Full Version: Whats For Dinner Today
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat > Chat Threads
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53
what are you to like Ashy & Bilbo ohmy.gif

Today I made Baked Fish with tomato's and Cheese very tasty,followed by some fresh fruit salad biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
QUOTE (ashfield @ 17th Feb 2012, 06:51pm) *
Aye..........an' what a close shave that was rolleyes.gif

that would put anyone off their dinner.

You should have tried waxing.
Angel it was given to me by the young Irish girl it was in a packet ,boy what a differrence to the flavor

Hi Mags , I will give it another try to see if I can get that soup in the supermarket here , failing that I might be able to get it when shopping across the river. and I've just thought , I would get it in Glasgow when I'm there , if the customs don't stop me. laugh.gif
Beef Stir Fry for us today, followed by Ice Cream, Banana Toffee sauce biggrin.gif

I don't feel like cooking today .
I took some home made soup from the freezer
Beef Barley.
and along with that I will make ,
a Reuban sandwhich , corn beef , Swiss cheese on rye
smothered with mustard for supper . biggrin.gif
Good old yankee dinner hot dog french fries and beans
Today we are having Roast Pork,Squash, Roast & Boiled Pots, Broccoli, Apple sauce and back to Trifle rolleyes.gif
I think I will come to your house Anne.That sounds so good.
You would be welcome Isobel and it was very tasty biggrin.gif
Had carpaccio for lunch, followed by some beautiful black cherries.

I baked an apple pie this morning
a slice of it for dessert tonight
along with a chef Salad .
But not carpaccio style . smile.gif

Home-made hummus with pitta for lunch. Chilli con carne tonight.
Snap with the Chilli con Carne Bill. thats what we had, then later some lovely pancakes cos its Shrove Tuesday, very good biggrin.gif

baked boneless chicken breast
with veg, and rice
fresh fruit salad for dessert , smile.gif
Fish, not very exciting eh?

Isobel ,I think that I could eat fish everyday .
This morning Wed., I had Kippers for breakfast
around lunchtime . biggrin.gif
Courgette and tattie soup. Rich fruit cake for afters.
having marinated raw fish for starters and flounder for main washed down whith a few glasses of vino wink.gif
rolleyes.gif marinated in lime juice ah hope possilboy? smile.gif

for our lunch today , we had chicken noodle soup "spirals " with lots of chicken also hot chicken sandwich with gravy , and served with wine tongue.gif
So I did'nt bother about making supper tonight .

Tonight I am making , Ham and cheese Omelette for supper
with some Bostom lettuce and cheery tomatoes on the side . smile.gif
Today we are having Roast Gammon, roast & Boiled Pots, Squash, Broccoli then for afters we are Haing a Raspberry Brulee Cheescake, with Cream biggrin.gif

That looks good Anne , I am having baked chicken breast
with artichokes ,mushrooms with some black olives .
probably some fruit for dessert . smile.gif

Todays supper was , "Pork Chops , Butterfly cut " green beans
with the extra Artichokes from yesterdays' meal , baked potato ,
no dessert .

Supper tonight will be my favorite Stir Fry , Chicken with Shrimp
Vegetables and rice . and a glass of wine , tongue.gif
tonight chicken cauli kumara and broad beans smile.gif

Possilboy , your supper looks so exotic ,
and if it means chicken with Cauliflour
and broad beans plus sweet potatoes
I love it . biggrin.gif
date and walnut bread from bakers/patisserie
heaven when warm tongue.gif
rolleyes.gif ahm gonna try makin "hovis"malt loaf,need a recipe ,will google fer it smile.gif
Ah hiv tae admit that ah had tae look up "carpaccio" oan Google. Apparently it's raw meat wi Dijon mustard, and ah see others go for raw fish marinaded in somethin or other. Naw, ah'm afraid ah agree wi Dougie when McPhail the engineer tells him he's seen the Russians eatin herrin raw, when he wis in the Baltic. Dougie's reply wis, "The dirty duvvles!".
If God hid meant us tae eat raw meat an fish, he widnae hiv gave us the microwave. biggrin.gif

from Ken
date and walnut bread from bakers/patisserie
heaven when warm

from wombat
ahm gonna try makin "hovis"malt loaf,need a recipe ,will google fer it

Does this mean that both of you are now on bread and water for dinners . well just put the water in Benny's Microwave and that will make such a difference to your meal .... Well it won't be raw ! biggrin.gif tongue.gif
well angel sunday this week means proper haggis from a scottish butchers and to accompany it
BAKED BEANS not tatties n neeps although thats nice baked beans is best because the haggis is kept moist and hot add in some italian breads a nice pear cider or red wine.
HEAVEN
tongue.gif
MissT
Homemade Chickpea and sweet potato curry
Last night I decided on a bit of Chinese, mainly prawns.

Visited the local take-away and came home with a bag of prawn fritters (prawns in batter) and a feed of Garlic King Prawns.

Did half of it last night with a lovely bottle of Reisling and finished it off tonight with a few glasses of a Classic Dry White from the cask !

Mm-mmm !

Tombro rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
QUOTE (kenb @ 4th Mar 2012, 03:38am) *
well angel sunday this week means proper haggis from a scottish butchers and to accompany it
BAKED BEANS not tatties n neeps although thats nice baked beans is best because the haggis is kept moist and hot add in some italian breads a nice pear cider or red wine.
HEAVEN
tongue.gif

Ken I have never heard of Haggis with baked beans ,
must say it sounds interesting but are the beans
baked fron dry or are they canned . ?

Tombro , hope that you enjoyed your supper
I love chinese food and Stir Frys
but today , Sunday I am invited out for dinner
So I am looking forward to whatever
I may fancy from the Menu . biggrin.gif
[quote name='kenb' date='4th Mar 2012, 05:38am' post='3570518']
HEAVEN
tongue.gif
[/quot

Whatever floats your boat. sad.gif

Mind you, I know someone who had roast chicken with chips and baked beans for Christmas lunch.

There sure ain´t no accountin´for taste. huh.gif
having wild duck breasts done in red wine not decided on veges yet smile.gif
You lucky b*st*rd, Possilboy !

Wish I was sharing the duck with you, no matter what the vegetables !

Tombro smile.gif smile.gif
well certainly stirred up a feast of coments DONT KNOCK IT TILL YOUVE TRIED IT
ANGEL.......... tongue.gif CANNED BAKED BEANS HEINZ IS BEST wink.gif

ANGEL.......... CANNED BAKED BEANS HEINZ IS BEST

Cheers Ken !

It will be beef stew for us with yorkshire pudding popovers .
Jello and fruit for dessert . smile.gif

Hi Possilboy , I have never tasted duck , hope you enjoyed your meal. smile.gif .
Braehead and a McD.A wee treat every 3 months. Save up hard for a big fries.
Just had a glass of wine with free mini hamburger, crisps and olives 1,80¤
Bilbo,that just sounds lovely...and I bet you had it out in the sun.
Just had two bananas and a plum.
klingon
Veg Pakora-Lamb Bhuna,Pilau rice and a couple of chapattis with spiced onions and some mixed pickle-typical Glasgow dinner! laugh.gif
QUOTE (klingon @ 5th Mar 2012, 05:48pm) *
Veg Pakora-Lamb Bhuna,Pilau rice and a couple of chapattis with spiced onions and some mixed pickle-typical Glasgow dinner! laugh.gif

Plus , Gaviscon , double dose for dessert

I made up a pie pastry this morning and with yesterdays' extra beef stew , I baked a beef and veg. pie for supper. smile.gif
tongue.gif heh!heh! tongue.gif
tombro you should have plenty duck over there whith the weather you are getting hope you are ok no flooding sad.gif any way having sausages from my homekill butcher mashed totties and peas the night everybody enjoy your meals the night cheers