Full Version: Whats For Dinner Today
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat > Chat Threads
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53
Hope it stays dry for you its looking like its gonnae pour here biggrin.gif
Well Annewan, right now the sun is beaming down in Springhill.
Glasgow Girl
Having Roast Silverside with all the trimmings, loads and loads of trimmings, as on rising this morning I discovered one of my delightful children had left my larder freezer door open, everything defrosted mad.gif Of course it was Mr.Nobody what done it!

I have a lovely clean but empty freezer!
Kids who would have them eh biggrin.gif
Just having a bowl of chicken& rice soup with some crusty bread tonight.
Chicken Chasseur with mashed tatties.
fotr lunch today we had a light barley based soup ,and grilled
Hamburgers with all the trimmings smile.gif
for summer I will probably rummage in the fridge and come up with a salad. unsure.gif
QUOTE (angel @ 29th Aug 2011, 08:36pm) *
fotr lunch today we had a light barley based soup ,and grilled
Hamburgers with all the trimmings smile.gif
for summer I will probably rummage in the fridge and come up with a salad. unsure.gif

Just as well summer is coming to an end, if a salad is goiing to last you ! rolleyes.gif

Just as well summer is coming to an end, if a salad is goiing to last you !

laugh.gif huh.gif , got my Ms and Ps mixed up .
Penne with tomato pesto for me tonight, with fresh damsons and nectarines to follow. smile.gif
We had oven cooked sausages, beans and boiled potatoes.

Made it easy for myself as I had to lie down yesterday, standing in the kitchen too long, cooking Chicken in the bag, Garlic and Herbs " Shake'n'Bake..
Mediteranean Roasted Butternut squash, Sweet Potatoes and Baked potatoes
. Sauce from juices of chicken was lovely, Strawberris and Ice cream
AS i AM STILL ON MY DIET HAD VERY SMALL PORTIONS OF MAIN COURSE,,,,,,NO iCE CREAM.
nO LEFTOVERS AS jORDAN WAS HERE FOR DINNER. hE AND MY SON HAVE GOOD APPETITES AND LIKE MY COOKING, (i DO TOO!)

See that caps lock, Sorry folks, am not shouting.

Bilbo, I eat nectarines, when ripe they taste like honey. There's a glut of them in the stores right now.
Do you pick them fresh? smile.gif
Aye, from the supermarket shelf ! biggrin.gif

We do have some fruit growing wild around here- mostly lemons, figs and pomegranates. The last are not valued at all by the Spanish. We get a lot of fruit and veg given to us by neighbours, as it is a big industry here in huge plastic greenhouses.

I have taken a notion to have liver for supper tonight
hav'nt had that in ages , and I will smother it with onions
I baked apple pie this morning , so that will be dessert . smile.gif
We are having Roast Pork,Roast & Boiled Potato's Apple sauce , Broccoli, made a fresh fruit salad for afters smile.gif
The weather dictates a big bowl of Ham & Lentil soup which I made this morning, love homemade soup biggrin.gif
Made Fish Pie today with peas sweetcorn very tasty nae pudd biggrin.gif
gordyboy
A big bowl of Cullen Skink,
With a crusty loaf smothered in butter....
Comfort food extraordinaire!!....
I'ts the only thing my wee Boy will eat that doesn't come with chips or is called mcJunk..

hi Gordyboy , I had never heard of Cullen Skink untill now , so I checked the recipes , I think that I just might try it another time . biggrin.gif
Love it but can´t get smoked haddy here - one of the few things I really miss.

I'm not to sure myself either but I will check out the fish section in the freezers , we can get scottish kippers here so just maybe ,I might find the odd haddy swimmin aboot . biggrin.gif

Well I will be trying out the Cullen Skink sometime this week , I found the smoked haddock in the freezer section of the super market next to the kippers . So I am a happy camper today biggrin.gif

Today I made , Cullen Skink which I had for lunch , and I did very much
enjoy it , However next time I will use more Haddock .
Hi Gordyboy , thanks for posting . biggrin.gif
Glad you enjoyed your Cullen Skink Angel, think its a lovely meal biggrin.gif

Today we had Chicken Broth with chicken left over from yesterdays Roast Chicken, and enough left for a few sandwiches tonight nae pudd biggrin.gif
Actually Anne , I had tasted it long ago ,when my mother would make it
but I did'nt recognize the name, take care , biggrin.gif
Spinach quiche and scalloped potatoes for me tonight, We had a wee party at our Women's Group in our Church today for one of our members who is moving away at the end of the month, of course, we had lots of goodies then, so it's a light dinner tonight. smile.gif
Sounds good Elma biggrin.gif

Ive just made a dish of Spaghetti Bolognese for tonights dinner and some Garlic Bread nae pudd again biggrin.gif
Lazy day for us so its Fish Suppers for us and another day without a pudding biggrin.gif
Gammon Steaks, wi' oven chips. Mibbes wi' a pineapple ring oan tap?
Better hiv meat, whilst we can still, jist aboot, afford it!

(The Goldfish's days might be numbered lol)
M ade Leek & Potato soup today had it with nice Crusty bread, put rest in Freezer for next week, followed up by some Banana & Ice Cream[just a wee bit honest] biggrin.gif
just me for dinner tonight gang so its easy-peasy, nice salad with lovely orange roughy then for pudd its fresh strawberries and yogart,,,Mmmm!.
Liver Italian style - thinly sliced, flash-fried in olive oill and butter, with garlic, lemon juice and parsley. Fry quickly, keep warm, reduce the liquid and pour over liver. Serve with champit tatties and French beans or petits pois. YUM ! Use lamb´s, calf´s or pig´s liver.

that recipe looks good Bill , I'll try it next time . smile.gif
QUOTE (angel @ 24th Sep 2011, 09:24pm) *
that recipe looks good Bill , I'll try it next time . smile.gif

Deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelicious !!!
well bill, me and the hubby had liver and oinons,mushrooms, with small creamer potatos and peas ,the hubby likes some rye bread with it no bad
four of us for supper tonight including me , it will be roast pork centre cut ,
with sweet and white potatoes , green beans and cauliflower
Dessert is fresh fruit with Nestle's cream , also I baked a Meringue
pie , should anyone care , ....... of course wine for tippling . smile.gif

i
Will be having a Pizza for supper tonight..Mmmm.I miss the old pizza from back home...fresh out the deep fryer..lol

Stuffed Zucchini for my dinner tonght. I might add Potato Gnocchi smile.gif
Today I made Steamed Steak & Kidney Pudding Nev & son it went down a treat, I didnt have any as I fancied something light so had Scrambled eggs with Toast, biggrin.gif
QUOTE (Anne1 @ 28th Sep 2011, 06:36pm) *
Today I made Steamed Steak & Kidney Pudding Nev & son it went down a treat, I didnt have any as I fancied something light so had Scrambled eggs with Toast, biggrin.gif

I was going to have leftover pizza,but after you mentioning Scrambled Eggs on toast Anne,I fancy having that now smile.gif

I am making fish in batter with french fries/chips , peas and cole slaw.

Liver italian style , biggrin.gif

I tried it tonight for supper , and Bill it was excellent . biggrin.gif
Glad you enjoyed it. See - I'm not just a pretty face ! laugh.gif
I dont know yet my son has not told me biggrin.gif oh by the way its only 4-19 am here
your up early Mags cant you sleep. biggrin.gif

We are having Roast Beef and all the trimmings dont know about a pudding yet smile.gif
I forgot to post ,my son made a lovely pasta dish ,with broccoli ,shrimp,lobster,in lovely alfredo sauce it was very nice,
for dessert I had made a banana
cake with fresh Strawberries
tonight I am having rib eye steak with fried onions, baked potato baked beans and for dessert tapioca I also have this delicious apple/caramel pound cake which goes great with a nice cup/tea.
today I am having a stirfry for supper ,
with lots of shrimp and I have some chicken
that I will add to the mix . smile.gif
We are of to Celebration party in our complex[20th birthday for complex] and we are having a three course meal

Starter for us is

Chicken Parfait with Melon,

Main Course

Chicken Stuffed with Haggis with Glen Livet Sauce

Desset

Cheesecake,
Raspberry Roulade

so no cooking for us tonight biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Also entertainment few wee drinks and a wee jig
Gone yersel Annewan, have a ball tae yersel----of course wae yer lovely big man. hug.

Have made a mince casserole and some new potatoes. also some mash Turnip and carrot.

Need to get shopping as all my fresh greens have been used. Mind you have various frozen. Just used the swede and remaining carrots.

Nowadays I buy a weeks supply, such a bad day would not even venture to shops, might get blawn away, laugh.gif

tues..

for my supper tonight , I sauteed onion , zucchinni , corn and tomatoes
topped with a mix of mayonnaise and Parmesan cheese spread on top of the veg. and broiled until a light brown and my dessert was pumpkin pie
with cream smile.gif

hope all is well with you Anne , and you too stratson smile.gif , and
hello Ria , any way it's about 10.35 pm here and I am feeling really tired so I will call it a night . cheers