> Still Game, From the makers of Chewin the Fat
isa
post 8th Feb 2004, 02:02pm

Member No.: 425
sorry this is a bit long winded, but its worth it.

has anybody seen this comedy series yet, bbc2 11pm sat night.well if you can, do, it had me rolling, and crying, as it was like visiting my dad and my aunties, as the actors are that great, you feel you are back home and in the same room as them all, the best comedy since chewing the fat.

its a story of 2 old men that have been friends for years and have grown up in glasgow all there life, and they meet many people on there day to day business, there is 1 woman that cracks me up, wee isa,and i think, yep, thats my auntie annie to a t, she goes to tell a story and in the good old glaswegian way, it takes forever,....oh hello, here, remeber willy, i yeah dae, he went oot wi a lassie fae inkerman street, red hair, green eyes, she worked with......and she eventually gets there, all 1st and surnames are mentioned cos you know us glaswegians, we always say the surname even if were talking to family about other family, as if they dont know there name,lol

this was this weeks
Scottish sitcom featuring characters from the comedy series Chewin' the Fat. Jack and Victor are desperate to get an invite to a lavish wedding.An old friend dies and they go to his house to retreive all the things he had borrowed over the years, outside the church, Victor makes a list from the mourners and gets there stuff back, only to find he didnt die it was the man in the next bed with the same surname, wee Isa got it wrang again.

Cast List
Jack Jarvis ..... Ford Kiernan
Victor ..... Greg Hemphill
Winston ..... Paul Riley
Tam ..... Mark Cox
Isa ..... Jane McCarry
Eric ..... James Martin
Navid Harrid ..... Sanjeev Kohli
Bobby ..... Gavin Mitchell
Meena ..... Shamshad Akhtar

next weeks is
Scottish sitcom featuring characters from the comedy series Chewin' the Fat. Victor wins a dog in a pub competition while Jack feels sad after seeing a video of his family in Canada.

Cast List
Ford Kiernan, Greg Hemphill, Paul Riley, Mark Cox, Jane McCarry, Gavin Mitchell

gonnae throw us doon a piece Ma

isa
post 8th Feb 2004, 02:06pm

go to this web site for all info
http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/tv/chewinthe...tor/still_game/

isa
post 8th Feb 2004, 02:26pm

i forgot to say, if you go to the left of the screen you can hear some of the sentences from the show, just click on downloads and click sounds,great patter

post 8th Feb 2004, 04:42pm

Member No.: 193
great site Isa didnt go through it all but did put into my favorites thanks a lot laugh.gif

Jan Williams
post 9th Feb 2004, 08:11am

Member No.: 628
We have a couple of video's of the programme, I must admit its funny sometimes. My hubby can laugh so much that everyone else in the company laugh with him even though they have no idea what he's laughing at. His favourite saying is; gonny no dae that, Glasgow patter at its best.

post 9th Feb 2004, 11:41pm

Great Isa ,had a right good laugh,tae ,masel there. biggrin.gif

bf2002
post 16th Aug 2005, 10:59am

Member No.: 2,277
can anyone help i am looking for photographs of the locations that are used in still game, the pub the cafe the shop and flats and stuff like that.
i run a web site dedicated to still game and i livive in manchester and only get to glasgow once a year and don't know where it is filmed this info would also be good as i can try to get some pictures next year.

would be very greatful for anyonone that can help

This post has been edited by bf2002: 19th Aug 2005, 11:41am

bf2002
post 16th Aug 2005, 11:01am

can anyone help i am looking for photographs of the locations that are used in still game, the pub the cafe the shop and flats and stuff like that.
i run a web site dedicated to still game and i livive in manchester and only get to glasgow once a year and don't know where it is filmed this info would also be good as i can try to get some pictures next year.

would be very greatful for anyonone that can help

post 16th Aug 2005, 09:01pm

The Clansman was The Ruchill Tavern which has been demolished.

post 17th Aug 2005, 12:53am

Member No.: 1,927
Have you tried Virtual Mitchell Library or google-ing Craiglang, or just Still Game....Hope that helps too.

Thats what I think anyway

bf2002
post 17th Aug 2005, 09:21pm

thanks for your help biggrin.gif

post 17th Aug 2005, 10:31pm

Hi bf2002,

I'll try and help you out as I should be able to get you photos of the shops as they are actually in Townhead and I pass there regularly.

It's a great TV comedy series and I' glad to see it doing so well. Unfortunately I have a sorry tale to relate about it re photos: one day I was taking photos for this website in High Street and Merchant City when, by chance, I came upon a film set (at the time I thought it was filming for Jet Li’s £28m Glasgow film, Danny the Dog) near King Street. Like everyone there I joined the crowd to see what was happening. Next minute I was approached by an irate member of the crew who demanded that I turn off my camera - even although I was not taking a photo at the time. Naturally, I told her that I would not, and off she disappeared only to return with (presumably) her boss. I told him the same thing and off he went only to return with a PC who was controlling traffic. Again I told them no and the PC departed saying it was not a police matter as long as I did not cause an obstruction. The crew then halted filming to get more crew to stand in front of me to stop me taking photos which I originally did not intend to take.

Anyway, just because they made such a big fuss I now felt I should take a couple of photos just to show that they could not boss their public about...I'll have a look for them and see if I can find them, but may have deleted them!

Anyway, they got a bit of Glaswegian attitude that day - I dread to think what Winston would have done!!! ohmy.gif

post 17th Aug 2005, 10:43pm

...here's one, I believe it is from the episode where Jack and Victor go into town and visit a tobacco shop where they proceed to cause a commotion by smoking to the limit!

post 18th Aug 2005, 01:20am

Member No.: 1,927
Not oor Martin nah, ha ha that was funny good on you Martin laugh.gif

Thats what I think anyway

post 18th Aug 2005, 01:59pm

welldone martin its our land and just because a jobs worth tried to be smart he/she got their comuppance anybody can do asthey like just because thyareinharge ofa a bt of tv equipment the can boss people am glad you stood your ground G G rule tongue.gif

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.