20th Sep 2007, 01:24am
I watched david platt get cuffed out in his ear , he is a horrible most nastie wee bit of arrogant and defiant lad in corrie a wont say too much as a know you are all behind who is your caracter that bugs ,love hate adore or want to shake them in all the soaps or even other programmes please tell you mus have sombody .
A LOVED STAN AND HILDA aww a heart of gold but mrs nosey as was ena charples poor wee minnie caldwell a loved her aww it is getting raunchy. now so are the others no mary whitehouse as theres to many programmes to watch sky etc she would be demented poor wummin but she was some ticket if sombody swore she went doollay ,it is just aswell she has gone to the big telly in the sky lol get it SKY
20th Sep 2007, 02:50am
I was at the bingo tonight Stuarty [didn't win as per usual] and set my tape for Corrie and Emmerdale but didn't realise that I had set the wrong date so I missed both of them. Will have to catch up on ITV2. I agree, David Platt is a wee psycho who needs a good kick up the backside, not Gail's fluttering eyelashes [wonder how many times she does that in a minute]. He is playing his part so well though. Janice Battersby's voice really irritates me.
In Eastenders, Phil annoys me because I can hardly make out what he's saying. Seems to do a lot of grunting. Also Ian Beale drives me crackers - could you imagine being married to him?
20th Sep 2007, 05:04am
I have watched Coronation Street since the first episode. I cried buckets at Ida Barlow's funeral, she was Ken's mother and I fell in love with Ken at that time and have had a thing for him ever since!!

We in Canada are about 9 months behind, I haven't seen tonight's episode but I presume it will be Christmas Day 2006, do you mean David Platt is still being a little @#$%
Some of the 'modern' characters get on my wick, but on the whole I enjoy the program although it is a bit over the top at times. I don't watch any of the other Brit soaps.
20th Sep 2007, 06:26am
Here in Aussie we have Foxtel and I watch Corrie and Eastenders every week night I agree with comments about David Platt, he's a wee sh#*te, can't stand him, Gails a simpering idiot and Norris is a big girl.In Eastenders I find most of the cast are whinging two timing drama queens, but I still watch it, I like Gus, but he's not in it very often now.
20th Sep 2007, 12:42pm
I too am a big Corrie fan,well ye cannae really help it when ye grow up up watchin it aww yer day's.I used tae get Eastenders here on a PBS station and really enjoyed it,unfortunately the station dropped the show about 5yrs ago so i lost interest,but at least Corrie is still entertaining.And Elma just wait tae ye see what's about to happen on it..lol,i managed to catch a few episodes when i was over in the UK and noo ahm aww confused as i know wits gonna happen,but the shows are a few months behind here so i'm havin some major Deja-Vu moments.I guess i have been a corrie fan since around '69-70,yes i was hooked early.I can even remember meeting Pat Phoenix (Elsie Tanner) when i was about 5yrs old,I remember her being a Beautiful woman.

I get to see Corrie on my local CBC station.
20th Sep 2007, 01:53pm
Of all the soaps, I think Corrie is by far the best. Since day one there has always been a bit of humour in it [I think Rita's one liners to Norris are brilliant]. I agree Norris is a big girl's blouse but he is such a good actor. I loved all the old characters like Elsie Tanner and Dennis her son, Ena Sharples, Minnie Caldwell and Martha Longhurst, not forgetting Albert Tatlock and Florrie Lindley who had the shop. Hilda and Stan Ogden were absolutely brilliant, especially Hilda who acted her socks off. She was such a believable character - loved her "murials!" and the flying ducks. Great memories of a great show.
20th Sep 2007, 01:57pm
Like the rest of you I love Corrie St .My youngest daughter who was only 2 when we came here is also a big fan .Right now I think we are at least six months behind the U.K .If the Platt lad was mine I think I'd be jailed for child abuse .Bev just left and moved out to Shelly so I'm glad she's gone .Norris gets on my nerves and I certainly wouldn't miss him .
We found a site one night and it was all Corrie fans chatting .Had a great laugh but don't remember where it was .They had bets going as to when the veins in Dierdra's neck would burst .They also had bets going as to who would die next .One wag wrote in that he wished it would be them all and then he might get some attention from his wife
kelticforce
20th Sep 2007, 02:19pm
Ah used to love Brookside, it had humour and stupidity.
I hate Eastenders as it's nothing like real life, no one in the bloody place has a washing machine and Ian Beale is a turd.
I've always hated David Pratt in Corrie, love to crack his skull wae a cricket bat. Wee Chesney is the best.
20th Sep 2007, 02:23pm
Agree with you there Kelticforce, Brookside was brilliant and I was a great fan. Loved the Liverpool humour and never missed an episode and was gutted when they took it off. I also used to like Family Affairs on Channel 5 but they took that off as well.
20th Sep 2007, 02:59pm
aww kelticforce am in stitches with your comments ,they are so funnt but so true. Chesney is a doll and so is fizz wait until you see her what a doll. Now a tell you and gaels mad hubby david is turning out to be just like him god, evil plus ,,,,,,,, put the d in front of evil and that about sums platt upand theres worse to come belive me grrrrrrrrr
20th Sep 2007, 03:48pm
Brookside was my favourite soap loved that Barry Grant so cool

really missed it when it ended.
Detest Eastenders load of drivel, i have fell away from Corrie for a while now David Platt is a great wee actor thats why we hate him, i will probably get pelters for saying this but i think Norris and Roy are the best actors on the show
20th Sep 2007, 03:50pm
naw norris and roy should move in the same hoose both sweety wives and well matched
20th Sep 2007, 05:53pm
Used to watch the soaps years ago , couldn't tell you who's who anymore. The story lines just got way too much. I also didn't want my children seeing it and thinking that's the wat life is. I know some of it probably is , but i feel its just got out of hand. We have children here that watch it all the time , and some of the conversations i have over heard about these programmes between them would make your hair curl. Maybe i am just being old fashioned about it ,but some of these kids are really young ,what sort of future are they going to have if they base it on soap story lines? I'me getting old are'nt I ?
20th Sep 2007, 06:05pm
Agree with you Angela Chick - Norris and Roy are two of the best actors, along with David Platt. They must be when we can get so p....d off at them.
20th Sep 2007, 06:40pm
Here is a web address to a Great Corrie site,it gives ye cast bio's,character's past and present,Chat room and loads of other stuff.Give it a shot ye might like it.
P.S. Terry Duckworth is still the worst git on corrie...well mibbe charley is a close second.
http://www.corrie.net/
20th Sep 2007, 06:49pm
Ah wish we could have more good drama. Remember ' The Wednesday Play' and 'Play for Today', one soap is much like another these days and it's all we seem to get on tv.
kelticforce
20th Sep 2007, 06:53pm
Here ah um a few year back serving a pint in the Queen Vic, ah got sacked cos the wee wummin was under age, ah knew she wis under age cos it wis oor Nas but she'll end up an alky like me so whit wis the harm.
The next wan is me demonstrating in the square tae get ma job back.
The last wan is Nas using her cockney genes and stealing Charlie's taxi

20th Sep 2007, 07:13pm
Great Pics Kelticforce,ye look like ye belong behind the bar.
20th Sep 2007, 07:56pm
Oh ah think that should be plural .....
20th Sep 2007, 08:48pm
java you took the words right out of my mooth oooops

kelticforce you look like dirty dens brother
kelticforce
20th Sep 2007, 08:55pm
Aw christ no heard that wan in a while, Dirty Den, ah wis glad when he wis killed in the 80s to get peace fae that nonsense.
Me behind bars, now who could ever agree wae that. Whit wid ma weans dae withoot me. Ma Eastenders are bad enough with their dipping pockets and climbing doon chimneys tae rob hooses, whit wid they be like withoot a father figure.
Mind ye wee Chesney hisnae went aff the rails since Les vanished
20th Sep 2007, 09:01pm
QUOTE (maryhillgal @ 20th Sep 2007, 07:14 PM)

Agree with you Angela Chick - Norris and Roy are two of the best actors, along with David Platt. They must be when we can get so p....d off at them.
Exactly MHG they rest of them aint even worth mentioning

ma pal used to say that Gail looked like a tortoise
21st Sep 2007, 02:32pm
kelticforce did you know: they brought dirty den back to life as the ratings were dropping but it was not the same they even brought sharon back anaw; and well the mitchell brothers have been deid more a care to mention they have nine lifes a tell you a think they are vampires only come back at night
21st Sep 2007, 04:49pm
That's the website I have on my favourites, I read it all the time and cheat by reading what is coming up next as they have both the story in detail and the text of each episode.
I agree that the characters we love to hate are probably the best actors. Do you mean that David actually gets worse than he is right now (for us), I like Roy I think he is a sweetie but I can't stand Cilla...........oh I could go on and on
22nd Sep 2007, 10:35am
Kelticforce wit d'ye mean by "since Les Vanished" did cilla do him in or somethin???och i'm gonnae have tae go and cheat and look at the corrie web site.The last episode i saw here in Canada,was the Episode were David Told Maureen(in front of everyone) that Bill was sleepin wae his Granny.I think the street has their new "bad boy" for the next few yrs.
kelticforce
22nd Sep 2007, 12:11pm
Les was sacked fur being drunk and giein away story lines, ah don't know how he left, ah'm sure he just vanished.
David has a few worse bits to come, the worst bit being that he's still breathing, ah cannae stand the wee git, two people ah would cheerfully blooter the heids aff wid be David and Ian Beale fae eastenders.
To malky they two wae a crowbar wid make ma day.
Anyone tell us who this boy is that was scaring Beale as Cindy.
22nd Sep 2007, 12:19pm
Kelticforce, you are a knockout. Can't stop laughing at your last post. I also would like to know who this "boy" is? Didn't recognise him at all.
No. 10 Girl
22nd Sep 2007, 05:31pm
Neighbour over the road earns a wee bit of extra cash as an extra on Coronation St. Manchester only 45 mins from here. She said the cast are all lovely but the nicest of the bunch are Haley and Fizz. As for wee Chesney she described him as a "Stuck up little git!" I love my Emmerdale but I could smack Sam Dingle in the face as soon as look at him! and for all our Antipodean friends on the boards I love my Neighbours.
brian432
22nd Sep 2007, 09:19pm
Bring back Annie Walker.
22nd Sep 2007, 10:00pm
ok a will go dig her up noo will a want ena and minnie anaw aswell as elsie and jack and uncle albert stan and the list is adinfinitum
kelticforce
22nd Sep 2007, 10:20pm
Maryhillgal, we kin share the crowbar.
I have met many of the cast from most of the soaps, drove them about and found most to be good company. Les Battersby did like a beer and tried to get a hold of a burd from emmerdale.
Picked Grant Mitchell up on a Sunday morning after a night out and he was still half cut, he bought half of McDonalds and demanded ah try to eat it with Him.
Barbara Windsor is a diamond, even when in a hurry had time for everyone.
Anyone remember Alec Baldwin, was that the right name. I picked him up the night he signed for Corrie, originally for 6 episodes, he went to LAittle Venice to celebrate.
Ah'll no bore ye but one arse I must mention was the guy from Duran Duran, the Taylor who wore the make up, one obnoxious cretin, the only person I remember wanting to put up the wall and stick his heid through the 'Square window'
The rest were great.
I was oblivious one night talking to the burd in the back, anyway eventually I cotton on and say 'You sound like that burd oot Coronation Street, that Sally Webster, she burst out laughing, aye it was her.
Anyway if someone could hire a gun, we can now widen the hate list to David the pratt, Ian Beale and noo Wee Chesney fur being a wee stuck up git, feed the little runt tae Schmeical, ah bet ah never spelt the dug's name right.
22nd Sep 2007, 10:26pm
We used to get old episodes of Take the High Road, it was great for us Aussie/Scots to see the magic scenery of Loch Lomond and to hear some good patter.
We have to put up with the crap acting of Neighbors and the pathetic other soap called Home and Away.
As for other UK soaps as Linda says you have to pay for them on the pay Channel.
22nd Sep 2007, 10:33pm
Aw Stuarty, I am still laughing at you going to dig up all the bodies! Dae ye think yer Burke or Hare?
22nd Sep 2007, 10:36pm
For all you Glasgow exiles - River City is not a bad soap. I only started watching it about 3 months ago but have become quite hooked on it. Isabel [Blair's Stores] from Take the High Road is in it and goad has she got a right pan loaf accent - pure Kelvinside [or Morningside].
22nd Sep 2007, 10:40pm
I love the British soaps,Eastenders, Emmerdale Coronation St
Been watching Coronation Street forever,
We eused to get Emmmerdale, then they cancelled it,
Evan although I phoned 100 times asking them why?
I miss Emmerdale,
Must say coronation STreet is getting a bit Rounchy[spelling]? though
Ena Sharples would turn over in her grave if she knew what was happening now a days dont you all think so, ? Cheers ,
kelticforce
22nd Sep 2007, 11:05pm
Ah'm taking a liberty noo.
The Bill..........Who watches that
Do any of you remember this copper

Poor Sgt Boydon got shot. The wee yin in the picture is his grand daughter, my wee yin, oor Nastasya. This was the run up to his murder. Nas was in three episodes as Sophie Boyden. Whit an escapade, she took crack cocaine in a drug house with Nick Klien and workled with this other copper, christ I can't remember his name but the girls aw loved him.
Whit a way to treat a wean, ah'm greeting noo thinking how ah let her take crack cocaine, how could she no be an alky like her father. Ah'm selling her culture doohn the river.

kelticforce
22nd Sep 2007, 11:09pm
Sorry the last pic was her mum in the programme, not her real mum. We don't know who her real mum is.
23rd Sep 2007, 12:17am
QUOTE (kelticforce @ 20th Sep 2007, 05:04 PM)

Aw christ no heard that wan in a while, Dirty Den, ah wis glad when he wis killed in the 80s to get peace fae that nonsense.
Me behind bars, now who could ever agree wae that. Whit wid ma weans dae withoot me. Ma Eastenders are bad enough with their dipping pockets and climbing doon chimneys tae rob hooses, whit wid they be like withoot a father figure.
Mind ye wee Chesney hisnae went aff the rails since Les vanished
Les vanishes ?? now you've let it oot the bag, we're months behind
23rd Sep 2007, 09:02am
Stuarty see while yer diggin, have a wee look for Garnock Way or High Livin....ah miss the wallpaper in they flats....
No. 10 Girl
23rd Sep 2007, 12:32pm
QUOTE (stuarty @ 22nd Sep 2007, 11:09 PM)

ok a will go dig her up noo will a want ena and minnie anaw aswell as elsie and jack and uncle albert stan and the list is adinfinitum

Can you dig up Florrie Lindley while your at it please Stuarty?
23rd Sep 2007, 02:13pm
Garnock Way and High Living. I had forgotten all about them Java. Does anyone remember the Grove Family which was the first soap ever shown on BBC1?
23rd Sep 2007, 03:46pm
a think the boy thats nick berrys boy a think a canny remember his nam wicksy they called him a think sindy had a baby by him did she no !!!!! a better get proper grave diggers here to get aww thesr old deaddied peeps up we could call it sckelital corry in the dead of the night
and take the high road what was that old horrible biddy the wan that never had a man but did she no have a son in the end oh a want to remember aww these people
and yrmember andy the teacher in the begining in eastenders ross davison he passed aw\y last year a got his and vikki mechelles 'sue pollard, roy hudd ,angela rippon ,jilly cooper as a was on whats my line sue pollard was a laugh a minite she has a great sense of houmor
and a have met a lot of actors and actresses but a canny say who cause a met them in a special place and pop stars and they are not divas they are down to earth people a tell you a just joe blogg that is on the telly not big headed infact very humble and a just say hello and walk on or sit down if needs be lifes funny some people belive these actors are real people in the soaps wan guy got battered for being nasty to the sergent june ackland in the bill he says am only playin a part and the wee wummin got ladiled into him
23rd Sep 2007, 03:50pm
remember andy cameron was on take the high road or was it high livin as they actors aww moved from one soap to another

talk aboot an exodus and the neighbours and remember sons and daughters and blue heelers now they have a aussie hospital proggramme on in the afternoon a canny remember the name but it id good it will come back to me after a write this duh oh and the sullivans a loved that about the war magic
23rd Sep 2007, 05:13pm
Only really watch Coronation Street. Tried some of the others but could not get into them.
I do remember years ago there being one called Crossroads (anyone remember).
Watching Corie right now, on for 2 1/2 hrs on a Sunday, it is the Christmas 06 episodes, have to confess I do read the web for up to date episodes, like to know whats ahead and if its worthwhile watching.
Has been getting on my nerves latley, getting more like the American Soaps, everyone sleeping with each other, next they will be wearing evening gowns to the Rovers to sup there ale and eat the hotpot.
One thing that really gets my goat is the unmistakable bump that Frankie is carrying around can't they write it in or just not show her below the bust, those big cardies are just not hiding it. They did the same thing with LeeAnne
I think I like Fizz the best, agree with most others can't stand the brat Platt

Oops almost forgot the Duckies, Jack and Vera, who could not like them.
23rd Sep 2007, 06:42pm
Still watch corrie and like the rest of you hate wee platt. Dont know if it qualified as a soap but loved Hamish Macbeth. Especially remember the episode where the crooks came up frae glesca and buried a guy they had murdered. They were just about tae walk away when a cell phone rang. They all looked at each other and shrugged saying its not mine and thats when the heid yin shouted at them ...you bloody fools ye buried him wi his cell phone. Still think of that and laugh.....andra
23rd Sep 2007, 07:42pm
That wiz funny andra
23rd Sep 2007, 08:28pm
Used to enjoy Hamish Macbeth too Andy but I don't remember that bit. Think it was on the Knowledge Network and the announcers always mangled the name of the village which I can't remember now!
23rd Sep 2007, 10:02pm
remember him smokin puff sume copper mind you a do know a few like that
back to the soaps remember schiue mcfee in crossrods and amy turtle aww noel gordon she was supposed to have been a right diva to work with she had to be called miss gordon and then her son sandy and benny miss diane

and jill but they tried to restart that it was a compleat didaster jill done herself in in the pool outside the new crossroads
and remember when sally joined she was so common noo shes got joories in her mooth
kelticforce
23rd Sep 2007, 10:24pm
QUOTE (murn @ 23rd Sep 2007, 01:26 AM)

Les vanishes ?? now you've let it oot the bag, we're months behind

Aw christ ah never realised. I better be careful wot I say, your months behind but you must be past where Roy goes to bed with Hayley and tries to have sex, discovering that Hayley never had the final op and that Roy never knew the difference was a ridiculous storyline.
Eastenders has to be the feel good factor, you watch that and thank god your not friggin English. A fiver to anyone who can regale us with the last happy storyline in the doom and gloom soap. You could win the lottery, watch the omnebus episodes and still be in need of valium come Monday.
You have a five iron to chip a 190 yard on to the green with a great chance of winning the Open, would you take it or use the club to take the skull off a few doom and gloomers fae Eastenders.
The Open will be there next year, god forbid they same the same about the cast of Eastenders
24th Sep 2007, 12:13am
QUOTE (kelticforce @ 23rd Sep 2007, 06:33 PM)

Aw christ ah never realised. I better be careful wot I say, your months behind but you must be past where Roy goes to bed with Hayley and tries to have sex, discovering that Hayley never had the final op and that Roy never knew the difference was a ridiculous storyline.
Eastenders has to be the feel good factor, you watch that and thank god your not friggin English. A fiver to anyone who can regale us with the last happy storyline in the doom and gloom soap. You could win the lottery, watch the omnebus episodes and still be in need of valium come Monday.
You have a five iron to chip a 190 yard on to the green with a great chance of winning the Open, would you take it or use the club to take the skull off a few doom and gloomers fae Eastenders.
The Open will be there next year, god forbid they same the same about the cast of Eastenders
naw use a three wood
much more enjoyable sound effect
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.