Full Version: Horizon
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat
dry.gif I suppose this thread is a continuation on the evolutionist thread and i am hoping that the boffins of our site will help me understand the theory.
I watched the Horizon programme last night and it was about the scientists trying to work out what reality is and how its formed, they explained the splitting of the atom and how this revoloutionised there thinking about life, i will miss out all the details of there experiments, although one showed when they sent an atom through this special machine instead of coming out the other end as a single unit it showed up like 2 mirror images , this then gave them the idea that this could be what reality is and we have a mirror image somewhere else, a theory i have heard before , but as the programme continued they worked out by using quantum physics that the breakdown could mean that we are virtually a Hologram, sounds hard to believe but it was very informative, if any of you can help me understand it please do so
Very interestin' enriique. Maybe that, or those, which people term ghosts; or spirits, are the real holograms. Would a hologram know pain? I've just been play-fightin' with one of my cats and he manage to draw blood from my fingertip wi' one of his fish-hook claws. Didn't half touch a nerve. would holograms have nerves.
Stephen Hawkin also reckons we can have other GG members in a dual universe or three.
It 'does my head in',but trying to understand the Quantum Theory of physics but it is extremely interesting to consider. It appears that we may be living alongside other 'time zones' on different 'levels' or 'planes' (not those planes you lot!) and it is theoretically possible to cross these planes, a bit like time travel. Dr ? may not be as daft as we think. I am only scratching the subject, but I am sure the Einsteins on here will do it better than me. Try Googling the subject for a start and you may be surprised.
Some holograms are more hollow than others. laugh.gif
QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 18th Jan 2011, 03:00pm) *
Some holograms are more hollow than others. laugh.gif

Is that a telegram with nothing in it?
I thoroughly enjoyed the programme myself, enrique.

What it didn't tell you, was the Tevatron (particle accelerator) has become reduntant (just over a week ago, on the 10th January), and been superceded by the Large Hadron Collider accelerator, in the hunt for the Higgs Bosun - or more commonly referred to, as the 'God Particle'.

The world initiative CERN team have already had great success, and are confident in their quest.

Tevatron will be used for spare parts in the future, apparently, but its closure effectively ends any US independent research.

I too, was impressed by the short insight into Quantum Math towards the end I'm thankful I've never even had to LOOK at some of the equations posted on that Lighthouse, at the end of the show.

Totally fascinating - and considering all the billions already poured into it, (and will continue to be) it is quite possibly (other than the 'intelligence gene') THE most important scientific quest of ours, or any other, time.

You can get more info on the CERN site, about LHC - here's a link for the wiki article on the Higgs.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Higgs_boson

davy (nae boffin - just interested, from N Yorks lol wink.gif
Ah think the first thing most of us would need tae even attempt tae understand the ultimate nature of reality, and the theories that try tae explain it, wid be a brain transplant.

As far as ah can see, aw the different theories look completely loony tae us mere mortals. Theories aboot infinite numbers of parallel universes, aw differing in a slight degree frae oor ain, or aboot the interconnectedness of everything in the universe through some subtle influence as yet undiscovered. Some scientists hiv even put forward the notion that, like the movie "The Matrix" we are aw livin in a computer simulation. An these urnae the ravins of loony-tunes but the considered thoughts of orthodox scientists. Aw we can dae is look, listen and wonder.
The Higgs Bosun, wee davy? Ah think you're all at sea, jist like the rest o us. biggrin.gif

Whit the people at the LHC don't tell ye is that there's a chance that their experiments may destroy the Earth an everythin on it, by the creation of mini black holes or strangelets. Of course they pooh-pooh the idea, but if they're wrang, it'll be too late tae dae anythin aboot it.
dont you mean 'brain IMPLANT' benny? tongue.gif laugh.gif

One of infinite capacity please - I'll take the go faster model, please!

(How about that quantum computer that disnae even WORK! eh?)
ahhh bit benny - black holes may not be all they appear to be! lol

where does all the information go?

LOL
Descartes had it all summed up " Cogito ergo sum" - and that is it.
QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 18th Jan 2011, 06:50pm) *

and here's me thinking it was Neil Diamond laugh.gif
QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 18th Jan 2011, 08:50pm) *

Good old Des.

Like:If a tree falls in the forest, and no one is there to hear it, does it make a sound?

If a tree falls in the forest...
Catholicism: It fell for our sins.
Judaism: Oy, the tree fell, again?!
Buddhism: There is no tree.
Islam: Islam is not really about knocking over trees.
Fundamentalism: The tree was Evil.
Racism: That kind of tree is always falling.
Plagiarism: That kind of tree is always falling.
Defeatism: All the trees are going to fall.
Pessimism: That is the forest of the fallen tree.
Optimism: Almost all the trees are standing.
Capitalism: Let's sell the wood.
Globalism: Let's sell the wood, half way around the world.
Communism: Let's knock over all the other trees.
Socialism: Let's ask the other trees to fall.
Nepotism: Give the tree to my cousin.
Isolationism: That tree is none of our business, in fact, neither is the forest.

And the one that actually tries to answer the question asked, is...

Quantum Physics: Of course not, by definition.
QUOTE (Rab @ 18th Jan 2011, 11:53pm) *
It 'does my head in',but trying to understand the Quantum Theory of physics but it is extremely interesting to consider. It appears that we may be living alongside other 'time zones' on different 'levels' or 'planes' (not those planes you lot!) and it is theoretically possible to cross these planes, a bit like time travel. Dr ? may not be as daft as we think. I am only scratching the subject, but I am sure the Einsteins on here will do it better than me. Try Googling the subject for a start and you may be surprised.

The answer Rab, is 42. Having read Stephen Hawkings book on the history of time, it has left my heid nippin' and I still find mair answers in Red Dwarf. This may be a simplistic view of yon, but I am still 'errie of standin' oan white mice.
153, Dunvegan,... 153. Even Stephen gets his sums wrong, occasionally lol

However, at LAST I've come across someone who has actually 'had a go' at a Stephen Hawkings masterpiece. Is he still writing in the horror genre? lol laugh.gif
QUOTE (wee davy @ 19th Jan 2011, 10:51am) *
153, Dunvegan,... 153. Even Stephen gets his sums wrong, occasionally lol

However, at LAST I've come across someone who has actually 'had a go' at a Stephen Hawkings masterpiece. Is he still writing in the horror genre? lol

I'll go one better than Dunvegan, Davy.
Not only did I attempt to read it but I did that in German.
I had the book out for the maximum 3 consecutive months (2 extentions) before having to bring it back to the library ... I've a feeling another three months might have been enough but then again -
I don't think so rolleyes.gif
(Took me another three months just to clear my head laugh.gif )
LOL A Bridge Too Far would have been a safer bet, Tomi rolleyes.gif

I've had a couple of goes at Richard Dawkins 'God Delusion' and that brought me out in a rash! laugh.gif I got through it the first time of asking - but totally lost the will to live, on the second.

Its always good to have your limitations, re-enforced from time to time!
(Get it? Time to Time? lol)
QUOTE (wee davy @ 19th Jan 2011, 02:19pm) *
(Get it? Time to Time? lol)

Aye, right, Sun. rolleyes.gif
opps entered in error.

Ah'll be back!
red rooster
QUOTE (benny @ 18th Jan 2011, 07:33pm) *
The Higgs Bosun, wee davy? Ah think you're all at sea, jist like the rest o us. biggrin.gif

Whit the people at the LHC don't tell ye is that there's a chance that their experiments may destroy the Earth an everythin on it, by the creation of mini black holes or strangelets. Of course they pooh-pooh the idea, but if they're wrang, it'll be too late tae dae anythin aboot it.

It's aw right benny they got wan o the secretaries ( who's the H&S rep) to do a Risk Assessment on it before they switched it oan.

There was that slight risk you mentioned so they had to wear hard hats, goggles (them flying atoms can take yer eye oot) and high viz vests( so they can see you in yon black hole)

Here is a link to illustrate the science behind this marvel and the appropriate safety wear

http://www.disclose.tv/action/viewvideo/70...r_LHC_RAP_Song/

Do these look like the kind of guys who would destroy the universe
Ok back, I think.

Reality is easy to explain.

Effer woke up on a Monday with a boggin' hingover only to comtemplate another week of keech and crud ahead?

Noo then the reality the Horizon tefalhieds whurr oan aboot wis a wee bit different from the above, although this is a wee part of the overall game. The boffins were and indeed are attempting to unify a shedload of disconnected hypotheses and theoroms into one master plan that would explain the existance and functioning of our known universe. aka "reality."

That's where that durty wurd "maths" comes in it as this is the only the langauge that goes a long way to explaining the relationships contained it the formulas in a non abstact form. Maths isnea the crock of auld dug bollocks I thought it was when I was busy not attending schoolage in my formitive years. When ye get into it you begin to realise it is actaully practical, logical and unifies across all disciplines.

Due to the nagging lack of the necessery technology there is some way to go before we begin to solve many nagging questions.

Until if and when the techno aspects catch up with what we want to proof we are stumped for concrete and absolute proofs. Over many years much has been garnered of how matter and energy interact, so we arenae going backwards, yit.

The holograms we are familiar with contain 3D graphical information. Jist taking this a wee step or a quantum leap further, matter and energy also contain strings of information. Information can be likened to a state that conditions matter and energy to function and interact in well defined and unique ways. Using this wee model as an analogy there is no reason to discount that the universe may NOT be a hologram and go another step further and use it to explain the quantum behaviour of sub atomic particles.

Och its weird science awe richt but we have to start somewhere by making assumptions then go on disprove or prove them, problem is sometime ye cannea do either and end up stoatin yer napper aff a brick wa'.

It is presently understood that fundimental matter is comprised of 16 discrete particles. 6 different "flavour" quarks, 6 mesons and 4 force carriers, they all behave differently. ie strong, weak, electomagnetic and gravity. The odd one out is gravity as it is the only that does not have an anti particle, in other words it only attracts matter and does not repel matter.
High energy states are needed to overcome the mutual repulsion of same charge particles. The problem with finding out if there are smaller units is that current techno cannot detect them but that does not preclude their existance. Just because ye cannea see it or hear it disnea mean it disnea exist, jist like a skucking tigger in the jungle it will yaffle ya afore ye ken it. Try telling the kitty it dissnea exist after it has yaffled yer bones have.

Okey dokey lets divert tae the wee experiment with the photons. Afore ah dae that jist a tottie wee bit of basic backgroond regarding photons;-

* Photons are discrete quantums of electromagnetic energy, jist think of a quantum as a wee package.

* Photons are always in motion and in a vacuum (naw, naw and thrice naw. no a dyson ya numpties!) an they have a constant speed of light to all observers.

* Photons carry energy and have momentum.

At last on to the photon experiment.

This was conducted in a way similiar to projecting a beam of light though 2 vertical narrow slits onto a background. What is seen is a hopefully a bog standard diffraction pattern, this indicates that light is a waveform, which we know is a form of electomagnetic radiation which is comprised of photons.

Now then takng this all the way down to a single photon, something strange appeared to happen. Have to get the Masked Magician to gie us a clue on this wan.

If single photons are fired though a single vertical slit of a 2 slit set up IT appears to pass through both vertical slits and fill in the 2 vertical slit patterns in apparently random pattern. This leave us to conclude single photons can appear to be in 2 random places or states at the same time. Now the wit would happen if they used 3 slits, bet they aint though about that hehe. That wid pit the cat in among the pidgeon.

Brain storming this a wee bit deeper if a single photon splits into 2 what stopping the the 2 becoming 4, 8, 16 ... a chain reaction. This clearly does not happen, otherwise the universe would have a photon breeding problem. Therein lies another wee problem for the egghieds to get their fingers oot wi.

All good stuff to consider on a cauld winters night sitting afore a roaring log fire in yer wicker rocking chair wearing a tartan lap rug an huving yer ever faithful slobbering labrador dug tae fondle. Tae top it, comtemplate QM while necking doon a decent boattle of malt and huv a spare ready as ye'll need it tae stiy lucid.
QUOTE (red rooster @ 19th Jan 2011, 02:31pm) *
Here is a link to illustrate the science behind this marvel and the appropriate safety wear

Do these look like the kind of guys who would destroy the universe

Did you spot the clue ... in the credits ?

They got their gear doon the Barras laugh.gif

red rooster
QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 19th Jan 2011, 02:47pm) *
Did you spot the clue ... in the credits ?

They got their gear doon the Barras laugh.gif

Bills Tool Store , no less!
I'm still sticking wi' "Hitchers guide to the galaxy" and Red dwarf they make far more sense than quantum physics. I watched a tv. program about two Australian scientists who had conncocted a machine which proved that particles could travel back through time, the proof being that there was nothing to be observed at the other end of said contraption at the completion of the experiment. I asked a science teacher friend at work to explain it to me. As he was familiar with the theory and knew about the program he explained it to me. My heid was nippin' now at a violent pace.
I am still wondering how an aircraft can get off the deck with 500 people in it, never mind flying through the air. Or back in time.
One of the things I couldn't understand as a kid; in church, and was always told to just accept it and don't try to fathom it out as God works in mysterious ways, was, how could God be anywhere and everywhere at the same time?
Bliddy Quantum Physics ... Come back God; all is forgiven rolleyes.gif

Get Your Daily Dose Here

Both are wrong and right Tomi.

QM is really simple.

Women are much more complex.
QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 20th Jan 2011, 02:05am) *
One of the things I couldn't understand as a kid; in church, and was always told to just accept it and don't try to fathom it out as God works in mysterious ways, was, how could God be anywhere and everywhere at the same time?

Get Your Daily Dose Here

"We've been on the trail of a state of matter called a half-quantum vortex for more than three years," said Budakian. "First proposed in the 1970s to exist in superfluid helium-3, a half-quantum vortex can be thought of as a 'texture' that arises from the spin phase of the superconducting order parameter."

Wid ye no jist credit that? In the name ai the wee man! lol laugh.gif Wiz that the Blue Ridge Mountain Trail?

'Thanks' for the link, THEE. (I think)
QUOTE (wee davy @ 20th Jan 2011, 01:46pm) *
Wid ye no jist credit that? In the name ai the wee man! lol laugh.gif Wiz that the Blue Ridge Mountain Trail?

'Thanks' for the link, THEE. (I think)

Mair like the Hallelujah Trail - great movie btw
QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 20th Jan 2011, 03:05am) *

Get Your Daily Dose Here

Thanks for that Tomi. I am delighted to report that my new Quantum Pendant is on its way! Photo to follow! Greetings from out there - or should I say, here? biggrin.gif
Am givin' up on this. A' reckon yer all wrang and that includes me; both of us . This keeps up and am goin' tae meet m'self gettin' up as am' goin' tae bed.
QUOTE (Dunvegan @ 20th Jan 2011, 01:12am) *
I'm still sticking wi' "Hitchers guide to the galaxy" and Red Dwarf they make far more sense than quantum physics.

Well, this will delight you, Dunvegan wink.gif

Return of Red Dwarf confirmed. biggrin.gif

Oh come on ya dunderhieds!

Ah'll have to gie yer some mair weekend homework if ye dinnea sharpen up and get yer B2 jotters filled in.

To think quantum physics ye need a mind like a soupbowl; wide and narrow. Us Tefal hieds are renowned for oor distinct lack of percipience, shallow thinking and (im)moderate drinking. We can give you the sqaure < spelling is keech> root of a jam jar but have a wee bit of bother getting the lid aff the b'stard.

Consider the following while I riffle yer pockets in the cloakroom:- Well got to fund oor drinking requirements somehow. God was I brought up to be bad haha.

Rabbies Post Office Analogy.

A package is sent to the wrong address yet ends the right address.

A package is sent to the right address yet ends up at wrong address.

A package is sent to both the wrong and right address and ends up going nowhere.. (Think about it!)

A Package is sent nowhere and ends up nowhere!

The Post Office is in on Quantum Physics.

Why, how?!

When the package goes nowhere (going to neither the wrong or right address) you can bet that yer quantum postie is on ebay selling yer package.

The clue is the pack was not addressed to the postie, think ootside the right / wrong.. black / white 2D box.

So in the words of Jeff Beck " Yer everywhere and nowhere baby."

That's The Quantum Theivery simply explained, perhaps.
eyebright
I've got a coloured telly, huvni had a black and white wan fer years, idoes that mean it's awe relative.
Reading that explanation Rabbie has made me realise that its easier to understand QT than your explanation! tongue.gif
QUOTE (Rabbie @ 21st Jan 2011, 02:45am) *
Oh come on ya dunderhieds! ... in the words of Jeff Beck " Yer everywhere and nowhere baby."

That's The Quantum Theivery simply explained, perhaps.

AH ... Noo a get it biggrin.gif
Tae celebrate I'll just go to the fridge and get me a wee tub of quark ... unless that's somewhere else tae laugh.gif
Could even be in yer hippy hat!

If you wait long enuff it will be there. The trubble is the thatuniverse will be deid from maximumn entropy by then. Sooooo.. unless yer planning tae hing aroond a wee whilie ah widnea huad mah puff fur that to happen, may wacko.gif be
What ever no one has a better answer than 42!!!
QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 21st Jan 2011, 11:57am) *

Got the whole collection and refer to it constantly when the "Q" word arises. I still cant get round the fact that these words I am writing get all round the world without breaking into little letters?
QUOTE (Dunvegan @ 22nd Jan 2011, 12:28am) *
What ever no one has a better answer than 42!!!

Well I lived in 61 Alexandra Parade and that so was much better than 42 Alexandra Parade, so oot wi that argument.

Nurse!, next patient please:)~~

Right, back to The QM's you loat.

Rab, kit them oot! Kit, no kick ya bampot.

Jezuss.
QUOTE (eyebright @ 21st Jan 2011, 01:02pm) *
I've got a coloured telly, huvni had a black and white wan fer years, idoes that mean it's awe relative.

Naw, means ya need a wee burl doon the brae tae Specsavers me auld mucker.

Comes tae us awe, if we are lucky.
eyebright
It's a problem I have right enough, couldni decide if Specsavers wis here or there, or if here wis there, or there wis here, guess it's on it's way but I'm going skelly eyed trying to watch for the direction it's coming from.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/moslive/ar...st-mystery.html

The search for 'WIMPS's'

The beat goes on.
Nice article on wimps's and very well put together.

Really do take a few hours and suck the info.

While you do I will be considering "little green men" and be kipping in me deep chilled exclusive observatory (garden shed.)
QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 20th Jan 2011, 03:15am) *

Physicists urge caution over apparent speed of light violation

Scientists react with disbelief and call for repeat experiments after results suggest particles can travel faster than light

Professor Jim Al-Khalili at the University of Surrey said it was most likely that something was skewing the results. "If the neutrinos have broken the speed of light, it would overturn a keystone theory from the last century of physics. That's possible, but it's far more likely that there is an error in the data. So let me put my money where my mouth is: if the Cern experiment proves to be correct and neutrinos have broken the speed of light, I will eat my boxer shorts on live TV."

I'd love tae see him lose that bet. laugh.gif

http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2011/sep...-light-violated

SoL the univeral speed limit? Naw, they can break it in Star Trek and Stargate, so there. Science really is stranger than Science Fiction.

So, who or what mechanism is imposing this limit? Albert was smart a genuis but he should have goat oot doon the pub a wee bit more and no have hud his hied stuffed in foosty math tomes and jotters.

Take gravity.. it sucks. Yet are it's effects not instantaneous, if so it's force carriers <gravitrons> possess infinite velocity or are just pretty damned nippy or bugger it, just plain mental and quantum in nature...eek!

Ask yerself how long does it take gravity particle to travel from the sun to the earth or from anywhere to anywhere else? How wid you go about proving this, is it wave or a super string? Threading duck theory.. How long is a peice of string?

Think aboot it!

If you think Higgs Bosoms are hard to get a grip of, try pondering on the gravitron particle, it's a might queer beast that eludes detection, it's almost certain quantum in nature. So we are buggered afore we kick aff. It's everywhere and neawhere at the same time. Yet Gravity does exist... QED.

Now then,

Gravity permates the entire universe, yet it is weaker than English "beer."

Dinnea worry about them black holes, thier effects are highly localised. If the sun was to turn in to wan, gravitationally it would have little effect on us lot. An object has to get really close to it for it to have an the swally ye up effect, like only a few millimeters, it wan of those exponentail formulae that wid bore the breeks an drawers aff a semi-sane person.

The mass has not changed there is the same amount of matter in the blick hole, hence gravitational attraction has not changed, its just squashed up a wee bit. Density has changed thats all.

If the sun turned into a black hole, if you were at the radius of the existing surface gravitational pull would be the same "strength." You have to almost be poking yer hied down the hole to get yaffled.

So them Black Holes are no as scary as the doom mongers wid have ye believe.

We are still here, so them black holes aint got the better of the universe.

Right, back to my shed to tune into white noise, in my search fur wee green men!

Christ I am sure I heard faded echos of "Shang a Lang" in the twisting ether:(( Pass the paraquat and dod o' rope please, time to quit this earth!
QUOTE (Rabbie @ 25th Sep 2011, 01:11am) *
SoL the univeral speed limit?

So, who or what mechanism is imposing this limit?

Take gravity .. it sucks.
If the sun turned into a black hole, if you were at the radius of the existing surface gravitational pull would be the same "strength." You have to almost be poking yer hied down the hole to get yaffled.

So them Black Holes are no as scary as the doom mongers wid have ye believe.

Rabbie, are y' no' pickin' up the signals among aw that white noise doon in yer wee shed?
beep beep beep ... Glasgow ... beep beep beep ... schools ... beep beep beep ... need ... beep beep beep ... you ... beep beep beep ... message ends .. beep. laugh.gif
So, they've turned up whit appears tae be an instance of faster than light travel. They've been checkin it an recheckin it fur a coupla years noo, it seems, but it still hauds up. Noo, they're invitin other scientiists tae hiv a go at disprovin it. Ah've nae doubt wan o them, somewhere will manage it. They cannae afford tae let the wole fouindation o physics come crashin roon their ears.
Bet Mr Einstein's laughing his cotton little socks off! laugh.gif
QUOTE (wee davy @ 25th Sep 2011, 03:29pm) *
Bet Mr Einstein's laughing his cotton little socks off! laugh.gif

He probably had the idea that, like everything else, the light speed barrier would one day be broken ... and is laughin' away that it's taken them this long, or maybe even much longer, to break it.