Full Version: Scottish Butchers & Bakers
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Discussions > Glasgow Discussions > Glaswegians Living Away
linzeh
as i sit here.....fattened by the 2 square sausages and rolls i just inhaled.... wub.gif

i thought it might be worth while to post info re:butchers/bakers that we've come across.........

TORONTO:

BUT N BEN.....loads of meat and baked goods....and packaged goods..including heinz blue tin beans!!!
1601 ELLESMERE ROAD..SCARBOROUGH 416-438-4214
619 KINGSTON ROAD PICKERING 905-420-6200

HAMILTON:

OPIES MEATS.....good selection of meats....and some baked goods....rolls..bread....
612 CONCESSION ST. HAMILTON 905-383-1144(on the mountain)

ACROSS THE POND......HUGE assortment..of sweeties and packaged goods...also videos..cd's dvd's....t-shirts etc..etc...frozen meats...(don't bother)....word of warning...leave bank card and credit card at home...or you'll come away happy but severely broke!!..
PARKDALE ST. HAMILTON 905-312-8617
Cameron
Hi Linzeh you dont have to go that far for a good Scottish bakery just go down Bramalea Rd and when you get to Drew Rd make a right and just as you make the turn on the right theres a Scottish bakery right there.His pies are great and he makes curry pies aswell but they go really quick ,you can get sausages and black pudding there to
lizeeloo
Hi Linzeh

If you have a FORTINO'S in Brampton I think you will find that they carry a whole line of Baird's bakery which was the first Scottish bakery to open up years ago in Toronto and area.
I live in Burlington and they have the meat pies, square sausage, the bread with the black and brown crusts, bridies, eccles cakes etc., etc.
Oh now I have to run out and get something Scottish to eat.

lizeeloo
biggrin.gif Hey Lizeeloo,
So did you have a run to the "Thistle" to satisfy your hunger pangs? We used to go there a lot, but havent been for a couple of years now.
butny boy
Here in Kelowna B.C.w,re lucky to have L&D meats who has black pudding, sqare sliced saus. Ayrshire and Belfast bacon oops forgot the U. Not the variety you bigger citys have, but never the less it,s good to have a good nosh up every now and again
linzeh
Cameron...is that Stuart Carroll's your thinking of??

As for bairds...........they were bought out.....the shops were all closed and the line now goes under the name.."mrs. somethins' bakery".........must say the goods are not nearly as tasty as they once were.....

ALLENS' Butchers....is still located in the same plaza as the original bairds...weston rd south..
Hello Butney Boy,
I live in Kelowna also, and i never knew that L& D Meats sold square sausage, or Ayrshire bacon,
I live only 5 minutes away, have been in there a few times also, to buy the Maroon bars & Snowballs,
Thanks for letting me know, where in Kelowna do you live?
lizeeloo
QUOTE (George Muir @ 5th Jan 2005, 08:21 PM)
So did  you have a run to the "Thistle" to satisfy your hunger pangs? We used to go there a lot, but havent been for a couple of years now.

Hi George

I haven't been to the Thistle for some time either but last report from a friend is that the fish and chips are as good as ever.

lizeeloo smile.gif
butny boy
Hello annie laurie, thanks for the Email it was nice of you. next time your there as you go in the front door the freezers to toyour right against the wall has all that stuff. If you can.t find it the staff are very helpful. Ilive in Rutland [as it was once called].Anice place to live. Been here since "72 still enjoy it. All the best to you in 2005 Keep in touch.
Cameron
Linzeh Carrols are on Torbram the Bakery i'm talking about is at the corner of Drew and Bramalea rd.When you go over the 407 Bridge Drew rd is just after ,i cant remember its name but the baker is called Rick
linzeh
I knew this topic was a good idea...... tongue.gif thanks Cameron.... i'll have a look see......

and so i did......"old country scottish bakery" 1935 Drew Rd. #17
off of Bramalea Rd....good stuff............905-671-4460

"BRITISH EATS N TREATS"...........WOW!!..........83 JONES ST. OAKVILLE ON. 905-465-2346
hughmac
Hey, how come you folk in Canada can get all these Scottish delicacies. Here in Northern Ireland it's very hard to get a good Scotch pie, black puddin' or square sliced sausage. And we're only about 25 miles across the water! The copies made locally never taste the same.
My daughter was back home at the weekend and brought back some clootie dumplin'!!. yummee, yummee.

When I first came here, after about five years of withdrawal symptoms, I asked a chip shop for a puddin' supper. He had no idea what I was talking about, so I went down to the local supermarket, found a black pudding and took it back to him and he deep fried it for me! And he didn't charge me for it.
Couldn't persuade him to put in un his pricelist, though.
Cameron
Theres more Jocks here than there are in Ireland but youve got to watch how much of it you eat or you will put on the pounds but i guess with all the snow we got last night with the promise of more you could help lose some if it by shoveling it.
toerag
British Show is on in Toronto this week-end, lots of goodies, sweeties, sausages, irn bru, pies!! Les Battersby from Coronation St, is going to be there!
gardenqueen
isn't it funny how our tastes are different. I am a Glaswegian, living in Surrey to an Anglo/Irish man who longs for good old Irish black pudding. I have brought back some Scottish for him but he prefers the Irish. In fact, there is a butcher in Pinner area (very posh) who sells the Irish stuff and we often go there to buy some.

I actually have come to prefer the Irish black pudding too.

I hate the mundane, mass produced stuff you can buy in supermarkets, wherever it comes from.

GQ
Glasgow Wul
Hi, can anyone tell me if there is anywhere in Northern Ireland that I can buy Scottish butcher products ( ie Lorne Slice, Mortons style rolls, Black pudding, Fruit pudding etc...etc...etc.. ). I'm getting hungry just at the thought of it. tongue.gif
God Help ye best thing would be to catch the ferry over here. smile.gif
Yes get on the ferry with an empty case and when you get here, load up with all the goodies you want.

My niece and her husband are just back from Belfast last week. Too bad you did not ask sooner or they could have brought you anything you wanted.
QUOTE (Glasgow Wul @ 4th May 2007, 05:32 AM) *
Hi, can anyone tell me if there is anywhere in Northern Ireland that I can buy Scottish butcher products ( ie Lorne Slice, Mortons style rolls, Black pudding, Fruit pudding etc...etc...etc.. ). I'm getting hungry just at the thought of it. tongue.gif

Make them yourself!

Have a look at this easy site to follow.
http://rampantscotland.com/recipes/blrecipe_index.htm
mark
I've tried most of the scottish butchers and bakers in Toronto and I have yet to find a sliced square sausage that is comparable to the ones back home. Yes they are square and they are sliced but really that's where the comparision ends. I used to live on rolls and sausage back home so I know what I'm talking about. I honestly wouldn't serve these sausages to my visiting relatives and call them scots sausage. Does anyone share this opinion? Does anyone know where I can get sliced sausage here in Toronto that is comparable to the ones back home? I should also add that the bottled Irn Bru we get here in Canada is no where near the same as the imported cans. They shouldn't be allowed to put the Irn Bru label on these bottles. Does anyone agree?
Guest Chris *
Theres a great butchers in Govan! They even have a website at www.lowsbutchers.co.uk
mark2
I've hunted for sliced sausage in Toronto as well so I know what you're talking about. The best I've had are from Butt n' Ben in Scarborough.

Also, I've started to see the imported cans and plastic bottles of Irn Bru here. You have to pay a fair bit more for it but it is better than the stuff that's bottled here.
Aye ye've got tae come home tae get proper sausages. laugh.gif An wonderful people, an a wonderful city, an proper mince, an everything. laugh.gif Ye canny get everything ye know.
I was on Queen Street Brampton Saturday and got two smashing steak pies. They were really good. Bought a number of things including square sausage , still to try will let you know.Oh and you know me folks could not resist the empire biscuite.I can tell you they were very good.
southsider
MacVicars Scottish butchers and bakers, Queenston Rd, Stoney Creek, Ontario, don't go here if you are counting calories, yummy cakes, steak pies, and everything else.
glesga@heart
Linzeh mentioned it right at the start...Opies on Concession (near East 24th) in Hamilton has the best pies going, made fresh daily. Everything in his meat case is top quality. His store is small but he still manages to carry a great selection of baked goods, biscuits, sweets and at Christmas great chocs! And don't leave without a bottle of Irn Bru!

The owner is Danny Mclardy who used to play for Rangers back many years ago. He's taught the next generation of his family the business and they have learned well. I live several hours away but will go out of my way to get there whenever I can. Plus, you'll never feel more welcome anywhere, always a smile, always a laugh. A wee gem of a place.
PatriciaP
The White Heather Scottish Bakery is in Whitby, Ontario.
They used to be in Scarborough, on Markham Rd. and moved to Whitby a few years back.
Frank is the owner and makes a huge variety of pies, bread, rolls, sliced sausage etc. He also imports many sweets and canned goods from Scotland.
We used to go regularly to Danny's shop up the mountain in Hamilton. He was a real wag, when my wife and I went into his shop, he would say to me "Sir, if you don't mind I'll serve this young lady first" pointing to my wife laugh.gif There's another good Scottish bakery in Cambridge (Preston) it's called the "Rising Dough".
John W McCulloch
Hi Everyone,
Here in Tasmania, no one seems to be able to make black pudding like they used to at home, but for those lucky folks who live in Melbourne, there is a butcher called "Robs Butcher" in Dandenong who turns out lovely square sausage, black pudding, and the like. He says, if I can find a butcher here in Tassie who will stock his goods, he will send them over. To-date, no such luck !!. On our odd visits back, we always go to the Barrass and have a square sausage roll and tea, only 92p.
Regards to all.
Welcome John W. McCulloch. You've obviously no been for a visit for a while, will cost you a wee bitty more than 92p. Mind you, everything has gone up in price here.
Was at the "Barrass" a couple of weeks ago, first since '84. it has changed considerably since then, didn.t have the same buzz for me. Right enough, was only 51 then, so willnae blame it oan the "Barrass".
Look forward to your posts. biggrin.gif
Agnes & Robert
QUOTE (mark @ 28th Dec 2007, 03:25pm) *
I've tried most of the scottish butchers and bakers in Toronto and I have yet to find a sliced square sausage that is comparable to the ones back home. Yes they are square and they are sliced but really that's where the comparision ends. I used to live on rolls and sausage back home so I know what I'm talking about. I honestly wouldn't serve these sausages to my visiting relatives and call them scots sausage. Does anyone share this opinion? Does anyone know where I can get sliced sausage here in Toronto that is comparable to the ones back home? I should also add that the bottled Irn Bru we get here in Canada is no where near the same as the imported cans. They shouldn't be allowed to put the Irn Bru label on these bottles. Does anyone agree?
YOU WON'T GET SAUSAGES OR BLACK PUDDING THAT CAN COMPARE TO BACK HOME AS FOR THE MEAT PIES FORGET IT THE BEST THAT I'VE TASTED OVER HERE WAS IN TORONTO AS FAR AS VANCOUVER IS CONCERNED FORGET IT.
It all depends on your Personal taste A,n,R, some glasgow butchers
should be stopped making slice sausage or black pudding,can be pretty crumby,same with scotch pies, some good some bad just like here,
Irn bru,never liked the stuff anyway,so it does,nt matter....cheers