Full Version: Who Is This?
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > Images Chit Chat
Just a bit of fun. (To save you the bother - its not me!)

musicthom
hmm need some clues is it a welknown scot ?
Don't know , but cute whoever it is . smile.gif Go on tell us Rab , who is it ?

Or at least give us a clue? biggrin.gif
Rab, do you know who it is?

Did she appear at the Glasgow Pavilion?
QUOTE (musicthom @ 9th May 2009, 10:54pm) *
hmm need some clues is it a welknown scot ?

Yes. Very.
QUOTE (stratson @ 10th May 2009, 07:48pm) *
Rab, do you know who it is?

Did she appear at the Glasgow Pavilion?

1. Yes.

2. I doubt it very much! laugh.gif

(Sorry - perhaps I should have titled this 'Guess who this is')
QUOTE (petalpeeps @ 10th May 2009, 04:57pm) *
Don't know , but cute whoever it is . smile.gif Go on tell us Rab , who is it ?

Or at least give us a clue? biggrin.gif

Famous writer etc. Photo taken around 1850s.
Molly Weir unsure.gif
QUOTE (murn @ 10th May 2009, 08:43pm) *
Molly Weir unsure.gif

Sorry murn I was editing my last reply when you posted this - so not Molly but good try.
I know who it is and it's not a wee lassie either. laugh.gif
Oh, come on Melody, you can tell me, am about to retire and I won't sleep. rolleyes.gif
Aw, whit a wee treasure wink.gif
I knew clues would spoil it!
Is it Robert Lou rolleyes.gif is Stevenson?
och Rab dont be a spoilsport come on tel us rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
Hey Rab, am waitin' tae get tae ma bed, come on noo, hurry up! laugh.gif
hope your listening Rab the woman is tired laugh.gif
George Sands .É
QUOTE (stratson @ 10th May 2009, 09:43pm) *

Now, whatever made you think of him? Quite correct though. wink.gif
This is him on the right in Samoa not long before he died. I think there was something a bit peculiar about him!! He wrote some great stuff though.

Come on you lot - off to bed now or else Rab will torment you with some other fascinating conundrum!
choochoo
QUOTE (stuarty @ 11th May 2009, 12:00am) *
choochoo

Eh?
QUOTE (Rab @ 11th May 2009, 12:55am) *
Now, whatever made you think of him? Quite correct though. wink.gif
This is him on the right in Samoa not long before he died. I think there was something a bit peculiar about him!! He wrote some great stuff though.

Come on you lot - off to bed now or else Rab will torment you with some other fascinating conundrum!

Rab, is it no any wonder the guy wiz strange, a mean, dressin' him up like a wee lassie, commoan noo! laugh.gif
QUOTE (stratson @ 10th May 2009, 09:43pm) *

RAB the choochoo was the train he invented laugh.gif oops ROBERT STEPHENSON wright name wrang person ooopsadaisy duhhhhhhh
I believe RLS was much esteemed in Western Samoa so much so that, when he died, locals eagerly carried his beir to the top of a small mountain overlooking his beloved Vailima estate for burial.

In those days Samoa, like many of its South Pacific neighbours, was believed to be an area of extreme freedom !

I've been there twice and it is also the most beautiful country I have ever visited.

Tombro rolleyes.gif
Here is his grave. Inscribed on it is written his famous self-written epitaph -

''Under the wide and starry sky,
Dig the grave and let me lie.
Glad did I live and gladly die,
And I laid me down with a will.

This be the verse you grave for me:
Here he lies where he longed to be;
Home is the sailor, home from sea,
And the hunter home from the hill.'

Ok Mr Clooney who is the wee fella ? huh.gif Bet you three shots you willny get it biggrin.gif
QUOTE (Lennox @ 18th May 2009, 08:29pm) *
Ok Mr Clooney who is the wee fella ? huh.gif Bet you three shots you willny get it biggrin.gif

I think you could be right lassie, but to have a wild guess, how about Douglas Macarthur? That leaves me about three hundred billion guesses!
Naw Rab it's no McArthur,
Is it his wee brother Arthur?
Same man bit older just as handsome , loved by millions
no sure but it looks like Gordon Jackson huh.gif
No not him but it does look like him good guess Murn biggrin.gif
Lennox, is that a military uniform the young guy has on?
QUOTE (George Muir @ 18th May 2009, 10:41pm) *
Lennox, is that a military uniform the young guy has on?

I am not sure George it may be a school uniform ..
is he an actor or politician huh.gif
Neither , but some say he was the best we have had so far last one I am going home I'll post later if nae biddy get it

You never saw this side of him much when he was living biggrin.gif
so I guess it isnae G W rolleyes.gif
pope john paul ii huh.gif
David Attenborough huh.gif
QUOTE (murn @ 18th May 2009, 11:30pm) *
pope john paul ii huh.gif

It took you long enough yes it is , I love these old photo's of him.. I still remember the day he became Pope and the day he passed .
yee were right he wis the best wink.gif bit I had never saw they old photos of him, but did see some documentary a while back about his school days.
QUOTE (murn @ 19th May 2009, 12:33am) *
yee were right he wis the best wink.gif

I think so anaw Murn and that comes from someone who "played on the other team" I think he had The it factor that touched us all. biggrin.gif
need more like him wink.gif
When I was in Poland I was in the house where John Paul lived with his family and there are a lot of picture's of him and his parents on the walls.

The house has been kept as it was when he lived there and it is a very popular place to visit.

He was a lovely person and I'll never forget seeing him when he visited Glasgow.

I have a book about him; Man from a far Country.
It is worth reading and tells about his young life and how he was orphaned when in his early 20s. Also about when as a student he was forced to work in a quarry, and when he went into the underground Seminary in the Cardinals Palace, he was on the Nazi wanted list.
Another famous Scot..not a actor,
Well goin' oan that picture he wis LEFT oot the Average White Band...laugh.gif
Naw , he wis not , I had to cut oot the others this was a personal photy from a loooooooonnng time ago huh.gif
Ocht awright then...ah thoat ma first answer wis better but ah'll go wi' Midge Ure...huh.gif
What site did look him up but aye it him laugh.gif