Hi Guest

> Real Hero's, Would you jump?
post 5th Jan 2007, 08:19pm

While being off work ill, I have been getting caught up on the news, and saw the story of a Man from New York City, who after seeing a young man who had a fit, fall into the subway tracks, without a second thought he jumped down to save the man, he rolled on top of him as the 400 ton subway train rolled over the both of them. They then had to stay there for 20 mins untill the power was turned off. All this time the "hero's" two children were waiting for their dad on the subway platform.
The young man was taken to the hospital, the"hero" was given a medal by the city, and a reward of $10.000.00 .
I just saw him on a talk show, he is just a regular man, who seems more worried about his blue hat getting dirty, than the fact both of them could have died.
I don't know if I would have jumped down into a live subway track to save some one. I say "Hats off to Him" wub.gif
I just wonder what he did with his blue tights and red underpants wink.gif

post 5th Jan 2007, 08:51pm

That is one of the bravest deeds I have heard of. The man deserved the medal and the reward.
I could never have done that.

post 5th Jan 2007, 08:59pm

Member No.: 1,815
Hi Lennox ,
I saw this guy on Dave Letterman last night .What a great guy .He said if there are kids overseas giving their lives to keep his country safe then how could you not help someone in need .No one else seemed ready to do anything ,he didn't want his little girls to see the young man killed by the subway and when he first handed his daughters off to strangers to hold it was to save them grief .He thought he could get down and lift the young man up to the platform but he was struggling in the seizure and he couldn't get him up so he just lay down on top of him and prayed .
He said he would do it again if needed and urged every caring person to do the same if needed or at least don't turn a blind eye to someone in need .A true hero ,and modest with it .

Auld but Still Game.

post 5th Jan 2007, 09:13pm

Jakka, I saw part of ther Letterman interview today , he is very modest, He thought about his kids, and another life, I think he did indeed deserve the reward, although I am sure he was not thinking about money when he jumped into the subway,
A very brave man, we need more of him in the world.

Heather , I don't think I could have done that either.

post 5th Jan 2007, 11:29pm

smile.gif we wittnessed the man on our news speaking to a tv interviewer.
my goodness he was a man of instant liking to me his sense of duty to mankind and his humour still intact was a sight to behold. there was a sketch showing us what it would`ve looked like and wow he was but a hairs breath from being dragged he was so close to touching train.

my husband said what about his kids??? now I know via your post Lennox, I can tell him the mans kids was the reason why he did it thats a wow!!!!! from me I want a daddy like that biggrin.gif I bow my head in admiration & gratification that people like that are still around in this hard old world good luck to him and his familys future thats all I can say,

No doubt Opera will get him on and perhaps give the man a huger Blessing of gratitude as I believe our governments etc all give money away for too many reasons way less justifyable than this dear mans act. Give the man an entire new life of cash home and schools he and his family want, should the current ones not be what he likes,at least offer this as theres a beyond measure uncalculateable for a life!!!! heros come along once in a while you just have to give them more for there few n far between and I think this is also something to be doing for our heros of war too.

lianmy
post 6th Jan 2007, 03:16am

Member No.: 103
I didn't see this story on tv, what an amazing thing to do this man is a true hero in every sense. I am sorry I missed it.

Not sure that I could do something like that, but who knows what we would if faced with something like this.

Actually no, I know I am not that brave.

post 6th Jan 2007, 03:23am

Member No.: 1,815
This mans main concern was that his cap got dirty .He also said that the young man who was having the seizure was fighting him and trying to push him off .!!!!!!.He went and saw him in hospital but he was well sedated .Arrangements have been made for both family's to meet .I'd love to be a fly on the wall at that meeting .

Auld but Still Game.

post 6th Jan 2007, 03:25am

Member No.: 2,519
Thats oor jakka tells it how it is wink.gif

ITS NICE TO BE NICE

post 6th Jan 2007, 12:47pm

QUOTE (jakka13 @ 5th Jan 2007, 10:32 PM)
Arrangements have been made for both family's to meet .I'd love to be a fly on the wall at that meeting .

Me too, Jakka how do you thank some one who did such a selfless act? I bet these two family's will be apart of each others lives now.

post 6th Jan 2007, 01:08pm

Much as I'd like to think I would I'd be that brave, I know I wouldn't...takes a very special kinda person....

post 8th Jan 2007, 03:14am

wub.gif ye know witt the merr am thinking aboot this fellas act the merr am realising,I hadn`t thought of it at 1st cos a was focused oan the boy he saved,but hey he saved an entire train load of folks sfar as I cin see cos well wouldn`t the driver have had problems far worse had his eyes caught oan tae a wriggling aroon man rether than a still shape oan tracks ,am thinking the driver would mibee have panicked merr n train wouldve tilted or summitt so he`s a bigger hero than 1st thought......................a couldny dae what he did ad want tae but we awe hae oor limits mibee if it was ma wean aye bit dont think a would for a stranger am sad tae say am no brave enuff. wink.gif

post 9th Jan 2007, 12:48pm

Member No.: 1,713
Who really knows what we would do if we were confronted by a life or death situation.

As lennox said wonder what the hero did with his red boots and red cape biggrin.gif the guy was just a true hero and very brave indeed.

Tell it like it is

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.