Full Version: 80 - And Still A Work Of Art!
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat

Second best prezzie:
My son/daughter had gathered/collected photos of me as a wee boy in Glasgow - my youth in London. Photos of my National service days/Merchant navy days - many photos of family holidays abroad- my business days. emailed them to 'Kodak' who made up a fancy album - pic of me on front, signed by son/daughter with 'You did it you way Dad' - then inside 'and not in a shy way' - Restaurant played old Sinatra singing: 'My way' I was very touched.
Album was passed around for all to sign

Wee Jonny wrote in it: 'You're a real cool Grandad!

My son/daughter

My beautiful daughter/G/daugther

Eldest G/son gave me this card with a baby monkey on front; said I found this photo of you when you were a wee boy! - He's outa my will!!

Had a BBQ next day at my son's house.
An old Greek friend from Cyprus flew over just for my b/day - we'd sailed the 7 seas together.
Son arranged it. I was very touched

My eldest G/son, Calvin - he went back packing round Oz last year. Now at Uni
Sorry messed up post 2

This was my best prezzie of all, having all of my family around me!
QUOTE (Tommy Kennedy @ 29th Jul 2011, 05:23pm) *
Second best prezzie:
My son/daughter had gathered/collected photos of me as a wee boy in Glasgow - my youth in London. Photos of my National service days/Merchant navy days - many photos of family holidays abroad- my business days. emailed them to 'Kodak' who made up a fancy album - pic of me on front, signed by son/daughter with 'You did it your way Dad' - then inside 'and not in a shy way' - Restaurant played old Sinatra singing: 'My way' I was very touched.
Album was passed around for all to sign

(Bye,Bye, for a wee while I have my 'uprising' to organise tongue.gif )
Looks like you had a brilliant 80th Birthday with your friends and family smile.gif
What do you give an 80 year old who has everything?
Everything again. biggrin.gif
Well done Tommy, great to see you with your family havin' such a good time. biggrin.gif
Aw ma darlin' man, thank you for posting the photographs they were a treat to see. You look as though you were behaving a bit better than usual. wub.gif The family all look great. smile.gif
Aye, a work of art, right enough, Auldyin. Wan o them Salvador Dali paintins wi a nose oan the side o yer heid, lips oan yer brow an an eye in yer erse. biggrin.gif
Ye look as if ye really enjoyed yersel anywye, an that's whit matters.
QUOTE (benny @ 29th Jul 2011, 08:57pm) *
Aye, a work of art, right enough, Auldyin. Wan o them Salvador Dali paintins biggrin.gif

I showed Mary the pictures (she knows of Tommy through my facebook site) and I said, You wouldn't think he was 80, eh?
She replied, "You wouldn't think he was 80 but you're the one with the eye operations coming up." rolleyes.gif
(Is she in for a surprise once I see her properly laugh.gif )
Congratulations Tommy. I want an invite tae yer 90th
"May you build a ladder to the stars,climb on every rung,
and may you stay,Forever Young."
Bob Dylan said that.
"Keep on rolling Tommy"
Joop said that.
Happy Birthday Tommy.
Eighty oh my gosh Tommy lang may yir lum reek laddie belated Happy Birthday wink.gif
Happy buffday Tommy, hope I am as good looking at 90!

Hi Tommy what great fotys, so it really was yir birthday! tongue.gif ,,,,,,,, see'y the night at the disco biggrin.gif
QUOTE (Tommy Kennedy @ 29th Jul 2011, 05:13pm) *

Looking at the candles around Tommies cake reminded me of the time I thought I would show my grandkids what 60 candles looked like.
Instead of doing the sensible thing and putting them around the cake as in Tommies photo I put them on top of the cake and tried to light them all.
Result was before all the candles were lit the cake started to melt lol
At least I tried.

Happy birthday Tommy
Happy 80th Tommy!...Loookin' good!!...Bet that cake looked like 'Dixon Blazes' when it was lit up!!
Happy Birthday Tommy. I look forward to your 90th! Then it will be MY 80th! Click to view attachment
QUOTE (wellfield @ 30th Jul 2011, 09:10pm) *
Happy 80th Tommy!...Loookin' good!!...Bet that cake looked like 'Dixon Blazes' when it was lit up!!

rolleyes.gif theyre not candles wellfield its a fluted wrapper around the cake, else tommy
is ower 200 yrs auld tongue.gif
Chrissie
Keep on jiving Tommy. Yer cake looked delish. tongue.gif smile.gif
Brilliant photos there Tommy, lovely family you have there but the icing on the cake (sorry about the pun) must have been when your Greek/Cypriot friend turned up for your birthday. Amazing, but then, you deserved it. Forward to the revolution!
Wonderful photos sire you look 20 year younger than me, like mysel yer nevewr happier than when yer surrounded by family mibbies weel meet up im glesga fer yer 90th .