27th Sep 2009, 10:53am
Comments made in an article in today's
Independent on Sunday newspaper claim that major US performing artists who were expected to attend this week's Glasgow MOBO music awards will not now be attending because Glasgow is viewed as too plain, too far and too white.
In previous years the event, which celebrates artists who perform black music, attracted "world-spanning, platinum-disc-gathering artists" to one of the most prestigious events on the music industry calendar. However - according to the Independent - US megastars will this year boycott the ceremony after it was moved outside London for the first time in its fourteen year history.
From the article,
US music titans boycott Mobo awards in Glasgow:
The 14th Mobo awards [in Glasgow], which celebrate artists of any race or nationality who perform black music, features many groups and individuals who have been part of reality TV shows such as The X Factor and Britain's Got Talent. Reality TV performers such as JLS, Shaheen Jafargholi and Flawless have all been nominated. But even though US music titans including Jay-Z, Eminem, Beyoncé and Lady Gaga are all up for awards, they will not be attending or performing.
It was a very different story four years ago. At the 2005 Mobo awards when some of America's biggest stars turned up to perform, Grammy award winner John Legend, Public Enemy and Lauryn Hill made the ceremony one of the biggest nights since the Mobo awards began in 1996.
Paul McKenzie, former Mobo panellist and former editor of Touch magazine, said about the move from London to Glasgow:
"The real problem is getting the stars to go to Glasgow. I can understand why the Mobos went to Glasgow – because they were having problems getting the council to foot the bill for security. But it simply doesn't work. Glasgow just isn't sexy and it's a very white city. Even Leeds, Cardiff or Birmingham would have made more sense. It's not a big draw for US artists. They've really struggled to get the big stars. Ask any American artist where Scotland is and they'd probably struggle."
A spokeswoman for the Mobo awards event, who was keen to focus on the promotion of homegrown talent, said:
"The main thing that is coming out of these awards is the real strength of the British scene at the moment. Actually, we don't need the international artists any more because the scene is strong enough. We've got all these artists selling number one records at the moment and they're British.
"It's a great sign of where we've come in that time and how it affects the music industry. Some of the British artists are actually adopting the American model now as they're becoming brands in their own right as well as artists."
Independent article here:
http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertai...ow-1793973.htmlGG.
dugald
28th Sep 2009, 10:53am
As well as the information provided in GG's title, the editor of Touch magazine, quoted in GG's post, informs us further, with regard to the move of the MOBO music awards from London to Glasgow that :
"Glasgow just isn't sexy and it's a very white city.".
Now then, should Glaswegians shed any tears about these apparent deficiences in the character of their city? I don't think so. I'm well aware of what "a very white city" means, and at times I know exactly what "too far" means, but what the heck constitutes a "sexy city"? No matter, I just can't imagine too many Glaswegians being upset about the absence of the major US performing artists at this week's Glasgow MOBO music awards... well I sincerely hope not anyway.
28th Sep 2009, 11:28am
Got it in one Dugald.
28th Sep 2009, 12:47pm
Ah, well, they don't know Glasgow's got 'Our Melody' do they
28th Sep 2009, 01:11pm
By the way, Melody, that Carmella is starting rumours about you and firemen!!
What is she on about ?
28th Sep 2009, 02:03pm
LOL Tommy Kennedy you need a huge wooden spoon.
Melody and I both love Firemen to bits.

OMG - MELODY WOULD YOU LOOK AT THE SIZE OF THAT HOSE.!!!!
On a more serious note, this doesn't phase me in the slightest.
Now, what would have been made of this news worthy item if the word 'white' had been substituted for 'black' or dare I mention 'muslim' 'enough'? I think a lot more.
A sexy city, well I'll have to think about that one, there must be a city I've visited somewhere on this earth that can be described thus. Give me a year and I may come up with one.
28th Sep 2009, 03:20pm
Somerset Maughman said; 'Singapore', he described it thus:
'Singapore is a city so wicked it's hard to be sinful there'!
I loved it there

And what did Rabbie say about 'Auld Ayr' - 'Ne're a town surpasses for honest men an' bonnie lassies' - and Rabbie knew his lassies!!!
28th Sep 2009, 03:35pm
Well if you ask me there's no Sexier City than Glasgow!
Where else do folk look like a million bucks on a night out, dressed to the nines with the hair all done, fabulous clothes and wearing the best perfumes?
Im talking about the Men too, NOBODY can beat Glasgow for the Style, Humour and Presentation!
If any of these Artists don't show up it's because they're intimidated with the Style and Class that's already there. Some of them wouldnae know these attributes if they fell over them!
As for yer man in London......Suck up the soor grapes Princess

Glasgow ROCKS!!
{How wherr did ye's see the Firemen Melody an Carmella? Hurry up an tellus}
28th Sep 2009, 03:38pm
Some kinky wimmen on here
Cash-Ma-Giro
28th Sep 2009, 03:49pm
Hmmmm, wonder how acceptable a MOWO celebration would be.
28th Sep 2009, 03:58pm
I remember from way back, even my mother telling me that the men and women in Glasgow had style when they went out at night. I've seen it myself many times too.
They might not have had much money either, but they sure know still how to get dressed up for a night out.
Good post Catherine, I totally agree with you.
28th Sep 2009, 04:01pm
Speaking on BBC Radio Scotland’s Good Morning Scotland programme today Mr McKenzie tried to explain his comments:
"It's great news for Glasgow or any town that gets a major event, because first and foremost, the MOBOs is a major event…
But unfortunately for Glasgow there will be no major stars there...
Obviously I don't want to cause offence to anyone in Scotland and in Glasgow particularly, where I've had many a good time, but Glasgow quite simply is not a multicultural city, it's a very white city. It has a steady little Asian community.
(But) I was in Glasgow two months ago I was playing spot the black person there, it is not a multicultural town, and for an event which is initially a black event with a complete multicultural umbrella it really belongs in a multicultural town, we're talking Cardiff here, we're talking Manchester, Leeds, Liverpool."
28th Sep 2009, 05:25pm
These Awards are for the celebration of Black MUSIC......NOT about any colour of Skin on any Human Being who happens to be performing the Music.
There is a difference and this Man being in the Business should know this.
Paul McKenzie in my opinion sounds as if he's still trying to justify his own soor grapes issue.
Glasgow has a 'steady Asian Community'....could he be any more condescending or patronising?
Don't know about yerself Martin but I for one find it quite humerous the Mans obviously never heard of that saying, he's better gaun in that direction if ye ask me
Carmella Geoff gets puffed oot tryin to keep up the style when he's home on Holiday, he always gets blown away with how much effort everyone takes in getting ready for a night oot...or a night in...an Occasion is an Occasion sure it is .
Tommy ah'll kinky ye
28th Sep 2009, 06:20pm
BIG QUESTION IS THIS.
How does Tommy Kennedy know what kinky women are like?
Now Catherine I ask you - how does he know this LOL.
Glasgow folks always put on the style, no matter what. They take ages getting ready, as you said Catherine not just us ladies, but the men do too.
28th Sep 2009, 06:42pm
Mibbe Tommy's wan of thae Singapore KinkySling drinkers Carmella
Wonder if the Awards will be televised over here, would be great to watch
28th Sep 2009, 07:08pm
Not sure about international broadcasting rights, but found this on the BBC website Catherine:
Mobo Awards
Live event/outside broadcast
Wednesday 30 September
9.00-11.00pm BBC THREE
Reggie Yates hosts BBC Three's coverage of the 2009 Mobo Awards, live from Glasgow's SECC.
For the first time, the Mobo Awards are being held in Glasgow and some of the world's biggest stars descend on the Scottish city for a stellar evening, which includes performances from Chipmunk featuring Flawless, JLS, Diversity and Jermaine Jackson. There is also a tribute to Michael Jackson.
This year, Tinchy Stryder, Dizzee Rascal, N-Dubz and Chipmunk are the most nominated artists, reflecting their domination of the UK's singles chart. Other nominees include Alesha Dixon, JLS, Eminem and Beyoncé.
Launched in 1996 by founder and CEO Kanya King, the Mobo Awards were the first Awards show in Europe to celebrate urban music.
There is also extensive radio coverage of the Awards on BBC 1Xtra today with Tim Westwood (4-7pm) and Mistajam (7-10pm) bringing all the behind-the-scenes action and news.
Highlights of the Mobo Awards can be seen on Friday on BBC One.
LW
RobyneErica
28th Sep 2009, 07:45pm
Well, I'm somewhat sympathetic to both sides on this one. I've lived in places MUCH more diverse than Glasgow, but also much more white. I wouldn't say that Glasgow is without diversity though!
However, when Coldplay played Hampden a couple weeks ago, Jay-Z opened (possibly the most bizarre musical combination since I saw Kanye open for U2, which still sort of made more sense). As I understand it, the stadium was mostly empty, and people weren't really into it. He is a pretty big mover and shaker in the black music industry (and the entertainment world in general) - I wouldn't be surprised, nor could I blame him, if he wasn't in a huge rush to get back here (or encourage his wife Beyoncé, etc.).
As for white and not sexy - clearly these people have seen the scantily-clad, orange-skinned females in the city centre on cold, wet, Glasgow weekends. Not that I'm arguing they are sexy! :-)
dugald
28th Sep 2009, 09:41pm
In my Reply #2, i asked the question:
"...but what the heck constitutes a "sexy city"? ".
No answer to my question, but a formidable assertion:
"Well if you ask me there's no Sexier City than Glasgow!"
I'd never have called Glasgow "sexy" with the inference that "sex" had anything to do with Glasgow being a great city. I think the use of the word here means "sexy" in the same sense as a pair of high-heel shoes and short skirts. Hmmmph, ah don't know!
28th Sep 2009, 10:04pm
Dugald ye sayin ahm confusin ye?
The reason I have for thinking of Glasgow as being a 'sexy' City, is not due to the hankypanky per say.
I personally think there is nothing sexier than hearing a great laugh come from someone, listening to reams of Humour flow freely in conversation, and a general overall feeling of being in good company where nothing is a bother for anyone to do for you, PLUS everyone has made an effort in looking great.
Yes Robyne Erica, some may have an Orange glow to them and no much else on, but THEY think they look brilliant because that is their style.
I love that confidence and vibrancy. {nice tae see you posting too, ye still lovin Glasgow?}
All points mentioned above make a Sexy City for me ..love it!
28th Sep 2009, 10:13pm
The expression "Sexy" can be likened to my mate Kris's expression "Geil" which tripped from his lips like I've never heard him use before in his native land. Giel, sexy, rockin', with it, cool, F'n great , whatever, it all applies to Glasgow ... but there really aint too many blacks here babes and blacks didn't only make the music de is d' music.
Glasgow is a bit too white ... is it to cold for the bros up there?
29th Sep 2009, 06:04am
The cold doesn't stop the wee lassies going out on a Saturday night with next to nothing on them THH.

It's a shame they're not coming to Glasgow they would have had the time of their lives. I must admit I don't like the term 'sexy' city. We prefer the word 'gallus' city.

Far more apt.
29th Sep 2009, 06:53am
Sexy and not white... orange apparently:
The Barelegged Girls of Glasgowhttp://www.myspace.com/theicingglasgowGG.
29th Sep 2009, 08:31am
Like Dugald, I do not have a clue what constitutes a ' sexy city'.
In all the place's and in all the cities I've been in, I wouldn't describe any of them as being sexy. That includes New York, the city that never sleeps.
As for Glasgow being too white, well thank God for that.
29th Sep 2009, 10:04am
Too white, ma erse.
Where else in the world wid we have green orangemen?
dugald
29th Sep 2009, 10:41am
Aye Catherine, ahm sayin' your confusen mi! All this laughing, humour, free flowing conversation, and a general overall feeling of being in good company, to which we can justifiably add an effort having been made to appear in their best habiliment , would make an ideal description of a church social in Govan... and I'm sure you'll agree there's nothing sexy about that...well, there didn't use to be! Anyway, it's a fine effort to separate the good from the bad aspects of "sexy" when applied to Glasgow, znd ah really enjoyed your post.
Cash-Ma-Giro
30th Sep 2009, 11:50am
Paul McKenzie, former Mobo panellist and former editor of Touch magazine, said about the move from London to Glasgow:
"<cut> Glasgow just isn't sexy and it's a very white city <cut>".
QUOTE (carmella @ 28th Sep 2009, 04:00pm)

<cut>
Now, what would have been made of this news worthy item if the word 'white' had been substituted for 'black' or dare I mention 'muslim' 'enough'? I think a lot more.<cut>
Waaaait a minute, Your'e absotutely correct carmella, and I admire your strength of character for bringing up that point.
Just how did Paul McKenzie got away with stating "Glasgow is a very white city", Yet, if a reverse situation arose, and somebody should state "Glasgow is a very black city" there would be an outcry of Racism!!!!!
Aaand, if an attempt at a MOWA celebration was made, it would be pounced upon immediately after any press release.
Good on you.
30th Sep 2009, 03:01pm
Maybe it's because the colour of any persons skin is just that, to Paul McKenzie ?
It's about the only comment {if taken in that way} he seems to have got right.
Hopefully one day ALL people will not feel they have to fight for everything, take umbrage at the slightest and be so defensive.
Until then, show by example is my Motto.
Just my opinion
Thanks for the Links there Martin
shamble 17
30th Sep 2009, 06:26pm
I think that we will find that in modern English usage "sexy" can be taken to mean "stimulating", "attractive", "exciting" or "appealing". If you think Glasgow is any, or all, of these then you will be comfortable with a description of the city that includes "sexy".
As for Glasgow being too white, well thank God for that.
Shudder!!!!
30th Sep 2009, 11:09pm
Make that a collective shudder Shamble 17.
Here ah must be dead modern then

....that's what I was meaning when I called Glasgow Sexy
30th Sep 2009, 11:38pm
For the record, the MOBO Awards' winners were:
- BEST UK ACT: N-Dubz
- BEST UK NEWCOMER: JLS
- BEST R&B / SOUL ACT: Keri Hilson
- BEST HIP HOP ACT: Chipmunk
- BEST VIDEO: ‘Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It)’ – Beyonce
- BEST INTERNATIONAL ACT: Beyonce
- BEST SONG: ‘Beat Again’ – JLS
- BEST ALBUM: ‘Uncle B’ - N-Dubz
- BEST REGGAE: Sean Paul
- BEST JAZZ ACT: Yolanda Brown
- BEST AFRICAN ACT: Nnekaoumou Sangare
- BEST GOSPEL ACT: Victizzle
dugald
30th Sep 2009, 11:50pm
Yes Shamble, an interesting and very useful molding of the meaning of the word "sexy". I think too, your meaning would require a definition of "modern English usage". The question is, what did the editor of Touch magazine mean when he used the phrase,
"Glasgow just isn't sexy and it's a very white city."?
If we consider the "very white city ." part, we see the meaning is quite clear without any age constraints. Applying the same 'no-age constraint' to the "sexy" bit, we could obtain,
"Arousing or tending to arouse sexual desire or interest."
The question remains, what did the editor of Touch magazine mean? And I wonder, with what interpretation would Glaswegians be happier?
shamble 17
1st Oct 2009, 06:14pm
I think too, your meaning would require a definition of "modern English usage".
Not so! "Modern English usage" is a common phrase and its meaning is well known.
marydee
2nd Oct 2009, 09:28pm
From what the papers are saying Glasgow's first go at hosting the MOBO Awards seem to have been a great sucess. We might not be able to sort the roads or count how many weans we have at primary school but it seems we can put on an event. "The best thing we ever did was take the MOBO Awards to Glasgow. Thank you for such a warm reception we'll be back " (Kanya King, founder and head of the MOBO organisation)
3rd Oct 2009, 12:47am
Bejezzus, to be sure.
Glad ah didnea have to attend this celebration of *music*? in any capacity, steaming or better.
Listening to yon gathering of alphabetically confused cloons, has to be worse than getting keept ahint at school, after 4 o'clock, fur 2 full hours of full on RE with a maniacal, belt wealding teecher machine gunning nonsensical junk into yer disinterested persona. A persona that was more interested in trying to get a decent winching session going wi the bonnie lassie sat at next desk.
I did enjoy RE, it lead to a certain enlightenment ahint the dinnur school.
Anyways, thats quite enough of that.
Noo, if yon shower of vocalistic, I use the term loosely, wannabees had a wee bit of auld Motoon class. Jist maybe, I could meld a little.
Oh, I gie up. Mibie, ah'm getting to auld and crabbit to pit up wi some o yon squelling and bawlin that is supposed to pass for singing these days.
I can still tell tripe from onions. I goat a good hearinf aid. So yon to me is neither, it's jist minging. However, I must make a note to get my spelling aid chequed, it can be costly.
Wan da, I will find something nice to say c<rap> and associated styles of *music.*
Inshalla .. Deus vult..
3rd Oct 2009, 03:10pm
Ach, why do they no clear aff tae California wi their rubbish musik! Gie us Jimmy Shand back!
4th Oct 2009, 07:00am
and his band Rab and his band
The stars have their say here:
http://itn.co.uk/64311a935660d8df7f5aec771ef63121.htmlAlthough the organiser's opinion that the move to Glasgow was driven by a desire to spread the message of urban music around the UK is somewhat undermined by the facts; apparently there were major concerns surrounding security at the event in London and the council in London were no longer prepared to foot the bill for the high cost requird to ensure fans' and performers' safety at the event.
There were no security problems reported in Glasgow.
Responding to the
initial comments by an ex-Mobos panelist that Glasgow was "too white" Paul Bush, chief executive of EventScotland, said:
"I heard him [Mr McKenzie] on the radio and I think he’s misinformed. Glasgow is a multicultural city as much as anywhere else.
The Mobo awards have grown so much they’re not just about black music for black people. The music that is celebrated at the awards is doing so well in the charts at the moment and the people that are buying it to get it to number one are from all races and walks of life.
I think it might have been a bit of London media speak, not wanting to move from London. Everyone you speak to on the streets know about the event and are excited that these big names are coming to their city.
The economic benefit is in excess of £1 million for Glasgow but it will show organisers of other events what we can do. Hopefully it will attract lots more interest with events like the Brits in the future. This is the first major London based music event that has ever moved. I guess it is a heap leap of faith for both sides.
It is an event that both Glasgow and Scotland have taken to their hearts. It was a fresh look for the event which has been in London for the last few years now. They have moved around in the capital and I guess they were probably quite surprised what we have managed to put on the ground for them.
The welcome that both we and the public have given them has been incredible and I don’t think anyone expected it to be so well received."
4th Oct 2009, 07:36pm
Thanks for that wee read there Martin, Well Done Glasgow!
kerry4652
10th Oct 2009, 10:59am
So where does all the financial benefit come from seeing as there would be a big security cost, a large cleaning bill and a crowd of less than 7000. Would that mean Celtic and Rangers bring fortunes to Glasgow each week.
Thank god for such music awards or we would still be living in the stoneage wae the auld boring Jimmy Shand and thon band of his.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.