Full Version: Scotlands Big Team
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
I went to see them as a child...........Then I grew up!!!!! tongue.gif
[quote name='TeeHeeHee' date='9th Oct 2010, 10:44pm' post='321232']
Sorry lads, but I watched a brilliant defensive game last night played out by Germany ... Attack being the best method of defence of course.
Germany 3 Turkey 0.
I'm not sure if I'm masochistic enough to watch Spain v Scotland but If Bilbo's watching it then I suppose I must cheer the Scots on. wink.gif
Nice gear Bill ... is that your neutral stuff? rolleyes.gif
[/quo

May watch it at home but certainly not in my local. I have watched three games so far and I would be mortified to watch such crap in public. The managers just go from bad to worse.
QUOTE (irrie @ 9th Oct 2010, 10:08am) *
Parkin buses 4=6 systems ah wonder if im watchin fitba or some new fangled gemme Miller plays a lone striker gemme wi Rangers in Europe aw the time so to leave him oot wis madness. A wee bit aff subject if you get Alba oan yer telly the Jags are oan live oan Sunday

Aye, the Scottish management must have must have held a meeting with W Smith, as that is his way of playing the game. rolleyes.gif

Nice to see a good post on here, regarding post #194.
You are spot on.
If you want to see the games live, go to

http://atdhe.net/index.html#
Ah dont know if i can put masel through watching the nights gemme.A few yrs ago ahd be really looking forward tae it as Scotland were capable of causing a surprise but now im dreading it. The jags snatched defeat fae the jaws o victory oan Sunday
QUOTE (irrie @ 12th Oct 2010, 07:52am) *
Ah dont know if i can put masel through watching the nights gemme.A few yrs ago ahd be really looking forward tae it as Scotland were capable of causing a surprise but now im dreading it. The jags snatched defeat fae the jaws o victory oan Sunday

Go on irrie, you know you want to. Who knows what could happen? The worst that can happen is you will see the current world and euro champions giving a display of scintillating fitba. It will make a refreshing change in Scotland. smile.gif
You hav talked me into it
Is it me chums or is Levein taken the piss oota the tartan army,efter three gemes agin what must just aboot be the three weakest teams in world fitbaw.efter three gemes in which 9 bluddy points were going a begging we hiv the grand total o 4 .

Fer why ye ask cos this clown masquerade'n as a fitbaw manager chose tae engage in trench warfare like the classroom wimp scared o his ane shadow.

All o a sudden he's rocky, whit we are gonna dae tae these Spaniards the night is naebuddy's bizznizzzz, were gonna make Drake's thrashin o them in the far distant past seem like a skelp on the wrist .

Jasus tae me it seems the gink's in meltdoon the enormity o the job has hit him atween the eye's,.. ''like 99.9
% o the tartan army wid luv tae dae '' laugh.gif there canny be any other explanation for the Ertha Kitt he has come awie wie in the last 48 hours..

P.s see some o you hiv bin haven a go at the jags a wee team dear tae this auld guys heart ,fer three or four year i used tae go an support them back in the 70's alang wie a fellow butcher who was a die hard jags man when celtic were awie too far fer me tae get tae or if the tic wurnae playing
was at the big turnup when they took us tae the cleaners then o course i was shouting fer the tic and at hauf time i lost a pretty penny tae my jags mate cos i put money on them tae over turn the odds in the second hauf ,still if we had tae lose then the jags softenend the blow ,my bet ach he asked me tae help him drink it in celebration o the jags victory ,man those were the days biggrin.gif ,nane o this 442, 4.5.1etc bullls*it whit happened tae the bootifell geme... ,centreback ,striker ,etc fer gods sake talk good broad Scots .
Jasus i tuned in the night fer a quick look first hauf played aff the park.

Eff it ah thought al watch the rest ,whit a turn roon me first an foremost am a patriot weel bein a scoundrel like some smart ass wance said wid be my last refuge.

Man o man it wis magic 2 doon an then Naismith'ss goal hid made at ibrox stamped o ower it ,great delivery fae Miller and sublime finish fae Naismith .

Then Scottish pressure leads tae a boob and an own goal ffs by this time ahm goin ballistic kin we kill them aff alas it wisnae tae be ,Spain get another wan ,but see the scorer mops his brow i think in tribute tae oor fightin spirit..

Man o the match the superb Alan Mcgregor ye canny help yer wicked wies son its in yer genes you Mcgregors are the bandits o Scotland whit wis the auld slogan ''Tae the hills Mcgreegor '' laugh.gif you did weel son think there's gonna be a big money deal fer you in the future .

Noo tae that bluddy imposter Levein if i wis yer boss i'd fire you the morra morning ,you and you alone are guilty tae a lack o faith in yer squad and yer negative bluddy tactics have held these young lions on a leash that i think will prove tae be a rock on which wance agin oor chances tae go forard will perish on ,shame on you. mad.gif
Once AgAin , Again Again.........Glorious in Defeat, mad.gif
Was oot the hoose and didnae see the gemme!
Maybe catch it on a replay somewhere.
give all the players a pass but a big zero for the manager
QUOTE (Tennscot @ 12th Oct 2010, 11:39pm) *
Once AgAin , Again Again.........Glorious in Defeat, mad.gif

Aye, yet another glorious failure. We all know the script by now.
I watched, of course, Germany beatin' Khazastan 2:0 up until Mary turned over to watch X Faktor. I don't know how the score ended but I knew it would be 9 points now for them. the Huns as they're commonly referred to by THE SUN were playing against the real Huns.
Khazaston?
This team comes from the old Mongol territories.
One of them was havin' a go at Podolski after fouling him and the ref jumped in and split them up giving the Mongol a yellow card and as the camera followed the ref following the Mongol, yellow card in the air, another Mongol is throwin' a swing at Podolski who'd just been taken down on the ball.
It would have been a good game to see to the finish just to see the really good passing game and the, almost, confusion of the Mongols but the lady of the house wanted to switch to the other side.
As we settled down to watch X Faktor she asks, "Who's Scotland playing?"
"Spain."
"Oh ... that's a shame. Pity the couldn't have got Khazastan. Well, Scotland never last long." sad.gif
Watched a video with Levein walking out of an interview after the Scotland game.
To me it certainly looks like Levein cant handle the pressure of the job, and chances are his days are numbered, however it will be some time to the next Scotland game I guess.
Like auldbutcher a Celtic fan and Scotland, I have great respect for Walter Smith what he accomplished with the national team was more than outstanding!
Also Walter Smith has through his ability as a coach brought money into Ibrox, something I feel the Celtic board have failed to do in their own inimitable way, in fact I feel the Celtic board have cost the Celtic club millions.
Just my opinion!
Amen tae that huebert like me you know a real manager when you see wan,and yes the celtic board and Laweel in particular have cost celtic millions ,got a sneaky wee feelin the silver fox will take ower Scotland agin and we can ferget about stupid line ups like 6.4.0 that boy Naismith continues tae impress me tongue.gif wink.gif .
Scotland 3-0 Faroe Islands.
I didnae see the game but very pleased with the scoreline!
Watched some o the highlights Hubert, a couple of the Scots looked genuine prospects but the Faroes were pretty poor. Barry Bannon is a tricky winger, I can see why they compared him to Jinky.
Yes I saw some highlightes, once again I saw a familiar situation unfortunately, wee Shaun Maloney missed a great opportunity to score.
Wee Maloney I like his dribbling and passing, his control on the ball aint bad either, but his shooting is bloody terrible. In Fitba this happens as we all know, look at Kenny Miller with Celtic could hardly buy a goal, hustled well enough but it wasnt to be scoring that is, then he goes to Rangers and he is prolific, could that be the coaching, bet it is!
Sorry for adding these other games but here goes.
South Africa 0 USA 1. Goody goody!
England 1 France 2. Again goody goody! LoL
Argentina 1 Brasil 0.
Watching this game what outstanding skills on the ball, and I have to admit for years I seem to notice mistakes and blunders in games more than I do great plays, although I do recognize great plays too.
My point is I aint negative about fitba, I just know if you blunder and thats what Brasil did in the middle of the field you can be punished, and they were, by the current best wee Messi.
SCOTLAND "Levein upbeat on Scotland future", read this in the BBC internet site.
Scotland are ranked 52 these days, and if they were to get decent players on a regular basis when needed and not call off wholesale just prior to games, Levein just might get some improvement going!
Hope so, we shall see, I get the impression Levein is ready to give it his best next year!
Craig Levein names Scotland squad to face Northern Ireland
Published Date: 01 February 2011

By Stephen Emerson
Scotland boss Craig Levein has included two first-time call-ups for his side's match against Northern Ireland in the Celtic Nations Cup in Dublin.

Blackburn defender Grant Hanley and Aberdeen striker Chris Maguire have both been drafted in for the tournament opener.

Leeds winger Robert Snodgrass, who was last called up in 2009 for Scotland's friendly against Japan, has also been included in the team and will be hoping to make his debut in next Wednesday's clash.

Controversial Dundee United striker David Goodwillie, who has been charged with rape, has been left out of the squad.

• Full Scotland squad to face Northern Ireland in the Carling Nations Cup

Scotland manager Craig Levein believes Hanley has a big future in the game and is excited by the prospect of seeing him in action for the national team.

He said: "Grant is a young lad who has impressed in the short time he has been involved in the Premier League matches.

"I've watched him four times and he has all the attributes to be a top-class centre-back."

Levein said he believed his decision to leave out Goodwillie, who made his debut during Scotland's 3 - 0 win over the Faroe Islands in November, was the right one.

"It's an awkward situation to be placed in, said Levein.

"He has a cloud hanging over his head just now. I thought long and hard about it and I believe I've made the right decision."

On the tournament itself, Levein added: "From day one my intention was to win the competition and I think this is a strong squad."

• Charlie Adam, (Blackpool)

• Barry Bannan (Aston Villa)

• Phil Bardsley (Sunderland)

• Cameron Bell (Kilmarnock)

• Christophe Berra (Wolves)

• Scott Brown (Celtic)

• Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic)

• Kris Commons (Celtic)

• Graham Dorrans (West Bromwich Albion)

• Darren Fletcher (Manchester United)

• Craig Gordon (Sunderland)

• Grant Hanley (Blackburn Rovers)

• Alan Hutton (Tottenham Hotspur)

• Chris Maguire (Aberdeen)

• Lee McCulloch (Rangers)

• Allan McGregor (Rangers)

• Kenny Miller (Bursaspor)

• James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion)

• Steven Naismith (Rangers)

• Robert Snodgrass (Leeds United)

• Danny Wilson (Liverpool)

Mark Wilson (Celtic)

I just noticed that the N Ireland v Scotland game is being played in Dublin, was surprised to see that, cant find anything that explains why its not being played in the North?
I believe this is a Celtic nations cup that Scotland is playing in, and England are not playing, maybe all the games are being played in Dublin.
This should be good for Scotland and Levein I sure hope so.
Steven Fletcher will never be selected by Levein following him taking the huff at not being picked for the Euro games against Czech Republic and Spain. He is alleged to have texted a message to a member of the backroom staff saying he didn't want to picked to play for Scotland again.

Very sad how quickly guy's like him get an ego the size of a bus when their talent is only the size of a mini. He is exactly the kind of guy you don't want in your team.
Scotland 3-0 Northern Ireland. Scorers:- Miller, McArthur, Commons.
Never saw the game, but well done Scotland and Levein.
Levein revealed that he had withdrawn Celtic midfielder Scott Brown from the starting line-up just before the kick-off because he had a tight groin and the Scotland coach did not want to risk further damage.
If Levein can do almost as good as Walter Smith did with Scotland I will be happy!
In the news this morning my time Scott Brown appears, Levein has him in the starting lineup against Brazil the morra.
Should be interesting if nothing else, as it may be known I am not a fan of Brown, in fact for me its almost incredible that he should be on the same park as the Brazil players, however to give him a bit of fairness the whole Scottish team have been poor over the latter years.
I intend watching this game, being a friendly who knows what will happen, will Brazil put on a show and destroy Scotland, will Scotland put up a fight and sort of hold their own, we shall see!
Team for the morra:-
Scotland: McGregor (Rangers), Hutton (Tottenham Hotspur), G Caldwell (Wigan), Berra (Wolverhampton Wanders), Crainey (Blackpool), Adam (Blackpool), Brown (Celtic), Morrison (West Brom), McArthur (Wigan Athletic), Whittaker (Rangers), Miller (Bursaspor).

Hope we can at least put up a half decent show against Brazil.
Watched the first half of the Wales 0 England 2 game, it was boring, Wales are a weak team, and gave England a gifted penalty.
Tonights, USA 1 Argentina 1 game was verygood and I take my hat off to Bradley for making changes at halftime that worked to a degree.
The first half was a clinical display by Messi and Argentina, watching Messi and I know this is a bit of exagerating, but he is like Pele and Maradona combined.
The USA seldom give up and are great at comebacks in games.
Sure would like to see a similar spirit from Scotland!
I cant go these meaningless international friendlies, Scotland V Brazil in the world cup? Im well up for that. Just hope any Rangers players involved come through unscathed. I remember a young promising Celtic player, Kennedy I think his name was, he got a serious injury playing for Scotland in a meaningless frendly, never really heard of him after that.
International friendlies are organised purely as cash cows for the administrators who like their jollies to foreign lands. To a fair extent internationals are given priority over club concerns as a result.
Scotland 0 Brazil 2.
Score wise its about as best as it could be but fitba wise absolutely no contest.
Craig Levien`s biggy is qualifying for the European nations cup and to say that is a tall order with the present squad he has for me is an understatement!
There is one player that looks no too bad and I dont know anything about him or who he plays for is Morrison.
Was listening and watching Sky Sports the young Brazilian Neymar was asked about the banana that was thrown onto the park by someone in the Scottish support, also Levien was asked about it too.
Sad that racism and bigotry of all kinds keeps raising its ugly head, at fitba games, and unfortunately it will never end.
Must have been a Celtic supporter then?
As I recall a certain Rangers player, think it was Mark Walters getting the same treatment when he played against Celtic. rolleyes.gif
Yes it was Walters, and sadly it was at least as bad when Rangers went to Tynecastle not long afterwards.
SCOTLAND

Scottish deny Neymar racism claim.
QUOTE (Mathieson @ 28th Mar 2011, 01:50pm) *
Yes it was Walters, and sadly it was at least as bad when Rangers went to Tynecastle not long afterwards.

Hey Matty, maybe it was a Tic supporter right enough that threw the banana onto the field, hoping that Brown, Wilson or Commons would slip on it and claim a penalty? laugh.gif
Whits goin on with Scotland being portrayed as Racist, That Chinese celtic player also claimed that his monkey impersonation against Japan was to highlight the racial abuse he suffered in Scotland.
Levein unfazed by 'flawed' Fifa rankings as Scotland slip to 66th place Scotland dropped 16 places to 66th in the rankings.

Aye and probably with him being unfazed it will get worse! rolleyes.gif
I am going to miss this game, Scotland v Ireland!
Hope to see the highlights later.
Come on Scotland! I think wee Forrest is getting a game, that is a surprise for me, I just dont think he is even good enough for a regular Celtic place even in the future!
RIP Philip Greene. The Arthur Montford of Ireland it seems .
Ireland playing in black, Scotland in yellow.
86th minute, oh kenny kenny kenny, how could you.
Eg. this thread is for the Scotland big team fitba!
Sikorski
Who is this guy, Stewart Regan and why is he getting involved in political decisions affecting the future of Scottish football. Due to Regan, the existence of Scotland as a footballing nation is now under serious threat.

I am, of course, referring to the SFA’s decision to back England’s objections to the re-election of Sepp Blatter as FIFA president.

Regan’s supposed to be the SFA Chief Executive, running the business side of the Scottish game, not getting Scottish football tangled up in political wranglings.

Regan, 46, joined the SFA in 2010, after 4 years with Yorkshire County Cricket Club. Yep! That makes him well qualified to talk for Scottish football. He replaced Gordon Smith, who left for personal reasons.

"Stewart's got a business background and that's what we're looking for. The SFA has a £30m turnover - it's a business we're running here." said SFA president George Peat, at the time of Regan’s appointment.

It’s a real possibility that the FIFA congress could now vote to punish the ‘rebellious Scots’ and exclude them from FIFA along with the other home nations, forcing through plans to amalgamate the Home Nations under one Football Association.

We need to get rid of Regan; send Sepp Blatter an apology indicating that Regan’s views are not the views of Scottish football; and do it quick!
Hes a Trojan Horse, for sure, and Neil Doncaster, folk wae inglish accents are running the game in Scotland?. As Arthur would say "disaster for Scotland".

Scotland always has had a capability of putting on a show for the football world to see, a la Barca, but doesnt, its as if something is being stifled.

QUOTE (Sikorski @ 2nd Jun 2011, 01:11am) *
Who is this guy, Stewart Regan and why is he getting involved in political decisions affecting the future of Scottish football. Due to Regan, the existence of Scotland as a footballing nation is now under serious threat.

I am, of course, referring to the SFA’s decision to back England’s objections to the re-election of Sepp Blatter as FIFA president.

Regan’s supposed to be the SFA Chief Executive, running the business side of the Scottish game, not getting Scottish football tangled up in political wranglings.

Regan, 46, joined the SFA in 2010, after 4 years with Yorkshire County Cricket Club. Yep! That makes him well qualified to talk for Scottish football. He replaced Gordon Smith, who left for personal reasons.

"Stewart's got a business background and that's what we're looking for. The SFA has a £30m turnover - it's a business we're running here." said SFA president George Peat, at the time of Regan’s appointment.

It’s a real possibility that the FIFA congress could now vote to punish the ‘rebellious Scots’ and exclude them from FIFA along with the other home nations, forcing through plans to amalgamate the Home Nations under one Football Association.

We need to get rid of Regan; send Sepp Blatter an apology indicating that Regan’s views are not the views of Scottish football; and do it quick!

We were talking about the very same thing at work. However the fact that we well suspect that such moves might be undertaken by FIFA out of nothing other than sheer spite probably tells us a lot about the organisation as run by the likes of Blatter.
Scotland v Denmark (friendly).
Although its a friendly I would be pleased with a win, however somehow I think we will be lucky to get a draw!
I wont see the game its not on my TV to record, I will be out so no streaming for me either.
The USA plays Mexico tonight I will see that, Klinsmann the coach its his first USA game.
Scotland won 2-1, in a poor game played in very wet conditions.
Still its a win which suits me, Mac Snodgrass scored the winner I believe in his first game.
Goody goody Maynards winegums! smile.gif
I was in town today, elements of the Tartan Army were singing, Its burning down, its burning down, Englands burning down.

Grow up lads eh?