4th Apr 2012, 07:13pm
Today I paid $1.40 for a litre of gas and I figure with my basic maths , and taking todays exchange rate into consideration , this worked out at approximately , 3.54 pounds UK . Per Gallon.
Does anyone care to comment on this or correct .
4th Apr 2012, 07:20pm
Fill my tank please.
4th Apr 2012, 07:29pm
QUOTE (angel @ 4th Apr 2012, 08:10pm)

Today I paid $1.40 for a litre of gas and I figure with my basic maths , and taking todays exchange rate into consideration , this worked out at approximately , 3.54 pounds UK . Per Gallon.
Does anyone care to comment on this or correct .

1.40 Canadian Dollar = 88p today. 1 UK gall = 4.546 litres
Therefore you paid 4 UK pounds per gallon.
Think you must have converted to smaller US gallon.
Didn't know Canada used litres.
Average prices per litre in Canadian Dollars today.
UK $2.29
Spain $1.95
4th Apr 2012, 07:57pm
Bill , I've just noticed your post and Thank you for that , I'm thinking that I will just keep buying my gas in Canada . Cheers
4th Apr 2012, 09:42pm
R11.50 a lite here today, think 5 litres to the gallon and about R12.40 to the £ don't know the math and don't have a calculator handy but I think our governments are screwing us into the wall all over the world. It is not just the cost of the actual petrol/diesel we put in our cars but transport costs that in turn increase food costs.
Over here our low paid black commuters use people carrier taxis. These cabs run on petrol so the poor folk just get poorer as their transport costs to get to work increase as well as their food costs. None of our salaries increase enough to keep up with the rising fuel costs
4th Apr 2012, 10:03pm
I use diesel, which has varied in recent months from £1.39 per litre to about £1.43 per litre. Even taking the lower figure, a gallon of diesel works out about £6.33 over here.
What mystifies me is why fuel is dearer in an oil producing country like the UK than in Spain, where they only produce olive oil.
4th Apr 2012, 10:44pm
Well Benny , although I do not have a clue , Just maybe Spanish Automobiles run better on Olive Oil ,

4th Apr 2012, 10:53pm
Wow benny, that's scary. Allan puts diesel in the Passat and think it is just under R11 a litre and we are crying, but our government just slapped an additionl 28c road tax a litre onto both fuel and diesel so today petrol at the coast increased by 66c a litre and diesel 49
5th Apr 2012, 08:03am
QUOTE (benny @ 4th Apr 2012, 11:00pm)

I use diesel, which has varied in recent months from £1.39 per litre to about £1.43 per litre. Even taking the lower figure, a gallon of diesel works out about £6.33 over here.
What mystifies me is why fuel is dearer in an oil producing country like the UK than in Spain, where they only produce olive oil.
Well, Benny, I thought even you could have figured that one out !
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-21...VAT-petrol.htmlSometimes you
can believe the Daily Wail !
By the way Spanish extra virgin olive oil is approx. 2.25 euros a litre here.
5th Apr 2012, 10:20am
QUOTE (angel @ 4th Apr 2012, 11:41pm)

Well Benny , although I do not have a clue , Just maybe Spanish Automobles run better on Olive Oil ,

Hi Angel
Just as a matter of interest we have converted three of the company trucks to run on scrap cooking oil.
Cost of Diesel just under 1GBP per liter, cost of scrap cooking oil 20pence per liter
5th Apr 2012, 02:35pm
I have heard of this Dave , but I would think that it would have to go through some sort of refining process or it would mess up the engines .
Anyway the big oil companies will never let it on the market , and neither will the governments , They need the Taxes .
5th Apr 2012, 07:27pm
QUOTE (Jupiter @ 4th Apr 2012, 08:17pm)

Fill my tank please.
You will need one of these!
http://www.britishpathe.com/video/gas-bag-motor-car
5th Apr 2012, 07:33pm
How far east can you go before you're heading west?
5th Apr 2012, 09:38pm
Yes, I know that the tax on motor fuel is higher in the UK, Bilbo, but I woiuld like to know what the possible justification can be when we produce crude oil and Spain doesn't - at least not to my knowledge.
It seems, Angel, that quite a few people in the UK run their vehicles on used cooking oil, without any apparent ill effects. Not long ago there was a news story about the police testing vehicles to find out if they were using cooking oil, as it was being claimed that users were avoiding fuel tax by doing so. The police units involved were nicknamed The Frying Squad.
6th Apr 2012, 12:59am
It seems, Angel, that quite a few people in the UK run their vehicles on used cooking oil, without any apparent ill effects. Not long ago there was a news story about the police testing vehicles to find out if they were using cooking oil, as it was being claimed that users were avoiding fuel tax by doing so. The police units involved were nicknamed The Frying Squad.
Like it Benny .
6th Apr 2012, 07:58am
Yes, I know that the tax on motor fuel is higher in the UK, Bilbo, but I woiuld like to know what the possible justification can be when we produce crude oil and Spain doesn't - at least not to my knowledge.
Benny,
I fail to see what connection there is between being an oil producer and taxing the stuff. Since when did any government need justification (genuine) for taxation ? You only have to look at the tax on Scotch whisky, which is also more than in most European countries. I can buy supermarket Scotch here for £3.80 a bottle.
7th Apr 2012, 10:13am
Someone can do the Maths but I'm presently paying $1.50 a litre for diesel here in NSW, Australia. How does that compare ?
Tombro
7th Apr 2012, 12:08pm
QUOTE (tombro @ 7th Apr 2012, 11:10am)

Someone can do the Maths but I'm presently paying $1.50 a litre for diesel here in NSW, Australia. How does that compare ?
Tombro

That works out at 97p, 1.18¤, or $1.54 Canadian
7th Apr 2012, 02:22pm
QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 6th Apr 2012, 07:55am)

I can buy supermarket Scotch here for £3.80 a bottle.
May I respectfully suggest bilbo, your supermarket special, is most definitely NOT 'Scotch'. When tested it may well consist of the required ingredients, but it probably has as much to do with the home country, as my underpants.
7th Apr 2012, 02:28pm
QUOTE (wee davy @ 7th Apr 2012, 03:19pm)

May I respectfully suggest bilbo, your supermarket special, is most definitely NOT 'Scotch'. When tested it may well consist of the required ingredients, but it probably has as much to do with the home country, as my underpants.
Not for the first time, Davy, you are speaking out of a hole in the aforementioned underpants. Queen Margot is Scotch whisky and is also available in UK branches of Lidl (at a much higher price of course).
Do you honestly believe that, nowadays in a EU country, counterfeit Scotch would be allowed?
http://www.whiskyportal.com/distillery.asp...+Whisky+Co.+Ltd.
7th Apr 2012, 02:41pm
Whats being an EU country got to do with it?
Fake hooch is fake hooch.
Counterfeit goods rip us ALL off by BILLIONS every year.
As for my underpants - I'l have you know their nothing but the best, from M&S lol
7th Apr 2012, 02:46pm
QUOTE (wee davy @ 7th Apr 2012, 03:38pm)

Whats being an EU country got to do with it?
Fake hooch is fake hooch.
Counterfeit goods rip us ALL off by BILLIONS every year.
As for my underpants - I'l have you know their nothing but the best, from M&S lol
Is it entirely impossible for you to admit when you are wrong?
Can you not read? This whisky is not counterfeit - it is blended and bottled in Scotland by Clydesdale Scotch Whisky Company Ltd, a subsidiary of Whyte & Mackay.
You obviously believe that a huge German supermarket chain like Lidl is openly selling counterfeit whisky in their UK stores with the acquiescence of the authorities including the Scotch Whisky association.
As far as other counterfeit goods (e.g. "designer" clothing) are concerned, it is the "genuine" manufacturers who are the real rip-off merchants with their hyper-inflated prices for goods made in some third world sweatshop.
7th Apr 2012, 04:50pm
bilbo - you really have lost the plot this time.
I'm not saying you are wrong -
what Lidi sells in the UK, has absolutely NO bearing on what is sold in your local supermarket. If it is supplied by Lidl's I will admit it is unlikely to be. I can assure you, there is more fake 'Scotch' floating around the world, than there is blades of grass on the tundra!
I was wrong, once, btw

(believe it or not!)
We obviously see things differently, from a counterfeit perpective.
7th Apr 2012, 05:03pm
Jeez !! Get a grip. Watch my lips ! The whisky I initially referred to is from my local Lidl, the same whisky sold in UK Lidl at a higher price naturally.
Of course there are counterfeit Scotch whiskies around the world, but I doubt if they are sold in EU or e.g. American supermarkets. The much-maligned EU has strictly enforced regulations about those matters. There are many Scotch whiskies, which are absolutely genuine but only for export and so their names are unfamiliar to Brits.
This conversation started by your casting doubts on the authenticity of my Scotch, bought at a certain price in my local Lidl. I have now substantiated my claim, naming the whisky, its blender, the retailer and providing a link to prove my point.
7th Apr 2012, 06:05pm
When I lived and worked in Germany, Lidl it was a conglomoration of little franchises, NOT beholding to solely stock from designated suppliers. I am willing to believe this has changed (with the advent of the EU), but,... and it is a very REALISTIC but,... it doesn't stop people doing very dodgy and criminal activities.
We have had problems here for many's a year, with branches of Spar, in direct contravention of criminal laws - selling their own dodgy hooch. It is not trumpetted from the rooftops (for many who do it, are of ethnic origin)
Hell, even WHOLESALE SUPPLIERS provide this stuff!
(If you know the right people)
I'll get a grip, when you stop being so naieve lol
(Have you noticed anything fuzzy about your eyesight, lately??)
7th Apr 2012, 06:21pm
I hardly think that it would be worth while selling illicit hooch in Spain , when Scotch can be purchased for 4,59¤. Different ball game in UK, I guess, but I refuse to believe that a major supermarket there would deal in illicit hooch.
I refute your accusation of naivety. You were the overly suspicious one about my statement, and I have proved my point conclusively- i.e. I can buy genuine Scotch , as described previously. It would be nice if you could admit this.
7th Apr 2012, 08:55pm
I very seldom drink alcohol nowadays, but I have sampled Lidl's whisky and brandy. All I can say is that if they're counterfeit - which I very much doubt - they are some of the best counterfeits I have ever tasted.
8th Apr 2012, 12:45am
If it is supplied by Lidl's I will admit it is unlikely to be
Whit part of 'I will admit' are you not understanding, bilbo? or hiv ye been at the Clydesdale???
Short story - I was staying in Amsterdam a few years back - and I asked for a glass of Johnnie Walkers. The proprietor duly fed me - then gave me AN OTHER. I was then told this was a Japanese concoction (which is STILL around btw). There was absolutely NO difference in the two beverages.
Not only was it Asian - he then told me at least HALF the bars in HOLLAND used this stuff!
I did not even suggest major chains supply dodgy stuff - but franchises do
If you do not wish to believe me - then perhaps Interpol might persuade you?
Keep taking the medicine, bilbo
8th Apr 2012, 08:25am
You actually asked for Johnnie Walker ?? That says it all !
8th Apr 2012, 11:04am
I know - I'm afraid it was either that, or Jamiesons!
Beggars cannae be choosers lol
8th Apr 2012, 01:55pm
QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 7th Apr 2012, 07:18pm)

I hardly think that it would be worth while selling illicit hooch in Spain , when Scotch can be purchased for 4,59¤. Different ball game in UK, I guess, but I refuse to believe that a major supermarket there would deal in illicit hooch.
I refute your accusation of naivety. You were the overly suspicious one about my statement, and I have proved my point conclusively- i.e. I can buy genuine Scotch , as described previously. It would be nice if you could admit this.

I believe you Bilbo!
8th Apr 2012, 02:41pm
Did he pay you in bottles of Clydesdale to say that, Rab? lol
8th Apr 2012, 02:46pm
Hard to find a bottle of Clydesdale since the demise of the dray horse !
8th Apr 2012, 04:45pm
QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 8th Apr 2012, 03:43pm)

Hard to find a bottle of Clydesdale since the demise of the dray horse !

Well, I've got a bottle of Cutty Sark and she hasn't sailed for a while
8th Apr 2012, 07:14pm
QUOTE (wee davy @ 8th Apr 2012, 12:42am)

... I was staying in Amsterdam a few years back - and I asked for a glass of Johnnie Walkers. The proprietor duly fed me - then gave me AN OTHER ...
Jumpin' Jehosephat Davy, what a small world it is indeed ... we probably shared neighbouring booths in the same house of ill repute.
The difference was I asked the proprietor to bring me the best bottle he'd hold in reserve for his Scottish clients.
None of your Japaneese
Jonee Waaka for this regular.
8th Apr 2012, 07:35pm
Ah wiz there fer the tulip festivals!

Honest pigeon
9th Apr 2012, 10:57am
QUOTE (ashfield @ 8th Apr 2012, 05:42pm)

Well, I've got a bottle of Cutty Sark and she hasn't sailed for a while

I remember once going into a supermarket in Israel for a bottle. I reached for the 'Cutty Sark' and could not believe how cheap it was. Then I saw the label, which was identical to the true Cutty Sark but the name was shown as 'Clipper'. Verrrry crafty, but I saw it just in time!
9th Apr 2012, 11:04am
QUOTE (wee davy @ 8th Apr 2012, 03:38pm)

Did he pay you in bottles of Clydesdale to say that, Rab? lol

Actually, Davy, it was something called 'WiskeeSuperextraordinarísimamentefaealicante' and it wisnae bad, though it smelt a wee bit of feet!
9th Apr 2012, 11:17am
Madre de díos ! First Johnnie Walker and now Cutty Sark. What a bunch of philistines on this board and they have the cheek to complain about fake hooch.

Next it´ll be J&B . Do you guys drink the stuff with Coca-Cola ?
Speaking of feet, the local wine hereabouts is still made in the traditional way and is famous all over the country.
9th Apr 2012, 11:37am
Must be worth a comment or two:
The latest brainwave coming from our
Glorious Leaders is to is to introduce a law making supermarkets hide cigarettes from displays so that underaged smokers wont be tempted to buy them.
A sneak preview of the
"Caring Government's List of Things to Hide in Future" might also include Alcopops, crisps, cheap voddy &
Jonee Waaka, chocolate (with the exception of Easter Eggs and Choclate Bunnies and Santas which commemorate religious festivals), and maybe even Big Macs, chips and Cola.
Magazines displaying ladies with exposed intimate body parts will not be hidden but raised one shelf higher so that only the bigger boys can get them.
In fairness to the Caring Government it's nice to see that something is being
seen to be done ... although we wont really
see it since the offending product must now be hidden from public view.
9th Apr 2012, 01:21pm
QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 9th Apr 2012, 12:14pm)

Madre de díos ! First Johnnie Walker and now Cutty Sark.
Bill, my bottle of Cutty Sark was bought at the Famous Grouse distillery this time last year. It's a 25 yo limited edition at 45.7 proof. It had originally been on sale at £120 a bottle but I paid £30 (after a tasting

) although it was still £60 in Crieff.
9th Apr 2012, 01:53pm
Well, Ash, I have only sampled the bog-standard blend., and so I hope your special edition is a lot better. Cutty Sark, J&B and their ilk are, in my opinion, for the American market where they like pale, bland whiskies, more like rye. I am a full-bodied man myself ( and growing by the minute!)

I do like a bargain though and that seems to be one. I have an unopened millennium malt from Morangie. I do not know when I will open it, but I hope by the same token that it appeals to my palate better than the normal one, which I find floral.
10th Apr 2012, 05:59am
As we said when we were 17 "Don`t mind if it is not to your taste , as long as it gets you pissed."
10th Apr 2012, 10:21am
QUOTE (angel @ 5th Apr 2012, 03:32pm)

I have heard of this Dave , but I would think that it would have to go through some sort of refining process or it would mess up the engines .
Anyway the big oil companies will never let it on the market , and neither will the governments , They need the Taxes .
is
We use a system manufactured by a German company called ATG where two tanks are used the main fuel tank is only for scrap cooking oil that has had all the water removed and filtered down to 1 micron, the second tank (20 liters) is only for diesel and is used to start the vehicle in the morning when the engine is cold, once the engine heats up the onboard computer switches from the diesel tank to the waste oil tank and as long as the engine stays hot it will run all day on cooking oil.
The 20 liter diesel normally lasts for plus minus two months before we have to top up again.
We have no problems here with the goverment as long as we register with the revenue people we are allowed to make and use 30,000 liters of biofuel per month for our own use.
10th Apr 2012, 10:52am
THH,
Here in Oz, cigarettes are already hidden from view ! It's probably just as well as the Government, many years ago, introduced legislation to show the horrific effects of cigarette smoking on those packages ! Cigarettes are also put out in generic, drab coloured packages !
Thank goodness I haven't been interested in smoking since December 6, 2006, the day I had my heart attack !
Tombro
10th Apr 2012, 01:05pm
''
We have no problems here with the goverment as long as we register with the revenue people we are allowed to make and use 30,000 liters of biofuel per month for our own use.
---------------
Well Dave ,I did read up a little on this Bio fuel and was really suprised to learn just how much governments and industry are interested in this type of energy .
I read that here in Canada the bio fuel is being tested on military aircraft also commercial .
China , India and third world countries a planning to grow their own produce , in order to manufacture this fuel .
I'm now wondering if all of this will bring down the cost of Gasoline
and will it add to the already horrific famine conditions in third world countries by using the land for the purpose of biofuel .
10th Apr 2012, 01:19pm
Thank goodness I haven't been interested in smoking since December 6, 2006, the day I had my heart attack !
Tombro , It's the same here in Ontario , tobacco is not displayed in the stores .
I'm wondering when , if ever they will stop displaying Alcohol ,
although I don't think that this practice makes the slightest difference
to either one .
10th Apr 2012, 01:33pm
We are at the moment in colaborastion with a fuels company where we burn nut kernels to produce a gas capable of running a 300 kw generator and producing cheap electricity. They are working toward installing these near land fill sites and the future looks good. We decided to do this as an R&E project as we want to be in at the start. Some of these young chemical engineers are brilliant and although dubious at first I am totally convinced its the way foreward..
23rd Jul 2012, 03:14pm
The problem with investing and developing bio fuels etc is partly political. Governments, and certainly the British government makes vast revenues from petrol and diesel oils etc so anything that might affect this revenue is likely to go on the back burner with only lip service being paid to it
24th Jul 2012, 02:42pm
QUOTE (Doug1 @ 23rd Jul 2012, 05:21pm)

The problem with investing and developing bio fuels etc is partly political. Governments, and certainly the British government makes vast revenues from petrol and diesel oils etc so anything that might affect this revenue is likely to go on the back burner with only lip service being paid to it
Its the same reason why Electric and Hydrogen vehicles wont come into use for a long time apart from the fuel tax implications, the amount of jobs lost due to no more engine parts like Pistons, Sleeves, Clutch parts etc would be astronomical world wide.
Not to mention no more tune ups or servicing required.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.