Full Version: Whats For Dinner Today
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat > Chat Threads
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55
Don't usually have dinner Fridays - go out for drinks and free tapas. 4 drinks and 4 tapas each - total cost 12 euros, although we usually get a discount as well - charged for 3.
QUOTE (Anne1 @ 22nd Jul 2010, 08:23pm) *
Zats Nardinis Bilbo laugh.gif

O' you won't eat all of that Anne, lol and I've always thought that Nardinis is far to expensive
best to go to a Tapas bar on a Thurs night ,," Here anyway" tongue.gif
Today we just had a Salad baked Potato Quiche lorraine, then Ice cream and Peaches laugh.gif
Today we had Roast Chicken, Roast & Boiled Potatos, Cauliflower Cheese, peas.
Meringue nests with Strawberries Cream[nae wonder am fat] laugh.gif
a got fish cakes and a bought 15packets of smoothies icelollies 45 lollies intotal and a bet they will be finnished by the weekend mango flavour and also rasberry ones and a bought fresh mango and grapes and scottish strawberries a washed them good as a remember the stories from the pickers and the things they used to do to get the weight up dont ask wink.gif
My daughter was over for dinner, we had chicken breast which I cooked in spicy fajita sauce after salad greens with tomatoes straight from the garden. We never have dessert but did down a bottle of Italian Pinot Grigio laugh.gif
That sounds nice Elma smile.gif
It was Anne, but I'm looking to you for inspiration today smile.gif

Something I made earlier.
Looks nice Bilbo but it is my idea of hell ohmy.gif See shellfish, I canny stand shellfish. Prawns, mussels, squid and octopus ain't for me unsure.gif
margie
Ashfield, How aboot a good auld fashioned plate o cabbage totties and ribs yum yum. cheers Margie rolleyes.gif
Corned beef, cabbage and potatoes,

QUOTE (ashfield @ 26th Jul 2010, 09:03pm) *
Looks nice Bilbo but it is my idea of hell ohmy.gif See shellfish, I canny stand shellfish. Prawns, mussels, squid and octopus ain't for me unsure.gif

Chacun a son gout! I know some folk are allergic but seemingly you just don´t like. I remember the first time I ever saw a live mussel - I was 16 and my mate took me fishing on Loch Long. I had to stick these revolting things on the hooks. Not many years later I was scoffing them down by the gallon in Ostend, with chips and beer.
QUOTE (stratson @ 26th Jul 2010, 09:07pm) *
Corned beef, cabbage and potatoes,

Wi real butter I hope. Never mind the scaremongers! Enjoy!
Oh Bilbo that plate would be heaven for Nev anything wae seafood is his ideal meal, have only recently tried scallops and a love them also like prawns smoked oysters but fresh oysters a definete no no, cant fancy squid though wid gimme the boak. See your quite nifty in the kitchen love to a man well trained in that department biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Today we had Beef Stew with doughballs Potatoes Peas it was lovely, nae pudd though so no inspiration there Elma biggrin.gif
Ashfield I agree with you.

I'm allergic to all shell food it makes me violently ill and I felt sick seeing that picture. wacko.gif
well tonight I just made myself a stir fry for supper but I only had shrimp
with it ,still delicious , no dessert though because, I had two eccles cakes this afternoon, O' the shame of it. tongue.gif just love those eccles cakes.
QUOTE (Anne1 @ 27th Jul 2010, 12:31am) *
Oh Bilbo that plate would be heaven for Nev anything wae seafood is his ideal meal, have only recently tried scallops and a love them also like prawns smoked oysters but fresh oysters a definete no no, cant fancy squid though wid gimme the boak. See your quite nifty in the kitchen love to a man well trained in that department biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Don't understand this thing some folk have with squid or octopus. If you get a chunk of a big one, it can be like chewing a tyre, but the battered rings are fine. Best are baby ones fried in garlic - Chipirones.
Bilbo, my grandfather used to say to me as I was growing up, there were children around the world that would be grateful for whatever I was refusing that day. As a child I lived mainly on cheese, eggs, potatoes and tomato soup. I wouldn't eat meat (except the occasional bit of mince hidden in pies), chicken, fish, lettuce, cucumber. As I got older, in my early 20s, I learned to try food before rejecting it, so when I say I don't like particular foods, it is not because of what it looks like or where it's come from. I have tried them and don't like either the taste or texture, the same goes for snails, a complete waste of garlic. Oh, and my childhood diet must have had an effect on my physical development, I am 6ft 2in biggrin.gif
QUOTE (ashfield @ 27th Jul 2010, 10:38am) *
Bilbo, my grandfather used to say to me as I was growing up, there were children around the world that would be grateful for whatever I was refusing that day. As a child I lived mainly on cheese, eggs, potatoes and tomato soup. I wouldn't eat meat (except the occasional bit of mince hidden in pies), chicken, fish, lettuce, cucumber. As I got older, in my early 20s, I learned to try food before rejecting it, so when I say I don't like particular foods, it is not because of what it looks like or where it's come from. I have tried them and don't like either the taste or texture, the same goes for snails, a complete waste of garlic. Oh, and my childhood diet must have had an effect on my physical development, I am 6ft 2in biggrin.gif

Well at least you like garlic! You got me beaten - only 6´1" biggrin.gif
Last night - Nasi Goreng with jumbo prawns.
Lived on Nasi Goreng when we lived in Malaya,, today we are having Southern Fried Chicken Baked Potato and side salad :roll eyes:
Well last night I made a pot of Leek & Potato Soup as it looks as if its going be another wet day so thats what we will be having and then have something later if hungry : biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
well i just had for my lunch a scotch meat pie with marrowfat peas and tonight I will have salmon with rice and veg. still. no dessert, have to make up for eating those eccles cakes. tongue.gif
Well we must all be very fit and slim I see no one has eaten since 28th July, well today I had Smoked Haddock FishCakes, with Leek Sauce and a baked Potato followed by Yoghurt very tasty so come on folks what have you had today rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
laugh.gif funee Annewan
Only had a bowl of fresh fruit so far Anne, but the day is still young. biggrin.gif
Hi Anne,

I have just finished my breakfast so dont really know what i will have for dinner
No invites so far,
Cooking for one is not to exciting especially when it is hot like it has been here for the last month

I am like you heather also not to keen on sea food, alllergic makes me sick
My mum always used to tell us how lucky we were as the Little Black kids were starrving in Africa, rolleyes.gif
Very simple- penne pasta with olive oil, garlic & chilli.
Tasty biggrin.gif
Raided the freezer today so Nevs have chicken curry we made last week,and am having Sweet Sour Chicken with Rice, again made last week so a nice easy meal for us, nae pud laugh.gif
Will be making fish ,cauliflower au gratin and chips, some fresh fruit salad and jelly left so will scoff the lot today.(my son and I) sounded like a right glutton their. laugh.gif
Hi troops its wan o mah favs the day its home made potted hough wie new totties swimming in butter ,and Baxters beetroot ,I tried tae get a decent potted hough but todays butchers have lost the recipe the mush that passes fer it noo looks like it came oota a whiskas packet.

I get 5 pound o hough dice it small get a pound an a hauf o ham cuttings trim aw the fat aff then boil it wie a knap bone jasus its hard getting knap bones noo 1 oor boil an 2 oors simmer remove the meat and blend it in batches get couple ounces o gealatine bring the meat back tae the boil add yer gellatine slowly tae yer pot ,leave tae cool an then pour it oot leave tae cool an bobs yer uncle .

Iwies put hauf intae the deep freeze an then take it oot o mah freezer and repeat the process .

Also trying tae make beef ham the real wie av sliced 3 pun o rump very thin and added it tae a tub o salted water gonna leave it fer 5 days in fridge only thing missing is pickle spice and salt petre but al see how this goes stiff me ahm hungry . laugh.gif
I have found a great tasting pie ,its Fray Bentos flamin hot chicken curry pie. Had it last night wae mash , lookin forward tae ma next wan already. smile.gif
No tuna, no the night, no the morra night, no ever laugh.gif
Cannae go it either Ashy laugh.gif
Today we are having a mixed grill havent had one in ages looking forward to it biggrin.gif
Chili con carne with tortilla chips and salad. Paraguayas for after.
Paraguayas is that a type of peach Bilbo
QUOTE (Anne1 @ 4th Aug 2010, 12:11pm) *
Paraguayas is that a type of peach Bilbo

Yes , Anne - very popular here, like a flattened peach, more wheel-shaped than ball-shaped. Don´t recall seeing them in UK but I am sure you will know if they are available. My wife prefers nectarines- prefers smooth skin to hairy, although she encouraged me to grow a beard 37 years ago - maybe just to hide at least a bit of my face. biggrin.gif
QUOTE (petalpeeps @ 3rd Aug 2010, 04:35pm) *
I have found a great tasting pie ,its Fray Bentos flamin hot chicken curry pie. Had it last night wae mash , lookin forward tae ma next wan already. smile.gif

Fray Bentos petals a forgor all about that / their product.
Today as we were out & about we had a Fish Supper in Callendar sat by the River in lovely sunshine eating it, instead of being invaded by seagulls the bliddy ducks were everywhere but a was greedy and kept it all to myself biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
yes I know thats why am fat
You fairly gallivant aboot the place, Anne. Have ye goat a secret supply o free petrol?

serously, it´s the way to be. I´ve got a bit lazy since we settled here permanently. We still get about a bit, but mainly shopping trips. My wife is a supermarket addict, even though she slaved for years in Asda.

Light lunch today - mussels, cockles and octopus in its own ink. Wee bottle of retsina, just for a change - one of those things that taste brilliant on a hot Mediterranean day but not so great in Scotland.

Stopped at that chipper a few years ago on way back from Oban to Airdrie.
QUOTE (Anne1 @ 5th Aug 2010, 07:30pm) *
Today as we were out & about we had a Fish Supper in Callendar

Yi' could have nipped intae the Tesco an' done yir shoppin' while yi' were there laugh.gif
You fairly gallivant aboot the place, Anne. Have ye goat a secret supply o free petrol?

No nae free petrol we are only about 45 mins from Callendar, but we came long way round today we went to Aberfoyle and had a look at some of the Lochs then took windy road from Aberfoyle so decided to eat out, in fact last three Thursday weve had Fish Suppers , Largs Helensburgh Callendar, we didnt get out to much last year with so many Drs , & Hospital Appts so making up for it now aand we have been lucky each day weather wise,
Ashy shopped in Tescos when we came back tongue.gif tongue.gif
welll its wet and miserable here today so we are Having Stewed Sausage, Potato, Turnip, nae Pud ate to much yesterday rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
QUOTE (Anne1 @ 5th Aug 2010, 10:33pm) *
Ashy shopped in Tescos when we came back

How did ah know, wummin, canny pass a shop laugh.gif

Think ah said before, we walked the old railway line from Strathyre to Callander and back last March. We ate in the bakers, the soup was good but the toastie was odd, ah prefer Mother's Pride ready sliced masel'. Ah nicked intae Tesco for ma papers cos it was either that or walk to the Co-op at the other end of Callander (an ah had walked enough) huh.gif

Anywi' back on thread, got friends comin' tonight for dinner so it's the full monty, stuffed portobello mushroom tae start then chicken something in the middle an' something that'll look suspiciously like tiramisu to finish. Ah better go and start cookin'.
Today we had Chicken Kiev Salad, New Potatoes then some Yoghurt to follow biggrin.gif
Today were having Roast Gammon Roast Boiled Pots Cauliflower Cheese Peas, Ice Cream Banana Tofee sauce biggrin.gif biggrin.gif