
QUOTE (tamhickey @ 13th Oct 2011, 05:07am) *
There's also the problem of the amount of schools closures over the years which reduced the playing grounds available to children, most of the land being sold to property developers by councils throughout the land. Doesn't exactly encourage participation does it? This means things will get worse.
We should value our sports infrastructure in the same way that the Australians and Americans do. Who knows, the Commonwealth games may just drive this point home next year. Let's hope so!

Tam my grandson can play the following sports at school,
Football
Rugby
Cricket
Hockey
Swimming
Tennis
There is also the opportunity to be coached in Golf on the main sports fields.

Granted he goes to a private school but even the most basic goverment school normaly has a rugby or football field within the school grounds, I cant remember seeing any 'public' facilities provided by the goverment or local council anywhere.
Most kids who want to keep up their sports after leaving school join private clubs
QUOTE (tamhickey @ 13th Oct 2011, 04:07am) *

Do you mean North Americans in your statement, Canada and USA? Also as the US is not a member of the Commonwealth they will not be taking part in the Glasgow Games.
Read the story in the newspaper this morning were Terry Butcher advocates playing eleven English born players for Scotland if needed, and I have to say I agree with him I would go even further and say that I would change the rules to include the ability to allow anyone with provable Scottish ancestors to play for Scotland.

The days when a family would leave Scotland and never be able to return are long gone and even though somebody may be a second, third or even fourth generation Canadian, Australian or even South African does not make them any less proud of their Scottish roots.

Its sad to say but I expect the only people to disagree with me will be the people still living in Scotland
Not good!

Scots take tumble in world rankings

7 Mar 2012

SCOTLAND have dropped to 51st place in the Fifa world rankings released today.

That is despite Craig Levein’s side racking up a creditable 1-1 draw in a friendly international in Slovenia last week.

England have slipped one place to sixth following their 3-2 home defeat by Holland.

They are just 15 ranking points ahead of Portugal, while Euro 2012 group rivals France and Sweden have moved up one place to 16th and 17th respectively.

World and European champions Spain remain in pole position, with Holland in second and Germany third.

Wales have dropped six places to 48th, with Northern Ireland 87th. The Republic of Ireland have moved up one to 19th.
Not good hubert but do you agree with where we are?? I do.... I think we are awful really because gone are the great days when Scotland showed passion and really made you proud even though they might not always get the best results. And the results now speak for themselves as far as qualifying for the big tournies go. sad.gif
QUOTE (Scotsman @ 8th Mar 2012, 01:26pm) *
Not good hubert but do you agree with where we are?? I do.... I think we are awful really because gone are the great days when Scotland showed passion and really made you proud even though they might not always get the best results. And the results now speak for themselves as far as qualifying for the big tournies go. sad.gif

Yes I do agree, we did get a draw against Slovenia although they have a population of just over 2 million I think, and half of them are women! LoL
Levien will give it a good try, and I think we play here in the USA this May, I sure dont fancy our chances here!
USA (red hoops) 5 Scotland 1.
It was a training session for the USA, Scotland were not even in the hunt, what a shambles Scottish fitba has become, sad to say.
Before the game I think it was 5 Pipers that played Flower of Scotland, not sure who was worse the Scottish fitba team or the rendition given by the 5 Pipers, because they were murder.
MacGregor 4
Bardsley 5
Caldwell 5
Webster 5
Mulgrew 5
Bannon 5
Brown 5
Phillips 5
McArthur 5
Miller 5
Maloney 4
SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Sad. USA? What is going on?
QUOTE (hubert @ 27th May 2012, 02:34pm) *
Before the game I think it was 5 Pipers that played Flower of Scotland, not sure who was worse the Scottish fitba team or the rendition given by the 5 Pipers, because they were murder.
MacGregor 4
Bardsley 5
Caldwell 5
Webster 5
Mulgrew 5
Bannon 5
Brown 5
Phillips 5
McArthur 5
Miller 5
Maloney 4

The football team were by far worse than the pipers, who in turn were better than the female who murdered the Star spangled banner, and you were far too generous with the ratings Hubert.
Befuddles me after the 5-1 trouncing by the USA, however I will take it.

"Scotland rise seven places in FIFA world rankings despite friendly defeat by USA".
Dont ask me Hubert these rankings are a complete nonsense.
"Scotland rise seven places in FIFA world rankings despite friendly defeat by USA".

I'm guessing Stewart Regan provided the stats......
When i was a kid i went to Govan high school ( Alex Ferguson was a fellow pupil ) In those days it was the ambition of every kid to get into one of the schools football teams. We were forever kicking a ball around the playground and then later on when we got home we would play football in the streets. We were very proud of our school teams, even if the played poorly. Once you got into one of the schools junior teams you would, if you were a decent player, progress onto the senior teams and so on. On Saturdays you would go to big matches with your dad or maybe an uncle.....I'm not sure if this still is the case with schools nowadays but if not could this be a reason for the lack of good players

Just one more point i would like to make. If you took all the foreign players out of the English premier league, how many truly top world class players would be left ?

Doug, the decline in schools football has been put forward on this thread before as a possible contributory factor as to our lack of players with "world class talent". Can't think who it was now but he sure knows a thing or two about football tongue.gif

Unless that new National Performance Director, Mark Wotte can find ways of encouraging youngsters back into playing football from an early age, I suspect we should get used to what we're getting. When was the last time you saw kids kicking a ball in the street, or even in the park?

QUOTE (Doug1 @ 6th Jul 2012, 06:39pm) *
Just one more point i would like to make. If you took all the foreign players out of the English premier league, how many truly top world class players would be left ?

I'm guessing here Doug, but is the answer none.
If we must get fascinated with the English league (and thereby sticking closer to the thread topic) why are we not fixating on the number of world-class Scots presently appearing in the English league?
That seems to be more to the point.
Scotland 3 Australia 1.
Good game Scotland played well not great but it was good to watch.
Australia took the lead on a fabulous goal, then young Rhodes scored a beauty with the heid, then Australia gave us an own goal, not sure what the defender was up too, McCormack scored a great third goal.
Maybe we can start to compete better in the Euro and World cup qualifying games. thumbup.gif
A Mackinnon
Just finished watching the Scotland Vs Australia game and simply could not believe my ears when a large group of "so called" Scottish fans roundly booed a Scottish player wearing the dark blue of Scotland when he came on the park wub.gif I thought at first they were booing something ( or someone) off camera that TV was not showing! but no!! much to my utter disgust they continued to loudly boo the Scottish player every time he touched the ball and giving his all for his country.

Who was this villain in dark blue that deserved such disdain by the fans? Well, turns out he is not a traitor to Scotland, not a criminal, not a sexual offender, not a wife beater, no, he is simply a player who now plays for Rangers!!!!! huh.gif

I have been at many Scotland games in my life (also have a nephew who played for Celtic & Scotland) and I have never booed a Scottish player coming on to play for his country, to have done so would have warranted me at least a punch in the mouth from the group I went with to shut me up...and I would have deserved it.

I am totally ashamed of these people, how can they call themselves Scots???

QUOTE (A Mackinnon @ 15th Aug 2012, 11:36pm) *
Just finished watching the Scotland Vs Australia game and simply could not believe my ears when a large group of "so called" Scottish fans roundly booed a Scottish player wearing the dark blue of Scotland when he came on the park wub.gif I thought at first they were booing something ( or someone) off camera that TV was not showing! but no!! much to my utter disgust they continued to loudly boo the Scottish player every time he touched the ball and giving his all for his country.

Who was this villain in dark blue that deserved such disdain by the fans? Well, turns out he is not a traitor to Scotland, not a criminal, not a sexual offender, not a wife beater, no, he is simply a player who now plays for Rangers!!!!! huh.gif

I have been at many Scotland games in my life (also have a nephew who played for Celtic & Scotland) and I have never booed a Scottish player coming on to play for his country, to have done so would have warranted me at least a punch in the mouth from the group I went with to shut me up...and I would have deserved it.

You obviously dont support Celtic otherwise you would have known about more than one Celtic player who was booed simply because rah peepul thought one of their own should have played.
The people doing the booing should have been booted oot of the park, they're idiots and bampots
smile.gif The "tartan army" are a strange lot.

Anyway, I'm sure wee Black didn't give a damn.
QUOTE (A Mackinnon @ 15th Aug 2012, 10:36pm) *

I can't agree with you more Mac, but sadly this is nothing new, as i remember Tommy Gemmell being booed at Hampden as he was taking a penalty against Cyprus in 1969, i have also heard Graeme Souness and Stevie Archibald being booed, but by far the worst was at a Scotland game at Pittodrie where Roy Aitken was booed every time he touched the ball.
A Mackinnon
QUOTE (Dave Grieve @ 16th Aug 2012, 06:52am) *
You obviously dont support Celtic otherwise you would have known about more than one Celtic player who was booed simply because rah peepul thought one of their own should have played.

Oh! so that makes it right then?? I just knew that after I posted that comment that someone would come on with the old ...well I remember!!!! Quite frankly I don't care who, when or why it was done before..and by the way, where do you get "I obviously don't support Celtic" from my comment?
Are you saying that Celtic supporters have never booed a Rangers player before while playing for Scotland???

Please do us all a favour, don't try & defend the um-defensible, they (the people booing) should all be thoroughly ashamed of themselves, period.
QUOTE (A Mackinnon @ 16th Aug 2012, 01:56pm) *
Are you saying that Celtic supporters have never booed a Rangers player before while playing for Scotland???

Oh do give over A Mac? Dontcha know that Celtic and their supporters are ALWAYS the victims? laugh.gif
Don't suppose it will have occurred to you guys that the (unacceptable) abuse given to Ian Black last night had nothing to do with his current club and was more to do with an ex-Hearts player appearing at Easter Road rolleyes.gif
[quote name='Mathieson' date='16th Aug 2012, 02:06pm' post='3584921']
Oh do give over A Mac? Dontcha know that Celtic and their supporters are ALWAYS the victims? laugh.gif
[/quote

According to you thats reserved only for Rangers. yes.gif yes.gif
double post
QUOTE (A Mackinnon @ 16th Aug 2012, 01:56pm) *
Oh! so that makes it right then?? I just knew that after I posted that comment that someone would come on with the old ...well I remember!!!! Quite frankly I don't care who, when or why it was done before..and by the way, where do you get "I obviously don't support Celtic" from my comment?

Please do us all a favour, don't try & defend the um-defensible, they (the people booing) should all be thoroughly ashamed of themselves, period.

Dosent make anything right

I get dont support Celtic from one of your previous post where you said you followed another team Partick Thistle if i remember correctly.

In all the Scotland games I went to see I never ever heard a Rangers player being booed (but then we NEW our place in Scottish society then)

apart from Black being booed do you know of any other player from Rangers being booed while playing for Scotland?

Thanks Ashfield you are probably right about him being an ex hearts player.

A Mackinnon
QUOTE (ashfield @ 16th Aug 2012, 01:17pm) *
Don't suppose it will have occurred to you guys that the (unacceptable) abuse given to Ian Black last night had nothing to do with his current club and was more to do with an ex-Hearts player appearing at Easter Road rolleyes.gif

So Ashfield, it was all HIbs supporters that was doing the booing, if so! why weren't they drowned out by the "Tartan Army". (or is all the Tartan Army Hibs supporters biggrin.gif)
But to answer your question. Yes! it did occur to me (and others) that could be a reason, but when it continued at every touch of the ball, it became fairly obvious that it was more that! As you say, totally "unacceptable"
QUOTE (A Mackinnon @ 16th Aug 2012, 12:56pm) *
Are you saying that Celtic supporters have never booed a Rangers player before while playing for Scotland??

Yes, the last time we played Ireland tongue.gif
Captain Courageous and Honest Tiny enjoying a wee ordinary everyday handshake before an Old Firm game in the 60's

QUOTE (A Mackinnon @ 16th Aug 2012, 02:35pm) *
So Ashfield, it was all HIbs supporters that was doing the booing, if so! why weren't they drowned out by the "Tartan Army". (or is all the Tartan Army Hibs supporters biggrin.gif)
But to answer your question. Yes! it did occur to me (and others) that could be a reason, but when it continued at every touch of the ball, it became fairly obvious that it was more that! As you say, totally "unacceptable"

It what way did it become "obvious" it was something else? Even the Scotland manager said that it was Hibs fans.

Or do you think it might have been Rangers fans who still remember his outrageous tackle on Jalavic biggrin.gif
QUOTE (Dave Grieve @ 16th Aug 2012, 03:11pm) *
Captain Courageous and Honest Tiny enjoying a wee ordinary everyday handshake before an Old Firm game in the 60's

That was just "ham and egg" handing over the double headed coin for the toss-up laugh.gif
You always can tell when Celtic fans have reached desperation point when that old chestnut is pulled from their rather full archive of "evidence". laugh.gif
QUOTE (Dave Grieve @ 16th Aug 2012, 02:32pm) *
Thanks Ashfield you are probably right about him being an ex hearts player.

Really? Why then was ex-Hearts player Berra not booed? laugh.gif
QUOTE (Mathieson @ 16th Aug 2012, 04:06pm) *
You always can tell when Celtic fans have reached desperation point when that old chestnut is pulled from their rather full archive of "evidence". laugh.gif

its a good fotie though Mattie wit dae ye think? yes.gif thumbup.gif
QUOTE (Mathieson @ 16th Aug 2012, 04:09pm) *
Really? Why then was ex-Hearts player Berra not booed? laugh.gif

Never seen Black play not even on TV but by all accounts he thinks he's a hard man on the field, their the sort that are normally booed
A Mackinnon
QUOTE (Dave Grieve @ 16th Aug 2012, 03:34pm) *
Never seen Black play not even on TV but by all accounts he thinks he's a hard man on the field, their the sort that are normally booed

Not by their own supporters Dave laugh.gif
QUOTE (A Mackinnon @ 16th Aug 2012, 04:37pm) *

I agree with you it shouldn't happen irrespective of who plays for which club. but this is Scotland we are talking about, ever since the days of William Wallace Scots have turned against Scots.

We pretend to be united but the reality is it is a divided country.
QUOTE (Dave Grieve @ 16th Aug 2012, 04:32pm) *
its a good fotie though Mattie wit dae ye think? yes.gif thumbup.gif

I wouldn't know mate. ;-)
A Mackinnon
QUOTE (Dave Grieve @ 16th Aug 2012, 03:43pm) *
I agree with you it shouldn't happen irrespective of who plays for which club. but this is Scotland we are talking about, ever since the days of William Wallace Scots have turned against Scots.

We pretend to be united but the reality is it is a divided country.

Ain't that the truth!! sad.gif
QUOTE (A Mackinnon @ 16th Aug 2012, 04:37pm) *

Dave forgot the old adage that when you're in a hole you stop digging,

..you don't go ordering a JCB laugh.gif
QUOTE (Mathieson @ 16th Aug 2012, 04:51pm) *
Dave forgot the old adage that when you're in a hole you stop digging,

..you don't go ordering a JCB laugh.gif

Its one way of getting out the other side laugh.gif
Craig Levein ‘very confident’ of qualification for Scotland

Scotland manager Craig Levein is determined to end the country’s long wait to qualify for a major international tournament.

Scotland have not qualified for a World Cup or European Championship since they made the group stages at France ‘98.

Levein’s side missed out on Euro 2012 after finishing behind Spain and Czech Republic, but the Scots put on two encouraging displays against the world and European champions.

Scotland have been drawn in a difficult qualifying group for Brazil 2014 along with Croatia, Serbia, Belgium, Macedonia and Wales.

The Scotland boss has been encouraged by a recent friendly win over Australia, however, and is hopeful the team can challenge for qualification.

“I am very confident. This is the strongest squad I’ve had for a while so we are ready to go,” Levein said.

“The reason I took the job is to qualify for a major competition.

“I was fortunate to play in Italia ‘90 so having experienced that, it is in my head that I want to qualify with Scotland as the manager.

“There is no bigger incentive for any Scotsman than that.”

Levein, who starts his qualifying campaign at home against Serbia on September 8, is confident he has the calibre of player he needs to succeed in qualifying.

“The squad is improving individually, there are a lot of the players playing in the Premier League now,” said Levein, who was speaking at the Vauxhall Road to Brazil 2014 media conference in London.

“A few years ago there were five or six players playing in the Premier League and now it’s 16 so that’s the indication of level they are playing at.

“International football is at a similar level to the Premier League so if you can play week in week out at that level they will be able to transfer that to international level.”

"I admire his confidence, but can he do it"?