Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

34 Pages V  « < 32 33 34  
> Househillwood Roundabout, Life in & aboot the beloved "Bundy"
*Guestfiona*
post 29th Jun 2009, 10:16am
Post #496

never done this before. message for Jum McGreaghy. Were you a big family who lived on the corner of Peat Road near where the Icie used to stop. I was Fiona Macdonald and lived on Peat Road next to Dr Cowans surgery. We were considered to be posh (I think because my mother had a car!!!) I loved living in Peat Road - it always seemed to be the summer. I had 3 sisters and a brother who were all a bit older than me. I was pals with Dorothy McCormack and Pamela Paton. I remember the bingo at the White Chapel on a Sunday and the bakers? van that came round after and being sent to get a bag of broken biscuits. We used to go to dances at the White Chapel on a Saturday sometimes. I'm off to Scotland tomorrow from the north of England and will be driving round all the old places. Think Burnbrae was knocked down recently

kas
post 8th Jul 2009, 09:43pm
Post #497

Member No.: 8
Hi Jimbo i am jessiemac's daughter karen- we lived 57 househillmuir rd- i know a few of the boys you grew up with the wrights, mcveys-edward mcvey was a yr or two older than me. did you know the russels, the duncans from househillmuir rd? what other street did you live near? I left when I was 14 in 1976. i asked my brother (who is closer to your age) to see if he knew any one you mentioned- he thought billy wright trained as a plumber? he knew the wrights & mcvey's as they lived 2 gates down from us.

jessiemac contacted her sister ,my aunt isabel she said "i do know edna she was on the househilwood to paisley run but i dont know anyone in his family i think they lived next to the meeks your mum will know them is at the top of our street"
Is this your sister/family Isabel is talking about? Isabel worked on the red buses she moved to USA around 1966

Let us know some other names-see if you can jog my memory! thanks for the info.
good to hear about robbie wright & sad to hear about jack mcvey-i remember both of them well.

Arizona, USA.

jessiemac
post 11th Jul 2009, 08:49pm
Post #498

Member No.: 9
Hi Jimbo- got caught up for ages reading posts in H/H/wood round about
seems many people still go into this page=so happy
have met/made lots of friends from all over "OUR" area amazing to see -many from all around the world, i got an email from Norway asking did i knew a st in Calton glasgow/ low & behold my father was born in that very street 111yrs ago= small world!!
househillwood was very small started 1934/5 then we moved there in 1939 just before WWII- then building stopped
all that you have seen lately built there was intended to be built till the war brought it to a halt!- it was in the plans when i was a child,
infact we saw models of the plans, we were so happy about the swimming ool & lots of shops

all the best jessiemac
I do remember that tree in the park with the chains
as kids we thought bad guys were hung there, we saw too many cowboy movies I guess ha ha

Santa Monica CA

rosiemac
post 13th Jul 2009, 10:03am
Post #499

Member No.: 6,288
Hi all how you all doing, hope you are all good,just thought i would let you all know a found this wee site on househillwood , maybe we could all help them with our stories and any old photos if any one has any of how it used to be ,and to present date ,have a wee look
and see for youself what you think and how we can help, hope no one minds me putting in this link ,

rosiemac...

/househill-community-youth-forum.

kas
post 15th Jul 2009, 07:40pm
Post #500

Member No.: 8
rosiemac- please re post that website- i can't get to it. thanks

Arizona, USA.

jessiemac
post 15th Jul 2009, 07:44pm
Post #501

jimbo i know lots of the names you gave, I've many more to ask you about
now that i figured out you lived at Dr Gowans end of Brook Rd;
my dad & all our family were friends of the *DR His wife, son & daughter
I remember when as a young couple *they moved into that house corner of peat RD; that was our LOCAL DR; as before we had to go to P/Shaws
or Nitshill, got news that Robbie wright was dead? that means a long healthy life for Robbie- However his dad's name is Robert(Rab) is he still alive as you only mentioned Nan His Mum =Mrs Wright was now in Anderson district
so dreadful about Jack Mcvey I trust he's he is doing well at this date
My family all send him our best wishes, is you see or hear from him,
did mrs Scott & Girls still live near you I believe she cleaned for the Dr?
I knew the Arbuckles the girls are my age, I'll bet we knew each other to see Jimbo as it was a small neibourhood, infact I knew every original
tenent plus nearly all the new ones during my childhoodl from 1939 to 1976 when I left for Califronia
I'll get on later see you then,

sorry I posted this in picture i moved it in here to share

Santa Monica CA

isa
post 22nd Jul 2009, 08:16pm
Post #502

Member No.: 425
Hi all,
I am still looking for anyone that may have or still knows a jessie mclglin, she may have been jessie mcdonald and married a man named mclaughlin, she also knew a daniel currie back in the 60's, it is said she also answers to the name ceelie, any nfo would be great,
thanks, isa

gonnae throw us doon a piece Ma

jessiemac
post 30th Jul 2009, 08:50am
Post #503

Isa just read your post! where did your friend Jessie live? that would help
our names are almost the same mine Mclean wed James Mclachlan
from whitevale st, you have to give us a clue of her district,or school is also helpful as the reader who looks in may just know of her ,good luck

Santa Monica CA

**isa**
post 24th Sep 2009, 03:46pm
Post #504

hya jessiemac,
i dont know where she came from or where she went, i just know there was a mr mclaughlin attatched to her somewhere, she was in and out of mental hospitals in the 60's, thats where she met daniel currie, they then lived in govan and then brigton i beleive.

post 5th May 2010, 02:13am
Post #505

QUOTE (june @ 12th Nov 2003, 12:48am) *
Hi flo , This is one of the cairney girls i saw tommy on this site and he email me i email him back back but i dont know if he got it or not as i am just new to this i was telling him our gus passed away last year from cancer he always use to say when i went home and we would talk about when he was young and he always said he should have marreid hanna i am one of the twins

hi june Remember me Peter Harte

just was reading the h/hroundabout board and saw you name and wondered how you and Jimmy were?

*Ernie Mungall*
post 9th Jun 2010, 08:09pm
Post #506

QUOTE (ARCHIE MILLAR @ 30th Jul 2003, 03:36pm) *
Well Wee Wan! yi beat me to it!-a wis jist gonny tell them a' the the H/H Wood roundabout wis open again all the way P/Shaws tae the Hurlet-from the roundabout up the Braidcraft Rd an up the Brockburn Rd tae Crookston an up the Peat Rd tae Nitshill . So lets hear from ye a'--a'll see yi a' at "Mackies"--am goin' ower tae get ma 'green 'Evening Citizen'

Hi Wee Wan a hope yir feelin' better , yir mammy said ye wur'nae very special.

post 20th Jun 2010, 07:40pm
Post #507

To Ernie Mungall>>>There was a girl called Kathleen Mungall in my year at Holyrood 1945, is she connected to you?

smile.gif unsure.gif . Such an unusual name feel she must be.

ozzy ian 123
post 18th Jul 2010, 03:13pm
Post #508

Member No.: 8,706
hi jessiemac my name is ian hopkins i lived at 138 hartstone rd my sisters name is ellen. i knew a lad by the name of albert Mclauglin he lived at the corner of peat rd & hartstone rd. in hartstone rd the familys i rember were the greens sadie & john corner househillwood rd /hartstone rd. taggerts marion & jinna, hauburn rd kyles 141 hartstone rd, the nunnerys 144 hartstone rd, the kellys hauburn rd i just remember irene & john. There was also a family by the name of O'Brien, thay moved to australia about the same time as us 1963. the auld family at 136 i only remember Ronny & bobby.I worked with a boy delivering milk for co-op 1961 to 1963 he lived at No 6 househillmuir cres his name was Alister forgoten his sir name had a brother peter sister margaret. I remember we used to have a bonfire on guyfolks night at the back of the phone booth its not thare any more. we used to play games on the street in front of the phone booth, kick the can,football the girls did skip rope, then the local bobby would come & chase us, u r not to play games in the street. them were the days. lol ian hope someone remembers this is great the gg wish u all the best its my first time.

marydee
post 22nd Jul 2010, 12:59pm
Post #509

Member No.: 2,766
Hi Ian, Just got a message from your sister who confirmed that you had a pet jackdaw called(funnily enough) Jackie. I remember you going about with it on your shoulder. My Granny stayed at 126 Hartstone Road her name was Begg she went to Oz but didn't like it so started saving up to come home the day she arrived. The O'Briens were my aunt and uncle, Betty and Peter their kids Elizabeth and Peter. Lost touch with Betty over the years but recently found her address, wrote a long letter but as yet no reply.

ozzy ian 123
post 30th Jul 2010, 08:20am
Post #510

Member No.: 8,706
hi marydee that bird used to poop all down the back of my clothes when i got home mum would go mad. betty & peter lived in ingleburn a few streets from where we lived.they were friends of my aunt & uncle, may & rennell. uncle rennell died in 1978 about, aunty may died last year 2009. i dont know where elizabeth & peter are or the parents. sorry i cant help you.

34 Pages V  « < 32 33 34

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th Sep 2010

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.

Glasgow Hotels: book cheap hotels in Glasgow online now