Full Version: Glasgow Concert Halls
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat
crewsy2
Well at least they are doing something right.

I spoke to a couple from Surrey tonight who said they loved the concert venues in Glasgow. They had travelled specially to hear The Scottish Chamber Orchestra play Mozart. I am quite new to concert going and classical music and had wondered why the SCO looked a bit poorer than the full symphony orchestras I had previously seen,.

The kind chap from Surrey expained that they are using the same instruments that were available in Mozarts time, look how the horns have no valves.

I like Glasgows Concert Halls.
You are lucky. One thing we lack in my area (unless you take the expensive added cost of a train to London) is a good concert hall with decent accoustics. We have local theatres which are OK but just not quite right somehow. I am a regular at Congress Theatre Eastbourne for the London Philharmonic which plays regularly throughout the winter. You can't beat great music LIVE.
The Beach Boys are re grouping for their 50th anniversary.Wouldnt it be nice......if they come to Glasgow?
The concert hall is indeed a fabulous venue although at a couple of concerts recently we were very sad to see that allowing alcohol to be brought into the arena can spoil a concert completely for others. I complained about it and was told that the reason for this was the usual culprit greed for money. sad.gif

Abigail
I agree with you Melody. It's such a shame that a nice evening can be spoiled by having to include alcohol in it. Can't we go without alcholic beverage at such a prestigious venue? Or is this too much too ask? Abi.
Abigail I swear I'm going to kick up a such a fuss if the next concert we go to is ruined by anyone's drunken behaviour. mad.gif Surely they can have a good time and have a drink in the interval if they want without disturbing other folks enjoyment?
crewsy2
Ive yet to see drunkenness at any of the concerts I have attended.

Tonight was a cracker at The Royal Concert Hall, A Vienesse Gala with the RSNO which wasnt restricted to Vienna. Scotland France Croatia Germany and an Irish soprano were included. A great show. no drunkenness whatsoever.

Next up for me is The BBC SSO at the City Halls next Thursday perfoming Stravinsky's Firebird. It requires a huge orchestra.

canny wait.
I have never seen drunkenness at concerts either, or anyone seated with alcohol in their hands befor or after intermisison, I dont think its allowed. My friend is a clasiscal violinist, she has just returned from buying a new ( but really quite old violine ) violin its one hundred years old,,, old to me, new to her biggrin.gif ,, she bought it in Italy. rolleyes.gif
mind yoo am not in Glasgow laugh.gif
As I said, we complained about it at the time and my husband has just reminded me that the chap in front of us in fact had drinks in both hands. As if one wasn't enough. laugh.gif
crewsy2
What I frown upon is people who applaud between movements of a piece. Its quite simple, before you go to to the performance have a quick read up on the composition, which may have four movements, applaud after the 4th movement.

tut tut.

btw gl, I like the violin post. I know someone who has a baby grand in the living room. Its not old but its a quality instrument I was scared to touch it at first.

Happy you liked that wee post crewsy. Some of the most memorable concerts that I have attended have been in the famous Piazza San Marco in Venice Italy , what a place and to have an oppertunity for a concert or two, WOW!. The great part is that some of these concerts are performed by local musicians,can a Glasgow lassie be so lucky. I have to pinch myself at times smile.gif these concerts ar all free for the public. One can walk around the beautiful Piazza while listening to the orchestra .What can I say, it speaks for itself! I can just imagine being in the famouse La Scala in Milano, another WOW! biggrin.gif
bargin night ,,,,,, two fur the price-a-wan tongue.gif
QUOTE (crewsy2 @ 6th Jan 2012, 12:21am) *
What I frown upon is people who applaud between movements of a piece. Its quite simple, before you go to to the performance have a quick read up on the composition, which may have four movements, applaud after the 4th movement.

tut tut.

btw gl, I like the violin post. I know someone who has a baby grand in the living room. Its not old but its a quality instrument I was scared to touch it at first.

There was a very interesting debate on this on R3 last week. The conductor (can't remember who) explained that there should be no bar to applauding if the audience appreciated the piece. He said he didn't mind in the least and his players were of the same opinion. In the past, it was not unknown for listeners to cheer and applause between movements and even now, I have known such happenings only last year when at the end of 'Che gelida manina' in La Boheme, we spontaneously clapped at a great piece of singing and the players reacted with obvious delight at our appreciation. A wee clap now and then does no harm, IMHO and does not neccessarily break the concentration too much, but I take your personal point.
crewsy my friend has a big shiny black baby G in her living room, she pays very well and her big black cat has done a number on it as well wae its sharp nails,,, tut tut rolleyes.gif
crewsy2
Ha ha gl biggrin.gif, disrespectful cat.

I was slightly tongue in cheek Rab about applauding between movements, I done it at the first Classical concert I attended and realised quickly when no one joined in.

I think the musicians have low tolerance for coughers, I noticed a violinist giving a cougher a fierce look during a performance. I think Thursdays performance of Firebird will be live on R3.

Whats on at Glasgow Concert Halls

http://www.glasgowconcerthalls.com/whatson#
Lass, I also enjoyed some of the Concerts in San Marco, a favourite place to go at night when in Venice.
You can only take a seat if you buy a drink, that's why you some people sit on steps about the place as drinks are expensive.
Hi Heather for a free concert a dont mind buying a drink or two and sitting down listening to whatever is on the program, someone will drink it rolleyes.gif .One of my pet peeves is that in most places you cant just go in and have a cup of coffee, sit and mull over the kind of day that you have had, its just not done there so the only time to catch up with the rest of the gang is during breakfast sitting out on a terrace overlooking some other beautiful piazza.Who can complain ! biggrin.gif
Lass, you can sit and enjoy yourselves if you go to some of the Islands.

We got a weekly ticket for the Water Bus so we could go to, Burano, Murano and Torcello. We could get a meal and sit out in the open and were never rushed,
I like the Markets in some of the Islands and have bought some lovley Table Linen and some glass in Murano.

Venice has some of the nicest colourful glass ornaments I have ever seen.
We bought two lovely gIass Decanter's, one for ourselves and the other for our son.

I love sailing up the Grand Canal and watching all the scenery.

Now you have me wishing I was going back this year but my husband is not fit for all the walking that's in it.

Two or three years ago we were in Lido De Jesolo and got the bus into Venice for the day, it was only an hour away.
Aw Heather am so sorry to hear about yir hubby, lets hope all this passes and he's back on track soon smile.gif. Aye Heather all of these places are beautiful to visit, I was going to buy some Burano Lace Heather but I thought to maself,,,, Lass'y have a bunch sitting in a drawer from years ago rolleyes.gif and a didn't want any glass goblets , or a camers roon ma neck either as a matter-of-fact,,, jist free'n easy is how a go theses days Heather.Im prob the most inconspicuous tourist around.I hope you and yir son have enjoyed the lovely glass gifts from Venice.Did you have a walk along Lido Beach, smashing place. Heather its not about the meals its just being able to have a cup of coffe at a table without the food I find that really hard to do in Italy, its usually having it standing at the bar and thats Ok most times, or sitting down with a menu and having to order a meal.Sometimes a jist want to rest ma wee feet and have a cuppa and a wee chin-wag biggrin.gif ,,,Take care Heather and hubby.
proudmaryhiller
Hi Lass, how are you doing, Heather, hope your husbands feeling lots better.

I'd love to go to Italy, my sister has been twice and stayed in Lido de Jesolo and she's been to Venice a couple of times too. I remember she brought back a beautiful doll in a glass type dome thingy and the doll had a lovely white lace dress and cap on, just beautiful. I still want to go to Austria (Salzburg) for the "Sound of Music" been saying this for years lol! and also Vienna, what a beautiful city. My nephew is talking about going on a car trip maybe this year, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed it happens!
For the past 3 days I have been spending my afternoons in my garden workshop listening to these concerts from Glasgow on R3 - absolutley marvellous! Wifey was watching reruns of The Waltons!!!!!

I listen to my favorite classical radio station from Toronto 96.3 fm.
most days , just fabulous music , wonderful variety .
crewsy2
Wallop. ohmy.gif

What a performance tonight from Hilary Hahn at The Royal Concert Hall , along with the RSNO.
Ive never heard a violin being played like a bird singing.

4 Encores. biggrin.gif ohmy.gif

Gaun yirsel Hillary.
crewsy2
Incidently, I am now in the camp of applauding between movements, on 3 seperate occassions tonight i wanted to applaud the movement, but didnt.
proudmaryhiller
Crewsy, I find the violin to be quite annoying at times, much prefer the sound of the piano. smile.gif

well Crewsy , as I've mentioned before , I am hoping to see the RSNO
in March ,should the dates work out for me ,but from what I am seeing it looks like there will be only one performance by the orchestra during my time , " Beethhovens' eighth " so I will go see that concert . biggrin.gif
QUOTE (crewsy2 @ 29th Jan 2012, 02:18am) *
Wallop. ohmy.gif

What a performance tonight from Hilary Hahn at The Royal Concert Hall , along with the RSNO.
Ive never heard a violin being played like a bird singing.

4 Encores. biggrin.gif ohmy.gif

Gaun yirsel Hillary.

I listened to it this afternoon on R3. I know what you mean crewsy. Absolutely brilliant. Click to view attachment

http://youtu.be/xFCk22g1Spc

Hilary plays Bach .

http://youtu.be/RcB56k4vR5k

I've heard Hilary only on Radio .
crewsy2
Glad you enjoyed Hilary folks.

A great performance tonight at The City Halls by the BBC SSO (will there still be a BBC SSO after independence, but thats for anothe thread). It was live on R3, You should have heard what Jamie MacDougall, the presenter, said to the audience before it went live, he's a cheeky devil rolleyes.gif

Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed it, especially the second half, Ravel

At one point in the night there must have been at least 70 musicians on stage. I like a big orchestra.

And there was a piece by Sally Beamish played, who afterwards came from the audience to take a justified applause. smile.gif A great night. And a wee nod to Runnicles, who was in fine form despite the page turning being audible.

btw Angel, you will enjoy The RSNO, the Conductor Stephen Denueve always addresses the audience and hes a cheeky devil too.

btw Angel, you will enjoy The RSNO, the Conductor Stephen Denueve always addresses the audience and hes a cheeky devil too
----------------------------------

Oh" I hope so Crewsy , but the only performance I can see during my stay in Glasgow ,is an evening concert and I'm a bit leery about that , sad.gif I was hoping to find an afternoon performance , but there is one with the SSO . , So we will see . !

http://youtu.be/62YNd6iv5oY
Larry Adler

I do hope this is enjoyed , biggrin.gif
Lass, our Hotel was right on the beach in Lido De Jesolo. I can't remember the name of the Hotel but it had a terriific buffet breakfast. The evening meal was also a buffet which a lot of Hotels in Italy do not do, it is mostly Waiter Service.

PMH, I have been to Austria staying in Kitzbuhel and spent a day in Salsburgh. It was lovely and we visited some of the place's where The Sound of Music was made.

We were up some mountains and I stood there singing, The hills are alive with the sound of music, my husband walked away pretending he did not know me. laugh.gif

Austria has the best Applestrudel with lots of cream that I have ever tasted. I had some every day washed down with a glass of wine. smile.gif
http://youtu.be/zmvXB-FzNO8

I posted this music some time ago , wishing congratulations to a member of this board on his wedding anniversary , but there was no response. I happen to think that it is a lovely rendition of the Anniversary waltz , so I post it once more , whether it be considered " Violin or Fiddling " It's immaterial , I think it is simply beautiful .
http://youtu.be/TX0qN6QEvGg

Verdi , Aida ,, The Grand March ..... What can I say biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
QUOTE (angel @ 4th Feb 2012, 04:08am) *
http://youtu.be/TX0qN6QEvGg

Verdi , Aida ,, The Grand March ..... What can I say biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

One of my wife´s favourites.
She has good taste, smile.gif I think I like her , smile.gif

http://youtu.be/hd7jfs8lues
La Montinara , Tito Gobi

Somewhere a Voice is Calling .

I have loved this song
all of my life . wub.gif

http://youtu.be/Cu-0VoJg8Tg
Mario Lanza .. Fenesta Che Lucive .

So Beautiful . wub.gif
toerag
I see the RSNO is to get their own building....but not in time for your visit Angel !!
O' that's Ok Toerag , as long as I can see them while I'm in Glasgow . It looks like this new building will coincide with the Commonwealth Games 2014 , if all goes according to plan . biggrin.gif
Last week I was'nt sure if I would be seeing the RSNO . but now all arrangement's are final , and I'm happy to say that I will be at their performance after all . wub.gif .
I do hope Toerag that you are well and enjoying this very mild winter
which we have had so far , and as usual it is always nice to hear from you .
Take care . Angel biggrin.gif

http://youtu.be/x7ErfvKJtD0
Adagio ( de Marcello )

http://youtu.be/Ks9Qm7U45vg
Scarlatti " Aria "

http://youtu.be/dxuwlOvOXMs
The Prince of Denmarks' March .

Maurice Andre' biggrin.gif
crewsy2
That young chap Robin Ticciati is a fine Conductor so he is. I thoroughly enjoyed the Scottish Chamber Orchestra's performance tonight at the City Halls. The hirsute solo Violinist was quite good too. But for me Robins conducting was the highlight.

Well done young man.

Last Saturday in Glasgow , I attended the concert by the
RSNO. , Their Guest being Ingrid Fliter , a wonderfull pianist
I enjoyed her performance very much , Part of which was music
from the opera , " The Fair Maid of Perth ".
The Orchestra played the beautiful , Pavane , I was transsported into another realm , "so beautiful " and of course , Beethovens' 8th . ,
Fabulous ! also a couple of other pieces in the concert , of "Chopins' "
It was a marvellous evening , However , I wish that it had gone on
for maybe another hour .

QUOTE (angel @ 4th Apr 2012, 01:29pm) *
Last Saturday in Glasgow , I attended the concert by the
RSNO. , Their Guest being Ingrid Fliter , a wonderfull pianist
I enjoyed her performance very much , Part of which was music
from the opera , " The Fair Maid of Perth ".
The Orchestra played the beautiful , Pavane , I was transsported into another realm , "so beautiful " and of course , Beethovens' 8th . ,
Fabulous ! also a couple of other pieces in the concert , of "Chopins' "
It was a marvellous evening , However , I wish that it had gone on
for maybe another hour .

I didn't realise you were so cultured Angel, are all Leaf's fans as highbrow? laugh.gif

Also if i'd known you were in town i'd have taken you to the Solid Rock and bought you a drink and would have let you listen to some good rock music cool.gif

Safe journey back to Canuckland Angel.
I didn't realise you were so cultured Angel, are all Leaf's fans as highbrow?

Also if i'd known you were in town i'd have taken you to the Solid Rock and bought you a drink and would have let you listen to some good rock music

Safe journey back to Canuckland Angel.

Thank you JAGZ , I did have a safe and pleasant journey back to
Canuckland . Also a terrific time in Glasgow , with my brothers and their families and as you know the weather was just perfect , what more could I ask , also if that rock music was really good , there is every chance , I would have enjoyed . biggrin.gif

http://youtu.be/pe-MIDDfckw

http://youtu.be/aFHPRi0ZeXE
Vivaldi . The seasons
post 46 / the summer
and this is the Spring

Ravel's Bolero
http://youtu.be/3-4J5j74VPw

The Mission , Theme Music ,
Ennio Morricone , conducting ,

http://youtu.be/oag1Dfa1e_E

I do enjoy this version of ' Lecuonas' La comparsa
Performed by this "young peoples' Orchestra "
http://youtu.be/Ngk9AAx67vU

Rapsodia Cubana " another Lecuona
So Beautiful ,
http://youtu.be/vXMt-I-6luA

Siboney , composed by Lecuona
sung by Placido Domingo
http://youtu.be/vA30VSmRcT0
wub.gif wub.gif
wub.gif

oooops wrong thread