Full Version: Beware Of New Year Email Greetings
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat
lizeeloo
Read this

http://www.dshield.org/indexd.html

I have received two of these already and of course deleted .........

thanks lizzieloo a have had one from the halifax and one from the abbey national and a knew it was bad cause a dont bank with any of them they wanted my security details ay streight to the reort spam bucket so watch oot glasgow and uk ggers for these 2 also wink.gif
I too have had dodgy e-mails from banks . They claim the security access has been changed . These messages have been from just about every bank you could think of, Abbey ,Tsb, Halifax , Hsbc and a few mor e . Haven't opened any of them .
Geezabrek
Absolutely & Quite agree that these things are a bloomin nuisance. Thankfully, I get very few (other than from ebay - which I send to their own spam site). Others, (few now thankfully) I send to the 'mac' spam site and within a few weeks, I hear no more from them. Great.

Most Banks and other such sites operate their own spam sifter system.
But before you decide to delete this cr4p... have a look and if you can, forward it to the (relevant part of the) bank in question as they have the wherewithal to try to do something about this stuff.

*I just wish some clever wee sprog / geek would create a system, whereby you could forward all this rubbish back to some spam originator and overload them with the rubbish they generate.
*Hey - any 'geeks' out there... Have a thunk aboot this ... If you set up a specific spam filter site that folks can send this junk to and you can 'do something about it' then you will make a fortune ah? (£££$$$) ..... C'mon, the geeks... tongue.gif

**However, I do recognise the need to be 'very' careful and hope you all "do not reply" to this stuff in any way shape or form. Banks (etc) DO NOT - EVER ask for any personal info, or security info (etc).. ph34r.gif Be vigilant oot there...