> Star Ratings, Bit untrusworthy presently
Rating 3 V
Geezabrek
post 12th Apr 2007, 08:32pm

Member No.: 1,442
Hi GG.
I like the idea of popping my star rating onto a particular topic / joke etc.
But it seems a bit odd, that "I" can show something as being 4 or 5 stars on my own.

Couldn't you make it that after 'so many' clicks of a rating, that - that rating is then shown.... ie. if I pop something as 5 and somewon else pops it as 3, then a few more 'rates' that an average is shown.
Be more realistic i reckon.

Just a thought... not a complaint.

Maybe others have a comment here too???

unsure.gif

If u canny fix it wi a hammer - It's an electrical problem!

post 12th Apr 2007, 08:37pm

Geeza, ah think that's how it works already...if you give something 5 and I give it 1, ah think it comes up as three....biggrin.gif...try it wi this wan...biggrin.gif

Geezabrek
post 13th Apr 2007, 08:51pm

Ahaaaaa. wink.gif Just gave it a 5. and it has cum up 3 ..... Yer right, it obviously changes as folks click on it... Thanks for that.

PS. Do folks know about it as there are a heck of a lot with no star ratings, some even having been ongoing for some time !! I just wonder about that rolleyes.gif

post 14th Apr 2007, 07:30pm

come tae think of it, I have nae stars sad.gif

Geezabrek
post 15th Apr 2007, 07:51pm

I'll bet "many" will disagree wi that Lennox.... (Jist u wait)... wub.gif

post 15th Apr 2007, 08:00pm

Can ye put stars on people? huh.gif

Chookie
post 15th Apr 2007, 11:08pm

Member No.: 318
Dae ye no' know, we're a' stars in here Java! At least in wir ain minds!

Now, I learn something new every day tongue.gif You mean, it's us punters that can add or take away a star rating? Here was me thinking the rating was applied based on the popularity of the thread...each time somebody tuned in, it helped earn status. Isn't this the case? Help ma boab...I need to know more....how often can I "vote"? There's gotta be some fairness/impartiality built into this dae ye no' think? No' that it matters a helluva lot in the scheme o' things, eh?

wink.gif

Ahcumfiglesga

post 16th Apr 2007, 04:16am

twinkle twinkle little star
how I wonder what you are
up above the world so bright
like a diamond in the night wub.gif

post 16th Apr 2007, 04:17am

oh hang on , I think it is candle , not diamond, acht aim high , diamond sounds better. wink.gif

post 17th Apr 2007, 05:04am

laugh.gif laugh.gif ye wurr right tae aim high hen cos it is a Diamond in the sky hahaha lol

Geezabrek
post 18th Apr 2007, 07:48pm

I guess that although something is on the boards, that mibby we also need to 'mention' it to spread the word. The star ratings is one newbie to me.

I also havn't yet got the hang of all the wee buttons available, but have had a go with some - like underlining, or highlighting or using italics. But some other stuff is a right mystery to me.

Mibby if some folks felt like using something and kinda popped a wee 'note' to say "Jist thot I'd use .. so and so" to emphasise this? somebuddy wid ask how they did it - or whitever?eh??

Or is it jist me thats a bit of a gnumpty (ye don't need to answer that ye'no) wacko.gif

***Or mibby GG could have a wee learning / explanation site - or is this it?? unsure.gif

post 18th Apr 2007, 08:01pm

Well ah'm still tryin tae find oot whit the 'multi' button dis...but ah know how tae do this...laugh.gif

post 18th Apr 2007, 09:13pm

laugh.gif laugh.gif teacher java you showin aff again

post 19th Apr 2007, 01:54am

Cripes this is aw news tae me, ah didnae even notice stars laugh.gif
Ahm awa tae see whit yer aw talkin aboot laugh.gif

Geezabrek
post 19th Apr 2007, 08:42pm

Top of a topic when it starts = star rating. Click onto that and you see a drop down box offering you a chance to 'vote' a rating against that topic.
Seems the mer folks pop their rating (1 - 5) that it adjusts to give an overall rating.

Av nae idea (yet) about the multi button. I guess ye just try these things and see what happens.....

oh heck. I just ordered a pizza. tongue.gif

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.