Full Version: Honest Mammy, It Wisnae Me!
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > Images Chit Chat
Oh how our dad hated that word; ' wisnae' we used to be told, " speak proper English ".

Honest Ran it was not me. I think it was that wee dog resting on the couch. laugh.gif laugh.gif
RAN?

Heather, 'wisnae' is a perfect example of Glaswegian speak where one word is used in place of two ie. gonny etc

English is another language.
Sorry about the typing error RAB. That's what happens when you don't pay attention to what your doing. rolleyes.gif

Although my dad was born and bred in Glasgow he did not like glesga slang and told us off when he heard us use it. Of course we used it when outside, and he could not hear us.

Am urnae, was another of his pet hates. ohmy.gif
Heather, my Mammy was exactly the same as all our relations were very 'Pan Loaf'! We were never allowed to forget the day we arrived late for a family wedding in Paisley Abbey (Aye!) and my Dad had to apologise to the brides father as 'The tram caur wis held up fur ages by a pipe baun'. To which, my cousin asked my Dad "What is a 'baun' Uncle Jack?" (Mammy in background glaring at Dad) smile.gif
Minister, that was really funny. My dad would have been raising his eyes to high heaven. laugh.gif laugh.gif
The thing is I never looked at it as "slang" but rahter Scots Inglis dialect. Its the way we would ahve been speakin' if were'nt part of the British Union.
Och would you look at that wee dugs face , butter wouldny melt laugh.gif
hey rab ur you the minister of the gg noo bless me father laugh.gif

just plumping up the cushions but went a wee bit crazy
I suppose it wisnae him either! Click to view attachment