Hi Guest
> Names, Origin of your name
post 6th Jan 2006, 01:44am

Ever wondered what your name meant and where it came from. Some are easy like Smith from the occupation, Williamson explains itself too. How about Crucikshank or Rintoul.?

And don;t tell me it just a name and ahs no meaning!!!!... it comes from somewhere.!

the examples I listed up above are examples of the four areas where names originate.

Smith from an occupation.
Williamson from ancestor's name
Cruickshank froma description (bent Leg)
Rintoul, a place, names from where a person's ancestor originated.

I enjoy sourcing names and what they mean and where they came from. I would be glad to pass along any I can help with. Keep them British please. I'm no very good with likes of Singh or Kowalchuk!

post 6th Jan 2006, 03:24am

Member No.: 1,815
Hi rdem ,what about Warnock?

Auld but Still Game.

Riddrieperson
post 6th Jan 2006, 07:18am

Member No.: 799
The name I use on here Riddrieperson,simple,I am a person who comes from Riddrie :-).My own proper name Kenneth Ryan, well my surname comes originally from the Irish Gaelic and means "little King"
and my Christian name means "Handsome one" Well,I always say,if the cap fits,wear it. biggrin.gif

Kenny :)

post 6th Jan 2006, 08:18am

LINDA in spanish means pretty one and german laugh.gif serpant

ElaineMcFarlane
post 6th Jan 2006, 09:39am

Member No.: 897
Elaine is French for Helen and means light
McFarlane, i think comes from son of Parlain or something like that

There are three things everyone should do every day.
Number one is laugh.
Number two is think -- spend some time in thought.
Number three, you should have your emotions move you to tears.
If you laugh, think and cry, that's a heck of a day.

post 6th Jan 2006, 10:52am

Member No.: 1,137
im named after my aunt marina, but i dont know where AGNEW, MACKAY, LAYDEN or MILLIGAN come from - but id be glad for some info biggrin.gif

Slàinte mhor a h-uile là a chi 's nach fhaic

post 6th Jan 2006, 01:16pm

Member No.: 1,713
My first name means messenger in greek, thats me always the gofer biggrin.gif

Tell it like it is

post 6th Jan 2006, 10:01pm

BARBARA

Derived from Greek βαρβαρος (barbaros) meaning "foreign".

According to legend Saint Barbara was a young woman killed by her father Dioscorus, who was then killed by a bolt of lightning.

She is the patron of architects, geologists, stonemasons and artillerymen.

post 7th Jan 2006, 03:50am

Please tell me about my name.Isobel.
Maiden name Mc Closkey.Married name White

post 7th Jan 2006, 04:10am

Member No.: 1,815
Ur ,ye sorry noo you stertit this topic? God love ye for yer efforts .

Auld but Still Game.

Riddrieperson
post 7th Jan 2006, 10:26am

QUOTE (Isobel @ 7th Jan 2006, 04:50 AM)
Please tell me about my name.Isobel.
Maiden name Mc Closkey.Married name White

ISABEL: Spanish form of Elizabeth, "pledged to God." Variants include Isabella and Isobel. Some diminutives are Bella, Ella, Ibby, Isa, Nib, and Sib.

If you want to know about other names,try this link.

http://www.20000-names.com/female_i_names.htm

Please note,the above link is for female christian names. biggrin.gif

Here is the link for the main site,which is an excellent name origin site.

http://www.20000-names.com/index.htm

Riddrieperson
post 7th Jan 2006, 10:30am

Come on rdem,tell the list your name,so we can research it.We promise not to laugh.Honest! biggrin.gif

post 7th Jan 2006, 01:35pm

Member No.: 1,137
MARINA: Feminine form of Roman clan name meaning "of the sea."

Slàinte mhor a h-uile là a chi 's nach fhaic

post 7th Jan 2006, 06:24pm

Member No.: 429
DAVID....means Beloved.......my Mother's name was Jessie..different spelling than the Biblical Jesse, however I believe that was in mind when I was named.....Second king of Israel...David the son of Jesse........no bad eh ? smile.gif

Here's tae us, wha's like us? Damn few an' they're a' deid

post 7th Jan 2006, 07:42pm

Jings! ah jist get hame and Ah see this queue! Whit huv ah sterted??

Glad to see the interest and also that a good lot of you are already ahead ofthe game with meaning for your anems but let's a have a look. sorry that I haven't looked on this topic ina day or two.

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.