Full Version: Photos Of Everywhere In Uk
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > Images Chit Chat
Here is an interesting link to local photos taken by local people. Lots of Glasgow and district. Self-explanatory. [url="http://www.geograph.org.uk/"]
eg.

Shawlands Cross
Fab Rab i was at shawlands cross a few times when I was hame thanks fur taking me back pal cheers! laugh.gif
Hi All .Some Cowcaddens abroad people may remember this Cheers Flim
Teenybash
Thanks for posting the photie Flam. If memory serves me right, that's the building at Round Toll my Mammy used to work in. During the 60's and 70's, one-up was Modern Mantles, where she was a sewing machinist.
Hi Teenybash Yes you are quite correct in saying it was called Modern Mantles at one time,and I believe it was also a Dance Hall at one time called The Tower,and if my memory serves me well ,there was a murder in it at one time,hopefully Hudgy will verify this as he stayed in that proximity Cheers Flim
this was me at blenhiem palace wher winston chirchhill was born this was taken in september 2001 and a went back to places where I did my courting with my ex husband in the late 70ies as a wanted to show my boys whrer they came from and how we romanced at nice parts of the cotswolds
this is shilton a wee small romantic village outside brize norton it had a ford am standing in it and the other pic is bourton on the water it was so romanitc but is very commercilized in this picture
and the beehive pub in carterton the wee village next to brize norton a had many a laugh in tat pub and if walls could talk a would have been on many a charge bad bad stuarty laugh.gif
So ye wur a wee blonde then stuarty? rolleyes.gif
don't know about being blond bit she wis a wee looker wink.gif
TB40
No blonde jokes here. Nice pics stuarty wink.gif
Agnes & Robert
QUOTE (lindamac @ 26th Nov 2008, 03:49am) *
Fab Rab i was at shawlands cross a few times when I was hame thanks fur taking me back pal cheers! laugh.gif

Rab, the house at the very top of that building used to be my Neice's, my Wife and I have been in that house the outside door had a big glass panel guess what it had an inside toilet very small world
Agnes & Robert
QUOTE (flam @ 22nd Dec 2008, 11:30pm) *
Hi Teenybash Yes you are quite correct in saying it was called Modern Mantles at one time,and I believe it was also a Dance Hall at one time called The Tower,and if my memory serves me well ,there was a murder in it at one time,hopefully Hudgy will verify this as he stayed in that proximity Cheers Flim
Hi Flam you are quite correct the dance hall was called the Tower I can't remember the short street off Garscube Rd that it was on, it was just down from the Astoria Picture House the Tower had a bad name can you remember the Magnet Picture House across the street?
QUOTE (murn @ 3rd Jan 2009, 05:00am) *
don't know about being blond bit she wis a wee looker wink.gif

stuarty is still a looker, murn. biggrin.gif
Was a surprise to see her blonde as she has nice auburn hair.
Lovely both ways.
I agree Stratson I was surprised too, good to see Stuarty blonde aswell, nice photo's Stuarty. wink.gif

Great photo's everyone, memories/familiar sites.
The street near the Tower was either Sawmillfield Street or Caithness Street.

I lived in Sawfield Place which was further down the Garscube Road almost across from North Woodside Road. I moved away when I was still a school girl so can't remember the streets in their correct order.
norrie123
Hi Heather, both those streets were at The Tower building.
Sawmillfield st is still there but I am not sure about Caithness st or Burns st? which was right behind the Tower.

When you think about all the tenement building there were in that area, its a surprise that this one has been left alone.
I have not seen too many old photos from that area.
Bye for now, norrie
Hi All Was the street at the Tower Building not called Farnell St ?, a couple of my friends worked in a wee foundry in that street, and I also remember 2 workmen being killed in a factory in that street either by Gas or an Explosion not that long ago, if Hudgy posted in this forum I am sure he would be able to brief us all, Yes I used to go to the Magnet (Skipped in a lot of times below the Cashiers window then in to the toilet ),By the way Norrie is looking for any photo of the Magnet Cheers Flim
Agnes & Robert
QUOTE (flam @ 4th Jan 2009, 04:00pm) *
Hi All Was the street at the Tower Building not called Farnell St ?, a couple of my friends worked in a wee foundry in that street, and I also remember 2 workmen being killed in a factory in that street either by Gas or an Explosion not that long ago, if Hudgy posted in this forum I am sure he would be able to brief us all, Yes I used to go to the Magnet (Skipped in a lot of times below the Cashiers window then in to the toilet ),By the way Norrie is looking for any photo of the Magnet Cheers Flim
Hi Flam, Farnell St. sounds right it was the first St. on the left coming down Possil Rd. there was Lilac St.also there was a Corn St. just down a bit, there was a couple of Streets before you came to Dobies Loan, on the other side of Garscube Rd. you had Raglan St.,Lyon St. that's as much as I can remember.
Coming up from Dallass's on the right hand side was Stewart St. Dobbies Loan, Corn St, and Sawfield Place where I lived.
mamie
Does anyone remember the whiskey bonds that were down I think think( the craighall road }, My father worked in Harvys w/bond till he retired. I also think there was anothe one called the white horse... I.m sure Harveys was in Dobbie loan.......... I remeber all that area very well, I lived in possipark and would walk down to the Astoria picture hall. My first job was in Dallases that was owned by Hugh Fraser, my first wage was 39/6, not quite 2Pounds but I loved working there.
Does anyone have photos of Saracen Street and ST Tersas chapel in Possilpark.
aw Stuarty yir list a wee smasher. tongue.gif
QUOTE (angel @ 4th Jan 2009, 11:43pm) *
aw Stuarty yir list a wee smasher. tongue.gif
........................... jist a wee smasher
Agnes & Robert
QUOTE (mamie @ 4th Jan 2009, 08:10pm) *
Does anyone remember the whiskey bonds that were down I think think( the craighall road }, My father worked in Harvys w/bond till he retired. I also think there was anothe one called the white horse... I.m sure Harveys was in Dobbie loan.......... I remeber all that area very well, I lived in possipark and would walk down to the Astoria picture hall. My first job was in Dallases that was owned by Hugh Fraser, my first wage was 39/6, not quite 2Pounds but I loved working there.
Does anyone have photos of Saracen Street and ST Tersas chapel in Possilpark.

Yes I remember the whisky bonds on High Craighall Rd. I used to live on Bilsland Dr. I would go along Saracen St.to the Mosshouse,then along High Craighall Rd. it was a shortcut to get to my Aunt who lived on Milton Place near Stewart St.
Hi Mamie Here are couple of photos that you may recognise from Possil , Hi Agnes&Robert Yes as you walked along to visit your Aunt around Stewart St ,you would have crossed over the Forth and Clyde Canal by means of a Wooden Bascule Bridge which would have taken you to around Buchanans sweetie works in Ann St,as you walked along Craighall roard the White Horse I belivee would have been on your right hand side, was Harveys ?as you say up in High Craighall but was the street called Borron St cant remember off hand what the other street was called Cheers Flim
shirley stitt
Does anyone have any photos of the employees of Modern Mantels from anytime-or have any idea how to contact the previous owners?
My mum,granny and auntie all worked there in the 50's and 60's
the brauns
Taken on a recent trip to Girvan, the Harbour.

The Rest and Be Thankful
the brauns
The Byne Hill, Girvan, Scotland. That's my wee sis in the photie.
the brauns
ok, last one..... a photie of my cousin and I at Girvan. He's a great lad!

Just found this topic.
Ain't I lucky ?
Now I have a photo of you too.
Pleased to see you *****. Lovely smile too.

(this was M.)
The Tote Bookmakers used to be a bank, because I used to work in a pawnshop across the road on the junction in the mid to late sixties, and we used to deposit the cash in the night safe. My Mammy was born in Caithness St and got married out of Sawfield St. I'm not sure if Sawmillfield Street became Sawfield Place or if it did, when or why. Link for old map or the area. 1913/14

http://www.theglasgowstory.com/valmapview.php?id=16
Stowst, Sawmillfield Street was the next street up from Sawfield Place

Sawfield Place is not on the map, it was the next up from Corn Street.

I know this because I lived in Sawfield Place when I was young.
Stow.... sawmillfield st was parallel with caithness st.....my mum too was born in caithness st. i worked in sawmillfield st with a company that installed lifts and did electrical work. They were called ellis and mcsougall.....Andy
My mammy wiz born in March 1912, when wiz your Mammy born andypisces and when did you stay in Sawfield place Heather?? smile.gif
Stow i think my mum was born around1914. they probably grew up together. she was the youngest of eight....cheers ....Andy
hudggy
Hi Heather,

The Street you are trying to remember was Farnel Street there was a foundery at the top of it. From the Tower down Farnel St, Caithness St, Sawmillfield St, Sawmillfield Place, Corn St, Dobbies Loan, Milton St,

Regards Hudggy
Stowst, my mum was born 12th March 1912 in Kilsyth. She was about 7yrs old when the family moved to Glasgow. Mum died September 2007 when she was 95yrs old
Heather my Mammy was born on 16th March 1912. Did your Mum move to Sawmill or Caithness when she was seven. If so there is a good chance they knew each other. And Andypisces my Mammy probably played wi' yer Mammy or her siblings I would imagine. Small world indeed. I'm afraid my Mammy died in 1978 when I was 27 and she was only 66. Too late to ask all the questions now but when I was young I was too busy wi' ma ain weans tae be asking the things I wish now I had.
Stowst, mum' family moved to somewhere over in Woodside.

My dad was born December 1912 and lived in Maitland Street and his family moved to Hamiltonhill Road.
When mum & dad got married they took the house in Sawfield Place, dads family were horrifield as they thought it was a terrible place to live. laugh.gif
Dad was the 2nd youngest of a big family.
My Mammy was married out of Sawfield Place in 1938 when she was 26 so if your Mum got married younger than that my mammy would still have been there when your parents moved in. smile.gif
Stowst, you right my parents were living in Sawfield Place then. They got married in 1933.
So our mum's must have known each other. smile.gif

My parents names were: David & Christina Curran and they had 8 children plus two neice's.
One of mum's sisters died suddenly at 26 yrs of age leaving a 4yr old and a 18 months old baby, and as their dad was a Long Distance lorry driver my mum took the two girls to live with us.
We lived on the 1st floor right above the close. We moved to Barlanark in April 1953.

If you don't mind me asking, what was your mum's own name.
Her name was Ellen McColl and my Daddy's name was Bertie Thomson. My grannies name was Hannah McColl nee Ward and my Grandad's name was Cornelius (Neely) McColl who died at Princes Dock in 1937. It was the following year that my Mammy and Daddy got married as my Granda wouldn't let her marry my Daddy cos he was a Protestant. In later years my Mammy and Daddy fought about everything except religion, it never raised it's ugly head in our house.
I don't recognise the name Ellen McColl but my Godmother's name was Catherine McColl.

I was Christened in St. Joseph's North Woodside Road and about three years ago I got a copy of my Baptismal Certificate as I was curious to know who my Godmother was and mum could not remember.

Would Ellen & Catherine be related by any chance???

The same Catherine was also bridesmaid to one of my mum's sister's. I think the wedding was also in St. Joseph's.

It's very odd but my mum was not Catholic and her dad ws against the marriage. He was not a Minister but a Preacher in the Church of Scotland.
His name was Robert Burns.
He died when I was 13yrs old but I never knew him as he never acknowledged us because we were Catholic.
I think my older sister and brothers met him once in an aunts house.
Oh my goodness... it may well have been my Auntie Katie!!! I wouldn't know how to go about finding out though! What year were you born if it's not being too cheeky? wub.gif
hi stow all your family events are so similar.My grandmother was catholic and married my protestant grandfather.My mum went to rockvilla school. Like yours my mum died thirty years ago. they almost certainly would have known each other. We did not have any ill feelings that i know of from my grandmothers family as i grew up knowing them fairly weel . they were the nicholas family and lived on maitland st .Small world isnt it.....Andy
It certainly is Andy!! My Granny died when I was four so I don't have any memories of her but I do know she still spoke to my Mammy though I don't know if there was a time after my parents got married when she didn't. It would be really interesting to know if it was my Auntie Katie who was Heather's godmother but I don't know how I could verify that. My Auntie Katie died young in the 1970's. I don't know the Nicholas family as far as I can remember but I've always had a crap memory.....Brick on the head is what I blame that on laugh.gif .....