Full Version: The Magical 300,000 Posts
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
I notice tonight that we are almost hitting the 300,000 post mark on this Board - wonder who will be the one who hits the button to send the 300,000th post - any bets anyone?

Whoever does it, it is a wonderful achievement for Martin to reach this milestone - this has been the most consistently good site of its kind that I have seen and it has maintained the quality over a long period of time - of course it gets bogged down sometimes in trivia and repetition - that's what happens with sites - but Martin has done a superb job in keeping things on a level basis so here's to him..... and to the rest of us who keep this site going.
psychic
QUOTE (big al @ 13th May 2010, 08:49pm) *
I notice tonight that we are almost hitting the 300,000 post mark on this Board - wonder who will be the one who hits the button to send the 300,000th post - any bets anyone?

Whoever does it, it is a wonderful achievement for Martin to reach this milestone - this has been the most consistently good site of its kind that I have seen and it has maintained the quality over a long period of time - of course it gets bogged down sometimes in trivia and repetition - that's what happens with sites - but Martin has done a superb job in keeping things on a level basis so here's to him..... and to the rest of us who keep this site going

keep up the good work friends may it keep growing xx
Well said Al. Any group of like-minded persons brings memories, knowledge, wit, debate, intelligence, and sometimes stupidity, and this is site is no exception. However,as you say, a simple total figure of 300,000 does not bear a real indication of the input into the forum in quality over quantity. It would be difficult, for instance, to record the number of posts containing a single smiley or others with a few words passing greetings or indicating what type of biscuit they prefer with their tea, or, heaven help us, what they are having for dinner! (OK,OK, this is just an opinion!)
A simple division of figures indicates that the average number of posts per registered member at present is 38, many of whom rarely bother to contribute anything apart from a birth date. I appreciate that statistics and averages can be debateable but the simple fact remains that the site is kept alive by the input of a relatively few members which is, to my mind, unfair on the part of the majority to rely on the efforts of the minority and I have raised this anomaly on several occasions to little avail. Welcoming a large total of posts may not be as relevant as you may think.
In short, you members who have posted little, start making a lot, its not rocket science - and you will be rewarded by the knowledge that you have entertained others and enlightened their lives, thats what we are here for.
Rab.
(But,there again, what do I know biggrin.gif )
Cash-Ma-Giro
Hiya big al,

300.000!!!!!! Well spotted big al.
As the 300.000 magic figure approaches, the boards will be so busy half of us won't be able to log-on.

Even the friendly local cat will be on-line. biggrin.gif

I wholeheartedly agree with you, Rab. I haven't long joined this site, but have been a member of a couple of other boards for a few years now, and it's almost always the same small nucleus of posters who keep the messageboard on the go. OK, we know everyone doesn't have time to look in every day and that some people can be away for lengthy periods due to ill health, family circumstances, etc., but everyone is capable of posting more than once or twice a year, which is all that some longstanding members seem to manage.
I note Rab's comments and agree wholeheartedly that the membership needs to keep refreshing the boards - I have been a member since 2003 and have periods where I regularly post and long periods where I don't - some of that has been down to working away from home and other times it is just simply because there was nothing on the board that interested me at that time nor had I had any issues to raise. I have never felt I had to put stuff on the boards because I was overdue a posting or anything of that kind - it's in our nature to get into topics if we feel we have something to say or just to stir it up as some frequently do.

There are now some 7720 members according to the latest statistic and I am sure many of them tune in to read what's on the site rather than to participate and that is fine by me - I now have more free time to spend and will make sure that I do as Rab suggests and participate more but only on things I am interested in - I will not post with smileys on it to show I have read the previous posts - I think that is just a waste of space when they could be saying something but that's just my personal opinion only....

Roll on the 300,000th and the 400,000th posts - this is still a great site!
Iam one of the older members ,and some times I findit hard to post as I now take care of my two young grandsons and to get to the computer is hard ,and when they have gone its time to get dinner ready for me and the hubby ,
Ienjoy stoping by once in a hwile and I post only when its something that intrests me ,lots of times I post and there is no response so i figure why waste the wee bit time I have on here ,its still a great way to meet people and I have had a couple of meets where some of the members have come to my house,I enjoy Ross,s photos nad to se where he goes is wonderful he makes a good representative for Scotald if you ask me ,and he also went to Guthrie St to take a photo f my old close ,it was years ago when he and his Dad went on bike tours along the canal bank .Rab and Al have also posted some good things and Rabs sense of humor is great ,I hope I can get on more often once my daughter stops working for the summer as her school closes .
Wormy
What a great thing for this site, I like yourself Big Al and wee mags don't get to post as much as I would like. I enjoy when I can get on and post. I never take much notice of the number of posts that I have made. I am not interested in some topics but more so in others .

I hope the boards contine to serve a way fro all of us from Glasgow to find a little bit on the old place (whatever that is to each of us ) wherever we may be .
Like most Saturdays Mags am away doing something, today was no different spent the day in Perthshire and a kno people abroad will find it hard to believe but am burnt again it was such a beautiful day…used factor 15 and still burnt lol!…day was great to start with because today was the Scottish Cup Final between Ross County and Dundee United. or the Staggies,.all the way up to Perthshire this morning it was coach after coach of supporters heading to Hampden…flying flags and Scarf’s brilliant to see, spent a day doing a wee bit of climbing and taking pictures, just stuff I love doing and tonight on the way back it was Dundee in celebration…..sorta favoured Ross maself ,wonder why…..but no big deal…it was magic to see the flags and banner zipping along the M80/A9
You have no idea how much I appreciated your comments about following me around and me and my Dad taking pictures a long time ago at Guthrie St..from that a long time ago a have become so interested in photography and experimented loads and the GG encouraged me in that. I have a showing later this month in a gallery of some of my pictures…..just local near my Mum and Dads…am so excited about it…and its not something I want to do for a living its just something I do for fun but I get so much enjoyment from it…..I am so lucky that I live in one of the most beautiful countries in the world and have opportunities to experience life at every level .Love posting about where I am and what I see every week on here and I really do appreciate feedback like yours Mags..so thanks a million once more to one of the stars of this board.
300,000 Posts !! Thats a lot of gabbin no matter how you look at it.

Nice to see Al posting again , you asked who will it be ? who knows I hope that it is someone who enjoys the sprit of the board .

This has been a rough 12 months for me and maybe for a lot of others who have been regular posters on here I know for myself I have not been able to get on as much, that said I do like to post when I get a chance like now .

As Al says this is a great site , keep it going .
(me, adding a post!) Ross, you are a man of the world, you might wish to consider Estonia on your future trips. Vana Tallin ( Old Tallin) and Van Tartu are great Medieval towns. The country is vibrant as well as the cities, and also they haven't had the plague of globalization with the same old box stores and other franchises. Like elsewhere in Europe most service industries personnel and young people speak various degrees of English. Lastly, if you like tall blonde and trim young ladies you have to be here. wink.gif
Well that counts me out, 'one out of three' sad.gif
Me too Angel.
Tam blair
Angel and Rab, you both tall ? tongue.gif
Ron I have been thinking about Estonia and heard nothing but good things about Tallin...and a must admit Scandinavian women have a certain charm wub.gif and am still trying to guess what Rabs qualification is tongue.gif my guess is that he is probably a natural blonde!
QUOTE (Tam blair @ 17th May 2010, 09:35pm) *
Angel and Rab, you both tall ? tongue.gif

Cheeky wee monkey!
Tam blair
Ross ,you are a charmer indeed, Now if I was only 50 yrs younger,
those scandinavian women would'nt have a 32inch inside leg measurement to stand on. rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
three hundred thousand wow I can,t believe it, like some of the older members here( I became a member in 2000,) I don,t always post but do check in , I remember our first meet at the horsehoe in Glasgow first time meeting people that I had been chatting with was like meeting old friends, then to make our day worthwhile meeting Martin what a wonderful day and evening we had, Bless you Martin.
QUOTE (rossmckenzie @ 18th May 2010, 07:38pm) *
Ron I have been thinking about Estonia and heard nothing but good things about Tallin...and a must admit Scandinavian women have a certain charm and am still trying to guess what Rabs qualification is tongue.gif my guess is that he is probably a natural blonde!

OK if you want further enticement. we were in small restaurant in the country where I got the drinks and I paid 120 kroons for four beers = 6.5 pounds, seems to me I paid that for one on my last visit to the UK huh.gif
Cheap beer as well Ron, Estonia is rising up the Eurovision ladder fast...£6.50 for 4 beers(I hope thats a stein and not a half pint) ok calculator out,wow thats about £1.60 a pint ,pretty good.I don't drink in places that charge £6.50 a pint ohmy.gif unless my folks or wealthier m8's are paying......or Scandinavian women,they are used to high beer prices......

Angel I can come and go a bit on a 32 inside leg...or you could just wear really high heels and you would be in with a shout biggrin.gif

.................. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Naughty Girl Angel rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
Angel you just broke Al's cardinal rule on his thread..no smiley answers ,not even a double smiley!
Am thinking something like this maybe..... rolleyes.gif
Ross your a naughty boy as well rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
Lol am saying nothing but how do your feet fit these biggrin.gif am happy with a pr of trainers!!!
I,m an naughty Auld girl Anne,, Is'nt that just wonderful
and Ross is just a young charmer, also Ross I could'nt stand in those shoes let alone walk ,now should I post a smilie or just type the word, ....Laugh laugh, tongue.gif
as long as you post a response Angel then as many smileys as you want.... tongue.gif I broke a toe last month and it still aches and a look at these shoes and think yeh I like the look lol(no for myself lol) and think ouch but still sexy!Shoe conversation is now ended..a don't want a reputation! ohmy.gif
To get back on trakkies..no more shoes stuff! we are now a few more posts nearer 300,000 and a wonder who will be our 300,000 poster...wonder if GG knows who posted at 100,000 and 200,000...might be an interesting little bit of information for the history of the board.Gotta say its quite an amazing little board and I love its amazing mix of information,fun and relaxed approach....Credit to GG for producing this salute to Glasgow....for me it sums up everything that is good about Glasgow and Glaswegians ,past and present.
If I can remember through my personal seive of a memory our own dear Catherine was the 100,000th poster and was it was duly noted by the GGteam (read Martin!)
QUOTE (RonD @ 20th May 2010, 03:50am) *
If I can remember through my personal seive of a memory our own dear Catherine was the 100,000th poster and was it was duly noted by the GGteam (read Martin!)

Ron, It was Catherine, Melody and masel who all shared in that post , I think it was our Stuarty who got the other milestone ?
whit milestone lennox did a miss somfink am sniffin like a meerkat wye ma noseyness laugh.gif laugh.gif
I think the 300,000th post should be reserved for the man himself.

Martin.

Only five more posts to go after mine.
wohs gonny get the 3000000 big all got the 3rd athink
QUOTE (carmella @ 20th May 2010, 04:30pm) *
Only five more posts to go after mine.

My math is horrible but I think there more than 5 needed ? huh.gif
QUOTE (Lennox @ 20th May 2010, 06:29pm) *
My math is horrible but I think there more than 5 needed ? huh.gif

LOL - Lennox you are absolutely right, what was I thinking of quite a considerable amount still needed LOL.
Wormy
QUOTE (RonD @ 20th May 2010, 03:50am) *

Where is the lady in question been these days ?
aye is it not about 500 or something.....no big deal but we should have a board to mark who posted on specific occassion..had no idea who posted on previous ones. and its major milestones on the history of the board
Is this the 'Ah wanny get the 300k post' Club, then??" hehe

Cmoan geraff! rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
No davy - it's just nice to mark the growth of the boards to this extent - however, if it attracts enough people to post then fine....
no wee davey its not like who reaches a milestone..as Al states whover it is i hope they are constructive.post something relative,and contribute to the next 100,000 posts...def don't want it to be me as am no that constructive these days lol...a wait in anticipation to see how good the post is..And wish the poster well.
No disrespect to either of you, btw
I meant to go on to say, if it gets people to come out from under that stone then it sure gets ma' vote folks!

Nice to see you guys posting especially smile.gif

Awrite Davey Cool...like you a wan't to see people contribute as much as possible...but your always gonna get people come on ,comment,ask a question lol and never come back but there is a hard core that even with the odd knock back will always be interested and come back..like me asking daft questions,wondering why ,its what makes the board what it is..when a see it get real near to 300,000 am gonna be gone for a few days lol laugh.gif
QUOTE (Wormy @ 22nd May 2010, 01:04pm) *
Where is the lady in question been these days ?

The lovely lady Catherine graces us with her presence intermittently, her life is full with raising two handsome sons (they take after their Dad! biggrin.gif ) if that it won't bring her on line then nothing will.
I remember when we got to the first 100,000 and we did a similar thing to raise the profile - there were tremendous numbers of people who posted out of interest and obviously to be the 100,000th person - but the funny thing is that it carried on after we hit the magic number - it was a good time and so will this be - no reason why it shouldn't be Ross or me or you Davy - as we get nearer to it, things tend to slow down a wee bit so let's watch and see.
Hi big Al and everyone,

Thanks for this topic – I had noticed the 300,000 posts mark was coming soon and have been having a think about how to celebrate it. I'll post tomorrow (Sunday) about the details of what I've come up with. Hopefully we won't have went past the barrier by then as there are still 400+ posts left to go! biggrin.gif

Got to rush for the moment ... thanks for all your posts!

Just imagine - a newly enrolled member !!!!!!!!! Just as likely! rolleyes.gif
The 300k mark is fast approaching, not sure I will be able to see it happen or for that matter make it happen. This evening we are leaving Estonia and have an overnight ferry ride to Stockholm We are then spending a night and day there then fly home Tuesday, its been a great trip but as usual we're ready to get back to a regular routine and save up for our next adventure.
Think it would be nice if Martin made that 300,000 post himself smile.gif smile.gif
Hi All,

Looks like the 300,000 barrier will be passed on Wednesday (as long as there is not a rush of posts in the next 24 hours). I will post details tomorrow of what is planned – it's nothing big, just a wee memento for a few lucky posters. More shortly... smile.gif