Full Version: In Memory Of Frank Carson.
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat
Frank Carson has gone to that Great Music Hall in the Sky after losing his battle with cancer at 85 years of age. A really funny and well respected man who could play at Bernard Manning's Embassy Club or in front of a bunch of kids in Tiswas on Saturday morning telly.

i agree with you THH he was one of the best it was the way he told em. biggrin.gif tongue.gif
Yes he gave us all a good laugh and knew how to entertain us like others of his years.
No one in the present days to beat the old comedians or the entertainment shows we got years ago.

RIP Frank Carson.
I was always a fan of Frank Carson and he always made me laugh, eve when he told jokes I had heard before. In particular one concerning a German officer and a pig on a beach, but it's a joke that doesn't work when written down. Another that does was his joke about inventors, he said;

I think it's wonderful how inventors take inspiration from what they see in life and make something useful. I'm thinking of the guy who saw a cat coming towards him one night and from that he invented the "cats eyes" we see on all the roads. Just think, if it had been walking away he would have invented the pencil sharpener instead rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
I'm pretty sure Frank was the only man, who laughed from the minute he got up, in the morning - until the moment he rested his head on the pillow.

On a serious note, he was known to believe that only through Education, would the Troubles be overcome in NI - quietly and effectively he helped make this happen - behind the scenes.

Hard to believe he was still doing 80 performances a year, up until last Nov
I will never forget his 2 and a 1/2 hours encore in the Sgts Mess, at RAF St Athan Sgts Mess (East) (after a 1 and a 1/2 hour show!), in the eighties, at the bar - where he OFTEN pretended to put his hand in his pocket, to show HIS appreciation for us INVITING him! lol
In all seriousness though, a man with a truly generous heart.
The good lord will reward him.
Aye, he wis a cracker right enough. Wan o ma late brother in law's used tae drive for STV and part of his job wis transportin celebrities frae the airport tae the studio. He said that Frank wis as mad in real life as he wis oan the stage - non-stop jokes aw the wye.
QUOTE (ashfield @ 23rd Feb 2012, 01:53pm) *
... Just think, if it had been walking away he would have invented the pencil sharpener instead rolleyes.gif laugh.gif

That's a cracker. laugh.gif