> Mystery Tours, Sunday Fun
post 6th Jan 2006, 12:43am

Member No.: 1,815
Now here's a new wee topic to get us all started in this New Year .First of all welcome to all the new members ,hope you have fun .
Who remembers when the Pictures or Dance Halls were not allowed to open on a Sunday ?. You either went for a walk in the park or if you were single to the Art Galleries ,(Looking for talent) or the winchers went on the MYSTERY TOURS.The buses left from the junction of Bath St and I think Cathedral St .It seemed to us that no matter which direction the bus left we always ended up in Callendar !!!!Week after week the same place except once it took us to see the lights in Kirkaldy.We used to make bets with each other as to where we would end up . Anyone else go on these buses? There was always a scramble to get a seat at the back xxxxx wub.gif

Auld but Still Game.

post 6th Jan 2006, 10:09pm

Yes Jackie, my husband and I did before and after we got married, and like you ended up in Callander, a few times.

The bus used to stop outside a restaurant, and we often wondered if the bus driver got a free meal for bringing in some customers.

post 7th Jan 2006, 03:46am

Member No.: 429
aye Jakka, ye certainly bring back memories wae this topic.......My aunt used to live in Saltcoats, and I'd go down with Mum every year. On occasion, we'd go for a mystery tour, which left from a spare piece of round at Seamill St. near the prom. We would invariably end up at Lesmahagow or some such place but everyone seemed to enjoy the trip, including myself. Some would go for a pint, others would find a tearoom but all- in- all, it was very enjoyable. smile.gif

Here's tae us, wha's like us? Damn few an' they're a' deid

post 7th Jan 2006, 03:55am

We always ended up outside a chip shop ,but just used to wander off to another spot to winch . wub.gif

Auld but Still Game.

post 7th Jan 2006, 04:00am

Callander???? Jakka is therr onythin in Callander?
Okay ah missed that bus, how did the winch rate? laugh.gif

post 7th Jan 2006, 04:04am

!0 +++++ I'm still winchin' him nearly 50 years later !!!.Lucky me .

Auld but Still Game.

post 7th Jan 2006, 04:28am

laugh.gif Gaun yersel Jakka, brilliant answer!!

tammy
post 7th Jan 2006, 05:57am

Member No.: 1,054
LOL JAKKA! laugh.gif

Archie Millar
post 7th Jan 2006, 11:08am

Member No.: 3
Sunday in Glasgow wis terrible,--nae pictures,nae shops open,and, as a got older nae pubs. When I lived in Carnwadric we used to walk up to Rouken Glen if the weather wis good and as we got older there was a bus from the main street in Thornliebank that took us to Largs and as "Bona Fide" travelers we could get a drink in a hotel. We also used to cycle up to "The Paraffin Lamp" at Lugton in the summer,but, in those days it wis a dump. We went for a meal a few years ago (on a Sunday) up there--changed days, but,good memories rolleyes.gif

am still standin'

--
GG Update:

Sadly Archie passed away in March 2007:

http://discuss.glasgowguide.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=8646

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th Jun 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.