jasminkeenan
30th Jun 2004, 10:06am
Does anyone remember the one o clock gang, I'm trying to remember who apart from Larry Marshall was on it.
anne
30th Jun 2004, 10:19am
Hi there, 2 other people are Dorothy Paul and Charlie Sim, does anyone know what happened to all 3 of them...
Anne Perth Aussieland
jasminkeenan
30th Jun 2004, 10:23am
I am really interested to find out what happened to them, I remember my mum taking me to the scottish television studios to see this, it was one of the programmes I distinctly remember whilst growing up.
Charly Sim`was funny, thanks Anne for reminding me his name.
30th Jun 2004, 05:20pm
Dorothy Paul still does theatre work one of her best known tv performances was "The Steamie" also does one woman shows. Jimmy Nairn never hear of him now but his son is a very well known chef in glasgow, Charlie Simm now deceased (i think) never hear anything about Larry Marshall. The other lady on the show was Moira ??? cant remember her last name she played the keyboard and sang, think she was irish. Thats about all i can tell you
30th Jun 2004, 07:48pm
Moira Broidy, I think she went to Australia. Don't know what happened to the rest.
As Betty said Dorothy Paul does One Woman Show's. I have some of her video's and they are very good. One of them show's Charlie Sim in the audience.
The One o'clock Gang took a lot of stick but everyone always watched it, especially on a Friday when they did their School Act.
30th Jun 2004, 08:00pm
Betty. mibbee that man's no deid,...... ah hope no if he wis in that audience at the Pavilion!

....... Rumours of my death have been greatly exaggerated, ...who said that?
30th Jun 2004, 09:18pm
Am no sure melody , last time ah saw charlie simm was in an episode o Rab c Nesbitt he was a punter in the pub, but that was a while ago. Ah used tae pass that pub when ah wis gawn tae the eye infirmary, never ever saw them filmin . But something tells me ah read somewherr he died if am wrang then charlie I apoligise
went tae the bingo the night should huv steyed hame rubbish
30th Jun 2004, 09:52pm
Hi Melody....I think that was Mark Twain who spoke of his death
being exaggerated...or am I on the wrong twack?
Getting back to the one o'clock gang..the chap who played guitar was Ronnie Moore..can't remember any others.
August26
30th Jun 2004, 11:27pm
Huh memories:
All I remember of the one o'clock gang is the school scene, and the "nana for samuel" the guy whom ever it was played the part in the schoolboy shorts with the little cap on his head, he always brought a banana to school.
August
Martin's Tartan Army
ny231g
1st Jul 2004, 01:16am
Does anyone remember the day stv tecnitions went on strike. they had to do the show out in the yard, and the audence were all given fish suppers. I used to rush home very lunchtime from work to watch it, then they changed the showing time to 1.30pm, and i could"ent stay as i ha to get back to work. Larry Marshel wrote most of the scripts for all the shows. moira broidy went to australia, jimmy nairn went to south africa. yes sadly charlie sim hss passed away. !st.july.04. 2.24am.b.s.t.
1st Jul 2004, 04:33pm
It was really funny the one oclock gang and we did all love to watch it, it was great to hear your own accent on tv, it made a change from all those posh London accents. It meant that we existed after all.

we must have we were on tv. gie that davyab44 a coconut Mark Twain indeed.
dorcas
1st Jul 2004, 10:25pm
I loved the one-o-clock gang, used to run home at dinner time from d&h cohens in the Shaws, Was it no the Tommy Maxwell quartet the name of the band
Riddrieperson
6th Jul 2004, 05:31pm
What time was the one`o clock gang on at?
6th Jul 2004, 05:38pm
Probably about ten past
weecal
11th Jul 2004, 07:00pm
Thanks for the memories and all the info. folks. All the best Weecal.
John McCormack
21st Jul 2007, 01:20pm
QUOTE (davyab44 @ 30th Jun 2004, 10:01 PM)

Hi Melody....I think that was Mark Twain who spoke of his death
being exaggerated...or am I on the wrong twack?
Getting back to the one o'clock gang..the chap who played guitar was Ronnie Moore..can't remember any others.
The Bass player was Ricky Fernandez.
maureenl
21st Jul 2007, 03:53pm
Thanks for the memories I loved that programme
22nd Jul 2007, 11:01am
I remember going up to the STV studios to watch it , Dorothy Paul had on an emerald green dress , I thought it was beautiful , I've remembered it all these years , I would have been about 4 at the time.Have not heard of Larry Marshall in years, dont know what happened to him.
22nd Jul 2007, 12:16pm
Didn't Larry Marshall marry Kay Rose the dancer who appeared a lot on the show.?S.funny have never heard of him again either.

Remember going to see a play in the Metropole, Dorothy Paul was in audience, she and I were wearing the same dress.(Guess she must have shopped at Latters (now Bon Marche) too
22nd Jul 2007, 12:50pm
I remember this show very well, as I used to go to my grannies during school lunch hour for my dinner, and it was always on. I hated it, but she loved it.
This was first shown I think on or around 1959.
Charlie Sim died this year. He was born in 1927 and died on 7th February 2007.
some of you might enjoy the following wee STV showreel. It has video segments from shows over the years.
http://www.stv.tv/content/tv/footage_library/and some might find the following wee link nice also. This wee topic has been raised on GG before in 2003, at that time it was Rab who posted the following link..............
http://www.geocities.com/Heartland/Bluffs/6664/index10.html?
Enjoy
Carmella
23rd Jul 2007, 11:31pm
Great memories here .Davy where have you been ?
I've got a couple of the Dorothy Paul videos and of course "The Steamie ".Welcome to all the new pals who have joined and some old pals I haven't heard from before .Cheers Jakka
24th Jul 2007, 09:36am
Hello Jakka ,i love the steamie and dorothy paul

carmella cheers fer posting those clips
Guest betty2 *
24th Jul 2007, 12:53pm

MEMORIES
shell craw
15th Aug 2007, 09:30pm
hi there, yeah my grandad was in a band on it, the quintones!
17th Aug 2007, 01:00pm
aww that was a magic clip a still havent seen the steamie and lonnie donnigan stole my lolly at the one o'clock gang show ma ma shouted at him a dont remember it maself just her and me godmother annie sprowal took me a loved stv
Brian feenan
17th Aug 2007, 11:28pm
I think i remmeber a trumpet player called ? Maxwell around 1959 or 1960. Am I imaging this ?
jock102
27th Dec 2007, 12:45am
The Bass player was Ricky Fernandez.
Ricky Fernandez taught me how to play cello. Great guy.
oldbiker
15th Jan 2008, 12:22am
ANOTHER TWO NAMES CONNECTED WITH THE SHOW WERE SALLY LOGAN AND JOE GORDON I WONDER IF ANYONE CAN TELL ME WHAT SONG IT WAS THEY WERE KNOWN FOR SINGING? I HAVE AN AGEING AUNTIE WHO HAS BEEN TRYING TO REMEMBER THE NAME OF IT FOR ABOUT A WEEK NOW AND SHE'S DRIVING ME RADIO RENTAL ASKING IF I CAN REMEMBER IT
James Wright
14th Feb 2008, 01:10pm
Hi.
Just thought that I would let you know that I bumped into Larry Marshall yesterday. He is living in quiet retirement in the small village of Strathblane. Although older he has hardly changed. Still has a wry sense of humour.
Lachlan Gow
27th Feb 2008, 08:35am
When i was a wee boy in Musselburgh in the early 1960's (where the racecourse and Luca's ice-cream are), i used to rush home at lunchtime from primary school and sit through the pre one o'clock test-card and rousing scottish music segment before STV went on air at 1pm. I loved the One O'Clock Gang - especially Larry Marshall. My dad couldn't stand Jimmy Nairn or "yon daft" Charlie Sim ! What I loved about it most was that it was from Glasgow. My father, being from the West (a teuchter from Kintyre), was far more in tune with Glasgow than Edinburgh and he kept telling me how wonderful Glasgow people were compared to Edinburgh. When I was wee, i had never been to Glasgow but his descriptions made it sound great. You might not believe this - but this is true, I used to watch larry marshall interviewing the kids in the audience and I used to be enthralled by the accents. When they said they came from places like Castlemilk and Possilpark, I was carried away and thought these places sounded really exciting and exotic, compared to where I was !!
One time I got home, Jimmy Nairn read out my name because I had won a prize ! A couple of weeks later, a schoolpal of mine had his name read out for winning prize too !
I seem to recall, wasn't larry marshall originally of Italian origin ?
I'll never forget that great programme !
12th Mar 2008, 12:37pm
I remember rushing home for lunch to catch the programme when I was at Primary school in Auchinairn. The biggest thrill was when a friend of my Mumm's got them tickets for the show and I saw her on TV when the panned the audience.
Guest Matt *
14th Mar 2008, 08:26pm
Nick Nairn the celebrity chef is the son of Jimmy Nairn (the Laird of Menteith).
Larry Marshall's real name, I am led to believe, was Henry Thomasso.
dundee76
28th Mar 2008, 01:17am
QUOTE (Guest Matt * @ 14th Mar 2008, 08:25 PM)

Nick Nairn the celebrity chef is the son of Jimmy Nairn (the Laird of Menteith).
Larry Marshall's real name, I am led to believe, was Henry Thomasso.
Dundee76
28th Mar 2008, 01:32am
The O'Clock gang sometimes travelled round the country and broadcast from other locations. I remember being taken by my Gran to the Palace Theatre in Dundee to see the show "live" - I was excited for days at the prospect and bewildered by the actual event - the stage seemed so far away and the actors so hard to identify from afar compared to the intimacy of having them close-up on the tv in the living-room every day. The Gang were "my" pals and I didn't much like sharing them with all these people! (At that time The Gang was the only television I saw - we didn't have a tv set, my Gran, who looked after me during the day, did). I recollect the Gang sometimes visited children in hospital and, I think, collected donations of money and gifts for them from viewers. I remember we took lollypops with us to the Palace broadcast and handed them to Larry Marshall "for the boys and girls in the hospital" - my Gran interrupting his interview with someone to do so!
Wil
23rd Aug 2008, 12:03pm
I remember in the 50's running home from Primary school to my Nana's house for lunch and more importantly to watch the one o'clock gang.
I remember Larry Marshall,Dorothy Paul,Charlie Simm and Jimmy Nairn. I can't remember much about it now but at the time thoroughly enjoyed it.
Wil
25th Aug 2008, 01:21am
Do you also remember Moira Broidy who played the piano and sung?
26th Aug 2008, 12:02am
larry marchell always had a black and white jaket it was either squares or dogtooth check if a remember
Greig
3rd Oct 2008, 01:09pm
When I was a wee lad my mum took me to the STV studios to be in the audience for the show and Larry came and spoke to me (so my mum says!!) and it was on TV. We got recognised on the bus on the way home to Dunfermilne!
jean preston
8th Nov 2008, 05:51pm
gosh i was in the one o clock gang audience, and reading all the messages brings it all back to me larry marshall and dorothy paul where have all the years gone.
olly12
16th Nov 2008, 01:40am
I USED TO RUN HOME EVERY DINNER TIME T WAS QUITE YOUNG THEN TO WATCH IT,I LOVED IT MY BROTHER WAS ALWAYS SAYING TO ME WHOS YOUR FAVORITE LARRY OR CHARLIE I ALWAYS SAID CHARLIE HE SAID DO YOU FANCY HIM I WOULD NEVER ANSWER HIM ONE DAY WE HAD A ARGUMENT HE WAS STILL TORMENTING ME SO I THOUGHT I WOULD SHUT HIM UP AND SAID I DO FANCY HIM BEFORE I KNEW IT THE WHOLE SREET KNEW EVEN WHEN I WAS GROWING UP AND RUNNING AROUND WITH BOYS HE WOULD TELL THEM ALL I WAS IN LOVE WITH CHARLIE THE BOYS USED TO SHOUT TO ME HOWS CHARLIE I THOUGHT AS WE GOT OLDER HE WOULD STOP BUT IT WENT ON ALL THROUGH MY LIFE WITH ME I WAS WITH HIM WHEN HE PASSED AWAY AND HE STILL HAD THE LAST LAUGH WE WERE TALKING ABOUT DAYS GONE AND I SAID THAT I WAS MORTIFIED HE HE WAS SORRY I LAUGHED AND HE WINKED AT ME AND SAID YOU REALLY DID FANCY HIM WHAT MORE COULD I SAY .
11th Dec 2008, 12:11am
remember going two or three times to show aguy used to stand in front of set whith sign telling the audence when to clap laugh and cheer he was more entertaining than the show cheers jw
Agnes & Robert
18th Dec 2008, 05:38pm
Yes Larry was Italian but with a great Glasgow Brouge, I can remember when the One-O Clock Gang started in the old Theatre Royal which is now STV
jimmy manson
10th Jan 2009, 04:50pm
The singer before Dorothy Paul was Fay Lenore, she got married to farmer called
Jay Scott . There was also Moira Briody not as good looking as Fay.
If you look at Jigtime on You Tube you'll see Jimmy Nairn hosting the show.
Jamie Lawrie
19th Jan 2009, 11:17am
There was another female on the 'One O'clock Gang' besides Dorothy Paul: and Moira Broidy (she did go Australia sadly she died a few years ago ) there was Kay Rose she eventually married Larry . I worked with Larry acting as Stage manager for One night shows touring Scotland and for a summer season on Rothesy .
Lorne Freed
25th May 2009, 09:31pm
Hello
My name is Lorne Freed - a Canadian - and I was the original Producer/Director of "The One O'Clock Gang" in 1957.
I was a young 21 year-old then and this was a wonderful time in my early television career.
I have just retired after 54 years in television.
It's so nice to read all this about the show and it's cast, which I will never forget. Also, so nice to hear about all the people who watched for so many years.
I had a great time in Glasgow and grew to love all the Scottish people.
Regards to all.
28th May 2009, 06:47pm
What brilliant memories abound on this site.
Larry Marshall singing "It's in The News".
I'd completely forgotten the `One o'Clock Gang´....and a lot more; but I'm sure there will be many more reminders to be found as I trawl the topics here.
Many thanks to all who contribute
6th Jun 2009, 01:46am
My big sister emigrated to New Jersey in June 1960 and at Christmas time that year or the next she wrote to the show and Larry Marshall read out Christmas wishes to our family from my sister... Ma mammy wiz greeting like a big wean.....ah jist thought the family wiz famous noo!!!
6th Jun 2009, 05:01am
And so you were stowst. What a lovely thing for your sister to do
nessie80
6th Jun 2009, 10:11pm
QUOTE (stuarty @ 17th Aug 2007, 08:21am)

aww that was a magic clip a still havent seen the steamie and lonnie donnigan stole my lolly at the one o'clock gang show ma ma shouted at him a dont remember it maself just her and me godmother annie sprowal took me a loved stv

Any relation to Sammy and Jessie sprowel who lived in Anderston in the 50's, both are deceased now, they had a daughter called Jessie?
*john*
17th Sep 2009, 02:47pm
the one o,clock gang consisted of Larry Marshall, Charlie Sim, Jimmy Nairn, the Tommy Maxwell trio or quartet? with additional musical entertainment e.g. vocalsby Charlie Sim and Shiela Mathews
Futher there was another show which included Larry Marshall, Jack House, Larry Cross and one other unknown called "I'll Buy That" this show was based on a twenty question format with a jackpot of £100.00 which went to the winner who guessed the object the panel were trying to sell the first winner was a Mr Poli who won the £100.00 jackpot byguessing the object which was a Parsons Nose, Mr Poli owned a fish and chip shop in Blackburn St, any questions please ask me
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.