Hi Guest

> I'm Sad
Barbara
post 1st Dec 2004, 01:16am

From: Washington State USA Squished in between the Columbia River and the Pacific Ocean
Member No.: 10
I have always been grateful for the kindness and friendship I have been given on this board.

Some of you might not know that I don't come from Scotland, but was a visitor there in September of '03.

I have said many times that the Scottish people are the most hospitable bunch I have ever met.

This board has given me many many hours of entertainment and that preciuos contact with a country that I love so much.

As some of you may already know August has decided not to come here anymore.

I think this is tragic and a great loss. Her contributions were as valuable as anyone elses.

I do hope that in the near future, she will reconsider and join us again.

post 1st Dec 2004, 01:39am

Member No.: 15
I'm right there with you Barbara. August is a profound thinker and has contributed much to our Board. We should not let some ignorant and thoughtless people, who need to learn what it is like to walk in someone else's shoes, hurt one of our family. Let's hear from everyone.

post 1st Dec 2004, 04:42am

I don't think we need any splitting of camps here guys, and I'm not saying that's what you meant bunty.
It's jist that I've met two out of three people here and they're super and bring a lot to the board in their own way.
One I haven't met but I have no doubt he's any less finer.

Wherever our heads are OFF BOARD, will depend on any given day how we read a post and therefore reply.....but this is JIST a board..with opinions..that's all.
I'm the first to back off if I feel myself getting too involved and upset, taking things personally can be deadly, it brings the "punch therr lights oot" syndrome to the fore..which is such a waste of energy when ye think of it. There's ALWAYS going to be someone readin a post and thinkin "aw whit did they say that for, whit did they say that for". Par for the course in a discussion group.
Jist shake the arms and "let it go"

As a mother, my heart goes out to August and Tommy because they must be stressed out their brains with worry.

Some tolerance from everyone on the board is all that's required here....so a shoutin match ensued, big deal, life teaches us to get over it.
Lets jist chill out everyone eh..Lifes too short.
It really COULD be worse...we REALLY COULD be family. biggrin.gif

post 1st Dec 2004, 07:37am

Oh for goodness sake oor Catherine laugh.gif I was sad to think that August and Al and Luceo would be hurt by all this. Let's just forget it and get posting. Take care .

post 1st Dec 2004, 09:39am

Barbara nice of you to be concerned for August,but lets face it,we are not always going to get on ,with each other,thats life.I come and go on these boards,when someone gets up my nose now, I tend to ignore them.I have had my run ins with some in the past.But hey I don't have to live with them!! I can choose to be upset or not,nowadays I choose not to. I see some posts that get me incensed ,where before I would have a dig,now I say forget it.The on/off debate in regards to message boards will always be an issue.I would like to see August remain and contribute,but respect her decision not to. wink.gif

post 1st Dec 2004, 12:18pm

Member No.: 56
I hope august thinks again about her decision to leave the board after all she is in a posirion that a few of us have been in at one time or another, once she lets this matter settle she'll return to find us all here and not all agreeing as is the way of life. We are adults are;nt we rolleyes.gif

post 1st Dec 2004, 12:52pm

Aye! Betty love, we are indeed adults ,bit mibbee we are in yon 2nd childhood thingy at times ha ha ha ! biggrin.gif

post 1st Dec 2004, 02:11pm

Member No.: 193
I too have had a few run ins in the past and stopped posting but then came back its called a "cooling off period" and like Jimmy when I see something that gets up my nose I tend to disregard it, its not worth the anguish, my feeling is why should I get upset when the other person isnt so chill out and come back when feelings are once again in my control.

post 1st Dec 2004, 03:11pm

Member No.: 56

Hope this 2nd childhood lark is as happy as the 1st wan biggrin.gif oh boy tae dae aw that aw ower again (luvly jubly)) Guess ah'd make aw the same mistakes cos that whit made it FUN

Davie
post 1st Dec 2004, 04:00pm

Member No.: 1,484
Hi Betty
I must be missing the point here
Could you direct me to the post that has caused the stooshie?

steakpie
post 1st Dec 2004, 04:55pm

Member No.: 1,066
I think it would be a pretty boring board if we all agreed with each other. I don't come here to hear an echo of my own opinions. I come to broaden my mind.How can I know your point of view if you are not allowed to express it?

I am glad we can practise our give and takes here so that we learn that opposing opinions do not need to mean outright war.

If someone is being a persistent nuisance or offensive, we can either ignore him/her (there should be a new pronoun for him/her)or have an adult discussion about it. Those who have been truly offensive or disgusting have been removed from the board.

Surely I can learn that discussion does not mean dispute, even when the views expressed are not to my liking. Better to decide on what I believe if I have a wide spectrum of viewpoints to view. I've done a few flip-flops myself after reading a point I had not thought of,and I'll probably do a lot more.

Just as well we are not mullahs or president's, eh? We'd have fired off the nukes or lit up the zealots by now. Ah, the safety of the board!

flim
post 1st Dec 2004, 05:40pm

Member No.: 1,315
My Honest opinion for what it's worth,is i believe August is under tremendous pressure just now,with the Iraq war..A mothers love is to defend her children,and she feels that she has to answer,she may have gone a little over the top,but can you in your heart of hearts say that you would not have done the same,i also believe that the others just put in their thoughts honestly at the time,so i say to August please stay because everybody likes to air there opinions right or wrong Cheers Flim

Marion Dougan
post 1st Dec 2004, 05:58pm

Member No.: 206
I hope August comes back. She has been through it with this Iraq, like a lot of others. She is a valued member and I did agree with her posts. Yeah Catherine, yer right hen, we could be family ha ha ha

Lang may yer Lum reek!!!

post 1st Dec 2004, 08:55pm

Member No.: 193
och August is awe right, awe she done wis fa' an' skint her knee, she didnae need ony stitches so ah gave her a couple o' aspirins and telt her tae caw me in the moarning rolleyes.gif

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.