Full Version: Whats For Dinner Today
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat > Chat Threads
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55
QUOTE (Elma @ 22nd Jan 2009, 05:42pm) *
This is off topic but why, when i put in a quote, do the smillies in that quote count in my post. I was told again that I had more than my quota as there were two in the quote I used?

I'll use them now laugh.gif !!!!!!!
elma if i put a smiley in a quote a need to delete one of your smilies look a will take the sticking tounge out from yours and a will put the balaclava in hope that willm explain ok ph34r.gif
Ihad 2cod in butter sauce and 3 marmite butter and crisp sandwiches delish laugh.gif
Well tonight it's a bowl of Mushroom Soup & Cooked Turkey Sandwich,Oh & did I mention soup biggrin.gif smile.gif
It's shepherd's pie for me tonight made from the left-over stew and mashed potatoes. It's only 2:30 so I have a while to wait or maybe I'll just pop it into the oven now!!! laugh.gif
Lasagne tonight. Healthy Choice, very tasty.

Having the roast tomorrow. smile.gif
Iam thinking some easy canned Heinz tomato soup & some toast with roasted cheese tae accompany it tonight ah jist fancy it! wub.gif biggrin.gif
I've been battling really hot weather lately (not as much as people in Victoria or South Australia) so dinners have been mixed salad with meat, sometimes hot, sometimes cold.

The salad is easy, though, since I just go out the back door and pick what I want from my pots !

Tombro rolleyes.gif
having paua friters and lamb chops on the barbecue
Am surprised you can eat at all in the terrific heat you are having right now. Guess I'd be drinking iced tea. How can you stand it/ rolleyes.gif
I have just had tescos finest canadian jumbo prawns with medditeran char grliiled veg in olive oil cooked in the oven it was scrumdelstatyfabulatastic laugh.gif
handbag
well i had good old scottish dinner last night mince and tatties and i make great mince
You forgot the address handbag, the address, so we can all line-up at yoor hoose when ye ur making mince. Jist a hint, Tuesdays wid be good, that's when the Come in your Tutu and dance as you please group are thinking aboot meeting--it's at Java's so we will all be starvin efter. Noo you huv pit me in the notion I think I might make the same thing the night. Don't be worrying though, I kin eat mince any day.
i am also having mince and totties tonight
oops the wife has changed her mind its lambs fry and bacon unsure.gif
Still sounds realy good. What time is dae ye want us awe?
a just had buttered mash potato and tescos finest pork chipolatas AKA BANGERS N' MASH it was superb a had them in the freezer as a wouldny take a chance gone oot in this weather brrrrr laugh.gif
hi gallusbison you will have along way to come to new zaland tongue.gif
I had a butterflied lamb steak with some snap peas with ranch dressing.
Just going to brown some shoulder steaks and doing them in the slow cooker for tonight.
Will have mash and some frozen vegetables.
Don't usually have dessert, however as it's so cold and dreich will have a steam pudding and hot custard as a wee treat for my son. smile.gif
having chicken thighs toties and beans tonight
Marion Niven Dougan
I have worked ma bum aff aw day packing. So we are droppping boxes at the Townehouse and going out for dinner
Hi, JohnW, no problem, I have relies. in NZ so I could stay with them and eat at your house. wink.gif tongue.gif
hi gallusbisom not a problem plenty room i live by the beach so you can go for a walk after dinner tongue.gif biggrin.gif
Hi JohnW. Unless I miss my guess, you are going to have a whole troop of GG's dreaming of escaping to NZ, especially since a lot of us are dealing with minus zero temps. and a couple of feet of snow, (with more to come, whoopee biggrin.gif ) By the way my relies surname is Bannerman, just in case you have run into any of them. laugh.gif

And tonight we are having Scottish pies, beans , peas with vinegar and chips (home made) with HP and Branston Pickle and Rolls. I just decided that it may be "heart attack on a plate" but sometimes you just need to do something that feels good. Dessert will be fresh fruit (but I do have a rice pudding with raisons on the go for later).

I will say that walking on the beach and smelling the ocean is something I miss a lot.
a just had sandwiches today as a feel a wee bit yukky a cant get my car out of the snow it is covered 2 feet all around the bottom so my son said he will get his pal to dig it out tomorrow for me wub.gif
tonight it's Chicken chow mein,Singapore Noodles & Beef Macaroni..Yumm Yumm
having a big steak chips eggs and fried onions and mushrooms tongue.gif
tonight I had tescos finest smoked haddock in milk then a ate a half of a rasberry pavlova it was 2 pounds and not very big and a think a will get a toffee and pecan roulade oh am i9n a sweet mood at the moment a fancy rice pudding with prunes a wonder if a have any in the cupboard laugh.gif
Tonight we had wiener schnitzel, with mashed carrot/turnip and potato dumplings. I love eastern European food. Didn't take too long to make but a lot of cleaning up afterwards.
having roast forequarter of lamb and totties runner beans kumara and carrots
No idea , Lindamacs cooking it , watch this space laugh.gif
having mince and totties tonight
Linda made a very nice lasange and salad then cheese and biscuits
Have just concocted soup from fresh tomatoes, onion,lentils, cumin & lemon juice. After cooking, blitz with hand mixer. Deeeelishus, sez me in all modesty!
having silverside carrots totties and cabage tonight
a had baked potato and cheese very nice for a wee change
My daughter and grandson came over for dinner tonight, we had green salad then grilled chicken breasts, rice and veg.
It's 42 degrees outside today so no cooking , we are having salad cool.gif jeeze it's hot!!
Despite the still hot weather on my birthday last night, I had a home made salad (butter lettuce, capsicum, red onion and home grown tomatoes covered with Italian Dressing) with roast lamb.

The lamb was spiked with garlic and rosemary and then sprinkled with herbs and seasoned salt, and it tasted absolutely fantastic !

Tombro rolleyes.gif

We are having Roast Lamb today as we were travellng yesterday and just had sandwiches and soup but its the works today Roast Boiled Pots Carrots Cauilflower nae pud am watching ma figure[tomorrow] laugh.gif
having roast leg of lamb and all the trimings
After all the exotic meals you have had mine seems poor. Just old fashioned meat loaf with mashed and sprouts. Canned peaches and pudding for afters.
I forgot all about meat loaf Jaybee. it will be on my menu this week
thats for sure.
we are on Ham & Lentil soup today with homemade bread smile.gif
Hello Anne.

Mince and Tatties for me tonight.

Some hot carrot and coriander for lunch>>>>shortly smile.gif
Inadvertantly posted twice, as I can't delete completely will use this space to hope everyone is enjoying a nice meal to their taste today
lastnight a had boiled bacon pieces with mash it was a nice memory meal a wish it had been ham ribs but my brother william makes a mean pot of ham ribs and cabbage then soup with the stock great laugh.gif
having chicken just dug totties from garden and picked some runner beans
Stuarty,

I wish I hadn't checked today !

My greatest food memory from a Glasgow childhood in the 1950's is ham ribs, boiled totties and cabbage. I can even remember the smell of the ribs and cabbage cooking to this day !

I loved it to death, but have never tasted it since I came to Oz in 1961. Oh how I envy you to even be in a position where you might look forward to the opportunity of still enjoying the same.

Tombro wub.gif
Tonight an easy macaroni & cheese, spice pototo wedges and some farmhouse mix veg(all frozen) Am going off standing all day in the kitchen, laugh.gif