11th Jun 2011, 12:12pm

I have recently been thinking about scots sayings , quite a lot came from our authors and poets , the one i can relate to at the moment is we are all Jock Thamsens bairns, the reason for this is because we had a little bit of worrying news , my youngest grandaughter has been diagnozed with a rare syndrom called Hurlers syndrom it can be terminal or a short life span for those who have it , the treatment to arrest it is a Bone marrow transplant, she will go into Yorkhill for this next month, so why we are all Jock Thamsens Bairns,? well the amount of people from all religions and areas of the world have said they will be praying for my wee yin is astounding, we had a card from the knock in Ireland where they will be saying prayers and also my local lollypop man has been doing the same , the Jehovah witnesses are also doing what they can for her, i have also over the years noticed it in the GGB, even though we have our right good auld arguements i have seen the togetherness from our members when any of our own has had a problem, do you have any favourite sayings and why
ionnsaigh
11th Jun 2011, 01:17pm
When we are hungry, we all eat from the same pot. ( African )
As an Atheist, I don't pray.... however I wish you or your Granddaughter well.
In respect of cures, then we are all hungry, medical science funding, the pot.
PS Has she a suitable donor ?
11th Jun 2011, 01:20pm
Enrique,I hope the wee lass gets the rub of the green and makes a full recovery.Im sure all on the forums wish her well.For an interesting take on your phrase Jock Tamson is Scots for John Thomson.Google Jock Tamsons bairns and open the Wikipedia pages.You will like the explanation.
Joop
11th Jun 2011, 01:33pm
Enrique. All the best to your grandaughter and her family.
11th Jun 2011, 01:36pm
"Long may ye live till a dead horse kicks ye." Ah don't hiv a clue whit it means, but it wis wan o a late friend's favourite sayins.
11th Jun 2011, 03:50pm
HAUD YER WHEESH !! ENRIQUE
Tommy
11th Jun 2011, 04:21pm
awk away'y go.
11th Jun 2011, 04:36pm
Life is simple it just aint easy: I don.t think this saying is scottish
but I believe it's true ..
12th Jun 2011, 08:32am
Wishing the best for the wee lassie!
When playing cards used to say: "Ah've a haun' like a fit!"
12th Jun 2011, 09:22am
Cant wish your daughter enough and pray for courage and hope for her parents.
Dunvegan.
Nan mu Amithaba Butsu.
12th Jun 2011, 12:05pm
mostly in glasgow.in fact only in glasgow.
'Come oan ,get aff.
Tommy
12th Jun 2011, 12:29pm
Big Tommy, being an exclippie oan the caurs that wis a favourite saying and how many times somebody would say to me "dae yi waant me oan or aff"
21st Oct 2011, 12:13pm

Hi all my friends on the boards , you may remember me speaking of my little granddaughter, she has a rare syndrom called Hurlers syndrom, the only thing that could save her was a bone marrow transplant, well she has spent the past 6 monthe getting chemo , and then she had her transplant from bonemarrow from the cord of a new born baby , fingers crossed as it looks like the transplant is working she is now out of Yorkhill and attending as an out patient , we are maybe not quite out of the woods yet , but hey we are all delighted at her progress , thanks to all you people who sent your thoughts for the wee one
21st Oct 2011, 02:27pm
Great news Enrique. Really hope all goes well.
21st Oct 2011, 02:39pm
That all sounds very encouraging.
May she go from strength to strength!
Best Wishes, from davy
2nd Nov 2011, 06:13am
Great news Enrique, know how worrying it is when our children are at death's door.
Jupiter loved the Wiki definition, thanks for sharing
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.