Polls have opened in Glasgow North East as voters seek to select a new MP for the constituency of former Commons Speaker Michael Martin, who stood down as the local MP in June. There are 40 polling stations across the constituency open for voters to elect one of 13 candidates.
Doors opened at 0700 GMT and will close at 2200 GMT. The result is expected in the early hours of Friday. A total of 62,475 eligible voters can vote in the constituency, however, the turnout is not expected to be above 40%.
Below is a short video made of the photographs taken in Glasgow North East over the last ten years.
12th Nov 2009, 08:41am
Brilliant collage of images together with the simple but powerful words of William Mcilvanney. Pity he is not a politician - or would he be corrupted too?
12th Nov 2009, 09:18am
Brilliant video Martin, although it would break your heart. I was brought up in this area and it's so sad to watch it's decline and almost demise. I hate so say it but I would expect the turn out to be low. I hope the people do find the will to go out and use their vote today. Please God the BNP don't achieve any more credence than they already have the place is ripe for such extreme reactions. It made me think of myself as a wee lassie canvassing for Dick Buchanan and that wisnae yesterday. It was a very different place in those days, a bustling community as you know.
12th Nov 2009, 10:02am
Great video - I wish I was as clever to do stuff like that.
Anyway my bets are on:- Paddy Power
£10 win labour at 1/5 - win would be £12
(freebet) £20 win SNP at 5/2 - win would be £50 (less the freebet stake)
Ladbrokes
£25 win labour at 1/5 - win should be £30
(freebet) £25 Smeaton to get more than 2000 votes 6/1 - result would £150 (less the freebet stake)
For what it is worth I am forecasting turnout at 24,000 but did not bet this.
Best regards
Old Sailor
12th Nov 2009, 10:44am
Thank you for a great video and a haunting song. As I have stated before I have a very strong attachment to Glasgow, albeit having lived here in Canada for over fifty years and being in Vancouver this video has shortened the six thousand miles. Thanks again and I wish the people of Glasgow NE the best of all things good.
12th Nov 2009, 11:45am
It's amazing to see the contrasts in this video, and what has happened in just ten years.
This could be the story of other cities, here as well as in other western parts of the world, there's little doubt about that.
Ken
12th Nov 2009, 12:05pm
Very interesting video, although as I dont live in Glasgow, I didnt recognize much. Had friends who lived in Springburn and would like to see some old photos of Adamswell? Road.
Election results should be interesting.!!!
Ken.
Katherine Goetz
12th Nov 2009, 12:51pm
Great photos, but I cant get any sound.
Pls. help Katherine
Sleekit Liar
12th Nov 2009, 01:19pm
Decent video Glasgow Guide, but I'm afraid the harsh reality in this deprived area is even worse:
Awful. Depressing pictures and depressing music. Anyone from outside the area would think it was all like that, slums ,dereliction and demolition. Just the thing to cheer up us inhabitants. I can appreciate the artistic merits of the film but the message it gives out is one of no hope. There are parts of the East that have been criminally neglected by the outgoing MP so maybe todays election will see a change of direction. We live in a part of the city with beautiful as well as deprived areas, vibrant as well as depressed areas so why not enjoy the positive while working on the negative. John Fae Dennistoun.
ktv
12th Nov 2009, 02:56pm
QUOTE (Sleekit Liar @ 12th Nov 2009, 01:09pm)
Decent video Glasgow Guide, but I'm afraid the harsh reality in this deprived area is even worse:
Yesterday you could get 6/4 at Ladbrokes for a turnout of above 40%. Rain goes against these quite attractive odds.
I am also hearing of stories of 'double glazing' canvassing techniques regarding postal votes. 'Are you working?', 'No,I am not I'm on disability benefit" or "I'm off sick". "Sign here please". On good authority I have heard of scrummage's around people with zimmers/scooters/buggies and wheelchairs in the consitituency targeted for postal voting.
posso-punter
12th Nov 2009, 04:06pm
That was very well put together......in 10 years it's easy not to pay attention to the changes happening before your eyes.
Thoroughly enjoyed that wee look back in time.....very well done.
Biancax3
12th Nov 2009, 04:20pm
Living in the west end i can honestly say i don't give a monkeys.
*8ball345*
12th Nov 2009, 04:28pm
Nosalgic video right enough, but it just tends to confirm my belief (of many years) that none of the "fat cats" in government or council are interested in people's welfare or running the country properly but only in the (large) wage packets going with the job.
8ball.
James Wilson
12th Nov 2009, 05:04pm
I'm sorry and sad to say thank god I left GLASGOW in 1961.
There must be some parts of the city that people take an interest in living standards and shame on Glasgow City Council as they must be held responsible for their city getting in such at state.
Hopefully the people will vote with feelings to return their area into a great place it once was.
Gerry Bradley
12th Nov 2009, 05:21pm
QUOTE (Biancax3 @ 12th Nov 2009, 04:10pm)
Living in the west end i can honestly say i don't give a monkeys.
DUH!
12th Nov 2009, 06:18pm
Snippet from Political Betting
4.06pm: Severin has called in again, this time from St Dennis primary school in Dennistoun, one of the most prosperous parts of the constituency, where Kerr lived until he was two.
Turnout there is steady but undramatic, he said, with 560 votes cast by 4pm.
A Labour activist said most voters looked “very cold. They just looked cold.”
Severin said it was cold, wet and dark, and anyone who was voting now “really wanted to vote”.
Alison Thewliss, an SNP councillor, told him that voters carrying Labour promotional material gave her “a nod and a wink”, which she took as a sign that some were voting for the nationalists.
She said Kerr had been well-received lately. “He had a very good reception on Duke Street. He’s very personable and very good on the doorstep and people appreciate that.”
At this polling station was the first Green party official Severin had seen today, as well as Tory and SNP activists.
12th Nov 2009, 06:34pm
Interesting Ian, I've got my money (literally) on a turnout of below 38%. I placed the bet in person at the Ladbrokes in Springburn (you have a great choice of bookies in Springburn, just as you have a great choice charity shops, kebab shops, chippies, but not much else).
When I put the bet on the chap behind the (reinforced glass, naturally) counter looked at me as if I was daft asking for a political bet. I had a bit of time convincing him that there was such a thing, but he eventually located it on the computer and I got it on. Obviously the Springburn punters weren't betting heavily on the outcome, but if it's below 38% tonight then my weekend is on the great people of Glasgow North East!
In fact, I overheard a bit of a debate in a Springburn pub last night, purely research, of course! One guy was telling another that he should vote BNP and even drew a voting box on a beer mat with the word 'BNP' and a box next to it with a cross in it. Anyway, lecture over, the guy passed the beer mat to the other and told him to put it in his pocket in case he forgot what was said by tomorrow. When the BNP-supporting guy wandered off the other guy turned to his pal and asked him: "What the **** does BNP stand for?". I kid you not!!!
12th Nov 2009, 07:01pm
That was brilliant. The Mike guy from Political Betting has bet for over 40% turnout at Ladbrokes 6/4. His reasoning was based on the Glenrothes turnout. I have commented to him that Glenrothes is not GNE.
My winnings are going to Children in Need by the way.
Best regards
Ruchill Tavern
12th Nov 2009, 07:02pm
Left Ruchill several years ago for the Highlands & must say my heart aches. However, surely, surely ,the good folk will not vote a labour successor to the esteemed "tin-smith" martin, who was leader of the mp's corrupt swindles.? (lack of capital letters deliberate !). to "mr" martin...."Lord Muck from Clabber Hill, never s*** & never will !!
*donald anderson*
12th Nov 2009, 07:22pm
Just in from Springburn, frozen and exhausted. Need tae go back oot efter seein' this.
Seize Independence from the numpties whilst you can.
Biancax3
12th Nov 2009, 09:19pm
it will always remain a shithole because the people How many times have we seen the government regenerate areas only for them to move the same dirty people back in and turn the place into a cesspit again within a couple of years.
People of the NE get off your fat arses, stop pretending your "sick" stop drinking and taking so much drugs and take responsibality for yourselfs instead of whinging and blaming the government.
Why does no one in the west end or south side constantly whinge like the tinks in that part of the city?
12th Nov 2009, 09:38pm
Brilliant stuff! My money is also on a low turnout, although I was reading something about a large postal vote of something in the range of 6000, or about 10% of the total electorate. Could it be Labour's infamous Glenrothes tactic all over again???
Also I hear that Wee Willie Bain was unable to do the usual photocall of a candidate placing his vote because he's no able to vote in the constituency where he is 'local'!!!
Wonder why that is???
usherette
12th Nov 2009, 09:50pm
I have watched and listened to the video quite a few times and im so moved by it.... I havent been in scotland for over 30 years but the passion is still in me.... A lovely song so haunting.... I wish scotland all the very best....
12th Nov 2009, 10:52pm
Thanks all for your kind words re the video, makes it worth making.
Polling closed half an hour ago and I heard on the BBC that the council is predicting a turnout of between 30-35%. If this is true, it will make it the lowest ever turnout for a Westminster by-election in Scotland. That would be a trmendous concern for Gordon Brown, even if – as expected – Labour manages to hold on to one of its safest seats in the UK.
Based on that turnout the BNP would require about 850 votes to retain its deposit – again another first, and again another bad omen for Labour if it happens.
george patterson
12th Nov 2009, 10:55pm
I would recomend the CITY FATHERS, view the rebuilding -- the Japanese City of Nagasaki proves 'If there is a will, there is a way' -- would it take an atomic bomb, dropped in Sauchiehall Street, to move the City Council & Scots Government?
Personally I think Glasgow was a much better city in 1942. It was a caring city, as were its citizens.
'Old Timer'
12th Nov 2009, 11:57pm
GNE latest gossip from Political Betting
SNP desperately spinning and smearing before the result is even announced:-
‘23:21pm - Voter fraud!
Huge news from Dennistoun where voter fraud is suggested.
I have been told by someone at the scene that people turned up to the count in Dennistoun to find their names were already scored off the electoral register.’
norrie123
12th Nov 2009, 11:57pm
Hi GG, I enjoyed the video, its been a long time since I lived in Springburn but I do pass through that side of town often and I have taken photographs from all areas in Glasgow, must admit, the east end has been neglected in places.
Bye for now, norrie
13th Nov 2009, 01:18am
BNP predicted to come third (after Labour and SNP), could be best ever UK election result for BNP. If this happens it will dramatically overshadow Labour holding on to its safest UK seat. SNP has accepted defeat to Labour. Result to follow....
annabella
13th Nov 2009, 01:24am
Enjoyed video of springburn and seeing the high rise flats was something else for us as we have been in Australia for forty years with plenty of space around us, so it was certainly something different. Is their any videos of the main shopping areas as I would like to view them. Thanks anyway.
13th Nov 2009, 02:06am
Rumour is that Conservatives have squeezed narrowly into third place ahead of BNP. Labour majority in the region of 8,000. Result to follow...
13th Nov 2009, 02:17am
1. Labour (8,000 majority) 2. SNP 3. Conservatives 4. BNP 5. Tommy Sheridan (Solidarity)
Turnout: 33% ... YES!!! *
* (Sorry, that was a personal yes as I had money on a low turnout!)
weebren3
13th Nov 2009, 05:20am
awsome voice,Thanks for the memories.never lived in springburn but had great friends who did.No matter what part you live everyone needs to pull together and help to keep the place in the best way they can,keep glasgow clean,we are the people not the lab,party or snp.come on vote for the scots.Every person who qoted they are glad they moved from glasgow,well sorry poverty is the world over,I have seen it.Dont you scots put our country down or glasgow Please.I am proud to be scots,so should you.We will Rise up as wallace said. I live in canada,now but been long time,but The person from BC or Assie,who are scots dont post about junkies,and poverty when its in yr own back yards.All is entilted to there opinions,but come on there is no bed of roses there either.I can still vote and mine will be on that ballot. Cheers all.Scotland forever.
North Canalbank St
13th Nov 2009, 10:26am
So what happened to the SNP vote. Is the Nationalist bubble starting to burst. 4,120 votes hardly seems like the party of goverment. Did the SNP make a mistake in their choice of candidate. Funny feeling if the SNP had won Glasgow North East there would be a couple of hundred posts telling us the inside story. Come on my nationalist friends, tell us your story.
13th Nov 2009, 11:10am
I am quite surprised by the Labour majority being as large as it was. I expected them to win but not with an 8000 majority (10000 last time). It would be interesting to find out how many postal votes were made in total.
I won a total of £7 betting on Labour. I will round this up to £20 and donate to Children in Need.
In my opinion SNP had a poor choice of candidate - he was their 4th choice and came with too much baggage including his membership of Opus Dei. Additionally, maybe the electorate that voted in GNE, think that in the longer term their prospects might be better under Labour.
There also might just be some people who have looked at the SNP record, and of those in Edinburgh - like kids left alone in the sweetie shop; spending money like its going out of fashion, and coming up with some bonkers ideas.
Most amazing result of the night for me was Ruth Davidson for the Conservatives coming third. This shows that having a good candidate can make a huge difference. Imagine if SNP had a candidate like Ruth Davidson.
Anyway, excitement is over for now. I'm away to bet some horses.
North Canalbank St
13th Nov 2009, 12:04pm
If you think it was amazing that the tories came a far behind third with 62 votes more than a Nazi, please tell us were you think the tories were going to come on the list. 12th, 11th, 10th........................... That must the poorest result for a tory in a UK by election in living memory.
Patter Merchant
13th Nov 2009, 12:43pm
Great video.... and it ends with a note of optimism I believe, but who can deliver optimism for the people of Glasgow North East? From the results of the by-election, apparently not the SNP!
Can you imagine what ten more years of neo-liberal policies (this time from the Tories) will do to the area? GG, I hope you keep on taking those pix!!!!
13th Nov 2009, 01:17pm
Great Video martin, Makes you think there by the Grace of God go I .
I hate to see the decline but for me it is still the place that I love, Thanks for the Video.
Cash-Ma-Giro
13th Nov 2009, 02:31pm
Excellent video GG, well thought out and edited, the background track sits neatly along with it. All rather emotional.
I viewed areas in the video I've never seen before, I must broaden my horizens in future.
Oh, and I too am surprised at Labour's majority.
13th Nov 2009, 03:45pm
QUOTE (North Canalbank St @ 13th Nov 2009, 11:54am)
If you think it was amazing that the tories came a far behind third with 62 votes more than a Nazi, please tell us were you think the tories were going to come on the list. 12th, 11th, 10th........................... That must the poorest result for a tory in a UK by election in living memory.
Believe me Ruth Davidson coming third for the conservatives in Springburn was a major achievement and certainly against many peoples expectations. Normally the tories don't even put a candidate up in areas like Springburn. I think in the last two general elections they never put anyone up for the seat. They'll get there deposit back which I'm sure they did not expect.
The bookies had the Conservatives, with the likes of Greens, LibDem, Tommy Sheridan, and someone called Mikey Hughes at 100/1. It is unfortunate that there was no such thing as each way bets in political betting.
Regards,
chippyjim
13th Nov 2009, 04:43pm
to northcanelbank re snp vote not to worried about a 10 month stint lets wait for the big one as for snp forgettng glasgow dont think so who has been in goverment for the last 70 yrs not snp regards jim
13th Nov 2009, 05:08pm
The Guardian has quite a good summary of the GNE result.
I also read on another site this story. Conservative canvasser's stop a wee woman in the street in Springburn and asks for her support. She replies "Aw, no, sorry we don't do politics here - we just vote Labour".
Alex Saville
13th Nov 2009, 05:43pm
Martin, I thought your video was very good! Very emotional and thought provoking! I also liked the video referred to in post 9 by Sleekit Liar. May I recommend this to others to look at? It certainly gives food for thought. If the allegation that Willie Bain is registered to vote in London's Hammersmith & Fulham, voter Reg No 1141z is true, then he has been lying to us about living locally! If that is true, what else has he lied about? As to the result, Willie Bain is quoted on the BBC News site saying 'The result has sent a resounding message to Alex Salmond'. I disagree! I suggest the message the voters sent went to Gordon Brown. It says no matter how corrupt your MP's are, no matter if you elevate them to the House of Lords, no matter how many lies you tell, WE WILL STILL VOTE FOR YOU!! The SNP will also have to do a lot of soul searching, they are not making headway at all in Westminster election's. Labour made all the running in this election and it was as if the SNP did not have the heart for the battle. It is interesting, to say the least, to note the rise of the BNP in GNE. They have came from behind and cant be displeased with their share of the vote. (Just for the record, NO, I didn't vote for them!) which seems to slowly move up at every election. What will happen if some of those who voted for the defeated parties, take on board the Labour & Tory message that the General Election is a two horse race, get it into their head that the protest vote is now the BNP? I think that is a possibility. I base this theory on the following. On R/Scotlands 'Morning Extra programme, people were interviewed on the streets who said, quite proudly, they voted Labour because their Mother or Father did and would continue to do so! Indeed, one woman said she wasn't happy with all that Labour had done 'But better the devil you know!' Those statements are bound to make some people think that if they cant get their candidate elected they will invoke the 'My enemies enemy is my friend' theory! All credit to Labour, they got 12,00 votes, in a poor turnout election. The next party, the SNP did not get anywhere close. They may have increased their vote, but clearly, are in the dark.
A sad day for us in this very deprived Springburn. Alex
beezzneezz1
13th Nov 2009, 06:47pm
willie bain does not stay in springburn ....its his mum that stays in eccles st...the high rise flats....someone should ask him if hes regestered for council tax from his springburn home, i doubt it very much ....also what is strange for him to claim thats he stays in springburn but he couldnt vote ....
13th Nov 2009, 07:13pm
QUOTE (beezzneezz1 @ 13th Nov 2009, 06:37pm)
willie bain does not stay in springburn ....its his mum that stays in eccles st...the high rise flats....someone should ask him if hes regestered for council tax from his springburn home, i doubt it very much ....also what is strange for him to claim thats he stays in springburn but he couldnt vote ....
He was also very fat and owes his now trimmed physique to Putney Weightwatchers. But the people have spoken and Prof Bain is now there man - 12,000 people surely cannot be wrong?
Seriously as I've said elsewhere Homer Simpson could have got in for Labour.
Rosemary
13th Nov 2009, 08:12pm
Video was fantastic, many thanks
RMM.
*Tam*
13th Nov 2009, 08:31pm
Thanks so much for this... having left Balornock in 1966 to come to Canada but as all ex-pats of Glasgow am very concerned and appreciate this notice... I will pass this video along...
Cheers from Ontario...
Tam.
14th Nov 2009, 05:24am
As the Who said more elequently than I ever could, "Meet the new boss, same as the old boss".
North Canalbank St
14th Nov 2009, 06:33am
QUOTE (pumps100 @ 13th Nov 2009, 03:35pm)
Believe me Ruth Davidson coming third for the conservatives in Springburn was a major achievement and certainly against many peoples expectations. Normally the tories don't even put a candidate up in areas like Springburn. I think in the last two general elections they never put anyone up for the seat. They'll get there deposit back which I'm sure they did not expect.
The bookies had the Conservatives, with the likes of Greens, LibDem, Tommy Sheridan, and someone called Mikey Hughes at 100/1. It is unfortunate that there was no such thing as each way bets in political betting.
Regards,
The tories did,nt put anyone at the last two elections because of an agreement not to stand against the speaker. If a lesbian tory from Partick can get a 1000 votes, according to the pink news, anything,s possible, what do you think annabel ?