7 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
> Are Ye Dancin'?, The History of Glasgow Dance Halls
post 17th Oct 2005, 12:16pm

Member No.: 2,304
dry.gif "Aw ye're dancin?" "Naw it's jist the way ah'm walkin!" and "Diz this tram gae by the Barrowlands?"

The Barrowlands combined a world-famous street market with the world's most slippery dance surface!!!

The dance halls of Glasgow were where you would find the talent, in more ways than one. Differnet genertions - different rythms. Different ballrooms - different clientele.

The Barrowlands where you could see the the Stones and the Kinks and even Long John Baldry in their early days, just fresh-faced and starting on the road to stardom.

The Dennistoun Palace was frequented by those in search of some serious winchin'. The Palace customers were not sold liquor or spirits except Carlsberg Specials, which acquired the oft-mentioned sobriquet "leg openers", perhaps to loosen one up for a particularly strenuous dance move!!!

The Plaza had its unique indoor fountain; the Maryland was great for jazz..but the famous Lacarno never played host to my feet...maybe still time!!!

Tommy

ah try ma best

post 17th Oct 2005, 01:00pm

They strictly did not sell spirits or liquor or liquor except Carlsberg Specials which were known locally as "leg openers", maybe to help some difficult and strenuous dance step but probably the most understated drink in the world..

Obviously Tommy you had too many wee heavies in the Bristol tavern before hitting the palais or you would have noticed the Carlsberg on sale was Alcohol free lager.

post 17th Oct 2005, 01:14pm

Dexter I dont think you can be talking about the same Carlsberg as Tommy. I can assure you A carlsberg special was not alcohol free. We used to drink it because it as a long drink and the waitress would not keep asking if we were ready for more.I tell you after I had two of them I was raring to go. rolleyes.gif

post 17th Oct 2005, 01:21pm

Ah mind a school pal bein sick with it one night Isobel, green froth comin oot and I wis horrified and thoat she wis dyin...then someone said it was that lager.....needless to say ah never tried it.

Always thoat ah wis much mare refined gaun tae the dancin, ordert Pernod an Blackcurrant...cripes BOLK!!
WHIT wis ah thinkin?? laugh.gif

Archie Millar
post 17th Oct 2005, 02:46pm

Member No.: 3
My local sells Carlsberg special and believe me it's a strong lager.Mywife usually has a half on a Saterday night
As for dancing,we still try to go every wed.if Norah is feeling ok

am still standin'

--
GG Update:

Sadly Archie passed away in March 2007:

http://discuss.glasgowguide.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=8646

post 18th Oct 2005, 01:19pm

Member No.: 2,304
See Dexter
Ah told ye !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Tommy

ah try ma best

post 19th Oct 2005, 07:45am

Naw Tommy read my message again. wink.gif

I know the difference between the Carlsberg Special Brew and the Carlsberg Alcohol Free Beer that was on sale after 10:00pm in the Dennistoun Palais.

Of course if you had taken some Special Brews in the Bristol Tavern before hitting the Palais you might not.

post 19th Oct 2005, 10:28am

This made me laugh - I have my own story about Carlsberg Special, boy was that strong stuff!!

"ur yi dancin'?" ..... "ur yi askin'?"

I laughed when I read Big Tommy's post and was reminded by the very funny Francie and Josie sketch they did, when they were both dancing.

Josie asks Francie (pretending to be a wee wummin) if he could walk him/her home so where did he stay "East Kilbride" came the reply to which Josie says "Jings, its a lumber a want, no a penpal" hahaha still makes me laugh when I think of it now! biggrin.gif

Wise men learn more from fools than fools from wise men.
Marcus Cato (234BC - 149BC) Roman "statesman, historian"
"In ""The Speaker's Electronic Reference Collection,"" AApex Software, 1994."

post 19th Oct 2005, 10:39am

Member No.: 1,713
Carmella,

I seen that it was so funny, i also like the bit when francie said to josie' hullo there fair midden' it was the same sketch i think. biggrin.gif

Tell it like it is

post 20th Oct 2005, 03:46am

Member No.: 73
Carmella
I remember that line also, and yes it still makes me laugh,

Did you read and see the videos under "Scottish Holiday,"

I could not stop listening to it, it so funny :-))

I believe they are called the "Still Game," Ford Kiernan & Greg Hemphill from a BBC series I am told, first time I have heard of them My Son who is a Canadian laughed like crazy as he has been over to Scotland a few times, and even says, Mum the Scots people are so funny, unconscious Comedians he thinks, when he came back from his first visit he said his face was sore with laughing all the time, but you see he has inherited the good Scots sense of Humour, there is only wan Kind as my Dad used to say
Scots, and those who would like to be, laugh.gif

post 7th Jul 2006, 08:42pm

Member No.: 1,137
we went to reflections and mr d's in shawlands

Slàinte mhor a h-uile là a chi 's nach fhaic

post 17th Oct 2006, 12:04pm

I went to the Electric Garden, the Maryland (round the corner), White Elephant, Joanna's (preferred the White Elephant) and the Majestic.
My favourite had to be the White Elephant where it was couples only on a Saturday night and you got a "meal". It showed the cartoons of the time - Tom and Jerry, mostly. It was usually mobbed, and it had those ultra-violet lights, so you had to make sure you weren't wearing white underwear or you ended up looking like a walking bra and pants! laugh.gif

post 13th Nov 2006, 11:57am

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif Ma man Neil remembers reflections,I was a fan of GeeGees,Savoy,Mayfare,auld tiffanys as a beginner ,white elephant which later became Roseland wurr ma dancin haunts haha we met at Mayfayre.

post 13th Nov 2006, 06:04pm

I usually went to Strathclyde student union on a Saturday night. There was a really popular band on one Saturday night and we couldn't get in so my friend and I headed for the Locarno instead and I met my husband. I'd been there a 2 or 3 of times before, my uncle worked for the BBC and I used to go along to watch 'Come Dancing'. I remember being facinated by the big revolving stage.

When I was 14, I used to go with all my friends to the Dennistoun Palais on a Saturday afternoon for a 'Record Session', then between the ages of 15-17 we went to the Palais on Monday nights.

We also went to Victor Sylvester Dance Studios which was up a close near Woolworths in Sauchiehall Steet.

Occasionally we went to Barrowland when there were famous bands performing or sometimes we went to 'The Magic Stick' (Majestic).

BOOKS..What's For Ye, Won't Go By Ye/Chasin' that Carrot/Mammograms Save Lives/Time Makes Changes....TV DRAMA..Broken Promises ...website www.avrilsaunders.co.uk

post 13th Nov 2006, 07:45pm

wub.gif biggrin.gif Georgia hen a forgot aboot Sylvesters haha,my brothers went there so they never allowed me to go(in case a cramped thur styles haha. Gee Gees dow the bottom o queen st station Then hang a right was a place we all went together haha.

7 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.