> Happy Channuka
post 24th Dec 2005, 04:58pm

Thought maybe some would like to read aboot what Channuka is about, so I've copied this wee story from the boys wee books.

Over two thousand years ago the Syrians and Greeks took the Temple in Jerusalem away from the Jews. They filled the Temple with statues of their Gods and tried to force the Jews to worship these idols.
The Jews refused and were treated very harshly because of this.
A small group of Jews, under Judah Maccabee decided to fight for their freedom

Maccabee means 'hammer and for three years these soldiers known as the Maccabees hammered at the enemy until, at last Jerusalem was freed.
When the Maccabees re entered the Temple they found that the lamp of Eternal light was no longer burning.
Though they searched for the special oil with which to relight the lamp, only a tiny jar, enough for one day, could be found.
A miracle occurred however as the oil lasted for eight days, during which time the Jews celebrated the rededication of the Temple.

Channuka means dedication and now we know why it is also known as the Festival of Lights.
Since this time, the eight days starting with the twenty-fifth day of Kislev are kept as a joyous festival in memory of the re dedication of the Temple.

Today Channuka is celebrated by lighting the Menorah, a Channuka lamp with places for nine candles, eight for the eight days during which the miraculous oil burned, and a ninth with which to light the others.
Using the extra candle or Shammash, we light candles every night, starting with one and adding to it each day, until on the eighth day all eight candles are lit.

To all my friends here, have a blessed and peaceful Channuka full of life and love.
Shalom
Catherine xxxxxx

tammy
post 24th Dec 2005, 05:31pm

Member No.: 1,054
Happy Hannuka to everyone who celebrates this holiday! Hope it's a nice one for you.

post 24th Dec 2005, 06:53pm

26th December is Hannukka, hope you all have wealth, wisdom, happinness and a few little miracles.

Shalom

Wise men learn more from fools than fools from wise men.
Marcus Cato (234BC - 149BC) Roman "statesman, historian"
"In ""The Speaker's Electronic Reference Collection,"" AApex Software, 1994."

post 24th Dec 2005, 06:57pm

26th December is Hannukka, hope you all have wealth, wisdom, happinness and a few little miracles.

Enjoy the Festival of Lights!

Shalom

post 24th Dec 2005, 07:10pm

Brilliant explanation Catherine thank you and a happy, and holy Channuka to you all.
Shalom.

post 24th Dec 2005, 07:13pm

Happy Channuka to all.

I wish you joy and light.

Shalom

post 24th Dec 2005, 07:25pm

shalom wub.gif

post 24th Dec 2005, 10:11pm

Oh look we've even goat a wee appropo advertisement!

Carmella, lovely Menora pet....the 26th is the official day though it started tonight at sundown, so yer a few sheckles behind hen...hurry up an spend an catch up laugh.gif
Shalom and thanks to all xxxxxx

post 25th Dec 2005, 12:46am

I sent a few ecards Catherine to some Jewish people I know.

Then I noticed when I clicked on one of them to send, they had the date as the 31st - mad rush to make sure they got them on the 26th and no later hahahaha - finger trouble this end.

I'm at the tail end of things again, so this is me just catching up hahaha.

boots
post 25th Dec 2005, 07:25am

Member No.: 1,524
Catherine, your narration was lovely. Thanks to you and everyone else for those good wishes. A Happy Channukka to you too and to everyone celebrating the Festival of Lights.

Carmella, it is a nice wee menorah.

Riddrieperson
post 25th Dec 2005, 01:46pm

Member No.: 799
Happy Hannuka to those who are of that faith.Tomorrow the 26th I believe.

Kenny :)

Riddrieperson
post 25th Dec 2005, 01:53pm

I have seen various renditions of the spelling of this word.What is the correct one?I think it may be Hanukkah,as it appears on the card I sent. biggrin.gif Anyway,however it is spelled,have a happy one .I do happen to know that the word means "dedication",from an ex Jewish girlfriend of mine.;-)

post 25th Dec 2005, 02:36pm

That's beautiful Kenny.

I've always thought the different spellings are just variations due to the 'Diaspora's' of the world, {leaving their own and entering other countries and therefore picking up the spellings of the new country}
Then again ye'v goat folks like me that jist spelt it wrang on the topic header...ah thoat ahd wrote Channukka, an ah cannae edit that..so therr ye are ye see laugh.gif

Boots it really is a lovely story isn't it.....ah missed oot the part about the Dreidel bein the holiday game, simply because if ah staun oan anither wan in here ahm gaunni throw it oot the windae!!

Isn't it wonderful the two fall on the same day this year....aw these beautiful celebrations, oh whit tae werr whit tae werr!

boots
post 26th Dec 2005, 09:09am

Member No.: 1,524
Catherine, I have the solution to your problem and the boys would love it! What you need is a dog, a nice, big, shaggy dog who sees a spinning dreidel as a challenge and before you can say "Gimel" it's gone. No more tripping over dreidels, now you're busy dodging the dog and assorted kids and it's a brand new game. You might be able to talk me into letting you have the dog, interested?

Riddrieperson
post 26th Dec 2005, 12:34pm

QUOTE (boots @ 26th Dec 2005, 10:18 AM)
Catherine, I have the solution to your problem and the boys would love it!  What you need is a dog, a nice, big, shaggy dog who sees a spinning dreidel as a challenge and before you can say "Gimel" it's gone.  No more tripping over dreidels, now you're busy dodging the dog and assorted kids and it's a brand new game.  You might be able to talk me into letting you have the dog, interested?

I was guessing at a Dreidel being a Chad Valley spinning top but here is more info.

One of the best known symbols of Chanukah is the Dreidel. A dreidel is a four sided top with a Hebrew letter on each side.
The four letters are:

SHIN, HEY, GIMEL, NUN

These letters mean "A Great Miracle Happened There."In Israel the dreidel is a bit different in that their letters mean " A Miracle Happened HERE!"
Dreidel is also a popular game played during the Holiday. Players use pennies, nuts, raisins, or chocolate coins (gelt) as tokens or chips.

The player spins the dreidel. When the dreidel stops, the letter that is facing up decides the fate.

NUN - nothing happens - next player spins the dreidel

GIMEL - player takes all tokens in the pot

HEY - player takes half of the pot

SHIN - player must put one token into the pot.

See,here in Riddrie,we have a better class of joke/info in our crackers. biggrin.gif

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th Jun 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.