Full Version: Whats For Dinner Today
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat > Chat Threads
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52
Im cooking beef stew today for supper and had the stir fry yesterday , I enjoy a stir fry and I will get more than one meal from the stew so won,t
have to make that for awhile.
a will have the same as lastnight aunt bessies frozen mash and that is the best made mashed a have ever tasted except my own real mash and 4 newyork 2ounce burgers grilled 10 mins and its ready to eat quick and easy a delia smith cheat laugh.gif laugh.gif
Guest Davy's Girl *
It is a cloudy,rainy day here in Peterborough so can't bbq. So Davy will make us spaghetti and meatballs. I will do the garlic toast and if we have salad fixings will do that as well. A quick and easy supper for sure! rolleyes.gif
Davy's Girl
It is a cloudy,rainy day here in Peterborough so can't bbq. We will have spaghetti and meatballs with garlic toast and salad. biggrin.gif
After a very enjoyable day weeding and planting in the sunshine today, came home and made Sweet Peppered steaks, onions and mushrooms, had left my own Charlotte New Potatoes just ready to boil, easy peasy, the packets of steamfresh, Baby corn, green beans and baby carrots.
Very tasty.>>>>On the fresh Salmon tomorrow, already poached and refrigerated, will make a nice Green Salad.(Have a couple of appts. tomorrow.)
Didn't do much today so I spent some time in the kitchen. Made veal parmigiano with scalloped spuds and mashed carrot and turnip mixture. Then some sticky toffee pudding. I cheated though, I bought the sticky toffee pudding but made my own custard to go over it. What a treat to find sticky toffee pudding here in my local grocery store in Canada. I also hear that Hagen Daas icecream have come out with a sticky toffee ice cream, can't wait to try it. Jaybee
Some tasty suggestions here.We had roast chicken on Sunday night , so I boiled up the carcass and made soup from the stock with lots of veggies and some rice , very filling and tasty , made some toasted cheese to go with it.
Casserole for tonight , made yesterday as I am on the late shift today so wont get home till after 7 , dont feel like cooking then , so it is all ready just to heat up.
Jaybee i have yet to find a good sticky toffee pudding like the one Marks sells back home. By the way I did see an add on the tv about that ice cream have not seen any as yet. Like you dying to try some.
Since it is our shopping night,we are cheating tonight & having them tasty Duets for dinner with vegies they can be very enjoyable as we like the ones wich are stuffed with Broccoli & cheese sauce,just too easy & fast & likely tae be fattening but we dinny care we love thum. rolleyes.gif
QUOTE (stuarty @ 21st Jul 2008, 07:57 AM) *
a will have the same as lastnight aunt bessies frozen mash and that is the best made mashed a have ever tasted except my own real mash and 4 newyork 2ounce burgers grilled 10 mins and its ready to eat quick and easy a delia smith cheat laugh.gif laugh.gif
Stuarty,did you say 2 ounce burgers,hey' the name's Andy no Gandi!
I,m making a chicken salad for supper tonight with ice cream and
rasberries for desert,, ....Stratson did you ask your friend about the
perogies.... smile.gif
Right now in the hot weather we use the BBQ almost every night ,saves heating the house up with the oven. Also Jim does the BBQ so I have it easy during the summer months.Last night it was pork chops salad and some new wee potatoes, quite simple but plenty for us. No desert trying to watch my weight before my daughters wedding.
hi Isobel ,you made me feel guilty about desert yesterday, so I just had the rasberries no ice cream, don,t know what to make for :Ptoday.
oops.... do,nt know were that P came from
2ounce burgers this is the uk wellfield and thats why a ate 4 of them 4x2=half pounder yummy scrummy delish wonderful greattttttttt whoopdedooooooo wink.gif laugh.gif
biggrin.gif Last night We had some very enjoyable chicken kiev from the poultry place with corn & potatoe Gems tonight we are having some very delicious Rib Fillet steak for tonight with some mushrooms & greens & roasted potatoes me likes this meal bestest! oh yeah! never need a dessert prefer savourys myself.
Since we are having a glorious day ,my family and I will be having a B.B.Q today.(Allotment)

I just get on with enjoying them doing the cooking. Am repotting a couple of my house plants.

Have stashed a bottle of wine in my shopper as a wee surprise for them.(Mateus Rose)

Have a stock of wines, however when I used to partakeit was one of my faves.

It must be very mature by now. biggrin.gif

Off now to get the Parasol up.
biggrin.gif Great footy grub tonight, Long sausage rolls made from scratch & Heinz Brittish baked beans luvem! I know their bad for ya but hey it is footy night for Neil so he likes summitt fast to eat afore he goes to the match, which he has to leave early to get too as he is going to a live match.
just fruit today as a had a gyppy tummy oh just read a cant have grapfruit with new medicine a wonder if it is other citric fruit as a drink ribena with pineapple diluted with water then frozen and drink through the night when thursty realy nice it is so no dinner a dont feel hungary with nerves today sad.gif
tonite I made an old recipe a remembered my ex mother in law told me and mega cheap get deep pyrex dish or equivilent layer of mash silce boiled eggs then cheese and continue until you are ready to finnish with mash and sprinkle of cheese and cook until brown and crispy on top cheap but great tasty and meat free enjoy a did as did my neighbour it was so morrish sounds rotton but dont write it off until you try it mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
QUOTE (stratson @ 24th Jul 2008, 02:25 AM) *
Since we are having a glorious day ,my family and I will be having a B.B.Q today.(Allotment)

I just get on with enjoying them doing the cooking. Am repotting a couple of my house plants.

Have stashed a bottle of wine in my shopper as a wee surprise for them.(Mateus Rose)

Have a stock of wines, however when I used to partakeit was one of my faves.

It must be very mature by now. biggrin.gif

Off now to get the Parasol up.
hi stratson,when I hear you talk of your wee allotment it makes me feel good,I can just picture myself sitting there with you,just shooting the breeze and catching up on gossip,enjoy your family and the rest of your summer,by the way,is that no that hippie wine we all drank in the 60s(Matues Rose)
My Dear wife made a steak pie right from scratch for our dinner tonight!
Had Teriyaki Chicken with rice and veg tonight.
a had duck pancakes and some leerdammer cheese and some fruit as normal oh and fresh strawberries from kent you cant beat local produce sweeter than the spanish ones as they dont travel more than 30 miles from the store and it shows so a will still be eating them tomorrow as it was a big punnet frduced from 3.99pence to 80 pence good deal eh
What a "KOINKADINK" wellfield, my son and I had steak pie also today, afraid am not as industrious as your wife, it was a "BELL'S" straight from the freezer to oven, is supposed to serve 4.
Was very tasty and the stew was tender. My own "Charlotte's"(potatoes)" with Steamfresh" mixed veg.
When the children were young and Dad was around, I made everything from scratch.
When I have been working in the allotment never have time to spend in the kitchen.

Your right wellfield,, Mateus Rose was popular in the 70's with my daughters age group. I have a stock of her favourite things awaiting her arrival from U.S.A. August 12th.(she is now 54.) laugh.gif

stuarty, I remember making your mash and cheese pie in my cookery class(in ashet) 1946! tongue.gif
For dinner today, I made a roast gammon joint, with roast potatoes and broccoli. Chocolate gateau with fresh single cream poured over it, for after's smile.gif
oh heather gammon ham with cabbahe oh its to die for a will come visit you when a get hame and have cabbage way ham ribs do you still get the ham ribs up hame oh please say yes wub.gif
You dont get proper Gammon steaks here , I used to love them .
Just Spag Bol for us tonight. smile.gif
I felt that cauld the day ma blood & bones felt so chilled I decided tae hae a hot lunch of my auld school days,it was called cheese dreams.I learned to make these at school cookery class ye can vary it any waysye want,even make pizza styled ones if ye fancy..Cheese Dreams are made simply by making french toast then sandwiching slices or grated cheese between 2 slices of the french toast ,it realy was delicious & hearty & warming for a warm winter lunch who cares aboot tonights dinner al no need any laugh.gif
brian432
QUOTE (lindamac @ 28th Jul 2008, 05:12 AM) *
I felt that cauld the day ma blood & bones felt so chilled I decided tae hae a hot lunch of my auld school days,

But I thought the saying was "Aah Queensland - Beautiful one day.....Perfect the next! laugh.gif We nearly had a heatwave. It was about 170
well we are having Lamb Mousaka with salad smile.gif smile.gif
oh anne1 whit are you doing to me moosaka a love it aubergines just gret ooh egg plant in the american language with a bechemal sauce and spiced lamb and cheese on top can you please send me wan by a flying pidgeion or even spot laugh.gif
oops catch stuarty its on its way laugh.gif laugh.gif
Well seein am havin dinner all by maself ( a sound jist like the song ) again! I decide to eat very healthy tonight so Im having a fruit dinner, its consisting of a Shamouti orange mmmm so sweet,
a couple nice ripe mangos also very sweet some cantalope, low fat yogart, I tossed in some organic raisins and a few nuts its really a lovely dinner,,,,right off the land tongue.gif ,,,,wait noo, then later Im going tae put ma wee feet up and read my Hello magazines they have been sitting on the coffee table for weeks now just begging to be read so tonight's the night tongue.gif I could get used to this LOL.
Roasted a stuffed chicken yesterday, made a nice sauce.My own Charlotte's boiled and my own beans. All very tasty. When at home plenty time to cook from scratch.

Home again today, trying to decide on menu, have the first of my tomatoes so salad is a must,also lettuce my own. Have some cold meats, perhaps that will be the answer. Have some McCains spicy wedges, decision made, that's evening meal organised. biggrin.gif
we are having Lamb chops new potatoes garden peas and carrots mmmmmmm smile.gif
I love lamb chops, I,ll have them tomorrow, today I think I will have fish.
all a have done is get blood taken then slept all day and havent eaten yet so a think a will miss dinner the night as am too tired
QUOTE (stuarty @ 30th Jul 2008, 03:19 PM) *
all a have done is get blood taken then slept all day and havent eaten yet so a think a will miss dinner the night as am too tired
Ahl make ye a wee cuppa' tea hen,away ben the lobby and put yer feet up.
thats kind wellie laugh.gif
Whats for dinner, well let me see noo Ive not given it too much thought as its only the back'yi 7am here but I think I'll make some fresh fish with a garden salad, thats if Im home, if I go to my mothers for dinner then I'll jist heve tae eat whatever she puts in front of me rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
nearly the same Lass we are having Fish baked in the oven with cheese and tomato and a baked potatoe laugh.gif laugh.gif
today i had a rib eye steak (my favourite) with some home made potatoe salad and baked beans, topped off with some chocolate pudding, probably within the hour i will have a cuppa tea with some chocolate wafer biscuits, as it will be a lot cooler then.
Tonight we are having some Porterhouse steak & mash with vegies thats a family favourite of ours.usualy I dae like a Broccoli & cauliflower Bake with cheese sauce ,jist huvty see if ahve got time efter weev been tae lawyers & shops this afternoon.I may even hae a wee red wine with it tonight tae. biggrin.gif
nae idea , I just came in here for some ideas laugh.gif
Might have a wee glass of red tonight too Linda , a wee bit drier than your one though, not too fond of the sweet one.
biggrin.gif Neil bought me tattie scones fur ma brekki this weekend woohoo stuff dinner ahm merr intae Brekki cause o ma tattie scones oh yeah! with a nice egg n soft yolk tae dip the scone intae ahhhhhhhh pure dead brilliant hehehehe. we had Lees snowballs,a packet of Revels & a Yorkie bar each since yesterday as a new wee sweety vendor has set up at the hyperdome shops so we spent a wee fortune so we did. wurr realy bad this past 2 days. tongue.gif
Just had a light lunch of Champagne, caviar & blinis- Awright then- Cava, lumpfish roe & Ritz crackers. Ye cannae whackit - cava @ £1.20 a bottle from Lidl. Mind you, it's three times the price at Scottish Lidl branches.
Hi Bilbo.s, Emperado is just fine for me. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Mhoira
We try to have an easy dinner incase of any other teenagers arriving on our door so it is pizza 3 different kinds pasta with sauce mixed through and slices of garlic bread YUMMI
Sorry Angel.

No comprendo Emperado.

Bilbo.s