Full Version: Respect
Glasgow Boards/Forums > GG Chit-Chat > General Chit Chat
When I first came on these boards it seemed to me that there was a lot more respect for each others feelings .Perhaps that is what the problems now arising are all about .
We didn't all agree on all matters and had some heated discussions but bottom line was always to respect peoples opinions ,likes and dislikes .There are some members on the boards now and I won't call names, as that would drag me down to their level .THEY know who they are without me saying who they are and for some of the nasties they have pulled they should hang their heads in shame .
There seems to a faction of very unhappy bitter people passing comments now .What happened to the laughter and make believe we used to have .Now if we try and do it we get insulted and called names .I enjoy listening to people sing and I enjoy imaginary cups of tea and washing imaginary stairs .Someone said they found that boring .Well TUFF .You don't have to come on these boards if so much displeases you .Go vent your spleen somewhere else .
We keep asking for new members to contribute more .Well maybe they are reluctant to do so because one of the doom and gloomers might put them down .
I say lets get some respect for each other back .To get respect you have to earn it and there's a few on here who don't even try .
Here Here ,I will second that Jakka wink.gif
I agree wholeheartedly Jakka. It's so sad. We used to be able to post anywhere in any topic and be assured of a respectful and mannerly response. A laugh, good spirited fun. Most of all the title of your topic 'respect.' We are not always going to agree of course, but we can always show decency and respect for one another.
Well said Jakka thank god for the voices of reason on here like yourself biggrin.gif

Thank god for bettys room only place where you get some peace and harmony and respect. biggrin.gif
I just know I'm going to get some pelters but frankly I don't give a( lets say hoot ).I'm not asking everyone to become Stepford wives and be all sweet and frilly .I just want to be able to have a laugh again without snickers behind my back .
Jakka whit's a snicker? smile.gif Ah know it's wan oh they Canadian fancy words, that ah don't know. biggrin.gif
It's like when somebody laughs up their sleeve at you . laugh.gif
Well said Jakka13. It's about time somebody spoke out. I am sure we can all agree to disagree at times without nastiness creeping in. It would be a funny old world if everyone had the same viewpoint. Respect is something that is in very short supply today [I am talking in general, not about the Boards].
Melody,

The Scottish equivalent of "snicker" is "snigger" - to laugh unpleasantly and disrespectfully.

Well said Jakka ,everyone is entitled to their opinion we cant always agree, but hey thats what makes it so interesting . So lets get back to respecting each others opiinion.
laugh.gif Melody,,, ahm surprised that yi dont know whit snickers is ,,,, bit mind you aha might have used the word snigger in the past when aha lived in Glasgow smile.gif
Aye Luceo ,,, Ive jist seen you post ,,, so ahm not alone then,, smile.gif
And here's me thinking Snickers is a chocolate bar!! biggrin.gif
Aye its that to ,,,, and one of my favourite ,,, respectfully so now wub.gif
They shoulda jist left it an kept it a Marathon, ah think Snickers a stupit name masel.
Could go wan right noo mind you laugh.gif

Respects like an open fire, the mare ye sit around it the warmer ye feel all over.
Good reminder post Jakka biggrin.gif
Good reasoning Jakka I say show the respect to others that you expect them to show to you, and we can return to the happy forum that we all once knew biggrin.gif
I totally agree with that. I have got that I don't read these 'nasty' posts, although I admit I was so inscensed at one post that I let my feelings show a bit more than I should! I think I stopped that thread there and then sad.gif

Let's get back to the fun on the posts, I'm not that good with the repartee but I enjoy reading it, so keep it up girls.
Luceo and all, thank you for the explanation of 'snicker'. smile.gif
Good post Jakka. I have to tell ye that this board in proportion to other boards to which I had membership is far superior in this area, even though there are a few miscreants. As far Snickers the chocolate bar it was named after a horse.
I totally agree with your post jakka lets get back to the fun and the good natured banter that we once had after all thats the reason why we joined the boards in the first place wink.gif
QUOTE (Elma @ 30th Oct 2007, 05:35 AM) *
I totally agree with that. I have got that I don't read these 'nasty' posts, although I admit I was so inscensed at one post that I let my feelings show a bit more than I should! I think I stopped that thread there and then sad.gif

Let's get back to the fun on the posts, I'm not that good with the repartee but I enjoy reading it, so keep it up girls.

It is hard not to jump in when you get upset by a post, you are not alone. We do have some wonderful wit on these boards and some very talented people. I have learned a lot and had some really good belly laughs, so yes, please keep the respect going and we will all enjoy each other's company. Jaybee
this is my feelings on respect , and it is this ,every time sombody puts their instincts on others,unhappyness follows and if pettyness comes in ,then anger,jelousy and revenge tries to rear its ugly head .
some seek attention and somtimes protection then when others try to protect it becomes a tit for tat situation then the nastiness comes out unintentionally Iwould like to wish by that im giving the benifit of the doubt ,

my feeling is that also the clash of strong personallities can bring up some horrible stuff and can lead to one of 2 things ie the cold shoulder or a big row and all I strive for is harmony but it seem that no matter where certain people write or put somthing out in a topic only a chossen few are set on causing mayhem and sabotage for others

my wish is to get on but the topic I wrote was a needed thing but because of whatever reasons it was gone and I was not shocked by this as I never seen half of what was written but only the boss knows the answer to that so it was a topical disscussion, not general chit chat and thats the difference chit chat is fun and topical is a chosen subject .we cant laugh all the time life in general is not like that and im trying my upmost to give respect but it is a two way thing thank you for reading this and was typed in a calm manner please read in a calm head if possible as I wish to upset or anoy nobody and that is the truth so hugs to all taking the time to read my input Ithank you all for your time and time is a preshious thing to me
baskabar
Well said Jakka. Your observations of what has been going on are right on the money,I have been a member only for a year and found this site to be exactly what i was looking for,however i quickly spotted the issues you mentioned and to be quite frank it totally spoiled my visits to the boards, now i sometimes just read rarely post anymore.
99% of GG gang are wonderful,warm human beings with lots to share and then there are the others.......least said soonest mended sad.gif
A very wise lady on this board advised me never to post a reply straight away to something that had 'wound me up'. This 'sleep on it' suggestion has proved invaluable, invariably with the morning light comes the realisation that the post could have been meant another way or the issue actually isn't as important as it seemed.

There are many people here that I am honoured to call friends. As in life, there are also many I don't know, and yes, a few I don't like. If, however, I have been disrespectful to either group, I apologise, for I had no right to be....none of us do....and if we don't all realise that soon, we're going to lose a very important part of this board.

Now who wants some monkey nuts?
Ahv jist remebert ah waant a Marathon laugh.gif

Ah cannae move fur laughin here guys, wis jist aboot tae say sorry for goin off topic..them ah remebert Topics Jakka, they werr good annaw laugh.gif
Aw shut up.....laugh.gif laugh.gif
No miny of us GG Boards in a pun........ if ye'll pardon the pun laugh.gif laugh.gif
A pun???? goat me confused. Noo about Topics, did ye buy them in Canada. Och, probably afore ma time lol..... rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
This past wee while av'e felt as though you get blasted to kingdom come for having a positive outlook in life, woe betide anyone that has that, negative outlook and the red carpet get rolled out for you now thats just weird to me.

To stay back on topic, like jakka said you have to earn respect to get it in return am going to be completely honest here a few members i dont respect and never will and thats my choice.
A lot of damage has been done recently, on here but its time to get ourselves back to being the fun loving intelligent people we are . Well some of us, but there are enough of us to achieve this , Respect has to be earned but sadly there are those , few in number who dont qualify.

Sleepin on a topic Java wink.gif did the chocolate no melt rolleyes.gif
Well said Betty. I got so upset yesterday over a certain person's posts that I felt I would never put in another post on the boards because you can get ripped to shreds by peoples' thoughtless remarks. Then I thought about how much enjoyment and laughter I had had from the "good guys" that I decided not to let this person win. Java's comments are so funny and it's great to get a good 'belly laugh!' Let's hear it for the nice folks.
C`moan Merrymerry hill Girl Where that wee smile ? D`ye hear aboot the constipated mathematician.... He worked it oot wey a Pencil, tongue.gif
I would like to comment in respect to this thread,I feel due respect should be made to those , posters who showed respect for each others point of you and as I respect the rights of individuals to have their say ,I feel we should show respect to those whom we have no respect for and thus bring an atmosphere of mutual understanding and respect back GG boards.I do hope you will respect my feelings in this matter as I will indeed respect you for respecting me ,I respectfully submit this post as sign of respect to the respectable people on the GG boards .So if you wish to gain respect then you must earn that respect or you know what to expect.You got it ....... !!! no respect . Have a nice day laugh.gif wub.gif
MHG Never allow anyone to put you off from posting .I,ve hud merr darts thrown at me oan here than jockey wilson has had thrown at his dartboard. biggrin.gif An am still here wae nae scars

jimmy think yi made yir point therr biggrin.gif yir some guy fur wan respectfully youre pal betty
For Tennscot and Betty biggrin.gif laugh.gif I won't let the barsteward grind me down. Oh Gawd Tennscot, the auld yins are the best. Ah fell oot ma cradle laughing at that wan!
P.S. Jimmyda, I am respectfully still trying to work out what you so respectfully said!! Ah think.

P.S.Sorry Jimmyd hit the wrong key, yer no ma da!
A wise person indeed java that said sleep on it before jumping in, I was taught very early on in life that agression begets agression that gets you nowhere, its not going to kill you to ignore someone who has been nasty on the boards , in fact I think by ignoring an obvious jibe that you actually will speak volumes.
Maryhillgal , you came onto the boards and joined in with the fun and participte in the posting and I for one am sorry you have been upset(hope tae goodness it wisney me unsure.gif ) don't let it put you off I think it happens to us all at some point, keep smiling and posting.
QUOTE (maryhillgal @ 31st Oct 2007, 07:01 AM) *
P.S. Jimmyda, I am respectfully still trying to work out what you so respectfully said!! Ah think.

P.S.Sorry Jimmyd hit the wrong key, yer no ma da!

When you find oot love ,wull ye send me a wee PM !! laugh.gif
Aye Jimmyd and will ye sing me "Daddy's Little Girl!!!" [Only kidding paw].
I was not able to read the replies to my posting re the health topic before it was taken away. I am now wondering if the finger pointing is at me. I don't believe I was disrespectful to anyone. If I was, it was certainly not intended. Jaybe
I don't think you were disrespectful to anyone Jaybee and I can't for the life of me fathom out why this topic has been taken off the boards.
Ye no the auld saying Jaybee.....If someones pointin a finger at you there's four pointin right back at them.
I wouldn't worry about it at all as Maryhillgal says.

If it concerns anyone why the Topic was removed then if I were you I'd jist pm Martin and ask as he's the one that removed it.
If he disnae know then wur aw in trouble laugh.gif

Jimmy and Maryhillgal.....jist tae make sure ye's urnae related an are respectfully respective we waant tae see yer Birth Certificates, Co-op Stamps an proof a wherr ye's wur last night. laugh.gif
Irrespective of whether ye can remember or no... wink.gif

Catherine, may one respectfully enquire as tae whither one's hair is still purple?
Tis , so whits yer point caller? laugh.gif
Ah'll let you know purples kinda in somewherr in the wurld.....kinda.......aye it is tis sot laugh.gif
Well aye, but then so is puttin a big plate in yer mooth....mind ah suppose you qualify wi that tae...feet are sometimes cawed 'platesa meat' sure they are.....
QUOTE (maryhillgal @ 31st Oct 2007, 01:16 PM) *
I don't think you were disrespectful to anyone Jaybee and I can't for the life of me fathom out why this topic has been taken off the boards.

Think we are getting a little paranoid.....well maybe not so much the "we"....lol, thanks, jaybee
I've jist read a lovely and very welcome post from another member.

Suffice to say I think Respect is alive and well guys, it's always a very humbling experience to realise when we're in the wrong or have said the wrong thing.

It's also always a very uplifting experience when we do the right thing too...and at the end of the day that's really all we should wish for cos if we get what's important then we're helluva lucky in this world.

I'm personally so glad ah respect ma neighbour, cos she jist came through wae three batteries that saved ma boys life gaun fae magical tae disasterous ten minutes ago laugh.gif
Hear, hear Catherine, lovely to read. We should all take a leaf out of her book. Jaybee
I loved GGBB and couldn’t wait to join in the fun and laughter each day on many topics including 'cyber pub', 'melody's sing-song' etc. That was until I was very deeply hurt when I was wrongfully accused of starting a thread for personal gain and actually, very rudely, asked on the boards by a fellow member what I was contributing towards Glasgow Guide for advertising. In actual fact the thread had been running for approx. 9 months and GG said that he was happy for me to raise awareness to it. I can't understand why some members feel the need to 'police' the boards, if they are not happy with a thread then they should report it to GG admin, not take it into their own hands, with no facts, and make wild accusations towards other members.

At my time of life I don't need aggression; I would rather move on and live in peace and tranquility, so that's why I don't post much these days.

Jakka is right, respect for each other is what is needed on these boards, I don't dislike anyone and I honestly fail to see how any member can dislike another one if they haven't met them personally.

Incidentally, for the record, re. the subject of my topic which caused so much controversy, I don't make any money, my favourite charity benefits from it smile.gif
I sincerely hope i have never shown any disrespect to anyone on these boards , i would never intentionally set out to do so.