Full Version: Recession Is Good For You
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat
Cardinal Keith O`Brien has made a Christmas speech in which he suggests that the recession may have been good for us and that a lack of cash may help us.Has it been good for you?
Anyone; Cardinal, King or Conservative, who makes such a statement is completely out of touch with the common man.
QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 18th Dec 2010, 10:54am) *
Anyone; Cardinal, King or Conservative, who makes such a statement is completely out of touch with the common man.

Aye, I bet he's feeling the pinch. mad.gif
QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 18th Dec 2010, 09:54am) *

Oh I don't know. !

Adversity is good for the soul.
Its not often I come to the defence of a Cardinal, King (unless the obvious one), or Conservative - but - not having read the content of this Christmas MESSAGE (which I'm sure is how it was really meant) - I would say that the austerity measures, coupled with the joint feeling of 'were all in the same boat' is probably what he was trying to convey? The effect of the war years were still being felt, as I grew up - and the austerity of the post war years are often held, as a beacon for NEIGHBOURLINESS!

For example, the recent weather has given us many examples of kindness and genuine concern for others.

I'm sure this was all he was attempting to get across - not 'get used to you wearing your hair shirts for a while', ... it'll do you the world of good'!

But,... as I say - haven't had the advantage of actually reading his address

Anybody care to provide a link?
Morning weedavy,Check out the Herald and you will get the message.
Joop
Davy,

I think you will find that "this boat" we are all in has many classes of accommodation, ranging from luxury cabins to steerage. Guess which one the cardinal is in, along with the politicians and bankers.
Probably find it in The Observer Davy. biggrin.gif
QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 18th Dec 2010, 11:56am) *
Probably find it in The Observer Davy.

Or "The Catholic News". rolleyes.gif
QUOTE (wee davy @ 18th Dec 2010, 10:37am) *
. . . . I would say that the austerity measures, coupled with the joint feeling of 'were all in the same boat' is probably what he was trying to convey? The effect of the war years were still being felt, as I grew up - and the austerity of the post war years are often held, as a beacon for NEIGHBOURLINESS! . . .

A joint feeling of "all in the same boat"? Ye'd need tae be puffin oan a joint tae believe that. As for post WW 2 neighbourliness - prime example - Peter Manuel - how neighbourly can ye get? smile.gif
davidhendry
QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 18th Dec 2010, 09:55am) *
Davy,

I think you will find that "this boat" we are all in has many classes of accommodation, ranging from luxury cabins to steerage. Guess which one the cardinal is in, along with the politicians and bankers.

You've got it in one.

And, of course, the lifeboats have reserved seats.

Davie.
... with big thick heated cushions rolleyes.gif
NO! And neither was my redundancy! Typically stupid comment from a comfortably well-off churchman.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/821...imple-life.html

Having finally read the man's statement - it must be noted nowhere does he say the recession has been a 'good' thing. He DID go on to say that we might just settle for a 'little less', as a result, and perhaps we will develop and understand REAL poverty (I think you will find he incudes himself in there).
In settling for a little less, we can find a bit more, for those who are in need
(I'm saying that)
I'm sure you would all agree, the real spirit of christmas, has nothing at all to do with being able to save up your benefits, in order to afford the latest x box, or nintendo, for the kids?

Rab - will you do something with your avatar - its not showing.

(I do not think Jesus was born in a stable/cave/wherever for nothing btw)

benny - I havent got the foggiest what your point was, regarding a serial murderer - other than to try and prove, poverty and austerity, do NOT do what I suggested it might? You cannot deny it was a different world back then - where people often faced the LACK of something, with a smile, and a consideration for their fellow man/woman.
SHARING was endemic, to our society then - (sharing a cup of sugar for example) These days - how many people knock on their neighbours door to enquire if their OK? 3% - 4%? - if that.
'wee davy'

Cardinal-Keith-OBrien ... He DID go on to say that we might just settle for a 'little less', as a result, and perhaps we will develop and understand REAL poverty (I think you will find he incudes himself in there)

Easy for Cardinal OBrien to say Davy. What would he understand about REAL poverty

In settling for a little less, we can find a bit more, for those who are in need

I'll go along with that Davy. Want my address? All donations gratefully accepted. rolleyes.gif

I'm sure you would all agree, the real spirit of christmas, has nothing at all to do with being able to save up your benefits, in order to afford the latest x box, or nintendo, for the kids?

Want to tell that to your kids?

(I do not think Jesus was born in a stable ... for nothing)

Joseph was a carpenter (not a chippy) and therefore a tradesman of good standing. Had he been able to find accommodation at an Inn then he could well have afforded a good room there. There was simply No Vacancy

You can not deny it was a different world back then - where people often faced the LACK of something, with a smile,

I can imagine that you really believe that Davy but the reality was somewhat different.

SHARING was endemic, to our society then ... sharing a cup of sugar for example

Borrowing a cup of sugar is one thing, having to share a cup of sugar is a sad state for people to be in.
"Perhaps we will develop and understand REAL poverty"

Aye, right, Keith. rolleyes.gif
As always - nobody is being FORCED to listen to a MESSAGE.

I stand by what I say, regards x boxes, nintendo's etc a lot of our many problems these days are we succumb to what were TOLD our kids 'NEED' - instead of listening to our instincts and showing them what the TRUE spirit is all about. Expectations are too high - and thats not the kids fault - its the PARENTS fault.

My kids (and now grandkids) have always had the best WE COULD AFFORD! Always more important than the 'latest' xmas presents, was the time we spent together, throughout the year - as holiday and day trip adventures, pictures (mostly 35mm slides in fact! lol) prove conclusively.

TIME is the best gift you can give them.

(fortunately i had a lot of that, in spades, as a youngster but very few expensive gifts come xmas)

davy wink.gif
TIME is the best gift you can give them.

Absolutely
I think Tommy Sheridan might have something to say about that.
bigdrew
The one thing that always rings true, when some 'worthy' states...."that we have never had it so good".......
They themselves have got PLENTY and do not relate to people who get their Gas cut-off because they cannot afford it....
They are COMFORTABLE and have no knowledge of 'real poverty' in this country, unless it is an article in the TV News.......
They are probably on the AVERAGE PENSION which seems to be about £39.000 per annum.......A BLOODY BIGGER PAYOUT THAN MOST GLASGOW
Pensioners are ever likely to see........
And of most concern......from a background that allows them to make such DRIVEL publically..........and get away with it...!
QUOTE (wee davy @ 23rd Dec 2010, 05:21pm) *
As always - nobody is being FORCED to listen to a MESSAGE.

So we should switch off tellies and radios and just read the sports pages then; when these people in funny hats and expensive robes tell us we should be happy to settle for less (than they have) when they want to grab headlines by spouting unadulterated dross in their messages to people who are too skint to enjoy a decent Christmas?

If we hadn't bought that nice big artificial tree a few years ago we would have gone without one this year. I haven't worked since Dec 2008 and Mary's been on short time since before that (she goes back on full time after Feb 2011)

But we musn't grumble, eh? There are plenty of us in the same boat ... listening to Cardinal Keith spouting through his megaphone from the luxury deck of that big ship who's bow wave is rockin' our wee boat.

Come in number 5. rolleyes.gif
QUOTE (Jupiter @ 23rd Dec 2010, 06:47pm) *
I think Tommy Sheridan might have something to say about that.

Excellent!Click to view attachment
But we musn't grumble, eh? There are plenty of us in the same boat ... listening to Cardinal Keith spouting through his megaphone from the luxury deck of that big ship who's bow wave is rockin' our wee boat.

As you rightly point out, TH, we are not all on the 'same deck' - or even on the same boat. One thing for sure, is we are all on the same heading. It is sad the Cardinal's words appear callous and lack understanding, for some.

The truth always hurts.

I think he was appealing more to the relatively 'haves' - not the 'have nots'

I myself am exceptionally happy and thankful to be able to afford heating -(albeit I don't like being robbed blind!). Tomorrow, despite not running on a very extravagant budget - we will have a fairly fat roast chicken on the table (can't stand turkey, personally lol)
In comparison with many people around the world - indeed around the UK, we will be having a xmas dinner, fit for ANY king/Cardinal/Tory voter lol

Is it not true, that a message is simply to make you think? Take stock?
Was it not only a few months ago, you yourself were extolling the merits of the German medical system? Some places can't even get sanitary H2O never mind adequate treatment.